Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Amish Values for Your Family

Revell Amish Values for Your Family

For readers who long for strong families that know how to truly enjoy life together, there is much to learn from the Amish. Values like community, forgiveness, simple living, obedience, and more can be your family legacy--without selling your car, changing your wardrobe, or moving out to farm country.

In Amish Values for Your Family, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher shows how you can adopt the wisdom of the Amish when it comes to family matters. In this inspiring and practical book readers will find charming true stories interlaced with solid, biblical advice about parenting, marriage, and all aspects of family life. As readers get an intimate glimpse into the everyday lives of real Amish families, they will learn to prioritize what's truly important, simplify decision-making, slow down as a family, safeguard time together, and let go when the time comes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amish Values for Your Family
Review 1 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jackie
Location:NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great book to bring our families back to some real Christian values. The stories are realistic and offer a lot of moral teachings in the process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
TutorSue
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using it to simplify my life. If that type of thing interests you, there are some good ideas in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Dallas TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I collect all the Amish genre books that I read, so when I came across this book, it was great for the value alone, but I received the book much lower that that. The value for your dollar was great, as well as the other books I purchased at that time...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Vermont
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book for the price of only $.99! I would still buy it if it cost more. Great for a young mother raising children-great ideas. As a grandmother, I really enjoyed reading the book too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamaof6
Location:IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really enjoyed this book, opened my eyes to a better way of doing some things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommend highly!

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kate L
While reading this outstanding book, I often wished I'd had a copy when raising our two boys. Amish Values for Your Family is a lovely combination of personal Amish stories, laced with sage proverbs, amusing quotes from Amish or Mennonite scribes, and the author's invaluable take-away. I can't think of anyone who would not enjoy and benefit from reading it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book on Amish family living

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish Values for Your Family………..by Suzanne Woods Fisher
Amish Values for Your Family is one of the best books I have read about the Amish life! For many years, I’ve been fascinated with their lifestyle. I think the reason I cherish and respect the Amish lifestyle is because our family was brought up a lot like them as far as the working conditions. We grew our own food and put it up for the winter. We butchered our own beef and pork, milked our own cows, we had electricity but no TV and no indoor bathrooms. Our faith was different, but we lived on a farm and worked! And life was slower for us, we spent time together as a family, my parents and grandparents always took time for us. Yes, we had nothing as far as material things, but we were truly blessed with parents and grandparents that love the Lord an loved us enough to give us their time and teach us to live for the Lord. They are all in Heaven now, but their legacy lives on in the lives of their children, grandchildren and great-children, until we see them again.
There are many values I can mention but I will mention the time they spend together as a family. I know firsthand how important this is. Even though we have things to entertain us, if we would just schedule valuable family time each week we would see a huge difference in our kids, teens and our families. And I have to mention the faith and trust they have in the Lord, and this resulting in the forgiving spirit they all have. The forgiving spirit is the one thing I wish was stronger in my life. Sometime I wonder just how they can be that way! It is because they want to be like Christ!
I loved reading this book, and will keep it with my stash of books! I enjoyed the family stories and how they live. I appreciate the author taking time to research and interview to write this valuable book. My pray is that we as Christians will strive to take these principles to heart and try to incorporate them in our daily lives.
I was provided a copy of this book by LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for a review. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine only.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish Values for Your Family

