Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2

Revell On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2

Lt. Georgiana Taylor has everything she could want. A comfortable boyfriend back home, a loving family, and a challenging job as a flight nurse. But in July 1943, Georgie's cozy life gets decidedly more complicated when she meets pharmacist Sgt. John Hutchinson. Hutch resents the lack of respect he gets as a noncommissioned serviceman and hates how the war keeps him from his fiancée. While Georgie and Hutch share a love of the starry night skies over Sicily, their lives back home are falling apart. Can they weather the hurt and betrayal? Or will the pressures of war destroy the fragile connection they've made?

Sarah Sundin | Discussion Questions 

Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 34100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Review 1 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Follow-Up by Sundin

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the best things about this book for me? The fact that I closed it reflecting that the heroine, Georgie, and I would’ve been good friends in real life. She appealed to me a lot as a character, and while I don’t have the same struggles she has, I understood her well and yeah – we would’ve been friends. She’s lovely! John/Hutch wasn’t bad, though I didn’t find myself falling in love with him. There are a lot of details packed into this book, and they all added to the historical/realistic feel overall. There was enough action to keep the story, but not let it get rushed. Another highlight? Seeing Tom and Mellie, from “With Every Letter”! Good book, and I’m glad I bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Sarah Sundin continues her excellent series on the lives and loves of the dedicated women who became flight nurses during World War II. As always, Sarah provides detailed insight into the era, the people, the military, and more particularly in this novel, the fascinating plight of trained pharmacists, who were not considered experts in their field by the military and were treated accordingly. Both Hutch and Georgie are battling people’s preconceptions and prejudices, in their jobs and on the home front. Sarah creates sympathetic characters , instilled with a good dose of authenticity and readers will be encouraged and challenged by Georgie’s battle for independence and courage, and Hutch’s struggle with pride and with what becomes an unhealthy obsession with gaining the respect of his peers and the recognition of his vocation within the military hierarchy. That said, I was a little less invested in these characters than I usually am with Sarah’s excellent stories but I haven’t been able to quite determine why. Sarah never fails to pen a interesting tale and characterisation is one of her writing strengths so don’t be dissuaded from reading this book. On Distant Shores is still an engaging book and while the pacing may have been a little slow in places there is still plenty to engage and delight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another terrific book by Sarah Sundin!!

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Livie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited when I found out that the second book had come out!! I bought it as quickly as I could and then dove right in! This book was fabulous just like the first one. It had some pretty sad and surprising twists that kept me reading intensely! I loved finding out more about Georgie and her family and I liked seeing how Mellie kept on growing too. I fell in love with all of these characters before and it was such a joy to return to them and see their stories continue! I can't wait for the next one!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had waited forever to read this book. It was good. I liked the setting and the main characters most of the time. On Distant Shores also had a good theme about how one should do everything to honor God. Now I have to wait almost a whole year for the third book in the series to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm in love with Georgie and Hutch!

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
BookLoverKaren
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've devoured every one of Sarah Sundin's WWII romances (five books, now) because she has a gift for pulling you into her characters' lives until you feel as if you are walking in their shoes. Her current series, Wings of the Nightingale, tells the stories of three flight nurses, the brave women responsible for evacuating wounded soldiers to safety. Moving from place to place around the Mediterranean, Sundin's descriptions bring the locations to life and make the war deeply personal.
I instantly fell in love with Georgie, sympathizing with how her bubbly personality covered a lack of confidence in her abilities. The author's personal background in pharmacy created a distinctive air of reality to Hutch, as she layered in details of his work alongside the tender romance developing between the characters.
Though On Distant Shores is the second book in the series, I was impressed how this novel overlapped the first book (With Every Letter), so you actually experience several events from different characters' perspectives. That was a fun bonus for the reader, and makes reading the books out-of-sequence a non-issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:September 13, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In On Distant Shores, Sarah Sundin takes the reader with detailed accuracy to cities of the Mediterranean area during World War II. Lt. Georgie Taylor is a flight nurse. She has a boyfriend back home and loves her work. She meets Sgt. John Hutchinson, a pharmacist, who has a fiancé back home. Because she’s a nurse it’s natural that Georgie comes to his pharmacy. As their friendship grows so do complications. He’s a noncommissioned soldier, she’s a commissioned officer and the military doesn’t permit the two groups to socialize together. How can they be together in the face of military protocol? Characterization is strong and romantic tension keeps you turning pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"On Distant Shores" Review

