Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Words Spoken True

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Revell Words Spoken True

Adriane Darcy was practically raised in her father's newspaper offices. She can't imagine life without the clatter of the press and the push to be first to write the news that matters. Their Tribune is the leading paper in Louisville in 1855. Then Blake Garrett, a brash young editor from the North with a controversial new style of reporting, takes over failing competitor the Herald, and the battle for readers gets fierce.

When Adriane and Blake meet at a benefit tea, their surprising mutual attraction is hard to ignore. Still, Blake is the enemy, and Adriane is engaged to the son of a powerful businessman who holds the keys to the Tribune's future. Blake will stop at almost nothing to get the story--and the girl. Can he do both before it's too late?

Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 out of 2186%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Words Spoken True
Review 1 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story that moved my heart and soul

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary Thompson
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Words Spoken True" is a book that stirred my heart like few have. I love historical fiction full of real history and events that happened so long ago. This book has it all--history come to life as well as a love story that stirred me from head to toes. I, too, grew up in my father's "print shop" about 65 years after Adriane Darcy did so I related to the intricate details of setting print as well as setting up the presses for production. The writer caught it all--from start to finish--and makes the reader feel like they, too, are a part of it. The love story is so touching, so tender and moves one's heart and soul. This truly is one of my most favorite books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read.

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leona Koziarski
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and a new author discovered!
I will be buying more novels from Ann Gabhart.
This ones on sale; why wait?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm a sucker for flint and steel...

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again, I found myself reading a rivalry romance. I can't seem to help myself. They draw me like a candle in a dark room. It's an age old tale. I mean, fan the flames of anger and you'll only get more sparks...
Adriane Darcy. All around, not a bad character and although we have to put up with her nasty fiancee for far too long, her motives are understandable and I sympathized with her plight. I loved Blake Garrett. I mean, even his name is amazing. I've got a weakness for the chivalrous rogue and he pretty much fit the bill. The ending to this book also came together pretty well and, although I won't give any spoilers, it went exactly how I wanted it to go. :)
I gave this book five stars because I personally enjoy this kind of novel. It was my first by Ann Gabhart and although it wasn't astoundingly remarkable or anything, I found it well written and the plot was pretty solid. I'd read another of her books and I hope you take the time to do the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An intriguing read!

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Words Spoken True is an intriguing book. I don't recommend it to young teen readers.
Set in one of my favorite time periods, this novel takes me to a part of the 1800s I haven't yet explored: the newspaper. You see, back in the day of 1855 before radios and TVs they had the newspaper. The two fictional presses we focus on in Words Spoken True are the Tribune and the Herald. These presses battle it out using their newspaper only, in hopes to achieve the town of Louisville's loyalty and readership.
First, we meet Adriane Darcy. She's a woman who's had little training to be a proper lady, in upper society's eyes. She isn't afraid to speak her mind and loves her job at her father's paper the Tribune. Her faith in God is what has kept her going after dealing with an evil stepmother who used to lock her in a closet as a child. She struggles with darkness and tries clinging to God's light.
Next we meet Blake Garrett, a stubborn gentleman who is the editor of the Herald. He tries to forget the skeletons in his closet and wants the Herald to become the top paper in Louisville. But when he meets Adriane and her fiancee Stanley he becomes determined to save Adriane from her annoying (jerk!) of a fiancee.
I liked Miss Gabhart's writing style a lot! I also really liked Duff, who became my favorite side character. However, I did feel like the romance was a little rushed near the end and I felt awkward reading the bedroom scene. (Nothing is explicit or overtly bad. Just know it's there.) But that may just be a personal quirk. Miss Gabhart gives you a real feel for the time period and brings to life an actual occurrence in history. I'll end my review here, because there's a lot I could spoil if I go on. Hehehe. :-)
I give this novel 3 stars.
I purchased this book, no review required.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Way-off!

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Historical details were not accurate. Characters lied, decieved the public, and covered up the real truth of who the murderer was. How is that an acceptable Christian story? Sexual scenes, even between a married couple need not go into such explicit details to get the point across they enjoyed each other in bed. Majorily disappointed in the "canned" reviews others offered.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Yikes! That Was Inappropriate!