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is arranged in four sections: "Children Are Loved but Not Adored," "Great Expectations," "Daily Bread," and "Letting Go." In each section, a value is presented through an Amish proverb, a story from Amish life, a "Road Map" segment to show how we can apply the value to modern life, and an "In Their Own Words" section.
To me, Amish Values for Your Family could very easily just be called "Biblical Values for Your Family." While it was interesting to think of these values as they apply to the Amish life, these truths are straight from God's Word. I hope everyone who is involved in a church every week is taught these truths as I am at my church and through my study of the Bible.
One of my favorite stories in this book was related to the Amish proverb, "Keeping a neat house is like threading beads on a string with no knot on it." The story was about a young mother and her adventure one day with three young boys and a mud hole. I will leave you to imagine what happened! The point was that it doesn't really matter if your day goes as planned or your house is perfectly neat all the time. If you focus on those things (the neat house or the schedule), then you might be missing the bigger, more important thing. "The good is often the enemy of the best."
Even though these values are not strictly Amish, it was still fascinating to read this book and see how well the Amish apply these values to their lives. This book does help you to slow down and really think about what our priorities in life should be and how we desparately need to incorporate these values into our fast-paced, modern lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve been drawn to the simple life of the Amish for a long time now. Even though I’m not going to become Amish, I still feel a deep connection.
We can learn so much from Amish values. I’m grateful for this book which both rounds up the values and teaches us how to apply them to our non-Amish lives.
The “Read, Read, Read” chapter stood out for me as I (as well as the rest of my family) love to read.
I think that we as a family need to direct our children away from the overpowering distraction of technology. We need to focus more on the wonders of our world, as well as it’s Creator.
The first section reminds us that Amish children are loved but not adored. Now doesn’t that bring things into proper perspective?
Two more things about this book that I appreciate are the sections that tell us how to “get there from here” and the Amish proverbs. There are so many that spoke to me, but I will only leave you with one. You’ll have to get your own book to read the rest.
Keeping a neat house is like threading beads on a string with no knot on it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great lessons to learn

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amish Values for Your Family by Suzanne Woods Fisher is simply a book about living... simply. Filled with stories from the Amish themselves, you will discover how they keep their lives focused on what matters most and how that decision affects not only the whole family, but the entire community as well.
One of my most recent goals in life has been to SIMPLIFY. Get rid of all the 'stuff' so I have more time to enjoy what matters most... God, family, and people. This book has not only increased my desire for simplicity, but it has shown me even more reasons for doing so. Filled with heart-warming stories from the men and women raised in the Amish community, it has only made me wish I had made the decision sooner.
One of the stories that struck me the most was of a man who worked for a company that builds houses. He said that they worked on custom built homes, some with a price around a million dollars. He said "I see these folks wanting these big grand houses, strapping themselves to pay the mortgage. Both the mom and the dad have to work to make those big payments, and then the house is empty all day. Little kids get stuck in day care, or older kids come in to cold, empty houses..." I see this happen in all income brackets. If we only thought of these things before we get ourselves into debt.
While no family is perfect, we can always seek to improve the quality of our lives and those around us. The Amish seem to have it right... keep God, family, and others as a priority. I could learn a lot from the Amish and I'm glad that Suzanne Woods Fisher is willing to share what she's learned with us. :)
*Revell Books and Baker Publishing Group have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. ~ Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"What We Can Learn from the Simple Life"

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What We Can Learn from the Simple Life" -- that's the lead-in on the cover of Suzanne Woods Fisher's Amish Values for Your Family. And there are indeed lots of lessons we can learn. This book reinforces what I've learned from a lot of reading about and limited interaction with Amish people -- we are very different, yet very much the same.
This is a great book to read all at once or in small chunks. Suzanne shares real stories from real Amish families and then offers suggestions and/or asks questions to help the reader think about how the same values and ideals can fit into the less simple lives of families who are not Amish. The specific events she tells about may play out differently in Amish homes than they would in yours or mine, but she reminds us that we can teach our children the same lessons of respect, appreciation for God's creation, work ethic, and so much more.
So take a few minutes, sit back in your favorite chair, and enjoy snippets from the simple life. I think you'll be glad you did!
Available August 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
This book was provided free for my honest review from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful guide to simplicity in the family

Date:August 26, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm gone every day of the week." "Our family never gets to sit down for dinner." "I'll get a babysitter while I go help someone." Have you ever heard any of these comments or thought them yourself? Truth is, I think all of us are guilty of it to some degree.
Suzanne Woods Fisher shares short stories about the Amish and their values and how we can incorporate them into our lives as an Englischer. I loved hearing how the Amish battle the same problems of working too much at times and especially liked learning about how they do everything as a family. We don't necessarily focus on that as much, I don't think. The younger siblings are taught to respect the older and the children obey. They are never heard raising their voice at their children. They love their children but don't adore them. They give them jobs and make them feel like they are important because they are needed within the family to do that job. They don't get a babysitter so they can go serve someone who is sick, down, or hurt. They take the siblings along so they can learn how to serve and how to handle different situations.
At the end of each little chapter, Fisher shares with her readers ideas to how we can take what the Amish do and carry it over into our lives, such as lessening Christmas presents to three...one thing hoped for, one thing to share with their siblings, and one for spiritual development. Perhaps it's eating dinner as family or finding moments in your day to share with your entire family. Family is the focus.
I read this book in a day, complete with distractions, kids, and teaching lessons! It took no time at all to read and was a delight. The stories within the chapters are maybe 3 pages long, so they are very short and provide an easy way to start and stop a book when the distractions do come. If you are looking for ways to incorporate simplicity into the life of your family, pick up this book. You'll love learning their values and their insight into what we as Englischers make as our top priorities.
_____________________
This book was provided free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Values for Your Family

