Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes

Zondervan NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes

The large print type is easy to read, and the NIrV Bible translation is easy to understand since it is written at a third grade reading level. Color maps, a dictionary, and a reading plan of 150 famous Bibles stories are included to help increase your understanding of the Scripture.

Features include
  • Complete text of the Bible in the NIrV, the stepping stone to the NIV
  • Large print (12-point) type for easy reading
  • Book introductions and outlines explain the main themes of each book
  • Quick reference dictionary to help with unfamiliar words
  • Reading plan of 150 famous Bible stories
  • 8 full-color maps for easy visualization of key Bible places
  • Durable and attractive Italian Duo-Tone binding
  • Presentation page for personalization and gift giving
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 2095%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Review 1 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The quality and NIRV version were perfect.

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gabriel
Location:Park Street Church Boston, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was wonderful to be able to get this quality Bible for a
missionary friend of mine. He needed a large print Bible and the cost for a leather bound Bible was helpful. Thank you for such a great sale! He is an Albanian missionary to the Albanian church in the USA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for English as a Second Language!

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
LadyHarp
Location:Austin TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NIRV gives an excellent way to introduce the Bible to teens and adults with English as a Second Language.
Also, I use quotes from it on Facebook to relate to those needing godly counsel without me appearing "religious."
This bible has mature look and feel. Especially because I had their names imprinted, my students are proud of their bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great first Bible

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Astrid
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We got this Bible for our 5-year-old for reading practice and to get him used to reading the Bible every day. It's perfect for little kids!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good looking Bible for all!

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
dotr
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I purchased these Bibles for mostly non church family children and was pleased for the most part of the quality of the Bible. The children are learning how to use and read His Word. The print is a great size and the scripture is easy to understand. His Word can come to life for them in this great format!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gifts for kids leaving 4th grade

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dgidley
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have given these Bible for the last 3 years to students as they leave the children's program and move to middle school. I like the version (NIrV) because it is easy to understand. The middle school class also meets in a room that is not very well lit so the larger print makes it easier for them to read aloud and to follow along. The covers are very nice looking and have held up well to kid treatment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good price and easy to read, however poor binding

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
jewel
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am mostly pleased with my purchase as it is easy to read and understand. The quality of the binding leave much to be desired and I would have liked for Jesus's spoken words to have been in Red. Love the color and appearance of the cover. Would like to have tabs for the books to ease in finding. All in all it is nice but I would not give it as gift again I would like something that is bound better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

large print is great

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
checked around for large print bibles, with soft covers, in a version that was an "easy read" for me. This was exactly what I was looking for. One for myself and two for gifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it

Date:November 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ghostwolf2003
Location:Decatur Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read and very nice. very well made. Easy to understand. Great Price and delivered quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PRINT SIZE

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
packstitcher
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I THOUGHT THE PRINT SIZE WOULD BE BIGGER SINCE I ORDERED GIANT SIZE. WE ORDERED TWO BIBLES WITH GIANT SIZE PRINT BUT THEY ARE NOT AS LARGE AS WE WOULD HAVE LIKED.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cookie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bible. Easy to read and understand. Love the prices too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS BIBLE IS GREAT FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raschelle
Location:Tualatin, Or
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son was so excited to get his new bible. He was graduating from his Children's Bible and needed a bible that showed words in bigger print. He started reading it right away and reads it almost daily! Very practical and he can read the words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
C Neal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy for my 13 year old son! Bible study is alot easier with the version he has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
1Christian
Location:San Jacinto, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is wonderful. It's easy to understand. (Real Easy). Thank You. I love God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this Bible. I gave this as a gift for a young girl. I wanted a regular size Bible that had larger print, which in my opinion makes it an easier read for a child. I was also so happy that the Bible had a fun cover to it, rather than just the every day plain color. This was exactly what I was looking for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was a hit.

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Morenci, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loved her new bible. She thought the color was awesome, her name on it was great. I loved the bigger print and teased her I might have to use it because I have old eyes. I like the fact that you have a variety of bibles for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Bible

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
stapesgirl
Location:indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second Bible I've purchased for my step-son, and it was meant to kind of replace his "kid" one (he's 11 now). I wanted it because the NIRV is easier to read and understand, and liked the big print because he does wear glasses and has vision issues. So basically, I was happy with the purchase.
Cosmetically, I had hoped the cover would be a little softer (made of better material). The main disappointment was the lettering job they did on the cover. All the letters of his name aren't clear (like the ink bled or something). It's not terrible but definitely noticable. I ordered it for his birthday so I did not want to waste the time trying to send it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
jrzoomer
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice bible and beautiful color. Just what I wanted it to be. Very easy to read and great print size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy reading

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
wildflwrs320
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my 11 yr old grandson. It is perfect for him. Easy to read and understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for younger students/low readibility

Date:February 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
pekingesepam
Location:Dothan, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this Bible with a second grade group in Life Connection. Got one before Christmas and lost it. Could not wait to get a replacement! It is awesome and much like a story book for kids on this reading level---could use it with new believers as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIrV Large-Print Bible--soft leather-look, slate blue with stripes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Gift

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hazel G
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a NIV Bible for my teenage daughter as a gift because she couldn't understand the KJV. She really love it, she have been reading it every spare minute she has had since Christmas morning. She have been asking me triva questions about things she have read and we both have made it fun and entertaining. I will definitely purchase more items from you all in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.