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alannie Marshall
Location:Battle Creek, MI
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book started out wonderfully! I was held at rapt attention and loved every minute until the sexual scene between the two main characters. Yep, you read that right. Granted, they were married, but it still was way more than what was necessary. It wasn't just a quick blurb, either. It went on for almost two chapters! I was especially upset because this is supposedly a Christian author and book. Needless to say, I returned it. Some may be comfortable reading this type of literature, but I do not believe it to be God glorifying. It's a shame, because the plot was so riveting!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unconventional but incredibly engaging romance

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: REVELL
PUBLICATION DATE: FEBRUARY 01, 2012
RATING: 4.5 OUT OF 5 – EXCELLENT
PROS: Unconventional father figure; excellent historical detail; perfect portrayal of romance and chemistry between the hero and heroine
CONS: Romance relies too much on the premise of “love at first sight”
Adriene Darcy has worked alongside her father in the printing room for his newspaper since she was a young girl, and now that she’s of an age to be married, she would still rather be setting type than attending balls and society functions. But her father has different ideas, and when the son of one of Lousville’s most prestigious families asks for her hand in marriage he readily agrees, without Adriene’s consent. Adriene has no desire to be married off, especially to Stanley Jimson, who isn’t as safe and gentle as he initially appears. The only other person determined to keep Adriene from marrying Stanley is Blake Garrett, the editor of the rival Lousville newspaper. He doesn’t trust Stanley, and even if Adriene is the daughter of his rival, Blake can’t deny the attraction he feels for her. When the actions of the Know Nothing party stir up political unrest at the local elections Adriene and Blake are thrown together, as Adriene’s father ends up in the middle of the chaos and Blake’s newspaper office is attacked by those who oppose his political beliefs. Can they, and their respective newspapers, survive the tumult ripping Louisville apart?
Prior to Words Spoken True I had only read one novel from Ann H. Gabhart, and that was The Outsider, the first book in her Shaker series. I’d initially expected that The Outsider would be a standard romance novel, in a similar vein to Amish fiction, and was pleasantly surprised by the depth of the historical detail that the book contained. While some people may just read historical romances for the old-fashioned style of courtship and relationships that they present, I prefer my historical novels to actually contain some history. Words Spoken True certainly lived up to the expectations that The Outsider had set and satisfied the historian in me. The novel had the added bonus of detailing several aspects of the printing process which I had studied about the previous semester at university, so I can vouch that Ann has done her research in this department.
This is certainly not a book for those who want their historical novels to give a couple of passing references to outdoor toilets and wagon trains and little more, but neither is it alienating to those of you who aren’t studying for your undergraduate degree in History. The issues that Words Spoken True discusses regarding the Know Nothing party and immigration are ones that I imagine every American reader has some basic knowledge of from high school history, and if not, Ann briefly outlines the issues discussed in a foreword to the book. But the authenticity that the novel evokes is worth the attention to detail in Words Spoken True, which helps the reader to become invested in the political rivalries that play out throughout the novel.
I was slightly surprised to find that Ann presented Adriene’s father as a follower of the Know Nothing ideology who was scornful of immigrants, as it didn’t fit the typical image of fathers that is put forth by historical romances. In a way, it was a pleasant change to have a father who wasn’t a hundred-percent supportive of his daughter, nor a model, politically-correct citizen in the twenty-first century sense. While my father never tried to marry me off to the son of his business partner, I’ll admit that he isn’t perfect, and sometimes the parents in historical romances do seem a little too perfect in the way that they support their children. Especially in a period when women were still seen as somewhat of a commodity, it’s probably quite realistic that Wade Darcy didn’t agree with his daughter staying home and working at the family business forever and wanted to see her married by a certain age. And the fact that he supported the Know Nothing party reminds readers that those who shared such beliefs weren’t necessarily monsters; a trap that it is far too easy to fall into when we’re viewing events in hindsight.
Romance fans need not fear, for the romantic aspect of this novel isn’t neglected amidst all the historical detail and political unrest. I did feel that the romance between Adriene and Blake was a bit slow to start, and that because they spent so little time together initially it seemed like their relationship relied too much on the “love at first sight” idea. Personally, I’m never a fan of “love at first sight” romances and prefer relationships that blossom slowly over time to those that are hastily jump-started due to intense chemistry. Adriene and Blake’s relationship did do a sudden jump forward partway through the book, but it was actually at this point that I started to really like their relationship. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say that the way that Ann portrayed the romance and chemistry between Adriene and Blake reminded me of the edginess of the relationship between the newly married couple in Kelly Long’s Lilly’s Wedding Quilt. There’s nothing at all inappropriate or explicit in Words Spoken True, and I commend Ann for portraying a loving yet intense romance with an appropriate amount of sexual tension. Although I was initially sceptical about Adriene and Blake’s relationship, this part of the story more than made up for it.
While I’m not a fan of romances which rely on the concept of “love at first sight” and do wish that readers had been given more time to see Adriene and Blake’s relationship developing, I found that the more I thought about this book after I finished it, the more I loved it. Not only was the historical detail of Words Spoken True well-researched, but it propelled the story forward with each event and made for an unconventional but incredibly engaging romance. If you like the history in your romance novels to be more than just a backdrop and to subtly weave in and out of the plot, then Words Spoken True is definitely the novel for you. The combination of the depth of the historical detail and the edginess of Adriene and Blake’s relationship gives me high hopes for Anna’s forthcoming novels.
Review title provided by Revell.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
I've always enjoyed Ann Gabhart's books but Words Spoken True tops them all. With a unique and determined heroine, danger aplenty and sparks galore, Ann has written a delightful romance with the intriguing backdrop of the golden era of newspaper journalism. Historically fascinating, Ann explores the heyday of newspapers and their significant influence on the political climate of the day, the intrigue and often cut throat nature of editors is brought to the fore. Adriane and Blake offer lots of romantic tension as their competitive natures collide with their palpable attraction. While the villain is easily recognisable, the story unfolds well and the pacing keeps interest from page to page. Ann has ramped up the ante in this book and I look forward to reading more of her stories in this style. Those who enjoy Deeanne Gist and Karen Witemeyer will find plenty to love in Words Spoken True.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Battle of the Presses Set in Boston

