Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3

Revell When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3

Investigative reporter Jillian Carter knows it's time to put the past to rest. She's tired of looking over her shoulder, letting a killer go free. She's no longer the scared kid who changed her name and disappeared. Now, no matter what the cost, Jillian must do what she is trained to do-ferret out the truth and expose it. Senator Frank Hoffman committed murder ten years ago-and Jillian watched it happen. Didn't she?

Lynette Eason |  Deadly Reunions Series

Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Review 1 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting mystery!

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed all the books in this series. Lynette Eason is a great author! All of her books are suspenseful mysteries. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This may be my favorite book in Lynette Eason’s Deadly Reunions Series. I enjoyed all books very much, but the main characters in “When a Secret Kills” are my favorites.
And finally we read the conclusion of the big mystery. You may be in for a surprise, although I started to suspect how the ending would be while devouring this story.
If you haven’t read any of the books in this series, then I recommend you start with the first book and take time to read the whole series in one sitting. It’s definitely worth your time!
*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Conclusion, Wow!!

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow, what a thrilling book! I really didn't know how to comment on this great read, but then I discussed it with my friend Marian on facebook and I figured it out :) The secret that caused the 3 women in this series to be terrorized and hunted down totally stunned me, but this book is the best of the series and answers EVERY question! I had trouble putting this book away, but I needed to sleep so I read this book in two sittings :) I LOOOOOVED how the series concluded in this book, but I did suspect who the guilty person was and this is the type of book where nothing is what it seems to be. After reading this, I didn't read anything for about 3 days just to absorb it all before letting go. The storytelling was just THAT good, finally there is justice for every character!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a Secret Kills is the last book in the Deadly Reunion series and I have to admit out of the three, this is by far my favorite.
Jillian Carter finally decides it's time to come home to make sure that the secret she has been hiding is exposed and justice is served. But little does she realize just how much it may cost her.
Colton Brady has not seen Jillian in ten long years. Not since she left town on the night of their high school graduation. But when he shows at the airport after an assassination attempt on her life, he realizes that his feelings for her that he thought he buried are now bubbling back up to the surface.
I really liked Jillian and Colton. Jillian was just the right mixture of strength and vulnerability which can be a tricky thing to pull off sometimes but Lynette Eason seem to have a talent for it. Colton was written equally has well, again with just the right amount of tenderness and intensity that makes him believable. And they also have a well-balanced romance.
Blake was a great addtion to the story and I really hope that this author gives him his own story.
I absolutely loved the story line and there were a couple of plot twist that I never saw coming. That is wonderful for me because I hate to have everything figured out by the middle of the book.
There is also enough back story so that you could read this as a stand alone book, but if you have read all three books you will find that the author does an outstanding job of pulling the entire trilogy together with this last book. It is a fast paced page turner that sucks you in until you have to finish it!
I think anyone who enjoys mystery, suspense and with a touch of romance will truly love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good mystery and suspense

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel wraps up The Reunion series. Jillian has been gone for ten years. She saw a murder the night of the high school graduation party – and the murderer saw her. She knew her life was in danger. It would be the word of a teen against that of a powerful man. She immediately left town. Over time she had made a life for herself, becoming an investigative reporter. But when a colleague is killed by a bomb on the car she was to be driving, she knew she had been found out. It was time for her to return and find a way to put the murderer behind bars.
Jillian's return is a shock to many, including her high school boyfriend now detective Colton. The still love struck Colton is reluctant to believe her story as he is the nephew of the accused killer. But when it becomes clear that someone is out to silence Jillian, Colton moves to protect her and find the truth behind the accusations.
Eason has crafted a good mystery. There is lots of action as there are powerful people who have much to loose if the decade old secret comes to light. The final revelation of the murderer is plausible.
My only criticism is that Jillian sometimes put herself in danger, knowing better. I don't like it when some of the action in a suspense novel occurs because a character did a stupid thing. Jillian is a savvy investigative reporter and sometimes acted out of character.
The Christianity of the characters is well done. Jillian and Colton were love struck teens and made a mistake but as adult Christians, make the right decisions for their lives. And what a character that Megan is! I loved her wit.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Jillian Carter has spent the last 10 years of her life hiding from a killer. Tired of hiding and living a secret Jillian decides to return home to confront the person trying to kill her. The killer is getting closer to Jillian and becoming desperate to finish the job.
Colton Brady is stunned to see the changes in Jillian, the girl he once was in love with. Once Jillian reveals her reason for disappearing 10 years before, Colton has a hard time believing her story. After several attempts on Jillian's life though, Colton has no choice but to confront someone very close to him.
Jillian and Colton have really never stopped loving each other. As Colton fights to keep Jillian alive the attraction they had for each other many years before is once again rekindled. Jillian has one last secret that she is keeping from Colton though. Will this be the secret that ends their relationship forever?
With so many twists and turns I kept thinking "oh this is the killer" or "oh no, THIS is the killer" and then change my mind again! What a great story that can have you guessing right up until the very end of the book! WHEN A SECRET KILLS was a quick and suspenseful read that has me looking forward to reading more of Lynette Eason's stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wraps up an exciting trilogy

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in a trilogy, and what a great ending. You really should start with book one and read them in order as the story is continued, albeit from different characters' points of view. I liked the fact that while each book is a complete story in itself starring it's own set of characters, there is a bigger story overall that runs through all three books.
It all started graduation night. Why did Jillian disappear? Now it's time to hear it from her and solve the mystery that's kept her in hiding.
This is a spectacular ending to a series that will remain one of my favorites for some time to come. I always enjoy Lynette Eason's writing. I can't wait to see what's next.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ending to this series!

