Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days

Revell You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days

Have you ever watched a dream die or felt angry because life isn't going the way you expected? Whether times are good or bad, Gerth says you can be joyful, resilient, and strong! Discover how to guard your heart against despair, look to the future with confidence, and trust that God will accomplish his plan for you. Includes group study guide. 224 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Review 1 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You're Going To Be Okay is the message my heart needed to hear.
Once again, Holley's style is easy to read, easy to process. It is like sitting across her at a table in a quaint little tea house for the afternoon. Her message to women is timeless and perfect ... no matter where you are now - you are going to be okay.
Does your heart need to hear that?
The book is not a trite answer to the many-faceted problems women face these days - instead it is a hand-held, hug-infested look at how God created us. She covers all aspects of how we process our world and circumstances around us - from the basic brain functions to the ever-complex heart functions.
I would recommend this book to all women of all ages. It is powerful and thought- provoking. It is gentle and inspiring. It is incredible.
The chapters have places to jot down thoughts, fill in the blanks for personalizing the lessons and spaces for written prayers. It is not a 'how-to' book, but rather a 'let's do'. And why not do it together with a group of women you know well with the Go Deeper guide at the back of the book that works like a book study, taking each chapter and diving into God's word and each other's hearts. (Go Deeper section can also be done individually - I did!)
Definitely check out this book! And if you haven't been introduced to Holley yet, be sure to check out her inspiring websites for a daily dose from a loving friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2014
One of the things I like the most about Holley's books, and this one in particular is that you can really hear her heart in the written words on the page. While reading it almost feels as if you are just sitting across the table with her and having a heartfelt conversation.
She once again dispels those myths (or voices) that seem to reach deep inside us and grab hold and tell us that everything is awful. Through the very pervasive use of scripture she gently reminds us that Satan is the father of lies and that God through His Son Jesus has a plan for us.
I always walk away from her books uplifted and encouraged. This particular book has a section in the back called the Going Deeper Guide that includes probing questions that allow you to further contemplate the truths that were presented in each chapter. It is designed to be done on your own or with a group.
I think this would be a great resource to use with a group of girlfriends over a nice cup of coffee. There are ten chapters so it could easily be done over a ten week time span. The discussion is bound to be that of an intimate nature leading all those involved into a deeper walk with Christ.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good Bible Study

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
Is your life perfect? Yeah, mine isn’t either, and neither is anyone elses! And that is why we all need this book by Holly Gerth! Holly guides us through chapters such as: Who You Are Is Still the Same; You’re Stronger Than You Know; Your Mind Is A Powerful Gift; Your Heart Is Worth Guarding and You Can Keep from Sabotaging Yourself. And this is just some of the topics Ms. Gerth teaches us in this wonderful book. This would make an awesome individual Bible study or a study for a small group of Sunday school class. I didn’t go through it this time as a study, but I plan to do that to get the full effect of this book.
I highly recommend this to every woman out there because every woman can find something here to help them in some way! Join thousands of woman as they study through You’re Going to Be Okay! I received this book from the publisher Revell Publishers to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Feel Knocked Down, Beaten Up? This Book Is For Yo

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holley Gerth in her new book, “You’re Going To Be Okay” published by Revell gives us Encouraging Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days.
From the Back Cover: If your life isn’t perfect . . .
If you’ve ever been disappointed . . .
If you feel stressed or tired . . .
This is for you.
You really are going to be okay. And it truly is possible to live with joy, resilience, and strength no matter what life brings. Yes, there will be hurt and hard times. But God wants to help you find ways to survive, grow stronger, and even thrive–no matter what happens.
For every woman who has been disappointed, who has watched a dream disappear, whose life isn’t what she imagined it would be, bestselling author Holley Gerth has a heartfelt message of hope. It is possible to live with joy, resilience, and strength in both the good times and the bad.
With her trademark positive encouragement and probing questions for self-reflection, Holley encourages women to spend less of their lives regretting and more of their lives truly living. She shows them how to guard their hearts against despair and look to the future with confidence, remembering that they are part of a greater plan and nothing can stop God’s purposes for them.
Ever been mugged? Maybe not necessarily on the street, though it has happened to some of us, I mean mugged emotionally, spiritually. You are suddenly knocked down and it seems your dreams are taken from you or, even worse, your future. When that happens we need someone to tell us we are going to be okay. Holley Gerth knows this and she is here to tell us this because this is what God is telling us. In ten chapters Ms. Gerth walks us through the ways we are okay and helps us realize we have more than what we know. Ms. Gerth states that this book is not for whiners, pessimists or perfectionists. It is written for people like you and me. People who have been hit and hit hard and just need to know we are going to make it and we are going to be okay. If you ever felt that this is what you need to hear then this is the book for you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Positive Encouragement for a Negative World