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ink flies, political powers battle, and love triumphs against the back of wars of the press in the mid -1800's
Adriene Darcy is the daughter of Louisville's top newspaper editor of the Tribune, and Blake Garrett is the editor of the Herald, the rival paper. Sparks fly back and forth between the two papers, and between Adriene and Blake. Though they find it hard to deny their mutual attraction to each other, they must. Not only are from opposite sides of the news industry, Adriene is engaged to the foppish son of a powerful politician. What will it take to bring Blake and Adriene together?
Words Spoken True engaged my full attention from the very first chapter. Adriene Darcy is a woman ahead of her time, full of fire and determination to do what she loves. Though at times I found Adriene more than a bit conflicted within herself, though I totally respected how she wanted to do her duty to her father and try to save him by agreeing to marrying Stan. Blake had an air of mystery about him that makes him fascinating, and magnetic, yet a bit aloof.
I loved the setting, and the political world the newspapers wade in. And the sparks that few between Adriene and Blake during their encounters--Oh my! Their banter reminded me of a British drama, icy, flirty, and opinionated...Perfect! I don't usually like books where one or more of the characters falls for someone upon glimpsing their face or form, but Ms. Gabhart did it in such a way that was realistic--they weren't planning their weddings after their first encounter. Fast-paced in a hard to put down way, Words Spoken True was a book I couldn't help but enjoy the whole way through.
Overall, I loved the tension and frost between Adriene and Blake that the newspaper rivalry brought. And the general feel of the bustling Louisville setting, truly felt like a living city, with the ladies in high society and political media on one end, and the murders on the seedier side of town at the other. I loved every minute of it. I would highly recommend to those who love a good adventure that isn't always guns and whistles. This is my first time reading Ann Gabhart, but I will definitely be reading her books again in the future :)
Final Rating: 5 out of 5
With thanks to Donna Hausler and Revell Publishing for providing me with a copy of this book in return for an honest review. It was not required that I give a positive review, only that I state my honest views on the book. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Richly Layered Historical

