Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1

Revell When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1

As a member of the North Cascades Smokejumpers, Alexia Allen always takes care of the equipment that keeps her safe. So when she nearly dies in a fire due to equipment failure, she knows something is up. Ordered to take time off while the investigation continues, Alexia makes a last-minute decision to recuperate at her mother's home and attend her high school reunion. Yet trouble seems to be following her, and within hours of arriving home she's involved with murder, arson--and a handsome detective. But the conflicts ahead are nothing compared to the ghosts of her past. As she strives to remember and forgive her family history, she must also decide if the secret she's been guarding for the last ten years must finally come to light.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
37 out of 3897%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Review 1 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Got suspense? Lynette Eason delivers!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Someone seems to be after me and I’m not sure why.”
~Alexia Allen (page 143 of When the Smoke Clears)
I love a good suspense novel, don’t you?
Last week, when I was searching for a book to read in my oversized to-be-read pile, I had a few criteria. First, it had to be a novel that would quickly capture my interest. It must be one that I don’t want to put down until I read the very last word on the final page. This time around, I was looking for an author I had previously read before. And lastly, I needed to be finished with it in two or three days, so I could get back to work on my own manuscript.
When my eyes landed on Lynette Eason’s When the Smoke Clears, I knew I had found a winner. Previously, I had enjoyed her suspenseful Women of Justice series. They captured my interest and I could hardly put them down! Since I had finished each of the books in that series in less than three days, I figured the same would be true of When the Smoke Clears.
I was right.
Here’s my own brief summary of the first book in the Deadly Reunions series:
Since she’s been suspended pending an investigation into a piece of faulty equipment, firefighter and smokejumper Alexia Allen decides to attend her 10-year high school reunion in the hometown she fled immediately after graduating. As she’s confronted with her troubled past, a series of murders casts a murky shadow on her future. Will Alexia evade the killer long enough to clear her name in both cases looming over her? Or will she run away from her problems like she did as a child? Or will the killer catch up to her before she has a chance to do either?
Just thinking about this book again gave me the chills! I can’t wait to start reading the next installment in this gripping series!
If you are a fan of Christian suspense novels and have not yet discovered Lynette Eason, you should run (don’t walk!) to your nearest library or book store and pick up one of her titles. She does not disappoint readers looking for a good crime drama with lots of twists and turns. When I read a Lynette Eason book, I know I’m getting a tightly written story that will keep me up at night—the perfect and expected thing for a suspense novel to do! It leaves me so interested in the plotline, I don’t want to put it down. Besides that, I get so anxious to discover the killer that I couldn’t sleep a wink even if I wanted to.
I’ve decided that next time I read one of Lynette’s books, I’m going to make my own suspect list and see if I can figure out whodunit before the big reveal at the end of the novel. I challenge you to do the same!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense Action With Solid Message of Forgiveness

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Okay, it’s obvious from the beginning that this is the kind of book that will grab your attention in the same way someone can grab the front of your shirt and insists on keeping it until the last page. Apparently, someone is VERY determined to destroy Alexia Allen’s life from the beginning of the story. This is the kind of book that should be made into a movie (that’s how I pictured the plot unfolding while reading it).
Even though Alexia is a firefighter and smokejumper (had to look this one up and found it on Wikipedia…. A smokejumper is a wildland firefighter who parachutes into a remote area to combat wildfires), the book only has her on active duty at the start. I really wish there had been more parts of the story allowing her to be an active firefighter. She thinks like a first responder and firefighter throughout the book, but she doesn’t get to play a hero in this book as a killer hunts her down.
As great as this story was, there were a few things I didn’t enjoy about it:
Police officers are killed
There is intense abuse in Alexia’s family
There are minor characters in the story who question Alexia’s innocence
There are some parts of the plot that are left unanswered (which leaves room for a sequel but I really wanted more questions answered)
In spite of the above mentioned, I was really taken with this story. One thing I loved about this book, someone names her pets after Star Wars characters….what a treat to read about Yoda and Chewy! When the Smoke Clears is extremely well written, nonstop action, and there is no profanity as we watch constant attempts on Alexia’s life and those around her. There are three house fires, one explosion, and several unexpected attacks so there is plenty of violence but I considered the purpose to all of it and realized the MAIN message in this story was about forgiveness. There is much tragedy in Alexia’s family that causes her to leave home the day she graduates from high school and so many things go unanswered or are forgotten because of the trauma she experienced. She has several flashbacks in the story and finally understands all that happened. She learns how much God loves her, starts reading her best friend’s Bible, and learns to pray for the first time. It is a nice ending and despite my not liking everything that went on, the story had my full attention and that’s evidence of great writing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written, interesting book.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book. I like it when a book has every loose end tied up at the end, but I ordered the 2nd book in the series, so now I hope I can find out "the rest of the story".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great start

