Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1

Revell Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1

On a bitter December day in 1785, Silas Ballantyne arrives at the door of master blacksmith Liege Lee in York, Pennsylvania. Just months from becoming a master blacksmith himself, Silas is determined to finish his apprenticeship and move west. But Liege soon discovers that Silas is a prodigious worker and craftsman and endeavors to keep him in Lancaster. Silas becomes interested in both of Liege's daughters, the gentle and faith-filled Eden and the clever and high-spirited Elspeth. When he chooses one, will the other's jealousy destroy their love?
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 out of 36100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Review 1 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Wins in the end

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a person does out of love isn't always apparent in life. It also my not be right. Communication between male and female mean sometimes we lose valuable time together. Each person harbors their own feeling and may not see the whole picture.
Secret agalore about where Eden is concerned. Sisters can be cruel at times.
Silas knows what he wants but doesn't fight for it. He leaves with hurt feelings but his heart can only love one woman.
God has a way of bringing people together.
At one point all I wanted was Eden and Silas to get married. But it was worth seeing them drift apart and come back together. At the end I did not want the story to end.
A tale of hard work, hardships, others interfering, love and loss. But love wins in the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully Written!

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an amazing novel! A word of warning before you pick up this book…there will come a time as you are reading this story that you will be unable to put it down. You will find yourself completely unable to part yourself from the happenings of Eden Lee and Silas Ballantyne. Or, should I say, this is what happened to me.
The story gripped me right from the start and at a little more than halfway through the book, I simply couldn’t put it down and devoured the rest of the story in one sitting!
Laura Frantz has crafted a beautiful love story that is full of glorious highs and heart wrenching lows. I set the book down at the end and felt as if I had lived another’s lifetime. I was truly, emotionally exhausted! But, at the same time, I am now invigorated and craving the next story in The Ballantyne Legacy, Love’s Awakening (especially with the teaser chapter at the end of this book).
The characters in Love’s Reckoning are so well done. I truly loved Eden and Silas and thoroughly despised Elspeth and Liege. A beautifully written story that I recommend to those who love historical romance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fullness of Joy

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura has earned a treasured place in the heart of her readers; this one included! I've been waiting for the time to fully engage in this story because I knew there would come a point when I couldn’t bear to put it down. Love's Reckoning lived up to that expectation. From the first chapter, Eden's beautiful heart mesmerized. Innocent, trusting, blind to her own loveliness, she shines like a beacon in a dark world. Her family didn't appreciate her, but she loved & served them anyway. Friends, while kind & generous, failed to notice or embrace her as they should've, but Eden kept pouring out grace. Silas tried to overlook her & failed miserably. Alas, he wasn't completely at fault, ignoring someone as endearing as Eden's would be like blotting out the sun or refusing to see the wonder of the night sky. She glowed with the anticipation of all God created her to be long before she had the means to fully realize her potential. Even when her own dreams shattered into a million pieces at the hands of an obsessed man, Eden chose to devote her life to others, sharing her brokenness with God alone. Silas captured my heart along with Eden's, & then I wept over the forces that conspired against them. Could the lies, misunderstanding & horrible tragedy be overcome in time? Was it possible for the Lord to repair a heart that's been pummeled again & again by hard, selfish, greedy people? Will Eden be able to trust again, or is she doomed to watch while Silas marry another? Laura concludes every story with hope, but there were many twists & unexpected turns along the journey as Eden sought the Lord's will & way over her own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Love and Longing coming together

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the first in a series of the Ballantyne Legacy. The story is mostly set in Pennsylvania and the way the author describes every detail of what a woman had to do every day to keep a house running, or the workings of what is expected of an apprentice, a blacksmith apprentice to be exact, is so real you can feel like you are right there working beside them. In fact, the apprentice is expected to marry the owner’s daughter, and he has two. Which one shall it be?
Eden is a young girl with a very soft heart. She hurts no one and feels everyone’s pain. Eden has a dream that she has only shared with some close friends who live nearby in a place with lots of money. Silas is an apprentice, with not much time left on his contract. Silas has a dream also and is working very hard to make it a reality.
Silas is a man of faith, you can see it lived out every day of his life. Eden can see it and can’t help but wonder is this something that she wants. Eden’s father has always banned his family from attending church. You know there’s a story behind that?
I love this story from the first page to the last. It captured my attention so much I read it through in two days, couldn’t put it down. The love and the hurts became a part of me as I read, I could feel each characters feelings of hurt, pain, abandonment, longing, and joy.
I can’t wait to read the second book now. I would recommend this to ones who like historical fiction, love and romance, secrets and longings, and joy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You Won't Be Disappointed!

