Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together

Revell 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together

Start making memories with your young daughter that will last a lifetime. Packed with fun, creative ideas for daddy-daughter dates, this easy-to-use guide tells you what you'll need, where to go, and how to deepen your bond while enjoying picnics, walks, bird-watching, and other creative dates. A great way to make lasting memories with your daughter! There's something for every dad and every little girl ages 6-12.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Review 1 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good tips

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
sponge bob
Location:wa
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good tips for spending time together and making the time you spend together focused on building your relationship. We tend not to do well at that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sure to bless your family!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Practicle, easy-to-read, and well-crafted, 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates is a must-have resource for every father of little girls. I myself have talked many times about the importance of going on "dates" with my daughters, and have succeeded at doing so a couple of times. However, I must confess that my creative juices run out quickly, and I am often unsure of how to make the time we spend together special and memorable. This is precisely where Joanna and Rob Teigen have come to the rescue, providing a truly usable book of ideas for fathers with ideas of what to do. Each date has a section entitled "Grab", which lists the items needed for that particular date, followed by a section called "Go" with directions on how the date should progress. However, my favourite section is the "Grow" section, which helps you turn that date into a teachable moment that points back to their relationship with God.
My daughters are very excited about this book, and I am extremely thankful for the creativity of the authors in writing this excellent resource. I highly recommend it and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EVERY dad who has a daughter needs this book!

Date:March 26, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to get this book mostly so I could save it for my husband to use in a few years with our daughter. She's only one right now, but I know that he is going to need some help thinking of things to do with her that are meaningful to her and show her that he cares and loves her.
This book is a wonderful guide that is practical and full of ideas that make it easy for dads who are a little less creative at how to find ways to relate or spend time solely with their daughter. It starts out with choosing an activity to do, such as putt putt and pictures or washing your wheels or being a blessing to mom, or even silly sock day. There are 80 dates to choose from in this book but there are also 8 Extreme Dates if a Dad chooses to go for a little more alone time with their daughter. That includes things such as table for two or a camping trip or theme park.
Once you've chosen the date, you follow the "grab" list that tells you exactly what you need to take with you or get. Then you get to the "Go" section. This tells you what to do on your date, where to go, ideas to think about. It lays out the blueprint for your date. Finally, the most important part to me is the "Grow" section. This has a list of questions to think about asking your daughter or conversation starters that will help you relate the date to personal experiences. It even shares a Scripture that relates, as well as a prayer that you can pray with your daughter. Included in that page are also a few quotes, which I loved. This whole conversation isn't just you asking questions. It reminds you to tell you daughter of a time that you experienced what you are talking about with her. This makes it personal.
I can't wait for my husband to use this as a guide. I know he will get lots of use out of it and hopefully it will help him think of other ideas as he goes along. I recommend this book for EVERY father of a daughter. In fact, I think Father's Day is coming up...
__________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great ideas for dads

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates” helps dads build special relationships with their daughters. From cover to cover, authors Rob and Joanna Teigen offer a wide assortment of fun and easy activities ranging from the creative to the active. Some are relatively cost-free. Your daughter will learn new things, become more creative, but most of all develop a close relationship with her father.
From cooking and baking, small science projects, to building and painting, the opportunities for fun and creativity are endless. Each suggestion lists the items needed, how-tos and a prayer to pray together. Spending time together will be more fun than ever and dads get the opportunity to receive their daughter’s undivided attention as they bake cookies, walk in the park, create awesome crafts and laugh.
This book is a must-have for dads of young girls which will be used over and over again to foster a relationship that will continue to grow through the teen years and beyond. If you want to hold your daughter’s heart forever, devote yourself to spending some one-on-one time with her. You both will enjoy the rich benefits all of your life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Publishing Group, as part of the Revell Book Tour. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource for Dads

