Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Measure of Katie Calloway

Revell The Measure of Katie Calloway

The Civil War is over, but conflict still rages in Katie Calloway's Georgia home. Fleeing her violent husband, she and her brother find sanctuary in a northern lumber camp. Owner Robert Foster doubts Katie will survive the harsh winter---and Katie wonders if she can keep her past a secret from a man she's growing to love. 352 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Review 1 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learning to be strong in the Lord

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
II Timothy 1:7: "God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind." The Measure of Katie Calloway exemplifies this verse as abused and down-trodden Katie Calloway runs off from her cruel husband and joins on as cook in a lumber camp. There she learns to stand up for herself and those she loves.
As the novel takes place over the course of the lumber season - from fall until spring, when everyone scatters their separate ways - it feels like God has prepared this as a season of strengthening, restoration, and hope for Katie and other members of the camp, as they live in seclusion in the deep timber of Michigan. It is not easy - one does not learn to be strong or brave without being forced to practice strength and bravery - but it is a period of great growth.
Miller writes a beautiful novel of strength, courage, and choosing to honor God, even when one's heart wants to act differently. What I appreciate most about Katie is her fidelity - even when she knows how easy it would be to fall in love with a good man like Robert, she holds back, knowing that marriage is for life, and as unpleasant as it has been for her, and even though her husband is far away where hopefully she will never see him again, she remains true. Robert, too, when he learns the truth of Katie's marriage, holds himself back and lets her go. It is good to see such unselfish love that respects the boundaries of marriage.
The characters are well developed and easy to love, even as uncouth and crotchety as some of the lumberjacks are. The historical aspects - both the lumber camp life and the post-civil war attitudes - make for a well-rounded novel. It is an uplifting story, but not because life is in any way easy for Katie - because she overcomes so much. 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

10 STARS!!!!

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
kcjeanette
Location:Aurora, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serena Miller is without a doubt becoming one of my most favorite authors!!! Every time I get one of her books I am absoutely lost in it to the very end, and oh how I hate for the end to come. I just wish the book would continue on. This story touches on so much: civil war, love, loss, abuse, slaves .... do yourself a favor and read this book. Such a page turner! enjoy :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Treat!!!

Date:April 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Northernbelle
Location:New Brunswick, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't enjoyed a book as much as this one in quite awhile!! Excellent character depictions -principled people with human frailties. I found myself liking the "people" in this book. Good story line and really interesting information on the logging industry post civil war. The action moved right along and was not "ho-hum I saw it coming." I will certainly be looking for this author's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read !!!

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toonzie
Location:Rolwey Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book it was a real page turner without any predictable drama. I took this book with me everywhere so I could read it every spare second I had. I have never done that before.
The strength and confidence Katie develops through the story is very well written, I felt myself getting more confident with her. I have pre order her next book, cant wait !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Miller's book is not only a great historical fiction read, but enlightens the reader on the life in logging camps in Michigan after the Civil War. It also touches on the plight of some married women after the war and their hardhsips. This is a story that cannot help but touch your soul. You'll find yourself pulling for Katie and praising her faith in the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I have read in a long time.

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
OMA E
Location:Peoria, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautiful store of a hard working American woman. This story was not about a single mom or a young girl finding her place. She was a runaway wife with a little brother she dearly loved. Also, the author has researched lumbering in Michigan which we don't hear a lot about. I read it twice (i was amazed at her cooking) and gave it to another to read . Today I am giving it yet another person.
Thank you to Serena Miller.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book was great.

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
janadd
Location:Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a lot of Historical Christian Romance books.this is one of the best. I really enjoyed the setting in the north woods and a logging camp. I enjoyed reading about the shanty boys. Katie's work was hard but she did what she had to do to protect and provide for her brother as well as for herself. I highly recommend the book. Again a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new favorite!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
sarahfitz
Location:Oregon
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of Christian Romance, and this is by far the best I have read in quite a while! I wish I hadn't already finished it - it is the type of book one wishes was endless! Well written and conceived, the characters spoke to me, and I appreciated the personality of each. I hope Serena Miller chooses to write another historical fiction soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

INTERESTING BOOK

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon Leatherman
Location:OWOSSO, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE LOGGING OPERATIONS BY BAY CITY , SO FOR ME THIS BOOK WAS VERY INFORMATIVE & BROUGHT DIFFERENT OUTLOOKS. THIS BOOK WAS DIFFERENT FROM OTHER BOOKS I HAVE READ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "TREE"MENDOUS READ!

