Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3

Revell Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3

It wasn't Cassie Haddon's fault that she had managed to reach the age of twenty-five without possessing any useful skills. Until the war, she had always had servants to wait on her. Since then, she and her widowed mother had moved from place to place, relying on family to care for them. Now she's forced to find work to support them both. What isn't in her plans is falling for Jacob West, a local restaurateur and grocer. She needs a job and he needs help. But what they both need is love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Review 1 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimberly S
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Ann Shorey is a well written story that drew me in from the very beginning. A sweet love story that leaves you running to read Book 1 & 2!! The writing style is easy to read and the characters likeable. I highly recommend this book to book anyone who enjoys historical fiction or fiction of any kind! Excellent book!! Looking forward in anticipation for Ms. Shorey's next book.
I was given this book by bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love's Sweet Beginning
By: Ann Shorey
Love's Sweet Beginning is the third in the series. I have not read the other two i will have to go back and read them. I really liked this one and enjoyed the characters.
Cassie grew up in a life of luxury. Was nothing she couldn't have now at the age of 25 things have changed. Cassie's Dad dies and leaves them with nothing. Out of the kindness of family they have helped but can help no more. Now she needs to seek a job to support her and her mother. Cassie does find a job working for Jacob West. They are from different walks of life. Can they make a go of it? Working in a restaurant is not a good position for her but she sure can bake. Hopefully this will work out to support her and her mother. There are deep family secrets and this harm a relationship between Jacob and Cassie? Or will they put their faith inn the Lord to guide their lives? Get this book it is great you will full in love with the characters. Very well written story by Ann Shorey. You won't be disappointed in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Sweet!

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Shorey's book, Love's Sweet Beginning is a story of a young woman, Cassie Haddon who lived a wealthy life with her mother. When she has too leave her Uncle's home. Her mother and her venture off to find her mother's brother, Rand to see if they could live with him. They find themselves in Noble Springs. eventually, Cassie finds a job working with Jacob West and rents a cabin for her mother and herself. It is a sweet story of a young woman believing in herself and trusting in God to help her in her circumstances. I received this book from The Book Club Network to review. I recommend this book. It was an excellent read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love's Sweet Beginning by Ann Shorey

Date:March 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love's Sweet Beginning: Sisters at Heart Series book 3***** by Ann Shorey
After the War between the States and the death of her father, Cassie Haddon and her mother, Eliza Bingham have been staying with family. However, they have worn out their welcome and have been asked to leave. The only place Eliza can think of going is to find her brother, Rand Carter, who was living in Noble Springs the last she heard. So they leave St. Louis by train and travel to Noble Springs only to learn that it is not Rand but another man with a similar name. Cassie's friend opens her home to her and her mother for a time. Cassie does not want to impose any longer than needed and seeks employment at a restaurant. Of course, being raised in a privileged home with servants, Cassie has no skills but she is willing to learn. Once she has saved enough money she plans for her and her mother to move into their own place. But Eliza has different plans, she is going to move to Price City to live with her brother and insists Cassie comes with her.
Jacob West, owner of the West & Riley grocery store and restaurant, remembers Cassie and her self-absorbed mother from when they passed through Noble Springs the year before. He is surprised when Cassie applies for a job in his restaurant. They soon learn, however, that she is not a waitress but is actually good at baking pies. Cassie is hopeful that she can make a good living and secure a place for her and her mother soon. But things don't go as hoped as her mother is determined to set Cassie up with an unwanted suitor. Cassie struggles a fine line in trying to make a new life for herself and hopefully her mother and honoring her mother. Further complications follow with a fire and misunderstandings. Cassie learns secrets from her mother's past. Jacob is fearful that his past will be revealed ending any chance of a life between him and Cassie. Cassie and Jacob learn that the most important thing they can do is to trust God and His leading in their lives.
Love's Sweet Beginning is a lovely story with real-to-life characters that warm your heart and some who need a good talking to. As in real life, the characters face challenges, complications, anger and problems trusting. But the also have good friends, encouragement, forgiveness, love and faith....a good recipe for life.
~~I received a copy of this book from Bookfun Network for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fun, sweet story