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In every single one of her four books, Laura Frantz has never once let me down, and I am convinced that she is soon to become one of the biggest names in historical Christian fiction.
Love's Reckoning was a beautiful story of hardship, perseverance and love. You'll get swept away in the story of Eden and Silas and you'll find yourself getting angry, sad, and excited all at once. I couldn't put it down and I look forward to the rest in this series! If you've read and loved any other of Laura's books, then this is something that you need to read!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality Fiction

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a book with depth and texture this is the book for you. As always, Laura Frantz delves into a time and place most of us know almost nothing about. But she's done her homework and brings York County, Pennsylvania of 1784 to life. The details draw you into every scene. Her attention to detail and realism make it possible for readers to live the story along with her characters--people you will love and hate.
I fell in love with this tale of a Scotsman, a simple tradesman, who finds himself working for a man who is determined to marry off one of his daughters to his new apprentice. Although Silas Ballantyne is "only" a tradesman, there is nothing simple about him. He is a man of courage and honor and does not take marriage lightly, nor will be be bullied into marrying anyone. I fell in love with Silas.
The daughters, Elspeth and Eden, couldn't be more different from one another. One is a perfect match for Silas, but life is complicated and dangerous. And perfection is not always what life gives us.
I highly recommend this book. It will keep you transfixed until the very last page. I spent many late nights reading just one more chapter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would read this again!

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Love's Reckoning is a wonderful love story full of hope, despair, secrets, and faith. I loved each page as it was a "Just one more chapter" kind of book. I cannot wait for book 2 which should be out later this year.
Every part of this book was rich with detail painting a clear picture for the reader. The scenery, clothing, and everything in between was perfectly captured by author Laura Frantz's exquisite writing.
The characters had their good or bad qualities making you cheer for them or despising them. Well, I was despising a few. You hope the two with like mannerisms with be paired together but are left wondering when circumstances lead a different direction. This story was a tangled mess of emotions as it takes on new turns all throughout the book.
This is a story you don't want to pass up!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mzmomof3boyz
Location:Chicago
Age:25-34
Gender:female
WOW! LOVED this book. I read it in one day! Could not put it down! GREAT Author. Can't wait for more!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laura's Best Novel to Date!

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
There are few books anymore that I am wildly eager to read, but hand me a book with Laura Frantz's name on the cover, and I promise you, I will go into hiding until I've read that book from cover to cover. When I had no choice at times but to place my bookmark inside this haunting novel, my heart just ached to be back within its pages.
That was my journey with Love's Reckoning--a breathtakingly beautiful tale of a yearning love between two gentle souls. Eden's sweet spirit was always in danger of being squashed under her father's stern manner, and Silas's quiet strength was the rock in an otherwise tumultuous household. But their love prevailed in spite of dangerous ploys, hurtful lies, and long distances apart from one another.
I could feel the tension lurking within the walls of the Lee house because of the secret they were forced to keep or the alienation they would face in their small town. I could sense the jealousy Elspeth felt toward Eden, even though she oftentimes got what she wanted anyway. And I could imagine that, if Elspeth was standing right in front of me, I just might be tempted to slap her face. There were so many feelings and emotions for me here...many more than I'm used to experiencing in a typical novel.
That, my friends, is what makes Laura's books so exceptional. Her characters work their way into my heart and mind until their like my friends and family. I want to invite them over for some tea or hot chocolate and talk for hours and hours. And quite possibly, the characters from Love's Reckoning may just be my favorite. Granted, I have loved Lael, Morrow, and especially Roxanna, but Eden and her loving soul will always leave a lasting memory.
So...bravo, Laura. You continue to impress this reader with each and every novel you write, and I know I'm not the only one. Our next journey with the Ballentynes can't begin soon enough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Colonial Romance set in Pennsylvania