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Measure of Katie Calloway, Serena Miller, takes us on an arduous journey beginning in post civil-war ravaged Georgia to a lumber camp in Bay City, Michigan. Katie falls in love with and marries the handsome and charming Harlan Calloway, a graduate of West Point and the sole heir of Fallen Oaks Plantation in Georgia. As Sherman and his Union troops burn down everything in their pathway, Fallen Oaks is destroyed, leaving only a small cabin for Katie, her little brother Ned, and Harlan, to inhabit. After the war, Harlan has turned to alcohol, and beats Katie severely, until one day fearful for her very life she runs away, taking Ned and a small bag of coins with her, determined to get as far away as the money will take her. She ends up in the beautiful logging country of Michigan, and meets Robert Foster, owner of a lumber camp, and desperately in need of a cook for his men.
Robert Foster is a kind and fair man, good to his "shanty boys" as the loggers are called, but a man who shoulders a deep burden of guilt for not being with his wife when she died giving birth. He, too, was on the battlefield, and saw horrendous atrocities such as could not be uttered, and he carries a secret no one knows. Does Katie find out what it is by reading an old journal she finds of Robert's, and what about the secret she is keeping from him?...the fact that she is not a widow, but a married woman.
Katie's work is backbreaking, and she must get up at two in the morning to begin feeding the shanty boys. Gruff on the exterior, but with hearts of gold, they all grow to love Katie, and of course, her wonderful cooking! Robert is falling in love with her as well, but Katie fights their growing attraction, as she is still married, and fearful of Harlan finding her. Add a terrible forest fire that could destroy the whole 680 acre camp, a starving Iindian woman and her baby, and a former runaway slave, to the budding, yet forbidden romance, and you have one more exciting tale!
Serena Miller's novel is laced with humor (I laughed outright at some of the episodes), but she covers some pretty heavy issues; slavery, spousal abuse, and post traumatic stress disorder, to name a few. Her extensive research into the lumber business taught me alot, and her realistic setting had me actually smelling the scent of spruce and freshly sawed white pine trees. I loved her secondary characters, and still miss the rough spoken and malodorous, but protective and loving shanty boys.
*One word of warning-Do not read this book while hungry, because Ms. Miller's many descriptions of the delectable, mouth watering meals that Katie concocts, will have you craving food and constantly running to the kitchen....mmm.:) Wonderful novel, Serena Miller, and I am wholeheartedly looking forward to the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a really good book

Date:October 25, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books I have read in a long time. The story was interesting. I liked learning about life in a logging camp. I liked the twists and turns in the story. It held my interest. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new favorite book

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amzz
Location:Brisbane, QLD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exerlent book! I've read it 6 times already. Great story filled with love, hope, fear and suspense. I just cannot get enough of it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story!

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serena Miller won me over easily with this book and I cannot wait to read more from this author. I found the historical part of this story completely fascinating and was able to go back in time and get a glimpse of what life was like for loggers, woodsmen and owners of lumber camps in the 1800’s. Serena’s book was able to interest me in a subject that otherwise, I might not consider reading about.
Serena’s writing was so vivid, detailed and interesting that even a rough, male-dominated subject like “logging” evolved into a wonderful heartwarming love story!
Katie Calloway is an abused wife whose merciless husband plans to kill her. Barely escaping Georgia with her life, she and her younger brother head as far north as they can go by train and end up working in a lumber camp in the deep Michigan wilderness. Katie is thankful for the chance to work in such a remote lumber camp, sure that her husband will never find her. However, what the camp owner doesn’t know when he hires his new camp cook is that Katie is not a widow as she portrays. The conditions in camp are brutal but the hardships outweigh the abuse she and her younger brother have suffered at the hands of her husband, Harlan. Katie is more than willing to lie about her past to secure a safe future.
All of the characters in this story (Harlan excluded) are endearing and I couldn’t help but hold my breath, hoping that Katie would never be found out. I felt very connected to this story and would love to read more historical fiction with as much feeling as Serena put into this book. It was easy to get lost in this book and I hated to see it come to an end. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:October 16, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Married to an abusive husband who attempted to kill her, Katie fled Georgia and headed to Michigan with her brother. Once she's in Michigan, she changes her name and is hired on as a cook in a lumber camp. Robert, the man who hires her, isn't quite so sure that this beautiful, kind girl will truly be able to hold her own in this camp that is full of harsh conditions and continuous work. How will Katie be able to hid her past when she starts to feel a deep connection, and quite possibly...love, with the man who hired her. What happened to her violent husband? Could her marriage be restored?
I thoroughly enjoyed learning about the lumber camps and how the Civil War affected the different parts of the country. It was an interesting perspective, which made me want to look up some of the history to learn about the lumber camps. I had honestly never heard of it when talking about the conflict that happened after the Civil War had ended.
This book has it all....danger for those who are thrill seekers and romance for those who like a love story. Definitely enjoyed my first book by Serena Miller.
_____________
This book was given by Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book. You can find this book at any bookstore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the Best Historicals of the Year!