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
to a series. This is the story of firefighter Alexia who while struggling with her past, returns home after a 10 year period to find a dead body in her family home.
One thing I can always count on with this author is that she always starts things off with a bang and doesn't let the momentum slow throughout the book.
With Alexia I liked her character and I loved the fact that she struggles with her relationship with her mom as well as her budding relationship with God. This was something I could relate to. She was confident but not overly so. She had human strengths and flaws.
Our hero, Hunter Graham, I wasn't sure how I felt about him. On one hand he was a strong competent cop who excelled at his job. One the other hand, this whole competition thing with his brother Chad, made some parts feel to high school for me.
I'm thrilled that some of the mysteries will continue on into the next book. I really enjoy series that are tied together with a common thread. I am looking forward to reading the second book.
I love Lynette Eason books. She is one author that I lend out of my library a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
4½ stars
Alexia, Serena and Jillian were best friends in high school.
At the day they graduated Jillian saw something she had better not seen. Her friends saw that she was afraid of something, but Jillian never told them what she saw. That day she ran away out of their lives and neither Alexia nor Serena would hear from her in the next 10 years.
Also on that day Alexia started a new life. Her mother threw out of the house and she didn't know where to go.
Ten years later Alexia is a firefighter and she is loving her job. When she is in a burning house trying to save a child she runs out of air due to equipment failure. It seems like her equipment is sabotaged. She is off duty while the case is investigated.
Her friend Serena calls her to ask her to come home for a high school reunion. Serena also tries to talk Alexia in visiting her mother whom is in the hospital. Alexia hasn't seen her mom since she threw her out of the house. According to Serena her mother has changed, but Alexia finds it hard to believe.
When she comes home, she first visits her mother's house. When she is inside she's hearing a noise from the basement. When she goes to investigate she finds a man bleeding to death.
The police arrive and she's surprised to see Hunter as the detective. She knows him from high school. Hunter was a couple of years older than Alexia.
Hunter was attracted to Alexia in high school, but she didn't seem to show any interest in him. Now 10 years later he finds himself still attracted to her. His partner doesn't like Alexia and thinks she's quilty. Soon more troubles start and Alexia is always in the center of it. Can Hunter keep her safe? Will he believe in her innocence? Does the equipment failure at work has anything to do with the troubles at home?
Alexia has no idea who is after her. In between all the troubles she visits her mother and tries to remember things from her youth. She also seems to run into God everywhere. Will she surrender to Him?
This was a fast paced action book. I had a hard time putting the book down. I really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to reading the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Ending

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall I thought the book was good. But, in places it just dragged on and on. I don't know how many books will be in this series, but, are we going to have to wait until the very last book to find out who is behind this? That was a big disappointment at the end not knowing who was behind it. Shame on the author for leaving us hanging.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lynette Eason's usual suspense!

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
kisarn
Location:Macon, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What suspense! Keeps you reading until you lose track of time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent story! Looking forward to the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait for the next book in this series!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
GerBear
Location:Oak Hills, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my favorite authors is Dee Henderson, and when she recommended this book, I listened. This is the first book by Lynette Eason that I have read, and it won't be my last. When Smoke Clears was a great suspence novel, and I can't wait until September for #2 in the series. I will also try her other series. Great cliff-hanger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
dorthy
Location:illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful story. Although it seemed to drag down in some places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy Lady
Location:Rudy, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. The people in this book were very believable. I love to read christian books. I have read several of this authors books and have really enjoyed them. Theykeep your attention and the suspense is very good. I love suspense books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action Packed Suspense-Filled Read

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fast paced story that fills the senses, and kept me hanging on til the end.
Alexia Allen is being stalked. Someone wants her silenced. The problem is that she doesn't know what they think she does. Alexia grew up in a troubled home, with an abusive father. While fighting off the attacks in the present, she also battles the demons in her past. Not to mention dealing with a certain handsome detective!
When the Smoke Clears intrigued me from the very first page, and as the pages turned, the plot picked up more and more momentum, making this book nearly impossible to put down!
Alexia was a wonderful heroine, vulnerable, yet with an inner strength and a seeking heart. She was a very believeable character, and I found it easy it easy to instantly connect with her, even though my life is nothing like her's.
I'm not too much of a suspense reader but I'd heard alot about Lynette Eason, so I had to give this one a shot, and I'm so glad that I did! Non-stop action, with scenes that will send shivers down your spine, When the Smoke Clears is not a book to be missed! This is th kind of book that will swallow you up, taking you right along with the characters into the action. I really liked how the details of crime scenes weren't dwelled on more than they had to be, giving me the basic idea, but not all the goriness. I would highly recommend this book to suspense readers or anyone who likes a good unputdownable read that will keep them turning the pages when it's long past time to go to bed! Thanks.
Final Rating: 5 out of 5
“Available February 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Thanks to Donna Hausler & Revell Publishing for furnishing me with a copy of this book in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Lynette Eason returns with the first in her Deadly Reunions series, When the Smoke Clears, another romantic suspense that she is well known for. While I really enjoy Lynette's writing, a couple of things bothered me with this story. Thanks to the cover art I was anticipating some thrilling scenes about a female smokejumper but these did not eventuate, to my disappointment. While the back cover copy indicates Alexia is on leave, at some point I imagined we would see Alexia in her element, even more so when learning her back story and what had drawn her to such a risky career in the first place. The other frustration was the over kill (pun intended!) when it came to the attempts on Alexia's life, that at one point seemed to be occurring every few pages, and kept pulling me from the story. That said, all is not lost! Lynette's strong writing is evident on all other aspects of the tale, from the underlying mystery, the attraction between Alexia and Hunter, and good characterisation. Hunter's brother Chad provides extra conflict and interesting family dynamics and I like that threads of intrigue are not tied up leaving them to flow through the series. The high expectations I have for Lynette's stories was not quite met with this one, but I would still recommend it and will look forward to the second in the series, When A Heart Stops, releasing this October.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Page Turner