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the first book in this series – With Every Letter – so I was looking forward to this next offering from an author Sarah Sundin.
The story starts off a little bit earlier than when the previous novel ended, which was a neat twist that I didn’t expect. It was nice to sort of rewind a bit and catch up with some of the characters from the first book and to get more of a running start into Georgie’s story.
As with the first book in the series, On Distant Shores was very well-written and had a seamless flow to it. You can tell that the author definitely does her research – about WWII as well as the pharmacy/medical details. Being a chemistry/biology nerd myself, I really liked the pharmacy aspect of the book. I felt so sorry for Hutch that he wasn’t able to be a commissioned officer even though he had a degree and practiced a medical profession such as pharmacy. This made for a unique storyline within the background of the war.
I also liked the growth that the two main characters experienced throughout the book, especially Georgie. It was so interesting to see how she discovered that everyone else in her life was making her decisions for her and how staying in her safe little comfortable world was hindering her relationship with God and her relationships with others. I thought the characters in this novel were just so relatable and believable. Their conversations were realistic, as were their emotions and doubts and fears. As I said, Hutch and Georgie both experienced significant growth in their faith throughout the novel which was encouraging and thought-provoking. And although the romance between the two was a bit predictable, I was still rooting for them.
Even though I did enjoy the various plotlines in this novel, it was much more heart-wrenching than the first one in the series. I actually had to put it down a couple of times and come back to it later. The part that was the most emotional, however, was a necessary plot point in the book, and it was handled well. It just took me a while to get through it.
With her characteristic writing style and attention to historical details, Sarah Sundin has another winner in her Wings of the Nightingale series with On Distant Shores, and I look forward to reading Kay’s story in the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Positively portrayed virtue & steadfastness

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the historical period interesting to read since I was a young child during the time of WWII and my parents, uncles, and grandparents experienced it first hand. Sarah Sundin captured the spirit of the times in that women were feeling they should and could do "their part" in this fight and there was a sheltering aspect to the men to protect women and keep them at home and in their place and not participating in the war effort.
I found of great interest the status of pharmacists, college educated and decreed, who were so under ranked and carried no respect in the military. It was interesting to read the struggle of the pharmacists in the army and the battle at home in congress to recognize them in the military and grant officer status.
The romance that was threaded through the story spoke of the uncertain times. However, it was refreshing to see that the author positively portrayed virtue and steadfastness in relationships.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicist on behalf of the author and publisher for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WILL THIS NIGHTINGALE FIND HERE WINGS?