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are a handful of books I wish had been printed during my childhood or early adulthood. 88 GreatDaddy-Daughter Dates is one of them. Had this book been out when my father was raising me, my relationship with him when I endured my teen years could have been much stronger. I am grateful my daughter has an opportunity to have the strong relationship with her Daddy I wish I had as a child.
Rob and Joanna Teigen have put an invaluable resource into the hands of fathers. Within the pages of their book are multiple date ideas complete with supply checklists and budget boundaries under the label of “Grab,” an introduction to the date idea and instructions under the label of “Go,” and a brief devotion for Dad to discuss with his girl and a prayer for their date under the label “Grow.” There are several additional resources listed throughout the book, each related to one of the dates.
I began reading this book out loud to my husband as he and my daughter planned a night out. The “Be a Blessing to Mom” date mentioned doing something for mom. Initially, he rolled his eyes at me. “Yeah, it’s all about you,” he chided. Much to my surprise, when they arrived home, our daughter bore a gift for me. “We picked this out for you, Mommy. Because we love you.” It touched my heart, to say the least. The lesson? It’s important to remember how much mom does for us every day and to remind her how special she is. For a mother whose primary love language is Acts of Service, this daddy/daughter date speaks volumes. I pray one day my daughter has a husband and children who will honor her in such ways.
What I love about these dates is that they encourage fathers to strengthen their relationships with their daughters. They encourage fathers to get their daughters talking and then to listen to what they have to say about themselves and life. The dates encourage dads to go the extra mile, to teach their daughters what godly women should expect from someone who claims to love them. This is a book fathers should own, no matter what age their princess is.
The second thing I love about these dates is the budget feature. Some dates require very simple things one can find in the closet at home. Others simply require a little gas money. Some are “home dates” and others require dad to take his daughter out. At the end of the book are several dates that require far more money and/or resources but provide memories of a lifetime, such as “Horsing Around” (go for a horseback ride) and “Camping Trip.” Finally, at the end of the book, is a list of twenty dates a father can do with his teenaged daughter.
As a daughter, I feel this is an extremely important book for fathers. As I said, if my dad and I had the opportunity to go on these dates, our relationship when I was a teen would have been much stronger. I’m incredibly thankful to the Teigens for taking the time to write this resource and to Revell for publishing it. Such wisdom from both. Dads, it’s time to take your daughters out…
Please note: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the sake of review. I am not required to give a good review. I give my review based upon my own opinion of the book.
88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates is available March 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great tool for Dads!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jcole
Location:Malakoff, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates is a tool that every dad needs to put in his toolbox! This book has 88 great date ideas, but not just that. It also has suggestions for discussions for that Daddy to have with his daughter.
As you flip through the book, there are notes that will help you pick the right date for that time. For instance, there are annotations for the cost (if there is any), the requirements (car), and then it lists at the beginning what you will need for that date. It is very easy to skim over those few things to know if that date will be one that will work for that time.
What I liked about this book was that I do not think this is just for daddies and daughters, but could work with moms and sons, or dads and sons too. I just like how they present these dates with conversation ideas and a plan for the date. Keeps it simple. I also like that these are real dates offering a chance to talk about some deeper issues and to increase the intimacy of the relationship. So often today, with the frantic pace of like, we rarely have the energy or desire to invest deeply in our kids, this book will help you make it a priority to do just that.
While some of these dates may not appeal to each child it might be good for both the dad and the daughter to get out of their comfort zone every now and then. Dates range from attending local sporting event, to video games, ballet, indoor (or outdoor) camping, the list goes on and on.
I think this book is a great all in one. It does not require tons of creativity, or even much thought. Open the book, flip until you find a date that meets your current interests (theme, money, season, etc) and then read through the page and a half and go. This makes dating your daughter easy, but yet meaningful with the way the authors keep the focus on building faith into our kids!
This will be a book I get for uncles, friends with kids, and maybe even grandparents to use. I think this book will be a blessing to any family to help get parents spending some quality one on one time with their daughters (and sons).
NOTE: I was offered a copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like the Grab, Go & Grow theme of the dates.

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are a family of four – Dad, Mom, Son & Daughter.
When we don’t do anything as a family, my daughter often migrates to my bedroom or where ever I happen to be, simply because she has more in common with me. Dad won’t sit down to watch a girly movie with her, like I will. Yet, I know they need some time together – fun relationship building time. At times I feel like they have more squabbles than they have dad-daughter laughs.
Although my husband probably won’t ever read this book, he will still get the information. That’s where I come in! I’ve found several ideas to share with him. Many of these ideas can even be used for the whole family or for mom-son time.
I love the Grab, Go and Grow theme of this book. Not only will Dad & Daughter spend some time together in an activity, there will also be some growing going on.
The Top Date Dad & Daughter Will Enjoy:
#36 – Creative Cookies
My husband does most of the cooking. Mention cookies and he’ll make some with a smile on his face. He enjoys the kitchen more than tired ol’ mom does. My daughter has an interest in cooking, too. She’ll give a hand anytime, until it’s time to do the dishes and then she disappears.
This activity also includes nudging Dad to list some ways his daughter is sweet to others. This will be good for both of them – Dad as he sees his daughter in a positive light and Daughter as she hears some positive remarks about her character.
Disclosure: I received a copy from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 88 Great Daddy-Daughter Dates: Fun, Easy & Creative Ways to Build Memories Together
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

making memories at you fingertips

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the coolest book I've seen. Nice fun fast activities to do with your daughter right at your fingertips. Some activities are free some cost more money. Some are indoors and others outdoors. Seasonal and holiday activities are included. Just follow the 3 "G's" and you'll get instant success. Grab-supplies needed for the activities, Go-your directions on how the activity should be run (of course there's lots of room for your own interpretation and Grow-for digging deep and putting spiritual meaning into the activity. Wish this book was written when my girls were growing up. It is about 20 too late but it is a wonderful source to have in your home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.