Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1

Revell Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1

The War Between the States stole a father and brother from Faith Lindberg-- as well as Royal Baxter, the man she wanted to marry. With only her grandfather left, she dreams of leaving Noble Springs, Missouri, and traveling west to the Oregon Territory to start a new life, away from the memories that haunt her. But first she must convince her grandfather to sell the family's mercantile and leave a town their family has called home for generations.

When Royal Baxter suddenly returns to town, Faith allows herself to hope that her dreams might come true. Does he truly love her? Or could another man claim her heart? Will she find that following her dreams may not mean leaving home after all?

Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Review 1 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice easy read

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
prettymama
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the book to be enjoyable. The story is very predictable, and I found myself some what annoyed at the immaturity of the main character. However, it is a good easy read with good moral characters, and at the end puts a smile on your face cause all ends well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Faith the main character very immature.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Big Mom
Location:Ingleside, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Story line and characters were predictable and held very little drama. Faith's character was like a very spoiled child and it was hard to care for her. This is a storyline for young women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A lovely series debut

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Shorey has created a likeable heroine in Faith Lindberg - she's sweet and compassionate, but strong enough to stand up for what's right. Curt Saxon is an intriguing hero as he falls for Faith but keeps his distance while he wrestles with his "soldier's heart" - what we now call Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. Ann Shorey's writing draws me right in, with lovely phrasing and plenty of humor. I highly recommend this novel, and I'm looking forward to the next two books in the Sisters of the Heart series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Awesome

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Victoria L Sonnenberg
Location:Roseburg, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Shorey shows her usual brilliance in writing! The story in Where Wildflowers Bloom is truly an engaging story, with love, romance, daily strife, intrigue, and the love of God to cover the whole of it. The characters are believable, and well written into the persons presented in the story. This book is one that I found difficult to put down, once I opened the first page. I find it interesting that Ann uses her own ancestors to find stories of life in the past. I enjoy reading her books, and look forward to the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fragrance and Substance

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fast-paced historical romance set in 1866 Missouri. Rich descriptions of the mercantile, cemetery, town, homes and livery allow vivid visualization for the reader. All the characters are full of life, from the heroine to the customers in the mercantile, and each one gives flavor to the book. This is an enjoyable and easy read, but also one of substance as our characters recover from the devastating effects of war.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Romance

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleasantly paced, and gently captivating.
Where Wild Flowers Bloom tells the story of a determined young woman named Faith, who has lost both her father and brother to the War Between the States. She and her aging Grandfather struggle to run the family's general store, and a series of thefts don't help. Along with the thefts, Royal Baxter, a man Faith knew before the war, returns to court her. Also there is her blossoming friendship with the local stableman Curt. Is either of these men truly what they seem to be?
This book easily drew me in, and had a nice pace to it. Faith is a strong, yet she doesn't quite realize it. She has the inner gumption and determination, yet at times she doesn't take advantage of it. Faith is a character that I related easily to, though at times I questioned why she didn't speak up when she had the chance. My favorite character in this book was Curt, because he made the most sense to me. He was quietly charming, in a way that definitely grows on you, and didn't give up easily. Rosemary was a wonderful and faithful friend, and I hope to see her in the next installment of the series!
This book would best be described as a gentle historical romance. Overall, I enjoyed the book immensely, though I wished that some of the characters had figured some stuff out sooner--sorry, I can't be more specific. The setting was charming and I loved the friendships that were developed, this book is a wonderful stepping stone for future books. I would recommend this book to Janette Oke fans, because it is just as clean with a sweet romantic storyline :)
“Available January 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Final Rating: 4.25 out of 5
Thanks to Donna Hausler and Revell Publishers for giving me a review copy in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent historical fiction!

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book by this author, and it definitely won't be my last! I loved this story, it's exactly what I'm looking for in historical fiction. The story was about the characters first and foremost. It dealt with each character's personal struggles and how they leaned on each other to make it through.
I loved all the characters. Even though Faith was sometimes a bit immature, it fit with her character and she grew a lot. Curt was so sweet and the author explored his history with the war in a very interesting way. Curt's supportive relationship with his sister Rosemary was great to read about. It's nice to see families working together. I loved Faith's grandpa, he had such great advice!
sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Predictable

