Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design

Revell God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design

Combining the clear everyday language of God's Word translation with inspirational writing from bestselling author Hayley Di Marco, the God Girl Bible is jam-packed with these timeless features:
  • Devotions and study helps
  • book intros including quick facts about the author, the audience, themes, and more
  • profiles of God Girls you'll find in this Bible
  • prayers and "Know This" devotions to help you dive deeper into the Word each day
  • "Ask Yourself" sidebars that encourage you to consider what the Bible means for your daily life
  • a Quick Relief index of helpful verses on topics and issues you face every day
  • Average Customer Rating:
    5 out of 5
    5
     out of 
    5
    (12 Reviews) 12
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
    5 stars
    12
    4 stars
    0
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Review 1 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:August 13, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Peooplelover
    Location:East TN
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    It is a very beautiful Bible and feminine. The fourth grade girl I got it for can read it easily and is learning how to find her way through it. She likes the idea of decorating it, but we have not had the time to do it yet. Good price and timely shipping.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    The best bible I've ever owned!

    Date:July 31, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    lovemusic13
    Age:Under 18
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I needed a bible for doing a new years resolution this year(2013), and I found this, and loved it. I thought it would be one of the small bibles, but no, its a regular big sized bible. And I loved creating my own design on the cover as well. :) This bible is amazing, it has devos and "ask yourself" questions throughout the bible. I am only 14 ( well 13 when I started the new years resolution), and this bible helped me realize my relationship with God and Jesus. I am almost done with the whole bible, and its only the end of July. ( I am only 14 remember!!!) But this bible is great, just what I was looking for... Awesomely pleased with my bible;) ( And great for even young adults as well)
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    great for pre-teen, teens

    Date:June 8, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Brandy Luth
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My daughter loves this bible. She liked getting to add her artwork on the cover. Great buy!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    My daughter loved this Bible so much.

    Date:February 16, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Wendypaz
    Location:Queen Charlotte, BC
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My daughter loved this Bible so much that she got one for each of her friends and they are now doing a Bible study with their Bibles.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Perfect for any tween/teen girl

    Date:February 11, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Dawn Lynes
    Location:Grant, MI
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I bought this Bible for my daughter and I loved all the features. She was able to custom design her Bible to her individual style. The God Girl website had different ideas on decorating.
    There are devotions, areas of study,and the God's Word translation makes it easy for her to understand. The topics help her to relate it to her life.
    If that wasn't enough, there is a website where girls can dive deeper into learning about God and developing their relationship with Him and talk with other about it.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    So thankful this bible exists!

    Date:September 10, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Karyn
    Location:Edmonton, AB
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    DiMarco has done a fantastic job of giving our girls solid, biblical advice. I poured over dozens of bibles available, but all fell short except this one. The topics in devotions point toward a God who loves, forgives, and renews daily. Topics are wholesome and always presented through the lens of our Creator. My 13yr old daughter loves this bible and the accompanying devotion book. Well done, DiMarco! You're being a blessing to a whole generation of girls! Ever so thankful!
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Excellent product

    Date:May 16, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Robert Stisher
    Location:White Bluff, TN
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Purchased this Bible for my 13 year old granddaughter. She is very pleased with it.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:March 30, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    NUBIAN87
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    perfect gift or purchase for a young lady in between tweens to young adult
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Daughter is very excited with her new Bible

    Date:February 1, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    xcelfitpat
    Location:Baltimore, MD
    Age:45-54
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This was definitely the right Bible at the right time for our tweenager. Great idea with the cover of this Bible and having the web materials/ministry to go along with it is going to be very helpful.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    This is the best Bible for teens!

    Date:October 5, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Virginia
    Location:Nebraska
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Haley DiMarco’s new God Girl Bible, written in the God’s Word translation is fantastic! I am eleven years old and I think it is perfect for girls my age and older.
    Its simple, straight forward girl talk is so easy to understand. It has little ‘Ask yourself’ boxes that ask questions that I never would have thought of.
    The ‘Know This’ Devotions as about and answer questions about chapters, give you verses to read and help you understand the tough stuff. It has a God Girl Glossary, a Quick Relief, Where to find things in the Bible, a spiritual self-check and even a subject index. The Reading plans in the back are extremely helpful too.
    Thank you, Haley DeMarco, for allowing God to use you to make this amazing Bible.
    There is also a cool website where Haley will personally tutor you and help you in your relationship with God and with other people in your life.
    Check it out!!!”
    That review was written by my 11-year-old and really I have nothing more to add. The cover of the Bible comes begging for your daughter’s creativity. The cover is white and has a leaf inset design on it that is screaming to be colored in. Oh and I just went to find it online, we received the white cover with pink binding, they have one that is white with a purple binding. That is just perfect! Perfect i say, my 11 year -old loves pink and my younger daughter loves purple.
    I was not familiar with the translation, God’s Word, so I was thrilled to see it is very similar to the NIV or NLT.
    Parents, this would be a wonderful gift for your pre-teen/teenage girl. In fact, you might want to pick up a couple as I know you’ll want one too. I do!
    “Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Perfect for your daughters!