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eden Lee is full of hope and yearning--for escape from an overbearing father and vindictive sister, to make a difference in the lives of orphans, to perchance find love. She serves selflessly and thinks of everyone else, even when the handsome and mysterious new apprentice comes to her father's forge. Tradition dictates that he must marry one of the master's daughters. But the apprentice, Silas Ballantyne, has ambitions of his own. He seeks to start a new life out on the Pennsylvania frontier, to travel to Fort Pitt and make a name for himself. But even his ambitions are no match to the gentle persuasion of good Eden Lee.
Silas holds memories that bring his past fears into his present. As powerful as his broad physical stature is, he cannot protect the ones he loved most. Time is against him--will he complete his apprenticeship and abscond with Eden's heart before the forces of intrigue, jealousy and greed undo their love.
Rich, detailed writing and insightful characterization set this book apart from the average romance. Story tension pulls the reader through page after page. Character-driven, this book draws through the power of its vivid story world set in rural Colonial Pennsylvania. Toward the end, the setting and the plot take a turn, and an unexpected change in pace and tone. I would normally give a book this well written a five-star review, but the last scenes for me felt jolting and disappointing. Though offering the requisite happily ever after ending, for me the sorrow outweighed the redemption in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dramatic and Beautifully Descriptive book

Date:October 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set in 1785, the tempered Mr. Liege Lee is seeking an apprentice. Liege holds his new apprentice, Silas Ballantyne, to tradition that an apprentice must marry one of master’s daughters. At 21, Elspeth Lee works along side her father and is strong willed, cruel and tempered. Eden, on the other hand, is meek, naive, hardworking and longs for God. The hero is devoted to the Lord and I love how he discretly writes out verses of the bible.
This first book in The Ballantyne Legacy is filled with secrets, tragedy, emotion and a rich detailed history into life in the 1780’s. I was eager to see if Silas would chose a wife or instead follow his dream of going out west. The author does a great job in showing the hardships of everyday life in this time period as well as crafting well developed characters.
Inspirational message of how God works in mysterious ways.
I felt the ending a little rushed and I wasn’t expecting so much tragedy from one of Frantz’s books. I'm not sure I would have a very young lady read this one.
There is also a sneak peek into the next book in the Ballantyne Legacy series at the end of book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Achingly Beautiful!

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An achingly beautiful epic.
Silas finds himself among a strange lot, when he takes an apprenticeship with Liege Lee and finds himself caught between his two very different daughters. One, Elsbeth is deceptive and coniving, while the other daughter, Eden, is pure and gentle with an inner steel. Liege informs Silas that it is tradition for the apprentice to marry one of the master's daughters, what will Silas do? Will he marry one or neither?
Wow, what a journey! This is the first book I have ever read by Laura Frantz, but I must say that now I am probably a life-long fan and am dying to read everything else she has written!
Just as a whole this book was amazing, I loved the characters, loathed others, and the historical feel was stunning.
I had never heard of the tradition of the apprentice having to marry the daughter of his master before, which makes sense because with a new young nation old traditions were often left behind. Ms. Frantz weaves historical details into an intricately heart wrenching read flawlessly, one of the things I really liked was how she used old fashioned words in a way that felt realistic and natural. In essence bringing history to life. This wasn't an easy story to read, because there were times when I was so frustrated with what Eden had to put up with, and her sister Elsbeth was shamelessly horrible!
Overall, a stunning read that encompasses so many of the things that make a novel great, truly an epic.
I just loved the hero Silas, he was such a great guy who stood up and wouldn't let himself be pushed around, I loved the scenes between him and Eden. This book just blew me away, I loved it!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Masterpiece by Laura Frantz.