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
GerBear
Location:Oak Hills, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have become a true fan of Lynette Eason's writings! This series was exceptional. I really enjoyed the way she grabbed your attention in the first book, and you just had to continue with the series to find out what really happened that first night. What a way to hold your interest. The final book did not disappoint, and I am so glad to finally be able to put all of the puzzle pieces together. I've already begun reading the Women of Justice Series and hope she will continue writing for many more years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A splendid conclusion to a thrilling series

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Normally I don't love romantic suspense, but would prefer the romance be largely left out. Lynette Eason's "Deadly Reunions" series has convinced me otherwise, that a romantic suspense book can be a fantastic read! This final installment in the series, "When A Secret Kills", had my pulse accelerating only moments into the story, and the suspense level remained high from start to finish. The author has found a winning combination between developing realistic characters you can care about, with tense scenes and enough gunshots and explosions to satisfy the most committed fiction suspense fan. The romance isn't at all over the top but fits naturally into the story, and as such both male and female readers are likely to appreciate this book. Not only does the story entertain, but themes of forgiveness and reconciliation are likewise woven into the plot, giving readers the opportunity to examine their own faith and the way they respond to people in their lives who have hurt them in some way.
Romantic suspense novels don't get better than this, and the entire series is worth checking out if you haven't yet done so! 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling Conclusion to the Deadly Reunions Series

Date:June 2, 2013
When a Secret Kills is the final book in the Deadly Reunions series ... and what a conclusion it was! As I've come to expect from Lynette Eason, this book was filled with one intense moment after another. I loved how things from the previous two books were brought back into the story so that everything could (finally!) come to a conclusion.
I really felt for Jillian. After reading about her in the previous two books, it was nice to finally get to meet her and learn exactly what transpired ten years prior to cause her to run away. It was a very unique way of telling a story ... through three books ... and I loved it! Plus, the romance was so perfect—resurrecting a ten-year-old relations. I definitely gave a few sighs of contentment as the relationship progressed. :)
This series has turned me into a huge fan of Lynette Eason! Fans of suspense novels are sure to love When A Secret Kills! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review. Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic Suspense at it's best!

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have come to enjoy Lynette Eason's style of romantic suspense so much that I eagerly anticipate each new book she has. She just can't write fast enough to satisfy how fast I can read! In book #3 of the Deadly Reunion series we get to revisit the characters we have grown to love in the first two books, but we get inside the head of Jillian Carter as she emerges from the shadows where she has been hiding for the last 10 years because she witnessed a murder and someone doesn't want her to tell what she knows. She can't stay silent and on the run any longer so she goes back home and is in immediate danger. Colton Brady is there to help protect her, he used to love her but she left and he soon realizes he never stopped loving her. It could get complicated but his first goal is to keep her alive.
The tension in this book is high - suspense and romantic! It is the perfect blend of the two. I was totally drawn into this storyline and it culminates with the reveal of what is behind some of the plot in the other two books. Love it! Love it! Love it! What will Lynette Eason come up with next?!? All I know is that I plan on finding out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best!! Can't wait for her next series!

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Thoughts: WOW! I was so excited to read this last book in the Deadly Reunion Series and believe me it did NOT disappoint. This was a explosive book, there was so much action and so much drama I couldn't stop reading until I finished the book. I absolutely love Lynette Eason's books and while I was disappointed that this series ended, I know that means a new AWESOME series will be on the way! I was happy to see how the "secret" would play out, who was behind the killings, and who the real bad people were. I loved this book and if there were more than 5 stars available for the rating I would give everything possible! If you love mystery, action, drama and a great plot you must read this Deadly Reunion Series.
Available May 2013 from your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nikkilee
Location:Winnipeg,MB
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book kept me guessing the whole time! Just when I thought I had it figured out another twist was thrown in and I had a new mystery to slove. The whole trilogy is definitely worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Riveting!

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
This is another book that I read last month during the rain storms. When a Secret Kills is a part of the Deadly Reunions by Lynette Eason and is the last book of the series. Sniff, sniff. :(
I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the characters in this series. It's sad when a series comes to an end after you've made the characters your friends, so to speak.
When a Secret Kills kept me reading on the edge of my seat...right to the end. It was suspenseful and the plot riveting. I loved the thread of trust some of the minor characters had to have in order to have faith that God would eventually reveal the truth the characters knew in their hearts. Ten years is a very long time to pray and trust for a wrong to be made right. This is so often the case in real life - God reveals His truth in His time and way, not ours. That fact is sometimes hard for us humans to swallow, especially when we want to be in control ourselves, but His time is always perfect.
I loved the captivating plot and the sweet reunion of a family long torn apart by a secret and a crime.
Two thumbs up and I can't wait for Ms. Eason's next series!
“Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Warning! You might stay up all night reading!