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If ever I have the privilege of interviewing Ms Sarah Sundin, my first question would ask why she is so interested in WWII history. Ms Sundin obviously has researched this topic at length and retains the knowledge of what she learned. I admire her courage for such an undertaking so exemplary of combining fiction writing around actual historic events. Amazing, is that I assume she was born long after WWII had ended…..while I was born before the war began. Family members served during the war, including one who spent 36 months in a prison camp. Also, as the wife of a military officer, now retired – I could easily relate to many military terms. All these things added to my enjoyment of Saran Sundin’s story about Georgie, Hutch and all the surrounding cast
Lt Georgiana (Georgie) Taylor flew out of her comfortable home nest in Virginia when she became a flight nurse persuaded by her best friend Rose to join along with her. Georgie had little confidence in herself becoming a nurse and Ms Sundin writes Georgie’s naïveté very well into her character. This flaw would be a crux to Georgie and could possibly end her career. Lt Taylor’s parents, family and fiancé’ Ward were set against Georgie’s plans, and were constant deterrents to her making decisions on her own. Will Georgie ever reach a time when she learns to stand on her own?
Sgt John Hutchinson, a pharmacist also left a fiancé’ back home, appeared just as his unit landed in Sicily. His biggest resentment is that he gets little respect as a non-commissioned officer. His best friend Capt. Nels Bergstron is with the same unit, however they cannot fraternize as friends because of the military stipulation that frowns on those relationships. “Hutch” becomes consumed with his desire that the Pharmacy Corps be formed – he feels his college degree in pharmacy should entitle pharmacists to be commissioned as officers in the military. He undertakes this mission with the help of his father and gets close to reaching this goal – the answer if he reaches it or not is included in Ms Sundin’s story. Hutch is knowledgeable of astronomy which piqued my fascination with the story, as it carries mysterious importance regarding Hutch’s future decisions.
The story flows very well as the chapters about Georgie and Hutch weave back and forth throughout. Plenty of the writing will bring tears, so have a box of tissues handy. You’ll laugh at the hilarious antics between the characters and wonder about each character’s history that brought them into Ms Sundin’s story. Some of the drama might shock you, but you can realize the true hardships and trauma of being in war through Sarah Sundin’s vivid descriptions that played in my mind like a movie. Romance is always around and the emphasis is placed on how Georgie and Hutch overcome obstacles that first prevent their romance from developing – like each being engaged to another, dreams of the future when the war ends and then - secretly meeting because of the fraternization policy. And keep that box of tissues around to weep over casualties, tender moments, and open hearts – this is quite a beautiful story of love and relationships of many kinds. You’ll enjoy the Biblical references that help bring this story together. It goes to prove that wars can be the worst of times, and the best of times when we depend on the Lord for strength and wisdom to show the way. The story was explicit that Georgie and Hutch followed their own Christians principles which was very uplifting. Both set a sweet example of showing compassion for those who have lost everything because of political dissension between countries.
On Distant Shores is my first read from author Sarah Sundin, and it won’t be my last. My gratitude goes to Ms Sundin for writing the truth in fiction as though God whispered it all in her ear. That’s the way her words came across to me, at least. Ms Sundin has taken us through a sentimental journey…and I’m truly sentimental over this wonderful story……sounds like quotes from WWII songs. Thank you for On Distant Shores, Sarah Sundin….until we meet again….
I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Group book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Flight Nurses WWII

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lt Georgiana Taylor is in the first group of nurses trained for flight duty. She meets Hutch and they become friends but have to be careful. Hutch is a pharmacist but in WWII they were enlisted and looked down on by the medical staff. Hutch and Georgiana both have left sweethearts back home. They are both looking forward to when they will be home and can marry who they left behind. However, everything doesn't always go according to plan. Meet Georgiana's friends, her flight crew, some of the patients. Be with her as she tries to conquer her fear - oh no, not telling of what. You need to read the book and find out. If you haven't read the first book in the series you can still read this as a stand alone. Sarah Sundin is detailed and accurate of her portrayal of WWII. My father served over 30 yrs in the army, he was in WWII, Korea & Viet Nam. His only complaint - I didn't buy a copy with big enough print. He's 87 yrs old. Even my husband likes Sarah's books.
I bought this book and no one asked me to leave a review. This is my honest opinion on this book. Sarah's books are terrific.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a historical romance set during WWII at a time in which pharmacists were not taken as serious on the battle field or at home for that matter, as their profession is today. This book is about the fear, indecisiveness and timidity of a flight nurse named Georgina and the pride of an enlisted pharmacist, named Hutch. It is also about their struggles within the system.
Did you know pharmacists were not respected by many during WWII? Did you know a pharmacist could not be an officer in the army, therefore could not fraternize with officers? I learned a lot in this book.
Georgina and Hutch were put in many crisis situations and had to know how to deal with them. Like anyone tested under extreme pressure, each of them struggled yet grew in character.
I liked how Georgina found a “new you”. She learned how to make decisions for herself and be the best she could be despite the opinions of close friends and family, which were quite the opposite of what God wanted her to become during her time as a flight nurse. She was able to face her fears and insecurities and actually conquer them. Ever have people you love doubt you and your decisions? Were you strong enough to advance forward in spite of their doubts? It takes a lot of strength and trust in God to do so, after all loved ones are people we trust and usually know us best. However, God knows us even better than they do.
Hutch also discovered a “new” person within himself, but he had to put away an uglier side of himself before he could fully become the “new” Hutch. God had to humble him to the point of a servant in order for Hutch to realize being in the Pharmacy Corps was a worthy goal but did not define who he was as a person. He had to learn to be all he could be in the position he was in and be content not to be in the Pharmacy Corps if that is what God deemed best for that time.
I liked the growth of the characters and learning more about the professions of flight nurses and pharmacists…but I found myself a little bored, whether that was because I didn’t get to read the book at a leisurely pace and felt rushed to get it read to get my review done on time or if it’s because I have read too many novels and am bored with the same old same old. I will say there were a couple of surprises in the storyline and overall it was a decent read but I’m not sure it’s a book I’d read it again. For that reason I only give it a thumbs up.
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love her writing