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the war ended Cassie Haddon and her mother find themselves in a pickle. The lifestyle that they once had, which included servants and fortune, is gone. They are forced to rely on Cassie's uncle to get them through. But, because of her mother's stubborn nature and ungratefulness, the ladies must leave their comfortable surroundings to make their way on their own.
This is not an easy task for anyone without skills or money.
Cassie is determined to become useful and provide for her mother and herself. Does she have what it takes to find a job? Can she swallow her pride and make a go of it?
I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Cassie was a lot of fun and I loved her spirit. One can not help but root for Miss Haddon and respect her Christian values.
If you are looking for an uplifting story that will make you laugh, bring some tears, and have you cheering, this is the novel for you.
I received a copy of Love's Sweet Beginning from Bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third book in a grouping that, while they aren’t my normal genre to read, I thought I would read in an attempt to broaden my reading lists. So if you like to visit my page to get some insight into what men enjoy reading, hang onto your thoughts as some of these books may surprise even me. This book is book 2 in the “Peacemaker’s” series by Anna Schmidt. While it may be the 3rd in the series, this book can be read as a stand-alone. You do see some of the characters from the first 2 books, but you are provided enough back story to not be lost.
Now that the war is over, Cassie and her mother have traveled from family to family as they try to make ends meet. As they are nearing the end of any support, Cassie finds a job working for a local grocery store when the owner, Jacob, gives her a chance even though she has no work experience at all. Cassie tries to honor her mother’s wishes of not working at the store, but she knows this job is her only chance to provide for them. As she continues to balance work and obeying her mother, Cassie grows into a strong independent woman. Jacob knows that offering Cassie the job is a stretch, but she does need the work and he does need the help. Patient and kind-hearted, Jacob is there to help Cassie and her mother through their tough times. Will this job be enough to help Cassie provide support for her mother? Will Jacob regret giving Cassie the chance at the job? Will there be more to their relationship than just boss/employee? Stand in line if you want to know the answers to these and other questions and BUY THE BOOK!
This is a typical “Girl meets Guy”, “Girl and Guy like each other” and “It all ends Happily Ever After”. There’s not much intrigue, it’s a pretty straight forward romance novel. The characters and the dilemmas they face are realistic. You get to see a lot of growth in the character of Cassie as the author progresses her from a young lady that gets everything served to her to one that is independent and strong-willed. There were times that I thought Cassie could have been more outspoken, at least early in the book, but then I realized that during the era that the book was written, women didn’t really speak out on things. All in all, it is a very solid plot, with some interesting characters. The kind of story that allows you to feel complete once you finish.
Is this a "guy's book"? Quite honestly, no. The setting of the book is post-civil war, which might bring images of dead bodies, attacks and gore. But with this book, you won’t find any of those sights. Although I know that this book will be well received by the women in my church library, this is one book that the men will steer clear of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical, Post Civil War

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first book to read by Ann Shorey but it won't be my last. This is the third in a series but you can read it as a stand alone. I did.
Cassie was raised to be a lady, in the true southern traditions on that era. When her father is killed in the war she finds that she and her mother have to live off of relatives. However, her mother refuses to help and doesn't get along with her family. When they are told they have to leave they had west to another brother's house. When they get to where Cassie's uncle lives they find out that its someone else with a similar name. Luckily Cassie has a couple of friends there. Especially when she finds out that her mother doesn't have enough money to buy a meal (after buying train tickets). While staying with friends, Cassie decides being a lady isn't helping the situation and looks for a job. Jacob West owns a local restaurant and grocer. He hires her to help in the restaurant but finds that he doesn't like the men staring at her. Cassie's mother is horrified that her daughter would sink so low as to be a kitchen maid.
This is a sweet romance. Cassie goes from a spoiled young lady to one that is determined to what she has to take care of herself and her mother. She is proud of what she accomplishes but her mother can't believe that her perfect daughter has sunk so low. Cassie learns to rely on God, herself and makes friends that are to be treasured. There are complications, disasters, humor and a story that was a good read. I definitely will be reading more of Ann Shorey's books in the future.
I received this book through www.bookclub.org to read, review and leave my honest opinion. I do recommend this book. I read it in one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of love, growth and responsibility