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately my review isn't going to give a stellar rating of this story. It was only ok. I found it a predictable, historical romance. I thought the main character, Faith Lindberg, was a bit flaky and did not make very wise choices because she was trying to run from her problems. Guess I am old enough now that I know running from problems only gives you more problems in the end!
On the other hand, I could understand Faith's grief and wanting to run away from it because I have been there and done that. It is the realist in me, which is now on the other side of grief, that saw how useless her running away was ineffective against her healing.
I didn't like the predictable story line. It makes for a rather bland book, in my humble opinion.
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive free products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
An Ann Shorey story always provides readers with a sweet romance,interesting characters and a fascinating historical setting and Where Wildflowers Bloom is no exception. Set in the aftermath of the Civil War, Ann's characters' lives epitomise the struggles of the day. Faith Lindberg is trying to maintain her grandfather's store against community opposition, after losing her father and brother in the war, Curt Saxon fights demons in his mind following the trauma of the battlefield and Royal Baxter is desperate to make a future for himself. Steeped in the historical era, Ann deals with issues that we face today, from post traumatic stress disorder to age related dementia. I enjoyed Ann's character development, especially Curt and Rosemary, along with understanding the prejudice against a woman wanting to take on a commercial responsibility. I had a moment of frustration due to the ease with which a transfer of affection occurs - it's a little bugbear of mine that pops up often in romance novels. That said, Where Wildflowers Bloom delivers everything readers of traditional, sweet romances desire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful new author for me to read

Date:January 22, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Faith Lindberg and her grandfather are trying to move on from the memories of the Civil War and all that the war took from her family--her father and brother. Convinced that going on the Oregon Trail is the only way to start a new life, she prepares for her and her grandfather to go. There's only one thing that stands in her way, which would be selling the mercantile. It has been in the family for so long and somehow she has to figure out a way to convince her grandfather to let it go.
When a new brother and sister move into town, she becomes fast friends with Rosemary. She isn't quite for sure how to read her brother Curt but finds that she turns to him every time that she's in need or finds herself in a problem.
Before the war, Royal Baxter had caught the attention of Faith and Faith was sure that when he returned from the war that they would get married. The war came and went and there were no word of Royal. One day, Royal comes riding into town and he becomes smitten with Faith. However, when he does decide to propose to her, there's something in his proposal that doesn't sit just right.
Will Faith figure out Royal and his true intentions before she uproots her roots and heads to Oregon? What does her grandfather hope for her? Which man will finally say the words to her that she needs to hear?
I haven't ever read any books by Ann Shorey but I was pleasantly surprised that I was interested in this book from the first sentence. I read this book fast and enjoyed every bit of it. It was a little predictable and I had a feeling how the ending would turn out but I didn't predict the events that would lead to the ending. I definitely want to read more of her books since I enjoyed her writing style so much.
_________________
Available January 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
_______________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Realistic Post-Civil War setting

Date:January 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ann Shorey’s research, descriptive writing and dialogue masterfully brings the reader into the post civil-war era. I read to learn as well as be entertained, and Ms. Shorey fulfilled that with interesting details on prejudice toward women who had served as nurses during the Civil War. The character, Rosemary, the former nurse, seemed to have more spunk than the heroine, Faith, at first, creating interest in a potential sequel. It was good to see Faith’s character develop as the story went on. Secondary characters were also interesting and well-rounded, though I did miss a resolution of the grandpa's illness. The romance aspect is more from the hero's view, which was refreshing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good "Step Back in Time"

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where Wildflowers Bloom, by Ann Shorey, is set in 1866, just following the end of the Civil War and in Missouri, near to some of the battle sites of the war. It is an emotional one which captures the struggles of two families, in particular, who have experienced great losses due to the war, and also of the small town in which they live, Noble Springs.
The main personality, Faith Lindberg, has many conflicts as she cares for an elderly grandfather, takes over the operation of the mercantile he has run for so many years, and sets her sights not only on the Oregon Territory as a way to “begin again,” but also on a man who left for the war many years prior and returns as the answer to all her dreams.
The conflicts faced by the various characters in the story, and the nearly insurmountable obstacles to be overcome before attaining their goals, gives the reader much to think about; the grandfather’s constant faith that the Lord is in control of all their actions gives assurance that in the end, all will be right, even though he, himself, is doubtful and perplexed at times.
Faith, as a 20-year-old, has a very innocent view of life, sometimes quite naive, and is also a stubborn young woman who feels she can manipulate those around her into seeing things her way. She struggles with her feelings toward the men she loves and respects, but is captivated with some special friendships. She matures through this adventure and becomes wise through her experiences.
Grandfather’s wisdom in the quoting of a verse from Proverbs, gives a huge clue to his desire and ability to care for those who are less fortunate. Many events throughout the story make it easy to help others without even thinking about it, just because it is “the right thing to do.”
This is an enjoyable and quick-moving novel which brings to light many problems which may be faced by families living in the twenty-first century, just as they were in 1866.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story That Tells of Faith, Hope and Love!!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay friends, this is the first time I have ever read a book penned by Ann Shorey. It will defintely not be the last! Wow! Wow! Wow! For me to say that I LOVED this book isn't describing it enough. From the first page until the last, Ann Shorey, had me hooked.
This is the first book of her new series, "Sisters at Heart", and I must say, I cannot wait for the second book to come out!
The story line is amazing and the characters are vibrant and just so relatable. On some level I felt I could connect with each of them. This story takes place post Civil War, in a small town of Noble Springs, Missouri. Now, coming from Missouri, maybe this is just another reason I could connect with this story. There is such rich history here and I feel that Ann told this story with passion. Each chapter just flowed and I was never stuck or left wondering what happened. She has this gift of telling the story, adding detail, but leaving enough room for your imagination to take hold.
What love is that we learn we can't run from our memories. Even though this life brings us heartache, it too brings blessings. If we aren't careful we can be too focused on those heartaches and we miss out on the blessings right before our eyes.
This is one of those books to treasure and to pass around to those who love Historical Fiction and Romance. I even hate to put it into that category because it is just so much more. Even though it's historically based, it is a book we can relate to in today's world.
I am now a huge fan of Ann Shorey. I cannot wait to read more of her books!
Ann is having a contest right now! Follow this link for details on how to enter! http://www.annshorey.com/contest.html
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uplifting historical fiction