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarah Sundin is masterful at capturing the special WWII era. On Distant Shores is the latest foray into that generation...and with another flight nurse. Her depictions of flight nurses has convinced my daughter that is the career for her. And in this one her hero is a pharmacist -- a job Sarah fills when she isn't writing. Read this book and you will find rich characters, a setting you can see and touch, and a story that winds its way into your heart. All while reading about the Greatest Generation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating Read

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great captivating read by Sarah Sundin, she does not disappoint! We are able to look at some of the things that happened in the first book, but from another view point.
With this book we are in Italy, and I felt the bombs hitting the shore. Sarah had me right in the middle of the war in this story. This is Lt. Georgiana Taylor's story, and also Sgt. John Hutchinson. Fraternizing with an officer is not allowed. Never mind that John has more education than most of the other officers, they think the Pharmacy Corp is below them. Huh? Anyway Hutch and his Dad Stateside wage a battle to make Pharmacists Officers. Hard to have a romance when you are not allowed to be together...not even hold hands.
Both Georgie and Hutch are engaged to other people when they meet, and both are aware each is off limits. We also have another engaging character in this book...a child Lucia, a seven year old, orphan, who was injured by an Army truck.
Come along on another great adventure, one with God's hand on each of them. Be ready for a lot of war time action, with a bit of romance thrown in. Catch up with Georgie's friends from the first book, and if you haven't read it, be sure to treat yourself!
I for one cannot wait until the next book it out! Thanks for sharing your gifts Sarah!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't read a book by Sarah Sundin yet that I haven't loved. This one is no exception. While over 400 pages, I still devoured it. She is a master at storytelling and always has an interesting slant to things. In this case the hero was a pharmacist hoping to earn the recognition he felt his profession deserved. The heroine battled fear that often paralyzed her. She was also dealing with emotions surrounding the loss of a friend, and thus, her reason for being there as a flight nurse. I really liked Hutch, the hero. He had his issues, but what man doesn't struggle with human weakness, like the tendency to become proud? He also sounded pretty dreamy. I loved the way his inner dialog sounded so masculine.
This story pulled me in and held my attention to the end. The facts about pharmaceutical compounds and how the hero created medicines was all quite fascinating. The characters had natural emotions and genuine spiritual struggles. Nothing felt stifled or sterilized. The whole issue of rank had to jab at poor Hutch's masculinity. A secondary character, Lucia, was delight to get to know through her interactions with the hero and heroine. I could see why they were so fond of that sweet girl. Georgie, the heroine, had spunk and probably blossomed the most in this story. I admired her wanting to break free from the dependency that her family and the southern culture encouraged. She had guts that emerged from her trials. She had to change the way she thought about herself. It was a great example of God's perspective renewing our minds.
All in all, this was a fabulous story. I was emotionally engaged and loved watching the characters grow stronger in their faith through their many trials. I think one of the things I enjoy most about Sarah's books are the different ways she slides faith-related issues into the story so naturally. They never feel forced or like they were inserted as an afterthought. The author did a great job in the way she showed humility bringing peace and pride bringing nothing but bitterness and discontentment in this novel. Great job! I can't wait to read the third book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exquisite WW2 novel of action, emotion and romance

