Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer

Revell Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer

In Strength Renewed, breast cancer survivor and registered nurse Shirley Corder combines encouraging personal stories with life-giving passages from the Bible to help you process your diagnosis and find encouragement along the way. These devotions can be read in order as you move through your cancer journey, but each devotion also stands on its own, so you can go directly to the entry that speaks to your need today.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Review 1 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very uplifting book

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very uplifting book that will point you to scripture to find the strength you need each day. I thought the author wrote a very personal story in a very open and uplifting manner. I gave this book 5/5 stars. The chapters are short and all include scripture with some kind of lesson the author has learned while dealing with cancer. I liked the devotional format of the book. I especially enjoyed reading about how the struggles the author encountered were all made a little easier by relying on the Lord for strength. I would recommend this book for anyone dealing with cancer and even family members that are being touched by the cancer of their loved one.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faith, hope and comfort in life's storms

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Windle
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a breast cancer survivor, but I've staggered through other life storms, hanging on by the fingernails, not sure whether I'd survive one more tempest. It is to the storm-tossed that author Shirley Corder's Strength Renewed speaks compellingly, asking familiar heart cries. Are you still there, God? Who did this? Why me? What now? But also offering a lifeline of faith, hope, comfort birthed from the author's own odyssey through the dark valleys and deep pits of breast cancer. Above all the precious reminder that however raging the storm, sanctuary can be found in the cradling, comforting, all-powerful hand of a loving heavenly Father.
This book is also a great resource for family and friends of those battling cancer--a lot of practical information and tips along with the inspirational. Recommended reading and sweet comfort, whatever your life's weather.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource for those battling with cancer

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth Ann Dell
Location:South Africa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Strength Renewed" consists of 90 devotions which follow Shirley Corder's cancer journey chronologically, but they can be read in any order as each one stands alone. Shirley's upbeat personality, laced with her lovely sense of humour, shines through this beautifully written book. She comes alongside her readers as she chats with honesty and transparency about the roller coaster ride of having cancer, her treatment, recovery and personal relationships. Her faith in God is evident throughout the book.
The meditations can be read on several different levels. Whether you want encouragment from the Bible, down-to-earth tips, words of hope, a short prayer or a connection with someone who really knows what the cancer valley is like because they've been there, you'll find it in this book. Shirley has included three questions in each devotion for those who wish to explore the cancer journey in more depth.
Shirley's prayer in the introduction is that "this book will strengthen your faith." My brush with cancer was many years ago, but I found much in "Strength Renewed" to strengthen my faith today.
I strongly recommend "Strength Renewed". It's an outstanding resource for anyone with cancer and for their companions on the journey through the cancer valley.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging for those on this journey

Date:October 17, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can think of so many people who would be encouraged by this book. I have never had breast cancer but have had many friends walk through this diagnosis. As I hear them pour out their hearts, I can't even begin to imagine the many confusing and discouraging thoughts that would pour into my head.
As I was reading this book, which is full of short meditations, I felt like I was reading a woman's private journal, full of ups and downs. Each meditation is accompanied with Bible scriptures that encourage and remind of God's promises. Concluding each meditation is a prayer. I also thought it was very helpful to read how to help someone who is walking through this journey. It was good to know some things of what not to say and how to actually be an encouragement.
I really liked how she shared some of her journey, and things that the Lord had taught her along the way in the form of a devotional. I think, though, the most insightful things for me to read were the application questions that were tucked within the meditation. Many of the questions were ones that I had never realized had to be dealt with on such a frequent basis. Just reading them and trying to envision what life would be like with a whole new schedule was exhausting. I can't even begin to imagine how draining it would be to actually carry out and deal with all of the appointments, medications, emotions, schedules, family, etc.
No one, including me, wants to go through cancer. However, I pray that if I do that I will glorify Christ in my diagnosis. I think that's what made me like this book so much and want to give it away. It wasn't like many that are focused on the patient. This is focused on the patient, but it reminds them that there's a bigger goal in mind while journeying through breast cancer. There's someone more powerful to depend on who will renew our strength when we feel like we can't go on and that it'd be easier to give up.
If you know someone who has been diagnosed with breast cancer or someone who has been on this journey for awhile, give them this book. I'm sure that they could relate to Shirley Corder and her own personal journey.
________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lift the spirit of the person with cancer

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Geneva Cobb Iijima
Location:Oregon City, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shirley Corder experienced all the pain that anyone else does who walks through the Cancer Valley. Yet, she could laugh, sometimes through tears, she could see God at work (most of the time), and she could encourage others. If you have been diagnosed with breast cancer or know someone who has, you will find her book of 90 meditations very encouraging. And it will bless your soul to know that there is hope beyond cancer. Thank you, Shirley. I highly recommend your book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hignly Recommended - Not Just For Cancer Patients

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judith Robl
Location:Central Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From ants to eagles, nothing escapes the author's attention in this transparent spiritual diary through the valley. Her honesty and spiritual depth will encourage the reader, no matter the trial at hand. While the details focus on breast cancer and that particular journey, many of the meditations are pertinent to people going through other trials.
The scriptures she cited are the ones I fell back on after the tragic loss of three grandchildren. They are places I seek solace and comfort when trying to comfort the surviving mother who nearly died at the same time. And the search for meaning that we need to leave in the hands of God is the same for every trial in the believer's life.
I have no concept of how one gets through the trials of life without a faith in God. This book, Strength Renewed, gives the reader a means of establishing that relationship.
While specific to breast cancer and by extension to other cancer survivors, this book should not be neglected by anyone seeking to deepen a relationship with God. It is, perhaps, one of the reasons God allowed the author to go through this valley.
Well written, honest, and spiritually sound, I will be recommending this book and giving it to others
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Strength Renewed: Meditations for Your Journey Through Breast Cancer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Help To Survive the Journey Through Cancer

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strength Renewed
Mediations for Your Journey through Breast Cancer
Shirley Corder ©2012
Revell division of Baker Books Group
ISBN 978-8007-2023-0 (pbk)
197 pp. plus appendices
Strength Renewed contains ninety short (two pages each) thoughts about surviving the journey through the valley of cancer. What author Shirley Corder learned during her experiences will help others. She relates major as well as small problems that impacted her life during treatment and recovery.
Strength Renewed will encourage those battling cancers of any kind and also family members and friends. Shirl speaks with truth, concern and honesty in this easily read book.
The meditations about the emotional impact of cancer on patients are especially helpful. Probably every patient has unexpected, conflicting feelings. They and the family need to know that's part of the often overwhelming process.
I met Shirley Corder of South Africa years ago in Maryland and was attracted by her effervescent, caring personality. As fellow writers and RN's, cancer survivors and followers of the Lord Jesus Christ, we both understand the roller coaster of cancer. We experienced, through the ups and downs, help from God that made the trip endurable and worth while. You can know that, also. Let Shirley Corder's insights in Strength Renewed help you.
If you don't know anyone with cancer, you likely will sometime in the future. This book is a valuable resource for families, patients, medical personnel, care-givers and spiritual advisors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.