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where Wildflowers Bloom reveals life in post-Civil-War Missouri, where Faith Lindberg lives with her grandfather—the only family she has left. Life centers around their mercantile and the challenges Faith confronts as a woman trying to run a struggling business. She longs to escape to Oregon Territory, where they can get away from the memories that plague her. Grandpa doesn’t want to leave his family home.
Former soldiers, Curt Saxon and Royal Baxter, add to the tension, with a romantic element as well as their secrets. Curt’s sister, Rosemary, befriends Faith and they become “Sisters at Heart,” the title of this new series.
Ann Shorey has penned another well-written historical novel that gives authentic insights into the characters’ hearts as well as their setting. I enjoy such stories that explore relationships and where people learn from their choices. Reading a book like this offers hope for the future as we see that we can make the most of second chances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A tender story of people overcoming past heartache

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sally Laity
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Where Wildflowers Bloom, by Ann Shorey. The novel was fast-paced, the plot intricate enough to keep me turning pages. I loved the characters and the story line. I'd highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys tender love stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Typical Ann Shorey -- Wonderful!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Ann Shorey's most recent book, When Wild Flowers Bloom. What a great read!
I loved the story of Faith Lindberg, a determined and courageous woman of her time. It's 1866 and the war is over, but dark memories of loss plague Faith and her grandfather. She's determined to leave her hometown of Noble Springs, Missouri in search of a new beginning in the Willamette Valley of
Oregon . . . no matter what she has to do to make it happen.
I encourage you to pick up a copy of this book. I know you'll love it too. It's typical Ann Shorey -- great writing that plants you in every scene and a wonderful story.
Thank you, Ann, for the memorable escape into history and into the lives of the people of Noble Springs, Missouri.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie Lynne Costello
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading Where Wildflowers Bloom. Ann Shorey did a wonderful job with description of settings. It was easy to see the story play out in your head because she had laid out the setting so well. The mercantile was my favorite. I think I could walk in there today and be able to move around, knowing where everything was at. I loved the the old men who sat by the stove. Such delightful minor characters, but so full of life. The Hero and heroine were easy to like and the tale she wove was fun and easy to read. A beautiful story about following one's own heart and not God. I happily recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Story

Date:January 7, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Where Wildflowers Bloom, Ann Shorey gives us strong and memorable characters. As her plot unfolds she keeps putting obstacles in the way of Faith Lindberg's dream to go west to Oregon and leave her sad memories of the Civil War behind. This story takes one twist after another and kept me turning pages. Not until the last pages does Faith resolve her dream of Oregon. A good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Where Wildflowers Bloom, Sisters at Heart Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A rainy day must have

Date:December 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where the Wildflowers Bloom is what I call a couch, blanket and a cup of cocoa book. From the first page you want to snuggle under a quilt and read all day--even better if it is a rainy day.
Faith Lindberg dreams of the day Royal Baxter returns, and if he doesn't come home soon she's leaving Nobel Springs, Missouri. She's taking her grandfather and heading west to Oregon--far from the painful memories of family that were killed in the war, or died of disease.
Shorey adds details to the setting in such a way you feel that you are in the Lindberg Mercantile while she dusts the merchandise, and when she walks home at night you can see it. That's it! This book felt like I was watching a moving take place rather than reading it.
Back Cover:
The Civil War stole a father and brother from Faith Lindberg--as well a Royal Baxter, the man she wanted to marry. With only her grandfather left, she dreams of leaving Noble Springs, Missouri, and traveling west to Oregon to start a new life, away form the memories that haunt her.But first she must convince her grandfather to sell the family's mercantile and leave a town their family has called home for generations.
when Royal Baxter suddenly returns, Faith allows herself to hope that she and royal will finally wed. but does he truly love her? Or will another man claim her heart?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.