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The cover is what grabbed my attention on this book. But it didn't take many pages before I was pulled into the story of a strong-willed independent woman who was trying to find her place in a world that severely constrained the opportunities available to women. Imagine 1855 Louisville. It's a time just a handful of years before the Civil War. A time when politics is heating up and cities like Louisville had several newspapers competing for the right to communicate their spin on current happenings.
A new editor is in town and the news leader is feeling the pressure -- at least his daughter is. To the point she is willing to take crazy risks to track down the person who is killing poor women on the wrong side of town. Problem is her father has agreed to an engagement for her to a man she likes but doesn't love. Then she collides with the new editor and the sparks fly even as her intended pushes her to rush forward.
This book has touches of suspense, undertones of political scandal, and a romance that will bring you back to the book again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Historical

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this author's books set in the fictional Shaker village, so I was excited to read this book set in 1800's Louisville. However, this book just didn't have enough to differentiate it from the crowd of Christian historical fiction for me. It was a solid historical tale, and I appreciated the subtle Christian message that was never overbearing. It just didn't have the oomph that I expected.
The historical setting and newspaper business definitely takes over more of the story than the romance. I enjoyed the romance, but it seemed like a backburner plot. Blake seemed like a really stand up kind of guy, so I would have liked to have known more about him, maybe then he wouldn't have seemed so cookie cutter to me.
A solid historical, but I would recommend this one to fans of rich historical details and setting as opposed to historical romance.
sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better even than I hoped for!

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can honestly say I picked up this book expecting to read a gentle "historical romance" in the vein of dozens of other similar historical romance books I've read. What I found, instead, was a book with unique characters who refuse to bow to convention, thrown in with suspense and murder and political tension broiling over into riots. The historical setting of the book is absolutely captivating, especially with the "Know Nothing" party that is determined to trample the rights of immigrants, such as by physically barring them from voting. The world of warring newspapers is equally interesting to read about. But my favourite part of the book is the character of Adriane, whose actions cannot help but scandalize the gentle upcrust society. Adriane seems determined to prove wrong the popular sentiment of her day that "too much thinking on serious matters was reputed to be injurious to the female brain", a line that I read out loud to my wife and which caused her eyebrows to raise significantly. My, how times have changed! The villain in the story is deliciously creepy (if you love stories with suspense, in any case), and although I figured out early who the murderer was due to the author's well-paced clues, the journey to his eventual unveiling is an exciting one.
I give this book my highest rating of 5 out of 5 stars, and look forward to what the author has up her sleeve for her next book...
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Title is truth about the whole book

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adriane's Dad wanted her to marry Stanley because he was wealthy but Adriance did not love him. Yet she kept trying to please her Dad.
Blake Garret, a young editor working for an opposing newspaper at meets Adriance at a benefit meeting. But Blake is her Dad's enemy and opponent of his newspaper.
There is evil unrest due to this this time period and Irish immigrants entering the town. The Irish are not liked by most of the people and young Irish girls are turning up murdered. It will take to the end of the story until you figure out who was doing it.
Stanley's Dad runs for Senate. A riot breaks out, events unfold that lead to the person doing the murders. At the last part of the book you will be unable to put down so this is a warning to read it when you plan to be awake.
It takes a while to set stage before the book grips you. Then you cannot quit reading. Faith is woven throughout the whole story. A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a jerk! Actually, at first glance it appears that there’s a couple jerks here. Adriane doesn’t seem to make terrific choices in men.
I think mostly she wouldn’t mind not having to bother with men in her life. Just let her write and smell the ink as the newspaper is put to bed.
But life is never quite what we want it to be. In 1855, a woman was expected to get married and let the men run the businesses and the world - especially if it brought moey with it to help out the father.
So now Adriane is stuck with Stanley but drawn more and more to Blake, the enemy who is running a completive newspaper.
This isn’t just a sweet little romantic triangle her. We’ve got mystery, intrigue, danger, riots and a serial killer running loose. Not only do we wonder who gets the girl, but also whether she will live that long.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ann Captures Another Gem!

