Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Don't Waste Your Life - eBook

Crossway Books & Bibles Don't Waste Your Life - eBook

In this provocative work Pastor Piper challenges us to set aside the trivial pursuit of self-fulfillment so that we can develop a deeper passion for God. Piper believes that if we passionately submit the sufferings we endure, the risks we take, and the goals we set to the pursuit of God's glory, then not one moment of our lives will be wasted. Don't miss this opportunity to rekindle your passion for the cross of Christ and the glory of God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
Review 1 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very thought provoking.

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Follower
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes one stop and think about how we are using our time, money, resources that God has given; and whether we are making the most of our opportunities to serve Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stop spinning wheels and get into the race!

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While on a mission trip to Guatemala a decade ago, one of my colleagues repeatedly brought up the name of John Piper in our one-on-one conversations. Admittedly, I was familiar with his name but knew little of his ministry at the time. A year later, while attending a conference, I wandered into a nearby bookstore and purchased a copy of "Don't Waste Your Life." I read it and my perspective of life and ministry immediately began to be altered. Since that time I have read nearly all of his books, and have just completed this one for a second time. What makes John Piper such an effective preacher and author is the manner in which he is able to probe beneath the surface of our insulated Christian lives and touch the spiritual nerve where we actually exist. One cannot read Piper and walk away comfortable. No one I have read or heard has stated the biblical position for man's existence and purpose with greater clarity. In all of his books (something like four dozen of them!) his theology is consistent. If "Don't Waste Your Life" is your first Piper book, as it was mine, it is doubtful that it will be your last. The author places God in His preeminant role and assures man that his created purpose is to relate to God as all that He is for us in Christ Jesus. Whether a young person who has just come to Christ or a "seasoned saint" who has been walking with the Savior for many years, this book will cause the reader to focus on Jesus as our supreme Treasure. But be warned! You may be led to devote your life in unrestrained service to Him. While many well-meaning followers of Christ get bogged down in the vague quagmire of "looking for God's will" for their lives, this book makes it quite clear: don't waste it...live all of it for the glory of God! After all, as Piper is known for proclaiming, "God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him." Do yourself a favor before it's too late...read this book. Read it carefully with a listening heart.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Erica
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is life-transforming. It will challenge you and cause you to see this world, your life, and your "significance" in a whole new light. It's hard to go wrong with a book by John Piper, and this one is no exception!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought this for a Brother

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ian7
Location:Phx, Az
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend gave me this book awhile back and it was very helpful in my walk in life and pursuing ministry. But it was also helpful for my day to day walk to remember Him in all I do. I bought this book here because I wanted to give it to another friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Itsbygrace
Location:IN
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really good book. Would definately recommend it to anyone. This would be a good book to read for a Bible study...covers a lot of stuff that should bring up good conversation about how we can better glorify Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
luke 9
Location:cali
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great it always points back to the word of God. Piper will challenge you and through Scripture reveal your inner desires.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melody Tharpe
Dynamic. I was challenged and humbled by the many ways we attempt to waste our lives even while seemingly doing God's "work". I put forth a plan to challenge and change my wasting after reading this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Chadima
Fabulous book. Give one to a young person...college or newlly married. I couldn't put it down...read it in less than a week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlene
This straightforward, challenging book should be read by all who take seriously their life in Christ, which prayerfully, will be more and more of us with time. Piper's title alone, is attention-getting and thoroughly examined and grounded in scripture. Piper has us measure all life's pursuits by whether they line up with why we were created: to bring glory to God and enjoy Him forever. Are we really doing this?! Do we have the courage to ask the tough questions re: how we live?! I'm an avid reader, inviting the tough questions, and this book has surpassed those that I've read so far. I'm eternally grateful to have had it recommended (in another great book called "Do Hard Things" by Alex & Brett Harris) and passionately recommend it to all who'll take a hard look at themselves in light of our life in Christ to bring glory to Him! Praise His Name!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve Bolt
Excellent book, be prepared to be challenged. This book will convict and teach you how to be effective in your walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Pawelek
I was dissapointed in this book. The author repeated the same few points over and over just using different words and phrases. "I got the point the first 10 times!" The lesson could have been written in 50 pages or less. At the end he also goes completely off subject. I do agree with one premise that we as Christians are "missing the boat" as to what is really important keeping Christ in our everyday lives and actions but his attitude of "I've reached a plateau above most other Christians" is a bit disturbing. Another one of the many recent Christian books where the author, in a covert way, steps down off his cloud to tell us mere mortals why he is a better Christian.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Justin Crosby
This book is simply amazing. In a world where so many Christians only seem to care about what religion can bring them Piper reminds us that this life is not about us, it is all about exhalting the name of Jesus Christ and finding our ultimate delight in Him. This one is going to be required reading for my youth group mission-team next year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynsie Guest
Amazing book! I bought it for my husband because I knew that he liked John Piper, and he says this book has been an encouragement and challenge to daily submit to Christ and to not waste your life! Great for believers and those searching. A definate read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emily
This book is excellent for understanding you walk with Christ from a Calvanist's perspective. It's overall message of not throwing your life away, but being willing to sacrifice it for Christ and realizing what that really means to a deeper meaning. If you aren't a Calvanist, this book still is very good. I would say it's definately a college-age or older book. Junior High students will struggle, not only with is deeply theological messages, but also with the intense vocabulary. Some Senior High students may as well, but it depends on how far they are into their faith journey.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alan Albro
John Piper is one of my favorite authors and this is a great book, but I wonder if I was the only one who read this book with a tinge of despair.If one is sternly honest with oneself it would seem that the high calling in this book is beyond the abilities of any but a super saint such as Paul or my brother John Piper. John Piper is probably right in what he states in this book but a bruised reed such as myself has an exceedingly hard time applying this in practical terms to my mundane daily life. I was not knocked down on the road to Damascus, nor was I born with a spiritual silver spoon in my mouth. No disrespect intendedBy all means read this book but if you are honest with yourself you will be disturbed by it and that is most likely the authors purpose in the first place.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bullington-isaacson Cnstrctn
This book challenges us to live our lives for Christ in a passionate, joyful manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jay Watt
The church in America has lost sight of Jesus Christ. It has become inundated with "programs" and gimicky ministries that are as worldly as secular society. This is a book that all Christians need to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daniel Warnock
This book was given to me by my pastor. It was a great read. Piper dispells the myth of security and safety we like to think we have. Our life is in God's hand wherever we are. We are safest doing the will of God regardless of the location and regardless of statictics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gertrude Downing
This book is life changing. I have a different outlook on my walk with Christ and a better understanding of my walk with Christ. This book is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Don't Waste Your Life - eBook
This review is fromDon't Waste Your Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2006
Piper shines here as he calls the reader to embrace the truly important things of life. He begins this volume with a quest to find a single passion by which to live. Having found it in the glory of God through the cross of Christ, he then emphasizes the necessity of taking risks as believers. Nothing is accomplished without risk. He ends the book with a mission thrust, encouraging the reader to go into the world to make a difference for God.Piper is a prophetic, 21st century theologian who writes with a passion for Biblical truth and for the glory of God. There are several authors who have written great books, but there are far fewer great authors. Piper is a great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>