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it comes to all things Amish, Suzanne Woods Fisher is at the top of the list of my favorite authors. I don’t care whether it’s fiction or non-fiction, I love reading Suzanne’s books. I was very excited about her newest non-fiction book, Amish Values for Your Family. I knew this was going to be a relaxing and enjoyable read. I’m not sure I could live the way the Amish do, but I know that we can all learn a lot from their way of life. I loved learning more about the simple life in this book. Suzanne has spent a lot of time with real Amish families and she has shared what she has learned from them in this book.
One of the things that really struck me about how anyone can learn to simplify their life is to remember to keep God at the center of everything because He provides for all of our needs. I especially liked the reminder about marriage vows and how we are making a promise to God not to the person we are marrying. I think if more people could take that to heart, life would be much more simple and pleasant. That is just one of the many lessons we can learn from the Amish. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to learn about a simpler life from the people who live it everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What can we learn from Amish

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
his is by far one of the neatest books on Amish values and beliefs. Although I have no desire to travel north and join an Amish community I do see the benefits of many of their beliefs regarding family structure. This book explores this through personal stories of the Amish. It is truly an insight to a people that are truly set apart from this world.
If you are seeking to simplify your life - to return to a seemingly easier and maybe old-fashioned lifestyle this is a great book. The Amish have managed through the years to keep their life simple by focusing on the important things in life. I appreciated the reminders to value family above earthly things. From cover to cover this story is filled with encouraging ways to embrace a simple life in this hectic world.
I especially enjoyed the Amish Proverbs at the top of each new chapter. One I particularly like is "We Pass on our convictions to our children by the things we tolerate." (page 69). In fact this was posted on my FaceBook wall. I don't think people think about how what we tolerate effects our children. I have adopted this as one of our Proverbs to counter the inevitable "Everyone else is doing it" or "So and So's mom doesn't care". I want my children to understand that we must be different and must stand for what the bible says - tolerating no iniquities in our life but being quick to repent and turn.
At the end of each chapter is a section called Road Map: Getting There From Here. This section tells more in depth why the Amish believe what they do and how we can adapt this into our own lives. There is then a section called In their Words that has quotes from different scribes from different Amish Communities. I thought these were often funny and extremely personal. One that made me giggle was I have learned to be careful how I write Oleo when I send my husband to the store or he comes back with Oreos.
I would recommend this book for anyone needing some encouragement that the simple life can be attained even in this hectic world.
I received this book from Revell as a review copy.
Available August 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book about the simple life

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
addicted reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just loved this book. I sat down one evening, opened my copy, thinking that I would just read maybe a chapter or so....before I knew it.... it was one o'clock in the morning!
We can learn so much from others, and the way they live their life. For example, Suzanne wrote a chapter called "The mud hole". In this chapter she tells a story about an Amish family. The family pet has died and dad told his boys to dig a whole so that after Dad did all the errands, they could bury the dear old family pet. The boys found a mud hole, while working and decides that playing was funner than digging the whole for their lost loved pet. Dad comes home to find that the whole has not been dug and the boys had played in the mud hole.... What did dad do? He dug the hole and buried the pet. (This story is just so cute! Can you see your little boys and maybe girls doing this!... I can!)
As I read that story, I started thinking about all the times when life is hard , times are tough, kids are being kids and wonder is it so bad to just let kids be kids. Yes, Dad could of fussed the boys and made them finish the hole, but he knew they needed to be kids. Do we have to have our Kids in every spot, dance, or competition there is? What has happened to those days were kids played in the sprinklers, rode bikes down the street or played hide and seek with neighbors?
This book is filled with cute, thought provoking and some sad stories. YOU will find yourself thinking: what can I learn from the Simple life? I know I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A strong text about simplifying life