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are sinking under the weight of imperfection and have been disappointed by the events in your life, Holley Gerth's encouraging book, "You're Going to be Okay", will resonate calm, soothing and comforting words into your life. Have you spent your life trying to measure up to the impossible ideals you see on Facebook and Pinterest? Are you pressured by society to be perfect?
Gerth's book is not just to read. It is also a workbook to help you work through your emotions, your insecurities, and your doubt. She uses the wisdom she's learned through the struggles of trying to live up to an impossible dream of perfection. Much of what Gerth presents in her book is not original. We have heard it before, but it's all in the presentation. She didn't write this book to condemn, to frustrate or hinder you. She doesn't want to discourage you. She offers real solutions. The only catch is you have to be honest with yourself and willing to do the work she recommends.
You may discover that you are stronger than you realize and things aren't as bad as they seem. You may also find that you are not alone. This is an excellent resource for young people who are on the brink of discovering who they are and who they want to become. It is great for those who are older who have struggled their entire lives trying to be perfect only to discover that perfection is impossible. You can pursue this work alone or with an accountability partner.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for a woman's soul

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You’re Going to Be Okay is a wonderful, encouraging, Biblically insightful book for anyone who is feeling or has ever felt stressed, discouraged, overwhelmed and even broken, by life’s circumstances. If we’re honest with ourselves, we can all say we have felt this way at some time. Holley reminds us in this book that we are “NOT”our circumstances. In her words, the circumstance you are experiencing is “…where you’re at right now. It’s not who you are.”
With thoughtful insight, probing questions, and the constant reminder that we are not walking this path alone, Holley encourages the reader to reflect on what she has been experiencing. Holley shares strategies, taken from her experience as a life coach and counselor as well as from her study of the Bible to help us understand why we struggle and to break the patterns that keep us from moving forward.
Holley shares physiological reasons that keep us from successfully moving in the direction we (and God) desire for ourselves. I especially enjoyed the section in which she describes how our brain works for our survival and not for our ability to thrive. Through the book she shares Biblical encouragement and strategies that will enable us to consistently move toward the place where we can thrive. Writing space and a Go Deeper Guide are included in this book to serve as prompts for our self-reflection. The Go Deeper guide would be great to use for group study or for deeper individual introspection.
While it seems like it would be difficult, or maybe a chore, to read a book about something this heavy, it isn’t. Holley’s openness and sense of humor demonstrate her authentic desire, or I should say passion, to let women know that they are loved, in a way that is engaging and joyful. This makes the reader feel like she is having a great cup of tea, talking with her best friend.
I want to encourage you to read this book!. You see, Holley stresses throughout the book that our ability to see ourselves as God sees us is not just about us. What is just as important to realize is that when we are able to see ourselves as God sees us, we have an amazing capacity to help others see themselves as God sees them. Holley not only gives us the gift of being able to learn how to get to the place each of us desire to be, but through You’re Going to Be Okay she enables us to potentially give this same gift to others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truths every heart needs to hear!