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Coral Springs, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book 3 in the "Sisters at Heart" series. I have not had the opportunity to read the first two book, yet know I would love them. I am sure if you read the first two you would have more insight to some of the characters in this book, however this is also a stand alone title. You do not need to read the first two to enjoy this one.
Cassie has been raised a very privileged life, as a true lady should be. Yet after the war and loss of her father she must learn some things she never thought she would need. I loved watching how Cassie grew from a "useless" lady to one with her own opinion and abilities. While she fights with knowing she needs to honor her mother she also needs to follow her heart.
Jacob thinks he has all he needs and will not ever marry, however when Cassie walks into his store his life is changed forever. While he also struggles with things in his past. He has to learn to let go and trust God.
I loved their dialogue and interactions. I also enjoyed some of the unknown. There are things you only find out when others characters find out all the truth.
If you enjoy historical, fiction, romance with a little bit of mystery you will love this book.
I was given a copy of this book from [www.bookfun.org] (The book club network) for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

After a slow start, it was good

Date:March 11, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved Cassie's growth into a woman with her own mind, and her willingness to learn new things in order to provide for herself and her ungrateful, overbearing mother.
I'm sad to say I didn't really care for this novel. It seemed slow to me at the beginning, and I had a hard time getting into the character's lives.
I did find the writing to be excellent. I didn't get stuck wondering what was going on, and while it won't be one of my most loved books, I did finish it, which is more than I can say for some other books I've read recently.
I found the end to be quite satisfying. I just love a good HEA (happily-ever-after).
***I received this book from the author/publisher for purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the "Sisters At Heart" series. Shorey once again writes a beautiful sweet story of two characters having to grow and realize their own strengths before being able to accept the love they are offered. Cassie is a girl who has grown up being taught to act like a lady. When she comes to Noble Springs to stay, she is starting out with nothing and has to work for a living. She learns to fight for what she wants, while trying to be a dutiful daughter to a mother who only wants the old way of life back. Jacob is trying to build a future while hoping his past stays in the past. A beautifully written story brings these two together and throws them through struggles and trials while making each one grow in character.
The memorable characters from the first two books are along in this one also. It is fun to read about them again in connection with the main characters. Do Cassie and Jacob get their happily ever after or will her mom and a man from her past interfere? A great story with twists, turns and trials that remind you God is in charge of all.
received this book from Bookfun.org for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Historical Romance

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love’s Sweet Beginning is the final book in Ann Shorey’s Sisters at Heart series. I have not read the others and was concerned that might make it confusing. I am very happy to say that it was not confusing in the least and Love’s Sweet Beginning stands very well on its own.
I really liked Cassie, her determination to make a life for herself and learn everything she needed. I enjoyed seeing her come out of her shell and become more outspoken and bold. She was never intentionally rude or hurtful, but was not afraid to speak her mind, something I admire. It is quite a struggle to balance that in life and mostly likely more so in a character. I applaud Ms. Shorey’s excellent handling of it.
The writing was superb and I was quickly drawn into the story. I was so engrossed in it that I often found it difficult to put down and finished it in less than a day. The story is fast paced and didn’t lag anywhere, which was a relief. I often read suspense and thought this might seem boring, but it wasn’t at all! I fell in love with the characters and had to know how it was all going to work out!
This spiritual aspect is focused on Cassie’s desire to honor her mother and Jacob’s need for forgiveness. While I enjoyed the forgiveness part, I felt Ms. Shorey could have perhaps gone into more detail about honoring your parents. I often wanted to yell at Cassie for once again catering to her mother, who seemed to be taking advantage of Cassie’s dedication to her. I really wanted Cassie to find a balance between honoring her mother and giving into her every whim. I was happy to see them finally work that out in the end.
I also felt as though Jacob’s troubles were stretched out too far though the book. It took until almost the end for him to finally tell Cassie the truth, because he was so afraid of her reaction, which was so anti-climatic it was almost laughable. I understand there needed to be some conflict for the story to move on, but I think Ms. Shorey could have come up with something more interesting, or at least made it a little more important to the outcome. This is the reason for the 4 instead of 5 stars.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a sweet historical romance.
I received this book through The Book Club Network for my honest review, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in anyway. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical romance