    Date:October 3, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Julieanne Miller
    Location:Oregon
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We try to read the Bible together in our home at least once a day. Our goal is to have the girls and I read together in the mornings, when we begin our school day, and then my husband leads us in prayer and Bible reading/discussions in the evenings.
    Revell Publishers developed this absolutely beautiful Bible for girls and young women (ages 12-19) to enjoy reading and using on their own. I love what the "Getting Started" guide says at the beginning:
    "As a God Girl, you cannot live without God's Word. You cannot know who you are or what your purpose is on this earth without opening up the pages of his book and getting to know his thoughts, his ways, and his voice. The Bible is the answer to all your fears and all your questions. Without it you are making life up on your own, winging it and even playing God. If anything you believe contradicts what is written in God's Word, then you are destined for failure. Trouble is on its way. But when you can check yourself against what God has said to you in his book, then you can be more sure you'll find success God's way."
    The God Girl Bible was designed to enable girls and young women to customize the front covers of their Bibles. It's beautiful all by itself, but for those who enjoy getting creative, they may use stickers, markers, stamps, rub-ons, etc. to decorate their Bible covers.
    My daughter decided to leave hers blank for now. She loves how it looks already - so peaceful and fresh and clean. I love the feel of the cover, and the weight and size of the Bible.
    The God Girl Bible was published with the help of Hayley DiMarco, who is also the best-selling author of numerous books for teens, including Dateable and God Girl. The God Girl Bible includes many special features such as devotions, prayers and study aids that will help girls apply what they are reading to their daily lives. Its cover is designed to be personalized with stickers and markers if a girl wants to “make it her own”.
    This Bible is written in the “God’s Word” translation. If you aren't familiar with this newer translation, you may go to the God’s Word website and read more about it.
    Here's what my daughter, (age 13), had to say about the God Girl Bible:
    "I thought the God's Word translation was easy to read and understand, and it followed right along with the other Bibles in our house without changing the meanings of the words. There are sidebars on some of the pages, and they have encouraging words to help girls and young women. The sidebars also helped explain some of the passages. There were also some scripted prayers that were helpful to pray through. I like this Bible!"
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for God Girl Bible, Duravella, Deep Purple/Snow White, Tree Design
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful Gift for any Young Girl

    Date:October 2, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Abbie
    Location:Texas
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    My daughter was excited when I told her that we would be receiving this bible as a review copy. In fact each day for several weeks she would eagerly await the mail to see if the package containing this bible was in the bundle of mail for the day. I don't think she could get it opened fast enough when it finally came.
    I was unfamiliar with the God's Word Translation and so I was anxious to read it and see how it flowed. However, Anna beat me to it. She loved the ease of the language because she said it made it very easy to understand. She, in fact, said she thought it was close to her ESV. She also said on more than one occasion that this was her new favorite bible because of this very thing. Last year she had received an iShine bible that is printed by Tyndale, though she liked it she quickly shelved it because she did not care as much for the translation or notes. This is quite the opposite reaction to the God Girl bible. She devours the scriptures with this translation often stopping to make comments about certain scriptures as she is understanding the meaning easier with this particular translation.
    I have enjoyed her conversation about the devotionals that are included, and the "Ask Yourself" sections. These have served as great conversation starters (and most moms would agree that this part of the mother/daughter relationship sometimes suffers during the pre-teen/teen years). She is eager to discuss these and her own personal thoughts. This has often opened the door to teaching moments but more so has allowed me to see into her heart and hear what God is writing on it. Another section that Anna has really enjoyed is the "Spiritual Self-Check" - in this section a girl is challenged to look at their life and see if there are things they need to change. She has shown significant spiritual growth and personal change by applying these things in her life. She is always excited to talk about the things that she is learning and the things she is working on changing. As a mom this is so great to see but it also serves as a challenge to myself to look at these same areas in my own life. In addition Anna has enjoyed the God Girl Stories about other girls like herself that are striving to serve God. In this world I think that often Christian girls feel like the odd man out - even in church settings. This has given her a new confidence in her Christian walk in knowing she is truly not the only one out there with these views and desires to serve God.
    It has been a long time since my daughter was so excited about a bible. Though she has always done personal bible study and scripture memorization the tools in this bible are helping her to develop a new spiritual depth and understanding. I am glad to see her recommend this bible to others - simply because she loves the bible translation and wants other girls her age to have the same enjoyment when they read the bible.
    In my daughter's own words - "This bible ROCKS! And it's even more awesome because you get to decorate it yourself!"
    Thank you Revell for this review copy
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.