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes it feels like life's falling apart at the seams. Sometimes you're completely worn out by stresses that never seem to end. For every woman who has been disappointed, who has watched a dream die, whose life isn't what she imagined it would be, bestselling author Holley Gerth has a heartfelt message of hope--you really "are" going to be okay. And it "is" possible to live with joy, resilience, and strength in both the good times and the bad. In fact, she says, that's what God desires for us.
With her trademark positive encouragement and probing questions for self-reflection, Holley encourages women to spend less of their lives regretting and more of their lives truly living. She shows them how to guard their hearts against despair and look to the future with confidence, remembering that they are part of a greater plan and "nothing "can stop God's purposes for them.
-- Is it even possible to live with joy, resilience, and strength in this broken world? -- it is what God desires for you! -- Jesus said, "In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world." -- John 16:33
Gerth goes on with biblical references to encourage the daughters of the Great I Am, with biblical truths our hearts need to hear. She has exercises to fill out, pray about and do. I underlined three fourths of this book, and will buy a few copies to hand out, so I think I highly recommend this book!
So much of this book is good, I can't list it all in this review. But I think my favorite part is the go deeper study at the end. What a blessing Holley is and I hope you will find this book a blessing as well!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Book for any Woman

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:N/A
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You’re Going to be Okay is a novel that uses scripture and the encouraging words of Holley Gerth to lift women up emotionally and mentally.
Covering topics ranging from depression to feeling insecure and unworthy of love, she writes with words of love and understanding.
She acknowledges the fact that life hurts and sometimes we feel down, or that bad things do happen. And while she doesn’t attempt to sugar coat it, she writes in a way that makes you feel as though there is hope when things feel dark.
Using examples from her personal life, she makes the reader feel as though you are talking to a close friend. The scriptures that she uses are uplifting and back up everything that she says through the novel.
She also offers tips and advice that she has found helpful through her personal struggles. Some good points that she made were that we were not made to settle for anything less than joy, exercising to help lessen our stress levels, and eating better to help improve overall health.
I recommend this to anyone who is looking for encouragement, and to know and realize that they are enough and that they will be okay.
“Available February 2014 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Needed Encouragement for the busy woman