Date:March 6, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Shorey takes a once-privileged mother and daughter and a grocer owner with a past to weave a romantic story resplendent with twists and turns to resolve. Shorey’s secondary characters are as remembered as are her hero and heroine. Descriptions of setting pull you into the story as if you were there and breathing the western dust in the 1800s.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Spoiled Southern Belle uses her Wits to Survive

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vickie McDonough
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Haddon’s mother longed for her to be the definitive Southern Belle, which is why at the age of twenty-five, Cassie has no useful skills. When they are thrown out of their current home, Cassie must find some kind of work. But what does a woman do who was never allowed to cook or clean?
Desperate, Cassie begs a job of grocer and restaurant owner, Jacob West. Jacob doesn’t particularly need more help, but something about Cassie makes him want to help. But it isn’t long before he regrets that choice. Can Cassie make Jacob realize that he needs her as much as she needs him?
Love’s Sweet Beginning by Ann Shorey is truly a sweet romance. I really felt for Cassie, who by no choice of her own, was in a rough spot. Although things are difficult, she never gives up. Jacob is a kindhearted hero with a secret and surprising past. This charming book is a story of hope, forgiveness, and starting over. You’ll be glad you read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story to Love

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChooseWisely
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my! I began this book and didn't put it down until I finished it. I opened it as I was cooking dinner and I only vaguely recall putting my children to bed.
In Love's Sweet Beginning. a prim and proper young woman, Cassie Haddon, is put to the task of providing for her mother. However, Cassie lacks the training and skill required to earn a living. A sympathetic (and handsome) store owner, Jacob West gives her a chance that costs him more than he expected. Ann Shorey adds just enough conflict to keep it interesting and just enough kissing to keep it terribly romantic. I adore the way Cassie and Jack both grow to handle more than they knew they could while growing together at the same time.
I so enjoyed this heartwarming story. This is the first title of Ann Shorey's I have ever read. Most assuredly, it will not be my last! She truly has a gift for bringing two very likeable characters together in a charming adventure. I recommend Love's Sweet Beginning to those who enjoy historical fiction at it's finest.
I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I have not been compensated in any form other than the joy of reading a good book. All opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great characters and history

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love's Sweet Beginning by Ann Shorey is set in America during the historical time period right after the Civil War.
Before The War Between the States, Cassie had servants to do everything for her so she knew precious little of any value. Her uncle, with whom they are living, has deemed her " useless." As much as it hurts, Cassie knows it is true. They must leave, however, because her and her mother had long outstayed their welcome. They didn't own a home and had precious little on which to live. Without relatives or friends, they were homeless.
After finding a friend with whom to stay, Cassie realizes she is going to have to get a job. Their options had run out, and it was the only one left to her. Cassie approaches the local grocer for a job. She starts on a temporary basis. Her mother does not at all approve. Can she manage to keep her job with no skills? Will she be able to provide for her and her mother? Is perhaps love in her future?
This is a wonderful story of a young lady whose hard work, courage, and tenacity gets her through such difficult times. I found myself cheering for her as she tries so hard to please her employer, keep her job, and become so valuable that he can't fire her. Cassie is a wonderful young lady, and she even surprises herself as she begins to bloom once out of the shadow of her mother. Jacob has his faults, but he is very compassionate. I must say, very patient as well. This was a well written story that had a nice pace to it. It wasn't too fast, but in no way did it drag. The surrounding characters add well to the story. Cassie, however, makes it shine. The closer I got to the end, the harder it was to put down. The story builds as one turns the pages. It's a sweet story, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This was my first read of Ann Shorey. I will definitely be reading more.
I was given this book through The Book Club Network for my honest opinion which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, New Beginnings and Romance