Date:October 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I never knew spending time with a ornery old cook, a group of dirty loggers, and a frightened Indian who could barely speak would make for one of the best historical books I've read all year! Serena Miller successfully transported me to the cold forests of Michigan with this charming tale, and I absolutely hated to leave. While I enjoyed the ebb and flow of camp life, as well as the subtle romance that steadily built between Katie and Robert, what I really loved to read about was the food. Oh, the food! Juicy apple pie, warm peach cobbler, and mouth-watering flapjacks had me itching to jump into the kitchen to cook up a mess of yummy food! The one thing that would have made the book complete would've been some recipes at the end. :o) Oh, well... It was still a delightful book.
Serena Miller's realistic tale of life after the Civil War was one that deserves a permanent place on the keeper shelf. I'm anxious to recommend it to my friends and family, and as far as I'm concerned, her next book can't get here soon enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story! It held my attention to the end.

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised and delighted by the depth of this story. Not only did I learn a lot about the logging business post Civil-war, but more about Michigan as well. I loved the anecdotal sayings and songs about the shanty boys and the dangers inherent in that business. It was amazing what our ancestors went through in both logging and mining, which are both fascinating subjects to me.
The plot was well developed and the characters were complex. I loved that the author didn't have a predictable ending and things twisted and turned a little bit from the standard story structure. Robert was a great hero and very easy to fall for. I hurt for him and his history as a surgeon during the war. I was moved to tears when he needed to perform surgery and Katie prayed for him. It reminded me of Aaron holding up Moses's hands in the Old Testament. His children were realistically portrayed as well. The cook Jigger was something. His transformation in the story over time was heart warming.
The heroine, Katie, was a hard worker and it was impossible to not admire her pluck. I think that was one of the things that Robert liked most about her. She wasn't a typical women. She worked hard and didn't nag or complain. That was good to see in a book. Her cooking was so well described I often imagined myself eating what Katie was creating in the kitchen. Those meals sounded yummy.
The camaraderie of the camp employees really made this novel special to me. The many characters were distinct and the author included just enough male vulgarity (if you will) to make it really feel like a camp full of men without being gross. In my mind could smell their BO and other experienced other sensations like the rough pine and scratchy wool because they was so well described. I did find myself scratching my head every time lice and bed bugs were mentioned. Ick.
Probably the best part of the story to me was the realistic portrayal of how an abused woman would react when threatened. Even a strong one. I loved that Robert noticed that she was almost too compliant and didn't want to make waves. She was also afraid of male anger. That was well done. I loved how Katie nurtured everyone around her including her brother and Moon Song. The spiritual thread in Sky Pilot's story was also good. I feel like I knew the characters. That's good writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’d like to have some of Katie Calloway’s recipes. This woman cooks up a storm.
Not only that, she’s just one heck of a woman. She’s strong enough to take her young brother and run from her abusive husband.
She ends up in a lumber camp in the boonies of Michigan. She has no idea just how hard it’s going to be to cook for all those men, especially in the dead of winter. With below freezing temperatures and no inside plumbing.
She fights it, but begins to fall in love with the camp’s owner. Sooner or later she has to tell him she’s married. She’ll probably have to run again after some fireworks. Or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Measure of Katie Calloway
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
TetheredMommy
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I absolutely LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down and had to know what happened next. I was so sad when it was over - I wanted to keep reading about Katie and Robert!
I think my absolute favorite part was the description of the lumber camps. I had never heard about these before and all of the details intrigued me. I was also astounded by how many workers had to be fed three times a day - and without any modern conveniences like we have today!
I also really enjoyed reading about the impact that the Civil War had on everybody. I know this is fiction but I'm sure the author did plenty of research to find out how different areas of the country were affected.
While this book is billed as Christian, I didn't find it particularly so. There was enough "passion" to lend some sexual tension but nothing really steamy or untoward. Also, at one very tense point where everybody's lives are in danger, everybody is praying. However, I think that anybody in that situation would have been praying to be saved.
If you are a fan of the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, I think you would really enjoy this novel. I have been reading that series to my kids so this book helped tide me over between reading times.
This book seemed to have been left open-ended and I'm hoping fervently that that means there will be another to come. While I don't expect it to be all about Katie and Robert, I would like to see it start from there and travel on a different path.
The Measure of Katie Calloway by Serena Miller can be found at major book retailers.
Thank you to the publisher for supplying this book for review. This did not impact my review in any way. All thoughts are 100% my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.