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
On Distant Shores by Sarah Sundin continues the action, heartbreak, and romance of World War II in this second book in the Wings of the Nightingale series. Set in the Mediterranean Theater of Operations and spanning the months between July 1943 and April 1944, this exciting novel captured my interest and emotions from the very first page.
Sarah Sundin is a consummate author, whose passion and knowledge of the World War II era shine through on every page. Her attention to historical detail, combined with the ability to create interesting characters and an inspiring narrative, are amazing. Sarah's books are automatic reads for me.
The Wings of the Nightingales series skillfully tells the stories of six flight nurses, "mercy on wings" - their efforts to be allowed to serve in this way, the danger they faced, the strong bond of friendship they shared, and their personal struggles as well. On Distant Shores picks up where the first story, With Every Letter, left off and I enjoyed being reunited with beloved characters.
Sarah has the ability to create characters who are real and that readers can identify with. Georgie is one of six nurses in the 802nd Medical Air Evacuation Transport Squadron. She's an extrovert who adores people, loves to plan parties, and cares for the outcast. As the pampered baby of her wealthy Virginia family, she has always let other people guide her, and fears that she may be in over her head with the squadron. But Georgie gradually comes to realize that rather than aiming for safety, her goal should be "for strength to stand in an unsafe world."
Technical Sergeant John Hutchinson (Hutch), with the 93rd Evacuation Hospital, is frustrated at having to enter the Army without a commission in order to practice pharmacy, and seeks to be accepted into the Pharmacy Corp recently approved by Congress. The situation of pharmacists in mobile hospitals during the war is a very interesting theme and Sarah has done her research well.
Spiritual insights are beautifully woven into these characters' lives. Knowing that some people don't want her to change, while others don't believe she can change, Georgie tells Hutch: "You're the only one who sees me as I really am and believes I can become the woman I should be." And Hutch needs to find contentment outside the recognition that he so bitterly craves.
Character strengths of Georgie and Hutch are shown in two situations that I especially loved. When patients don't want to be evacuated on the same flight with a wounded soldier because of his skin color, Georgie rises above southern prejudice and says, "I don't care what color they are, as long as they fight for freedom." The other is Hutch's love and care for the adorable Lucia, an injured war orphan.
On Distant Shores combines the beauty of the Italian countryside with the realism of war, catching the reader emotionally with the lives of these courageous men and women who fight for freedom. I highly recommend this novel to all readers.
“Whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men.”
Colossians 3:23
The final book in the Wings of the Nightingale series, In Perfect Time, will be released in August 2014.
This book was provided by Litfuse Publicity and Revell Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes Me Enjoy History!

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first thing you all have to know is this. I personally don't normally read WWII era books. For some reason I have never liked them and could never get into them. But there is one exception to the rule. And that is this author right here. Sarah Sundin writes WWII novels that don't make me yawn, sigh or doze off. She makes it exciting and interesting to learn more about that time period and I still get in some romance as well:)
This series is all about the nurses. Mainly flight nurses. If you have read the first book in the series you will already have met Georgiana, or Georgie if you are her friend. She is a nurse but doesn't really feel called to be a nurse. She just signed up since Rosie did. And you might remember Hutchinson, or Hutch as many call him. He wants to get the respect and honor that he feels he deserves, but it won't happen unless he gets commissioned. You see, as a pharmacist in the war, he wasn't actually much more than a serviceman. No bars or authority. So we have two people who also happen to be engaged to others, and they meet up one day delivering drugs. No, not the wrong type but the aspirin and other such drugs to help the wounded soldiers. And from there they become friends and then much more. But what about their fiancees back home? Will they even survive the war to make it back to each other?
You will learn so many different aspects of history in these novels but it is definitely way more interesting than school history was. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and have already recommended it to several friends, along with my family. If you don't care for war novels because they are normally boring, try out Sarah Sundin's books. You can't go wrong! Waiting anxiously for the next one in the series:)
I received a copy of this book for review purposes. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another "Can't Put It Down" story!