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Stars*****
In this book one of the Ballantyne Legacy series Laura Frantz has once again written a beautiful masterpiece. The setting is 1784 York County, Pennsylvania and we are introduced to the Lee family.
Liege Lee is a harsh man who long ago turned his back on God. Since then he has little regard for anyone that crosses his path, including his humble wife Louise and his two daughters, Elspeth and Eden. Elspeth is beautiful and smart and helps her father keep the books for the blacksmith shop. Eden the younger of the two is quiet, sweet and beautiful on the inside and out with a love for God. She is the one that keeps the household running and helps her mother look after the two younger boys.
After having several men quit on him, Liege finds himself in need of another apprentice to help in the blacksmith shop. When he receives a letter stating his new apprentice in on the way, there’s excitement because it is a well known rule that the apprentice is to marry the daughter of the master blacksmith. Both girls have their thoughts on what this Silas Ballantyne, a Scotsman, will be like. Elspeth who loves a challenge knows he will be hers, dear Eden who has long let Elspeth have her way to keep the peace, has no notions about him being hers because she has other plans that will hopefully take her away from this horrible place. Will either girl even want to marry this Scotsman when they see him or will he ignore both so he can move on to where his dreams lie unencumbered by a wife?
When Silas Ballantyne arrives he is such a wonderfully talented handsome man both girls as quite taken with him. But Silas has not come here to seek a wife; there are things in his past and future that keep him from wanting to marry. Even evil Liege Lee seems to have met his match in Silas, he can outwork Liege any day and his craftsmanship is far better also. Business has picked up tremendously since word of Silas’ beautiful work has gotten out and no one seems to be bothered that Liege has gone up on his prices, except Silas who demands that Liege stop cheating people. Knowing what a find Silas is Liege tries to force him into marrying one of his daughters, will Silas decide that one of the beautiful girls is worth him changing his life’s plans? Or will he not give in and still leave at the end of the apprenticeship without so much as a backward glance?
This story is not one you can hurry through; you can tell Laura has put her heart into the making of this tale and you will want to savor it. There are a lot of secondary characters that you will love and some you will hate and that is the making of a marvelous story. There are a lot of twists that you won’t see coming and there will be quite a few times you will be hurriedly flipping the pages like I did. This is a must-read extraordinaire! Thank you Laura for this heart touching story that kept me not just entertained but enthralled the entire time I was reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love's Strength

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December, 1784. York County, Pennsylvania. Little did Silas Ballantyne know that when he arrived at Leige Lee’s home to finish out his blacksmith apprenticeship, he’d have to wed one of Lee’s daughters as part of the deal. First offered was Elspeth, a smart, yet brash, conniving woman with secrets galore. And the second, Eden, a gentle and kind-spirited young woman. Sound a little like Jacob choosing between Leah and Rebekah from the Old Testament? But, oh, the story is just beginning!
Questions abound. Will Silas agree to the marriage arrangement? And if so, which woman would he choose? Will his choice cause the other to wreak havoc in their lives?
Love’s Reckoning’s cover can easily depict a typical love story of girl meets boy, falls in love, contemplates marital compatibility, marries, and then lives happily ever after. The author’s descriptions of the two women, one conniving and one gentle, completely destroy that image through the multiple scenarios and circumstances that transpire. Jealousy is a wicked theme in any household, but even more so with two sisters desiring the same man, and one is vindictive enough to try to get her way. However, it’s not just the sisters’ descriptions that are richly depicted, vivid and graphic. All the characters are realistic in their own specific way.
The suspense of what would occur daily in this dysfunctional family held me captive throughout the whole novel. Just when you think things have come to a head, something more treacherous abounds. You will have much to learn from the choices made by each woman and man.
Tragedy befalls both women, and is enough to trample your heart. Yet you find hope through the faith and commitment shared by Eden and Silas. Even when God doesn’t answer their prayers in the way they expected.
Laura’s novel so impacted my life because the quality and depth of her writing drew me deeply into the whole of the story, both good and bad, through each of the characters–the hope that prevails and the treachery that still abides. The author has such a deep tenderness and wooing in her writing that I have fallen in love with her books. They are deep, touching and real, just as you will find in Love’s Reckoning. Her lyrical writing comes alive with phrases such as “her laughter as infectious as influenza” and “tobacco-colored map on his desk.” The Gaelic language added a wonderful essence to the story as well.
This book was provided free by Donna Hausler of Baker Publishing Group for a Revell Blog Tour in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is amazing!!