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Kansas City, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy Eason's suspense writing. She usually has me turning pages from the very beginning - starting off with action from the get-go. I will say, that with so much danger facing the main character in this book, it's a little unrealistic that she escaped it every time, but it makes for a good fiction read all the same :-) So far I have guessed the bad guy in all of Eason's stories, but that almost makes it more nail-biting when you know have a good guess what is coming. Good ending - I wasn't expecting that, but I won't elaborate so I don't spoil the ending - you will just have to read it for yourself ;-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Intriguing!

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This novel of course had romance (and that part was pretty much predictable), but the mystery that kept me sitting on the edge of my seat was anything but predictable!
Lynette kept me intrigued and mystified as to who the perpetrator was surrounding the attempts on the main character Alexia's life as she returns home for her high school reunion. I was taken by surprise when I figured out who it was.
I shed a few tears as Alexia dealt with demons from her past. It was good to read how her circumstances brought her closer to God and not farther away from Him. We humans have a tendency to run from Him, don't we?
As a heads up this is a murder mystery with multiple murders occurring, but no really graphic details were revealed.
This book was definitely worth the read and I cannot wait for the sequel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She's Done it Again!

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great story by Lynette Eason.
When the Smoke Clears, weaves suspenseful plot, deep characters, and a thread of romance that is sure to keep you turning each page.
The only thing I didn't like about the book was that it ended.
This is book one in the Deadly Reunions series, and I'm looking forward to seeing where this story takes us next. Definitely a 5 star read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great read from Lynette Eason!

Date:February 18, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alexia Allen is a stong, competent firefighter. So when she finds herself under investigation and on leave, she makes the difficult decision to visit her estranged mother and attend her high school reunion. Upon her return home, she finds a dying man in her mother's home and she is suddenly the person of interest in his murder investigation. It's not the first time this town has looked on her with suspicion and the past still haunts her. When Detective Hunter Graham seems to take a personal interest in keeping her under supervision, Alexia balks, but soons comes to appreciate his protection when further incidents arise. Will Alexia be able to clear herself of present and past suspicions? Will her budding romance with Hunter survive the accusations, incidents and danger?
Lynette Eason is one of my favorite authors for Christian suspense/romance novels. When the Smoke Clears is the first book in the Deadly Reunions series and it did not disappoint. Eason's flawless writing combined with the mystery and suspense aspects of the plot kept me hooked throughout the whole story. Alexia's character was complex, well-developed and authentic. The story had plenty of closure and yet the epilogue now has me awaiting the next installment in the series. I recommend this book if you are looking for an inspirational, contemporary romance with plenty of suspense.
Available February 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hang on because its a bumpy ride!

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Ok, you better set aside a weekend when you pick this book up because once you start it, you really don't want to put it down. Strap yourself in because it is a bumpy ride... well it is if you are Alexia Allen anyway. It is kind of hard to protect yourself when you don't know who is trying to kill you or why they are after you in the first place. And Alexia is out to discover all the different ways she might die, if she can't keep outsmarting the bad guys - whoever they are. This book is #1 in a new series and not everything is wrapped up neatly at the end because I think we are in for another whirlwind with book #2! Great characters, and an incredible ride as the story unravels during this book - this new book just confirms what I've known for quite awhile now... you can not go wrong with Lynette Eason's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Erin
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can say that the other reviews on this book are completely accurate! I started reading this book right before I went to bed one night, as I do most books...but that night there was little sleeping accomplished. I couldn't put the darn thing down!! Finished it in one sitting and now have to wait for the next in the series :(
One of the best books I've read in a while!! You won't be disappointed...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When the Smoke Clears, Deadly Reunions Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Give yourself plenty of time when you start reading this one. No matter how often you tell yourself that you’re going to put the book down and get something done, you won’t.
It was early afternoon when I decided to read a couple chapters. Now it’s dark outside and nearly time to sleep - if I can unwind from the adrenalin rush. This is a book that grips you and won’t let go.
Before you finish the book, you’ll think everyone is the suspect. When you do get to the end, you’ll know some things, but there’s still more to learn. I want to start reading the second book in this series now. Or tomorrow at the latest. How much longer do we really have to wait, Ms Eason?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>