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
April
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been fascinated by the Amish. They aren’t afraid to live out their faith while eschewing the conventions of the modern world. They seem to me to be somewhat unblemished. Their values are based on their simple life and not on what the media feeds them. There’s something about an agrarian society that focuses on faith and family that really appeals to me. That doesn’t mean I’m ready to “go Amish”, but it does mean that I know I have a lot to learn from them.
Suzanne Woods Fisher’s book does an excellent job of bringing the life of the Amish to the reader in small digestible bits. There are four sections, each with several chapters that last only a few pages each. It’s the content of those small chapters that really resonates with the reader. Each chapter opens with an Amish saying or proverb, and then shares a little tidbit shares a window into the values of the Amish and allows us to see how they can be applied in our own lives. The chapter is followed with a “Getting from Here to There to help us apply the lesson to our daily lives. At the conclusion are short clips shared by the Amish community through their local paper.
When thinking about what I took away from this book, the first thing that comes to mind is the title fo the first chapter “Children are Loved but not Adored.” How many times do we find ourselves adoring our children to a fault. Through adoration they never learn their weaknesses, they are never allowed to stumble, and they find it difficult to be self-sufficient later in life. I believe I see my own fault in this one as I have tended to adore my children making them less equip than they need to be for the adult world.
Throughout the book, the focus is on family and the bond they have. However, this bond does not exceed their faith, it comes through it. We all need to spend more time with our spouses and our children – working, playing, worshiping. It’s easy to let those moments get displaced by work, busyness, distraction, media. I know I’m guilty. I took away a deeper need to focus on the value of family rather than the value of things. So what if we earn a lot of money and have a lot of things if our family suffers for it? A friend the other day asked (on Facebook) how we define success. Money wasn’t what popped into mind, it was a healthy, well adjusted family.
Suzanne created a work that truly gives us a glimpse into the window of the lives of the Amish. I count this book a blessing. One day, I hope to visit the Amish communities and see their lives first hand, but until then I appreciate this opportunity to evaluate my life against the simple life and reevaluate what is important.
I encourage all seeking to simplify life to check out Amish Values for Your Family. In addition, Suzanne is running and exciting giveaway to coincide with the publishing of this book. Check it out.
***I was given this book free of charge by LitFuse for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Amish Values for Your Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Values

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
Location:Temple, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Amish culture exhibits strength in family unity and moral values. The Amish maybe an anomaly to many yet they are respected. Suzanne Woods Fisher has written a book on many of the family values that are "lived out" in the Amish. At the beginning of each chapter is a Amish proverb. The chapters subjects are on money, daily chores, typical life in an Amish family, growing children, children leaving home, school, and Amish marriages. The book demonstrates the commitment, faithfulness, humility and obedience that the Amish "live out" in their lives.
I felt this was an enjoyable read!
I do feel it speaks more to a young parent, rather than a parent of older children (such as myself). Yet, having said that I did enjoy the book and felt I understand the Amish a little better.
What resonated with me the most is that the Amish children have a security that many American homes do not have, the divorce rate for the Amish is zero. "They believe that the marriage commitment is for life. They don't question it. They know they have to make it through hard times as well as good."
There were several quotes from the book, proverbs, that I have written down---they just were so poignant and sweet.
"People don't care how much you know until they know how much you care."
"Be life long or short, its completeness depends on what it was lived for."
I was asked to share in my review what value impacted me and how I could apply it to my life today and how it would benefit my family.
I will speak from experience about commitment in marriage. My husband and I married young, had children quickly, most of our early years we were as poor as "2 squirrels in winter." We have been through much in our marriage, yet God in His mercy and grace supplied our needs. The value that my husband and I applied to our marriage almost 29 years ago was "commitment," we've stayed the coarse, persevered, kept the faith. Our children and now grandchildren have the added blessing of having parents together---in thought, in goals and dreams, and in unity.
Thank you to Litfuse and Revell for my free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.