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, at just the mention of Ann H. Gabhart book, I am excited to see what is to come. You hold in your hands a gift that you will soon not forget. She never disappoints. She has the ability to take you on a journey. One in which you travel with her to another place and time. You don't just know the names of the characters, you walk away as if they were family. I have had the honor of reading many of her books and I have yet to read one I didn't like. In fact, I LOVED each and every one I have picked up.
So far, this one just might be my favorite. From beginning to end, Ann grabbed my heart. This is a story that beckons you to grow in faith. To take a journey in the shoes of another and learn what faith and grace are all about.
This story is woven in such a way that your heart is stirred with each sentence. The main character is fearful of the dark. The light gives her solace and freedom from the fears that overtake her. When I got to the last chapter I didn't just read it, I soaked it all in, friends. I even read it twice. I must say, I have never done that with any book I have read. This last chapter was my favorite. It is just like reading a love story between my Savior and me. A story of healing, safety and rescue. Redemption flows through the words penned.
Newspapers, murder, intrigue, deceit, love, forgiveness and trust. It's all there, wrapped in pages that will hold your attention until you soak up the very last words.
Ann Gabhart is at the top of my favorites list. It doesn't matter what she writes. They are all absolutely lovely. This latest gem will not disappoint. It is one that will leave an impact on your heart.
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Authentic Historical Fiction

Date:February 19, 2012
Words Spoken True is a fascinating book that gives readers insight into the tensions in Louisville during the 1850s. Ann H. Gabhart does an incredible job of balancing the history of the time with the fictitious story of Adriane, Blake, and their friends and family.
The characters were captivating. I felt an instant connection with Adriane. She loves her life but bucks against the constraints of proper society—especially since society says she can't help her father run his newspaper. Blake was dashing and I loved the tension between Blake and Adriane. It was obvious that there was a connection there but they fought against it with everything they had. They were supposed to be enemies, after all! Plus, their relationship was just so . . . romantic! Blake is a true hero, and I absolutely loved him! I also found myself having very strong reactions (both good and bad!) to some of the secondary characters, which just goes to show you how great Ann is at character development.
There were a couple of scenes that probably would be somewhat "steamy" if shown in a movie, but Ann handled these scenes quite tastefully—showing the depth of Adriane and Blake's relationship but also keeping it clean enough for a Christian fiction novel. (I don't want to give anything away, but the scenes were totally appropriate for the situation.)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book look forward to reading more by Ann H. Gabhart. [5 stars]
Available February 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an oh-my-goodness-but-you-have-to-read-this-NOW kind of book. Seriously incredibly good. Riveting, in fact. The kind that you won't want to put down.
Rich in historical detail and fascinating facts, it propelled me back into an unfamiliar part of history and left me raging with fury and frustration more than a few times. Talk about engaging your readers! My blood is still boiling!
Adriane Darcy is a heroine to be reckoned with; a character full of complexities. She is conflicted between duty and desire and her struggle to be true to herself while not betraying those she loves brings such depth to the story. And who better to set her on her heels than that brash newspaper man, Blake Garrett? Gabhart upped the angstometer when she put those two together in their first scene. I won't say more other than a fainting couch is a definite reader necessity as their romance progresses. And you might want to have a supply of smelling salts on hand as well -- just to get you through to the end. :-)
Words Spoken True (an incredible title that fits so aptly with various plot threads) is a book that no historical romance lover will want to miss.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rich in Historical Details