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Shorey in her new book, “Love’s Sweet Beginning” Book Three in the Sisters At Heart series published by Revell takes us into the life of Cassie Haddon.
From the Back Cover: What will it take for a once-privileged young woman to make her way in the world?
It isn’t Cassie Haddon’s fault that she has reached the age of twenty-five without possessing any useful skills. Until the War Between the States, she always had servants. Since then, she and her mother have been forced to rely on family to care for them. But now the well of human kindness has run dry–and Cassie must find work to support them.
Unfortunately, leaving the past behind is easier said than done, and Cassie must summon all of her courage and wits to convince local restaurateur and grocer Jacob West that she’s exactly what his business needs.
With her signature sweet romance, Ann Shorey weaves a tale of two people from different backgrounds finding common ground and the hope of a bright future together.
What do you do when the life you were used to is taken away from you and you don’t know how to do anything else? That is the problem Cassie is facing. For her and her mother to survive she is going to have to take a job, but what? That is where Jacob West comes in. See he owns a mercantile with a restaurant within. Now these two not only have to learn how to deal with each other but they also must learn to face their romance. ”Love’s Sweet Beginning” has history in it as Ms. Shorey is dealing with the time following The Civil War. It is a romance because Cassie and Jacob were made for each other it just takes them a while to understand that. Ms. Shorey is an excellent writer and makes all her characters believable and you care deeply for them as she deftly unfolds the plot before us. This is a nice romance with great themes. I am sorry that this series is ending but I look forward to the next series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A STORY OF CHARACTER AND INTEGRITY

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassie Haddon was born with the proverbial “silver spoon”. The end of the Civil war changed her and her mother from wealthy aristocrats to homeless average people with no skills to support themselves. After overstaying their welcome at her uncle’s they are forced to move. Her mother refuses to accept her loss of status and lifestyle, but Cassie takes a realistic point of view, especially after she overheard her uncle call her “useless”.
Her mother uses the last of their money for tickets to Noble Springs, Missouri on a hear-say that her brother is living there. An old friend of Cassie’s, Rosemary Stewart, invites them to stay with her and her husband Elijah. Cassie is angry and humiliated to realize her mother plans to put down roots and take advantage of the Stewart’s hospitality permanently. This and her uncle’s declaring her “useless” spurs her do get a job to support her and her mother.
She applies at Jake West’s restaurant as a waitress. Her persistence and spunk persuade him to hire her. Having never worked in her life she has a real learning experience. Her mother is not only horrified at her working, but down right angry when Cassie rents them a little 2 room cabin in town.
Throughout the book Cassie shows courage, perseverance, and character, as she faces her mother’s conniving and manipulation, not to mention the many mistakes she makes as she learns to make a new life for herself. Mutual respect soon draws Jake and Cassie together and they find themselves falling in love. Her lack of confidence and His secret from his past keep them from declaring their feelings at first.
They had much in common in spite of their very different backgrounds. Jake had grown up poor and neglected, whereas Cassie was raised rich and overly pampered, yet both of them were striving to overcome their pasts through hard work and honesty.
I loved the way Cassie was always double checking her choices and actions by God’s Word. I also admired her respect and patience with her mother’s selfishness and scheming. It was wonderful to see a story where the spoilt rich girl becomes a godly woman of substance. Expect lots of surprises and glitches throughout the story! I appreciated the godliness and integrity of the main characters. An enjoyable book. Although have not read the other two books I never felt I was missing part of the story. I look forward to reading them now!
I received this book free from Revell Pulishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To start off with, I hated, well greatly disliked, the main character. Did that grab your attention? Ann Shorey did so with a heroine that makes you want to slap her. But, it doesn't stay that way. Cassie is a female who has her issues, maybe more than some of us, who slowly grows. And yes, I did end up liking her, it just took me a while:)
The author does an excellent job in shaping her characters. Like I said above, the heroine is kinda off-setting but it goes to show how well you can write a person out. Believe me, I mean this in the best of ways. For you to want to slap a characters, even when you know they aren't real, that is good writing!! The scenery comes to life, the plot is a very sweet romance that makes for good reading on these winter days. Kinda has you dreaming about summer:) In reality, I enjoy books like these every once in a while to balance out the normal suspense novels I savor. An excellent book written by Ann Shorey!!
I was given a free product from Revell in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cassie is a very plucky girl!