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We all have stress, bad days, and hard times. We all know what it’s like to have life disappoint us. We’re all on this wild and crazy ride together. So as the roller coaster of your life zooms, I want to place my hand on top of yours—the hand that’s desperately clinging to the safety bar in front of you—and holler into the wind whipping past our faces, “You’re going to be okay!”
You’re going to survive this ride. One way or another. It will not last forever. It will not destroy, derail, or defeat you. Someday you may even be able to look back at it and see it differently than you do today.
Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble.” And we do. But then he added this: “But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33)."~Holly Gerth
Holly Gerth is an encourager and that shines through her book, "You're Going to Be Okay: Encouraging Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days", because there are going to be a lot of hard days that may sometimes seem to out pace the really good days that are going on.
Written with biblical and simple, common sense truths that every woman needs to hear in whatever stage of life she is going through, Holly writes with an unbeat and yet truthful clarity that is needed and particularly in a busy and chaotic world that the every day woman is living through these days.
As she writes in her book, "When we face hard times, bad days, and stress, we see the immediate dangers like lost time and sleep. But the greatest risk can be harder to recognize: losing our identiities"....and in her book, Holly helps guide and directs women who are facing whatever issues that is facing them, be it at the time of the reading of the book, or just at any point of their lifes, to not forget who they are and particularly who they are in and through Christ Jesus, our Lord and Saviour.
She reminds throughout the book, like a cheerleader, the repeating reminder, "You ARE going to be okay" while offering personal experiences of herself and those she knows who have gone through difficult situations, but despite those situations, came out, hand and hand with God through what ever it is that life was throwing their way.
"You're Going to Be Okay" is a book that reminds people to not forget to do the all important thing we can easily forget to do in our lives....breathe....focus on God....move forward...we can do it.
It is a, take a deep breathe, this is only temporary and we will find ourselves, yes...facing chaotic, maybe stressed filled days but that at the end of the day, there is a new tomorrow and another step to take...moving forward....not backward.
As Holly reminds in one area of the book, "Reflecting back is part of learning.....But reflecting is not about beating yourself up".
Instead she shows in her encouragement form of style, how to try and look at bad or stressful situations in a different way and find a solution that is not so much as about control as it is about learning from our weakest moments and finding our strengths to move through and more productively forward.
I liked this book very much. It was a reminder of how human we can be...how we can make mistakes...how days can and will be bad, but we can't let those days and mistakes define us but have to learn how to glean what we need to learn from them and move forward from our experiences, our education, our relationships, everything that makes us ....us.
The book is also a reminder to stay focus, to connect or even re-connect to God, but to use all those things that make us, us, and use it to help us grow stronger...not weaker, or as she puts it...the lessons we learn and the obstacles we have to overcome, are often preparations for whatever tomorrow will bring us.
Each chapter ends with exploratory questions that are designed to have us think of God's purposes for us....to evaluate the skills, the education and the experiences we have and how can we turn them for more positive lessons that we can build from and all throughout the book, Scripture and examples from the Bible to remind us...we are not alone and we can do this if we just persevere each step.
"You're Going to be Okay" is a great encouraging rah rah to lift the spirit and in many cases, encourage us to stop what is distracting us and re-focus on how to not let whatever it is that is tearing us down that moment but instead go...how can I turn this around in a better way.
You're Going to Be Okay: Encouraging Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard DaysYou're Going to Be Okay: Encouraging Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days by Holley Gerth
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
"We all have stress, bad days, and hard times. We all know what it’s like to have life disappoint us. We’re all on this wild and crazy ride together. So as the roller coaster of your life zooms, I want to place my hand on top of yours—the hand that’s desperately clinging to the safety bar in front of you—and holler into the wind whipping past our faces, “You’re going to be okay!”
You’re going to survive this ride. One way or another. It will not last forever. It will not destroy, derail, or defeat you. Someday you may even be able to look back at it and see it differently than you do today.
Jesus said, “In this world you will have trouble.” And we do. But then he added this: “But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33)."~Holly Gerth
Holly Gerth is an encourager and that shines through her book, "You're Going to Be Okay: Encouraging Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days", because there are going to be a lot of hard days that may sometimes seem to out pace the really good days that are going on.
Written with biblical and simple, common sense truths that every woman needs to hear in whatever stage of life she is going through, Holly writes with an unbeat and yet truthful clarity that is needed and particularly in a busy and chaotic world that the every day woman is living through these days.
As she writes in her book, "When we face hard times, bad days, and stress, we see the immediate dangers like lost time and sleep. But the greatest risk can be harder to recognize: losing our identiities"....and in her book, Holly helps guide and directs women who are facing whatever issues that is facing them, be it at the time of the reading of the book, or just at any point of their lifes, to not forget who they are and particularly who they are in and through Christ Jesus, our Lord and Saviour.
She reminds throughout the book, like a cheerleader, the repeating reminder, "You ARE going to be okay" while offering personal experiences of herself and those she knows who have gone through difficult situations, but despite those situations, came out, hand and hand with God through what ever it is that life was throwing their way.
"You're Going to Be Okay" is a book that reminds people to not forget to do the all important thing we can easily forget to do in our lives....breathe....focus on God....move forward...we can do it.
It is a, take a deep breathe, this is only temporary and we will find ourselves, yes...facing chaotic, maybe stressed filled days but that at the end of the day, there is a new tomorrow and another step to take...moving forward....not backward.
As Holly reminds in one area of the book, "Reflecting back is part of learning.....But reflecting is not about beating yourself up".
Instead she shows in her encouragement form of style, how to try and look at bad or stressful situations in a different way and find a solution that is not so much as about control as it is about learning from our weakest moments and finding our strengths to move through and more productively forward.
I liked this book very much. It was a reminder of how human we can be...how we can make mistakes...how days can and will be bad, but we can't let those days and mistakes define us but have to learn how to glean what we need to learn from them and move forward from our experiences, our education, our relationships, everything that makes us ....us.
The book is also a reminder to stay focus, to connect or even re-connect to God, but to use all those things that make us, us, and use it to help us grow stronger...not weaker, or as she puts it...the lessons we learn and the obstacles we have to overcome, are often preparations for whatever tomorrow will bring us.
Each chapter ends with exploratory questions that are designed to have us think of God's purposes for us....to evaluate the skills, the education and the experiences we have and how can we turn them for more positive lessons that we can build from and all throughout the book, Scripture and examples from the Bible to remind us...we are not alone and we can do this if we just persevere each step.
"You're Going to be Okay" is a great encouraging rah rah to lift the spirit and in many cases, encourage us to stop what is distracting us and re-focus on how to not let whatever it is that is tearing us down that moment but instead go...how can I turn this around in a better way.
"Thank you to Baker Publishing Group on behalf of Revell in exchange for my personal review and opinion"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC!!!