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ann Gabhart takes readers to Louisville, Kentucky during the tumultuous 1850s in Words Spoken True. From the first page, she sets the tone of the novel with mystery, adventure, and page-turning suspense. The fast pace continues throughout the story as it moves through high-society homes, to newspaper offices, to the dangerous riverside. Adriane Darcy is a determined and unconventional young woman striving to please her father, make a success of their newspaper, and overcome her fears. Blake Garrett is as determined and opinionated as Adriane, and the editor of the competing newspaper. Their competitive natures and mutual attraction set the stage for engaging battles of words and suppressed feelings.
Romance is accompanied by murder, looming danger, and political unrest. Gabhart paints a vivid picture of a very specific time in Louisville's history when political and societal change fueled violence, hatred, and fear. Newspapers were the source for news in the 1850s, and by showcasing two publications in Words Spoken True, Gabhart illustrates the power of the written and spoken words and the motives behind them. Tension is present on several fronts in the novel: Adriane's reluctance to marry the distasteful Stanley Jimson, Blake Garrett's outright opposition to the powerful Know-Nothing Party, and the unsolved murders of young Irish women. To some degree, the outcome of each of these issues becomes predictable early on in the plot. There are a few surprising turn of events along the way, but even with the element of predictability, the plot is engaging and exciting. Words Spoken True is rich in historical details with messages of faith, truth, and trust.
I definitely recommend this novel. It not only is a worthwhile read, but the eye-catching cover is an appealing addition to any reader's bookshelf. The cover designers expertly captured the overall setting and tone of Words Spoken True.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining and Suspenseful

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Set in 1855, Words Spoke True is about a young woman who was raised in her father's newspaper offices in Louisville, Kentucky. Shunning cultural norm, she was a newspaper woman in a man's world. However, due to her father's expectations, political and financial woes he puts her in more danger than anyone ever expected. Amidst the danger and political unrest Adriane Darcy is attracted to an unconventional new editor with her father's rival newspaper.
I really enjoyed this book. I was an entertaining, suspenseful novel with a romantic twist. It was far from your predictable romance, which you may recall I am weary of. Adriane's romantic life is filled with more than just controversy and not what you would call a dream romance. More like a nightmare run wild, but that's all I'm saying!
It was interesting to learn just a little about life inside the newspaper office. What is intriguing is the idea that years ago, printing stories that were true could cost not only subscribers but also your life. It makes me wonder if there is still that risk today? Do reporters focus on truth or a story that will sell? Hmmm.....
Adriane's father seemed to have lost sight of what was important in his life when he began flirting with a politician. A politician whose wealth and position had "pull" shall we say. I just couldn't imagine being under the thumb of someone who had the power to control what I said and did. What a scary thought.
I admired Adriane's grit. She had courage, strength and talent, all of which she used for the good of "her" newspaper. And the loyalty shown to her and her father from their trusted employees is something to envy. Loyalty and honesty among friends are gifts not to be taken advantage of and is rare.
Two thumbs up for Words Spoke True!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Words Spoken True
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hooked from the beginning

Date:February 18, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a new reader to Ann Gabhart's books. The last one I reviewed was a book on the Shakers and it was really good. When I saw this one able to be reviewed, I was anxious to read it because I saw that it looked so different from the last one I had read from her. I like it when authors can write in different ways that are so completely different from each other. Mrs. Gabhart did a wonderful job in this book. I was hooked from the very beginning and stayed up way too late last night reading because I just couldn't tear myself away from it. It had a very unlikely villain, a heart-breaking marriage setup, and some decisions that led to life-changing circumstances.
Adriane Darcy is not the proper girl but for some reason a proper man, Stanley Jimson, has his eyes set on her and wants to marry her. However, the new rival editor, Blake Garrett, at a competing newspaper has also noticed Adriane's beauty but has also noticed something else about her promised beau. Determined for Adriane to not make a mistake she will regret despite the consequences, Blake has to first get Adriane to actually talk to him! Headstrong Adraine who doesn't shy away from saying what she really thinks can give any man a run for his money. But will she succeed when it becomes a life or death issue? Will Adriane realize that sometimes happiness is better than convenience? Can she break a promise despite the deadly consequences?
____________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>