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think that Love's Sweet Beginning is a way better Southern-Belle-Meets-Post-War-Reality story than Scarlett O'Hara's was.
Now that I've got that out of the way....
Cassiopeia Haddon was gifted with a beautiful name, a name that seemed to fit in her pleasant pre-war life, before her fortune was lost and her fiancee died. Now that she and her mother are nearly penniless and living off of grudging charity, she goes by Cassie.
She isn't sure what her identity is anymore. Is she just a refined lady who can't clean her own kitchen? Is she useless, as she has been called?
With those harsh words ringing in her ears Cassie decides that she will care for herself and her mother, right now, no matter how hard the adjustment is.
And that decision is the first sign that Cassiopeia is a plucky girl. And I like pluck. I like to think that I would be able to keep cheerful and hopeful if a curveball came my way as it did when Cassie ended up living in a little woodshed/cabin. I have a woodshed like that on my property, and I love the image of her scrubbing the floor and walls where there are ground-in shavings and mouse nests and cobwebs. When she finished, I felt her tired exaltation. She realized that although it wasn't shining clean, it was as clean as humanly possible, and she learned that her best was good enough.
She finds that she isn't timid, useless, wilting Cassie. She's bold and brave and can make good decisions. She can decide who she wants in her life and who she doesn't. She enjoys her own emancipation and independence, and she also blooms in her relationships. Cassie comes to know and love a variety of people whom she never would have met in her narrow existence.
Between her own ingenuity and diligence and some well-timed acts of kindness towards her, Cassie learned how to make a home and how to be a friend.
If you're in a period of transition in your life, if you're taking the next step into some unknown path, then you may just smile and laugh as you read Love's Sweet Beginning.
Thank you Revell for my review copy! I will be seeking out the rest of Ann Shorey's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love's Sweet Beginning, Sisters at Heart Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!!!

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
TanyaK
Location:TN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love’s Sweet Beginning, by Ann Shorey is the third book in "Sisters at Heart" series.
Cassie Haddon and her mother have moved to Noble Springs after the Civil War when the country is still trying to pull itself together. They have nothing but each other after the death of Cassie's father.
Cassie and her mother end up staying with Rosemary and Stewart, but as the stay extends it begins to wear on the newlyweds who are expecting their first child.
When Cassie finds out that her mother was hiding their financial situation from her, she finds a job working for Mr. Jacob West at his store/restraurant. But her mother can't accept Cassie's new status as a lowly servant.
Cassie grew up with a mother who was not raised in the luxury, but she has raised Cassie as so.
Jacob never planned to hire more help for his store/restaurant, so he hires her on a trial basis figuring she won't last, but Cassie's determination and spirit manage to convince him to let her stay.
Jake is finding more and more reasons to eat at the restaurant after Cassie starts working there, but he's got secrets of his own and he's afraid of what she would think if she knew.
Sweet story with great characters this book was a great conclusion to a series, bringing together the sisters at heart. It can also be read as stand-alone.
Thank you to Revell for providing me with a free copy of this book for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>