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
jojosutiscorner
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You’re Going To Be Okay is such an inspiring, encouraging, wonderful book for anyone who has ever been stressed, overwhelmed, or emotionally strained. The author’s passion for God and the reader comes across in a warm, authentic way. As I read, I really felt like I was just getting some really great advice from one of my girlfriends. I especially loved the words of encouragement spoken to my heart through this book, reminding me that I am loved, I have a purpose, and I am an overcomer!
Holley shares very practical strategies to deal with the difficult times, exposes the myths that hold us back from true peace and joy, and reminds us of the things our hearts often forget.
This book is so wonderful! It’s very interactive with self-reflection questions and even includes a Go Deeper Guide- perfect to do on your own or even in a group setting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SCRIPTURAL ENCOURAGEMENT AND HOPE!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We’ve all been there. Times in our lives where what we are facing is so overwhelming that we just don’t think we will survive. The pain is so great it engulfs our hearts and minds to the point we feel it will never end. I know I have been to that point many times in my life. It’s one huge problem after another or a bunches of little ones that wear me down. This is where Satan steps in and gets our focus off of Christ and onto our circumstances. No wonder we feel defeated!
This is a wonderful book to help you get back on track and see through Satan’s lies and clearly see God’s Truths. Ms. Gerth does a beautiful job through insights and scriptures to help us refocus and on who we are in Christ. She shows all that we have at our disposal through His power, not only to survive but to come out a victor not a victim!
One of the most important aspects of the book was how much scripture she uses to guide you to where you need to be. Scripture is our ONLY guide. She helps you climb out of a seemingly dark hole and see the courage and strength that is there waiting for you through the Lord. When difficulties arise, we are attacked on all sides, physically, mentally and emotionally. The author addresses all of these. A wonderful book filled with encouragement and hope! This is one I will keep, read again and again, and use as a reference. I think it would make an incredible Bible study for an individual or a group!
I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're having a tough time, or even if you're not (yet), "You're Going to Be Okay" is a great resource. Holley Gerth writes in a friendly way and helps bring you back around to the God who sustains you.
This book came at just the right time for me. I didn't think I needed to read it (because I thought I was ok) but I did. Boy howdy! Within the first few pages I was drawn in and underlining things like crazy.
I've already recommended this book to several people because I love how the author writes and the message is important to remember. It would make a great study for a women's group, or even just to do on your own.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Am Going to be Okay!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
GingerB
Location:Smiths Grove KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like that Holley wrote this book, and I am really glad to know I am okay and that whatever I am feeling right this moment, is not who defines me. I recommend this book to anyone that suffers from even the slightest bit of depression. Or any mama, wife, sister, that thinks that they are not a good person because they did not get the house clean enough, or a haircut straight enough, or didn’t read their bible that morning. So that means YOU! You need to grab this book, grab a cup of joe, and your tissues and sit in your spot and read.
I give this book 5 stars.
I recieved this book from Baker Publishing Group on the behalf of Revell in exchange for an honest review. All opinions and thoughts are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING!!!