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WARNING!
Do not begin When a Secret Kills by Lynette Easton unless you have the time to read the entire book! It’s that good!
Lynette Easton has written a mystery book that just keeps you wanting to read to see what happens next. Really! Book 3 in her Deadly Reunions Series takes the people you have met in the first two books and adds a new character, Jillian. Like others in the first two books, she has a long kept secret, and at last, if she wants to keep from being killed, she needs to return home. But first, she must live long enough to get there. After she is attacked in the airport restroom, it seems as if this is not going to be easy, but Meg is depending on her.
Then she meets the last person she wants to see, Colton. Now what is she to do? Is ten years enough for her to forget the history they have between them? How will she keep the secret that means more than life to her? Meg must come first, even if Colton… well, that is another problem to be solved.
When a Secret Kills is a fast paced book that makes it hard to stop reading until you get to the last page. Take courage. It has a very satisfactory ending when you get there, even if it has kept you up past your bedtime. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Thanks for a great read, Mrs. Easton!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Murder Attempts, A Deadly Secret and Romance

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynette Eason in her new book, "When A Secret Kills" Book Three in her Deadly Reunions series published by Revell takes us into the life of Jillian Carter.
From the Back Cover: She's come home to put a killer behind bars.
But the killer plans to put her six feet under.
Investigative reporter Jillian Carter knows it's time to put the past to rest. She's tired of looking over her shoulder, letting a killer go free. She's no longer the scared kid who changed her name and disappeared. Now, no matter what the cost, Jillian must do what she is trained to do-find the truth and expose it. And the truth is that Senator Frank Hoffman committed murder ten years ago-and Jillian watched it happen.
Didn't she?
Get ready for the spine-tingling, nail-biting conclusion to this explosive series.
A car bomb that blows up the wrong person and a botched assassination attempt at the airport. Someone really really does not like Jillian Carter! A ten-year old secret is about to be exposed and the killer will go to any lengths to make sure that it does not happen. To complicate matters the police do not believe the story that Jillian tells them. How is she going to be able to prove the truth when she can barely stay alive? "When A Secret Kills" is a thriller, no doubt about it. Jillian and Colton's lives are in great danger from page one and the danger grows with the body count. Just when you think you might know where the story is heading Ms. Eason tosses in another turn which you take at high-speed on two wheels. Ms. Eason makes her characters so real and you root for them to complete their mission and you root for their romance to blossom. Ms. Eason knows how to tell a story that keeps you flipping the pages and guessing as to who the bad guys really are. This is a wild ride read and I recommend it highly. With this book this high-octane series comes to an end however I am already looking forward to the next series from Ms. Eason.
If you missed the interview for "Too Close To Home", the first book in the other series, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The three friends are reunited, but the danger is still present. Their secret keeps killing, and it’s time to find the killer.
Ms Eason has given us another nail biter. The adrenalin just keeps pumping through the entire book.
Every time you think you have it figured out, you don’t. The body count just keeps rising as everyone tries to keep Jillian safe.
This book isn’t just about a mystery. It’s mysteries buried inside other mysteries with romance tossed in the mix. That’s not all. You’re going to need that box of tissues.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was spell-binding.

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Siegler
Location:Carmichael, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the first two books in the series as a gift. They were so incredible that I purchased the third book. This author is fantastic. I could hardly put the book down. It kept my interest right from the beginning. I have shared it with my daughter-in-law.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lynette Eason Kills It! Excellent Ending

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:New Mexico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynette Eason kills it again! With each book I read, she became one of my favorite authors, as every romantic suspense she writes has me on the edge of my seat turning pages before I can finish the last sentence. I absolutely have to know what's happening next.
When a Secret Kills is the final book in her Deadly Reunions series. Every book has been gripping, but this one tops them all. I couldn't put it down.
Let me tell you, Senator Hoffman is one scary man. When Jillian teams up with her high school flame, Colton, they work together to get the proof they need to attempt to bring Frank to justice. More than one friend is in danger (and has been in the past two books). And there's another element to the book that makes the tension even stronger, but I won't give it away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When a Secret Kills, Deadly Reunions Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a wrap-up!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the first two books I wondered a few times about the circumstances, the way Ms. Eason put them together. No, better leave that thought; might spoil it for someone. Anyway, the end, wow, the end. I didn't expect it. Bit of fingernail-biting-edge-of-the-seat stuff in there as well. Best to start this one when you have time to finish in one go! Or your night will be shot!
Wonder what the next series will be? At least, I hope there is more to come.
PS. Since there is always room for improvement in any book, I gave this one 4 to 4 1/2 stars; there is some editing 'stuff' that fell into the cracks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>