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trudi
Location:Bath, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Courage and Trust in WW2
On Distant Shores picks up the history of the 802nd WW2 flight nurses with the life of Lt. George Taylor. As World War II continues, George learns two things about herself – the first, as the youngest, pampered daughter of a Southern family, she’s never had to make decisions for herself. Even the decision to join the flight nurses was just following her lifetime best friend, tomboy Kay, into the program. The other thing George learns is that she’s terrified, and when an emergency comes, she freezes. So the voices of family and fiancé saying “come home where you belong” are very loud. Along the way, she makes friends with John Hutchinson “Hutch”, a pharmacist, who is also finding the way hard due to the lack of professional respect for his trade in the army. Though they both have a loved one waiting at home, these two believe it will be okay to be friends and encourage each other to grow. Ultimately, they are both learning the lesson that God’s is the voice they should listen to, and His plans, not their own, are best.
In this second story of the series, the landscape changes from Northern Africa to Italy, taking the non-combatants closer to the war front and danger. Readers experience vicariously the enemy bombings of Red Cross tents, the irony of enjoying a party on the beach and visiting historic sites sandwiched between frantic efforts to save lives. Throughout the book, the deepening faith and spiritual growth of Georgie and Hutch remains an important focus. War II aficionados and those who just like a good story will enjoy this apparently accurate portrayal of day to day life for the medical personnel in Italy’s war zones.
Sarah Sundin is an extremely good storyteller who has obviously researched well. On Distant Shores is a gripping novel that held my attention too long past my bedtime! I couldn’t put the book down with only a few chapters to go. Although I’d definitely recommend that you read With Every Letter, this book would still be good as a stand-alone story.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another fantastic WWII story from Sarah Sundin!
Georgie was a highlight in With Every Letter and I couldn't wait to learn more about her. I love her kind heart. Without it, she and Rose would have missed out on a great friendship with Mellie, who we met in the first book. Though she'd let other people make decisions for her all her life, Georgie found herself ready for a change.
There was a little overlap between the first and this one, but a very minor one at that, and it didn't affect Georgie's story at all. As always, Sundin's writing is excellent and smooth. The journeys she put these characters on were not easy. However, on the flip side, our journey isn't either. Watching Georgie and Hutch grow through the course of the story felt like the most natural thing. Nothing happened too fast or too slow.
It was effortless to get lost in the era and world Georgie and Hutch found themselves in. I love the WWII era. The relationships, the faith, the common hope for a better future. One of my favorite scenes is set on Christmas day with Georgie on a flight. She led the men in carols and Christmas cheer, despite the war going on around them. You don't see or hear things like that any more. The scene is a highlight for me. Speaking of highlights I'll note real quick that Lucia is a big one. I hope we see her again! She was absolutely adorable!
Previous fans of Sundin's work will not be disappointed by her latest release. I loved following Georgie and Hutch through their struggles and I loved diving into their worlds for a time. I look forward to getting to know Kay better in the next book. Perhaps I'll finally have my questions answered.
Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ANOTHER GREAT WWII LOVE STORY....

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
ON DISTANT SHORES by Sarah Sundin is another exciting Inspirational Historical Romance (World War II) set in 1943. #2 in the "Wings of the Nightingale" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "With Every Letter". This story does have alternating points of view between the characters,but this only adds character and realization to the story. Join Lt. Georgiana Taylor, a flight nurse and Sgt. John Hutchinson, a Pharmacist on a journey of hurt,betrayal,faith,healing,forgiveness,struggles, the effects of war and love. What a whirlwind tender love story among the turmoil of Germans, tradegy and war. You will be carried away to Army hospitals,airfields,battles,and other places all over the Mediterranean along with the characters. Ms. Sundin has an act with her storytelling of making the reader feel her characters hurt and pain as well as their joys and triumphs. If you enjoy stories of World War II than you will enjoy "On Distant Shores". For a great love story with Ms. Sundin's feel of World War II, her well-researched World War II story,an absorbing tale of love and a romantic read,pick up "On Distant Shores",you will not be disappointed. Through turmoil and war can love really survive? A must read for any historical romance readers, those who enjoy World War II era stories and anyone who enjoys a great read. I would highly recommend this title! I can hardly wait to read the last book in this series, which I understand will be Lt. Kay Jobson and Lit. Roger Cooper's story. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for On Distant Shores, Wings of the Nightingale Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Read!

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen Lange
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lieutenant Georgiana Taylor is looking forward to the end of World War II, for she’ll be able to return to her boyfriend in the states and build the life she’s always dreamed of. Sergeant John Hutchinson is anxious to return to his fiancée in the states and get on with his life as well. Their positions, Georgie’s as a flight nurse and John’s as a pharmacist throws them together often. They find they enjoy common interests and build a careful friendship. Unexpected changes arise on the home front for them both which yields further challenges. What happens next? I’ll never tell, but if you enjoy historical fiction, you just might enjoy their story.
I appreciate that On Distant Shores, Book Two in the Wings of the Nightingale series, stands alone. Readers do not need to read the first book to understand what’s happening. It is another success “story” to Sarah Sundin’s credit. Her attention to historical detail is wonderful; it adds layers to the plot that you don’t often see. This, along with realistic, likeable characters, offers a great reading experience. I’m now looking forward to Book Three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>