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is AMAZING!
Love's Reckoning is set in Colonial times, just after the Revolutionary War. Miss Laura Frantz immediately takes you into this beautiful period and entrances you. Although her enchantments are not limited to the setting, but also extended to the characters and the storyline.
Miss Frantz's words flow right off the page and enter your imagination. Her characters, particularly Eden, Elspeth, and Silas, jumped right off the page! Having never read anything previous of Miss Frantz, I am very much impressed.
I absolutely hated Elspeth. I was supposed to, I guess, but that wasn't my only reason for my dislike. She made me ache for Eden, so much! You haven't read about an "evil sister" until you read Love's Reckoning. I sort of saw a comparison from the Lee family to the story of Cinderella. Disney style, of course, and minus the evil step-mother and second step-sister.
I smiled with Eden and I hurt with Eden. Her struggles were so great, yet she overcame them with the help of her father's Scot apprentice, Silas, and God. The ending was absolutely satisfying. Goodness, I loved this book.
I bought this book, no review required.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful story of love redeemed

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
JMHochstetler
Location:Elkhart, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Set on the Pennsylvania frontier of post-Revolution America as the fledgling nation expands rapidly westward, Love’s Reckoning is a haunting story of innocence lost, unfailing love, and forgiveness that leads to redemption. In Eden Lee and Silas Ballantyne, as well as in the cast of secondary characters, Laura Frantz has created complex characters that will stay in readers’ hearts and minds long after this first installment of the Ballantyne Legacy ends. Love’s Reckoning fulfills the promise of Frantz’s earlier books in the growing depth and power of her writing. With exquisite language and descriptions and fully realized secondary characters, she immerses readers in an enthralling world both foreign and familiar. And the surprising twists and turns of the story, always consistent with the nature of each character, will keep readers guessing to the very end and leave them longing for the next book in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love's Reckoning is a look at America's past

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE'S RECKONING
The Ballantyne Legacy #1
by Laura Frantz
It is 1784, the war for freedom has ended and the west is calling to many men including Silas Ballantyne. Silas joins blacksmith Liege Lee in York County, Pennsylvania to finish out his apprenticeship before going west.
Unknown to Silas, Liege is determined to keep him in York County after his apprenticeship is up by marrying him off to one of his daughters. Elspeth and Eden are as different as two sisters can be. Elspeth is manipulative and cruel while Eden is gentle and kind. Eden seeks after the spiritual while Elspeth seeks out the pleasures of the flesh. Will one of these sisters capture his heart or will the call west take him away?
York County is keeping secrets - secrets that have been guarded for years and which will come to light amid an act of betrayal. Will healing restore what has been lost?
Years have passed when an unexpected trip offers a second chance at love, but will the secrets of the past stand in the way?
Love's Reckoning is look at early America just after the Revolutionary War and at the practice of apprenticing. In a land that offers hope and freedom, a daughter has little hope of fulfilling the desire of her heart as evidenced in this book. Love's Reckoning is as much a search for the love of the Father as it is a search for the love of a helpmate.
I am eagerly awaiting book 2 (which is excerpted at the end of Love's Reckoning) which is expected Fall 2013. I always judge a book to be well written and entertaining when I don't want it to end or I'm disappointed when I can't pick up the next book in the series immediately!
I received a copy of this title from the publisher for the purpose of this review. All opinions expressed are my own.
Available September 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting Fiction By Frantz!

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Love's Reckoning, Laura Frantz has penned a gripping, literary saga of the Ballantyne Legacy--a legacy that begins with lies, deceit, and treachery, but ends with what many waters cannot quench--an undying love that knows no bounds.
Silas Ballantyne has come to York, Pennsylvania, to finish out his remaining time of apprenticeship under the tutelage of master blacksmith, Liege Lee. Liege insists that Silas marry one of his two beautiful daughters, with the underlying motive of having a second man of such talent working with him at the forge to obtain more wealth. Silas, carrying deep, hidden wounds from his native Scotland, only wishes to finish out his time and move west to Fort Pitt, and has no desire for a wife.
Eden and Elspeth Lee are as different as night and day; Eden with a quiet, gentle spirit, and beautiful Elspeth, who is plucky, seductive, and has a great head for business. Both feel drawn to the handsome, new apprentice, and soon jealousy and manipulation begins to rear its ugly head. Unbidden secrets come to the surface as both sisters fight for the man they love, but will Silas fulfill his dream and leave them both behind?...or will he finally find love and healing for his tormented soul? And when one of the sisters finds herself in terrible danger, that threatens to tear her very soul asunder, will her chance at love be lost forever?
Laura Frantz has done it again! This story is a literary masterpiece, that left me feeling almost unworthy to review. As in all of Ms. Frantz's books, there is that element of uncertainty...how can there ever be a happy ending here, or will there be one? With realistic characters, and a spiritual thread throughout this is a must read for all historical fiction lovers! I literally cried all the way (happy and sad tears) throughout this book, so be sure to keep the tissues handy. With its many twists and turns that Laura is so well known for, and a marvelous surprise conclusion, this is definitely one for your keeper shelf! Oh, and I almost forgot to mentioned the swoonworthy romance scenes that left me covered in goosebumps! Very nicely done--again, Laura Frantz!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling from the first page!