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book I've read of Holley's and I loved them both! (I'll post the review for You're Already Amazing sometime soon!) I love how this author has the unique ability write in such a way that it makes you feel like she is sitting next to you actually talking! I write down quotes from the non-fiction books I read and I filled three pages while reading this book! There are just so many truths in here that so many women need to hear! She also offers really practical ways to put these truths in to practice! One of my favorite parts of this book was how instead of just stating problems and giving suggestions on how to fix them Holley explained why. She explained how the brain works and how that relates to the way we react in different situations or feel different ways about what's going on and for the first time it actually made sense. It was such a refreshing read and I know I will be looking back at it in the future! I highly recommend this to all women!
I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You're going to be okay

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YOU’RE GOING TO BE OKAY is a book that imparts that message. YOU’RE GOING TO BE OKAY. No matter what situation you are going through. Job loss. Divorce. Illness. Difficult kids. Bills that are insurmountable. A full plate that leaves you overwhelmed. Whatever the situation. YOU’RE GOING TO BE OKAY. While it’s a bit redundant, sometimes it’s a message we need to hear. And while this book is written by a woman for women, it is a message men need to hear to. Whatever it is. YOU’RE GOING TO BE OKAY.
If you or someone you know are in a difficult situation where you feel unloved, unwanted, discouraged, or (fill in the blank), then this book is for you. It is encouraging. Uplifting. Positive. And has a happy feel. YOU’RE GOING TO BE OKAY is a book that any woman who feels swamped emotionally or physically needs to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for You're Going to Be Okay: Truth Your Heart Needs to Hear, Especially on the Hard Days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help for Stressed Moms

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
tswinnett
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our family has had a rough couple of weeks. My mother-in-law died, just when we thought she was getting better. The assisted living facility where she lived with my father-in-law informed me that the next morning I had to totally clean out their apartment and prepare my-father-in-law to move to the memory care unit or be prepared to pay an extra $150 a day. My grieving husband was trying to work out the details of an out-of-state funeral, while trying to keep up with unexpected assignments at work.
Did I mention that week our daughter had to go to a local high school to take a competitive test, but on the day of the test, we had no hot water and no electricity? Or that the water main break that caused the electrical outage sent several hundred elementary students to that same high school for emergency shelter?
We managed to survive the week, but life is just like that sometimes. With me it happens usually right after I have taken on a new challenge or just when I am about to catch my breath from the last one. It seems like sometimes we can barely survive, much less think about living an active Christian life or parenting our children pro-actively towards God.
It was during this crazy time that I had an opportunity to read and review the book You're Going to Be Okay by Holley Gerth. Ms. Gerth wrote this book to encourage any of us who are going through a difficult time, or in other words all of us at some point! Perhaps my favorite part of the entire book was the idea that just because we are going through troubles doesn't mean we have to "live" there.
A book like this has to be difficult to write. You are trying to help people who whine when their coffee gets cold as if the world were against them, as well as people whose entire world is collapsing around them due to one or more tragedies. Gerth seems to be able to strike a good balance of providing guidance to help both ends of the spectrum.
The book has advice for re-thinking your circumstances to practical suggestions for getting through tough times to changing your heart and attitudes. Throughout, she relies heavily on scripture in addition to presenting medical evidence and psychological studies.
As I began reading, I caught myself thinking that much of what she suggested was familiar. Yet, as I continued, I realized we often don't do what we know we should do. In the end, that's what I appreciated the most about this book. Gerth gently encourages you to get unstuck in your tough patch and do what needs to be done to get you to where God would want you to be. She manages to do so with a sense of humor and humility. You trust her, because it is obvious she has been down the same road herself.
If you feel stuck in a tough season of life or stressed about what may be around the corner, I think you will appreciate this book. You will find new things to ponder, new ways of doing things and encouragement to move through the tough season from a godly place.
I also just have to share this interesting fact from the book. A study was done comparing the mental states of people who had just won a large lottery prize and people who had just been paralyzed. Within a short amount of time, the study found the people went back to the same state of mind they had before the life changing event. Those who had been happy before returned to a happy state even if they were paralyzed. Those who were miserable, returned to their state of misery, even if they had won the lottery. Gerth's book tries to help her readers develop godly joy as our base to which we can return no matter the circumstance.
This book was provided to me for free in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.