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love's Reckoning is a compelling read, one that gripped me from early on in the story as my sympathies for Eden quickly grew. I always know an author has succeeded at immersing me into the story they have woven when I find myself growing angry on a character's behalf, and I was soon holding the pages tightly due to wanting to remedy Eden's situation! Elspeth is a selfish, conniving sister who treats Eden with harsh disdain, serving as the perfect foil to Eden's gentle spirit and loving nature, and the injustice Eden faces kept me moving quickly through the pages to see how things would resolve. Laura Frantz has created wonderful characters in this first book of the Ballantyne Legacy, and she has set them in a fascinating period of history that is brought to life with vivid detail. My only critique of the story is that I felt it could have perhaps been shortened somewhat to keep up the pace in the last third of the book, though other readers will no doubt disagree with me. As a whole, the story is great entertainment and time well spent as Frantz succeeds at unfolding a masterfully-told tale.
This first book in the series ends with a satisfying conclusion, yet leaves me greatly wondering where the story will lead to next, as it appears the next novel will focus on the sister who did not win Silas' heart - and that should be an interesting story indeed!
I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love's Reckoning, Ballantyne Legacy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Even better than expected!

Date:September 8, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Courting Morrow Little, I declared myself a fan of Laura Frantz. After reading The Colonel's Lady, I knew I would read anything she wrote. Sadly, I had to wait longer than I would have liked for the release of Love's Reckoning, but it was definitely worth the wait!
When Liege Lee takes on a new apprentice, he decides he will follow the old tradition of marrying off one of his daughters to the apprentice. In his mind, this is the perfect plan. It will relieve him of the responsibility of one of his two grown daughters and assure him of long-term help in his blacksmith shop. When Silas Ballantyne arrives, though, Liege gets more than he bargained for with an apprentice who is devoted to the Lord and to seeking His plans. With two sisters as different as night and day, one tries to woo Silas with overt advances, while the other tries to stay out of the way and unwittingly develops a solid friendship with the apprentice. Silas must decide if he will continue with his plans to move west or if he will allow himself to fall in love and trust the Lord to work out the details.
Love's Reckoning is so much more than a romance novel. Instead, it is an epic drama rife with sibling rivalry, troubled family relationships, secrets, betrayal, love, and faith. Frantz's descriptive writing style drew me into the story in a way that at times made it feel more like watching a movie than reading a book. The characters, settings, and conflicts really came alive.
Silas was a magnificent character. He's tough and one hundred percent masculine, but he is also kind and gentle. I loved the way he pursued the Lord above all else without coming off as soft or weak. It was obvious that the Lord was the source of his strength. Elspeth and Eden were completely opposite and made for some interesting dynamics throughout the book. At times I was so frustrated with Elspeth's antics and Eden's submissiveness that I could hardly keep reading. But I just had to know what would happen next! There were a number of other characters that helped round out the story, providing friendships, mentors, and other deep relationships that helped me as a reader learn more about the main characters.
I wasn't ready for the book to conclude but was satisfied with how the author wrapped up many of the loose ends—tidy enough for some closure but definitely left me anxious for the next book in the series, which won't release until next September.
Love's Reckoning is in many ways different from Frantz's previous novels but still showcases her incredible talent for telling a beautiful, emotional story! Highly, highly recommend! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available September 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>