Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Moonlight Masquerade

Revell Moonlight Masquerade

Format: eBook

Lady Celine Wexham seems the model British subject. French by birth but enjoying life in 1813 as a widowed English countess, she is in the unique position of being able to help those in need--or to spy for the notorious Napoleon Bonaparte. When Rees Phillips of the British Foreign Office is sent to pose as the countess's butler and discover where her true loyalties lie, he is confident he will uncover the truth. But the longer he is in her fashionable townhouse in London's West End, the more his staunch loyalty to the Crown begins to waver as he falls under Lady Wexham's spell. Will he find the proof he needs? And if she is a spy after all, will he do the right thing?

Ruth Axtell

Average Customer Rating:
4.208 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2488%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moonlight Masquerade
Review 1 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moonlight Masquerade is the first Ruth Axtell book I read. The cover itself is what drew me in but after reading the description, I figured it would be something I would enjoy and I was correct about that.
This book had suspense right from the start. We are immediately brought into the world of Celine, the wife of a deceased earl. Her butler, Rees, is an undercover spy trying to discover if Celine is giving information to the French. Despite her suspicions of Rees, Celine takes him under her wing and grows fond of him. As Rees seeks to expose Celine, he finds his heart softening towards her. As their feelings grow, they are both reluctant to expose the other. But will keeping the secret of each other's loyalties end up hurting them in the end?
I always enjoy a good regency novel and I did enjoy this one. While it was not a favorite book of mine, I am glad I took the time to read it. The characters came alive and I found my heart beating fast with the suspense and wondering how everything would be resolved. I kind of thought the end was dragged out more than necessary but other then that, this was a great book and I look forward to reading more of Ruth Axtell's books, including A Heart's Rebellion, another regency novel!
I received a free ecopy from Revell Books through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I did not receive any compensation for this review nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.
Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moonlight Masquerade

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those books that you can sink into with a cup of coffee and a cozy blanket on a porch somewhere and never look up. Ruth Axtell did an amazing job with this book and I loved every page.
The characters were interesting and the book was full of rich history, deep mystery and great creativity. From the clothes they wore to the way things smelled to how things looked, the author goes into full detail while staying true to a great story line.
Every detail is well written and every character well thought out. It isn't easy to write a spy story and make sure that every detail lines up, but this book is in sync at every point.
I enjoyed getting to know these characters and walking this time in history with them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm2
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: I loved reading Moonlight masquerade. It had a slow start but very soon picked up speed. I was wondering right to the end if Rees and Celine will get together. Both characters endeared themselves to me and I found myself drawn into the conundrum of their situation, wondering how they will be able to overcome the circumstance that is keeping them apart. The way that the author wove the history of that time period into the story was very crafty in that it stimulated my love for history and had me wanting to know more, but not so much that I felt overwhelmed with facts. I am excited to see that there is a second book in the pipeline and will definitely be looking out for it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting and Romantic

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This was a great book! I enjoyed it from the very start and about halfway through, it became one of those books I just didn't want to put down. The characters in this story seem doomed to not ever be able to follow the feelings in their hearts due to their situations. Rees has been assigned as butler in Lady Wexham's house. Lady Wexham is a widow who is suspected of being a French spy. The story follows the unfolding situation of what is to be done if Rees does indeed discover that Lady Wexham is a spy after he falls in love with her. I admit that I had trouble trying to figure out how this story was going to work out! But, the author did a great job of tying everything up and at the end of the book, there is a teaser chapter from the next book that is coming out next year. It will cover the character of Jessamine, who was introduced in this book. I am anxiously awaiting getting to read her story. I was provided with a copy of Moonlight Masquerade from Revell in exchange for offering my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story With A Happy Ending

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this story. Ruth Axtell did a fine job in writing for
this particular time period. Someone commented regarding
the loooong kiss. They were being watched by a very
dangerous man who was out to murder Celine. I love reading
stories in the Regency and Victorian time periods. Great
job Ruth. I can't wait for the follow up next spring. Please
rush it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEKA
Location:Maumee, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I thoroughly enjoyed this writer's earlier books finding them spiritually deep, acceompanying a good storyline! However, her more recent books haven't been as interesting nor as riveting! This book was a disappointment; I wouldn't enthusiastically recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book; pre-read before teens read this

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a good book, but I found that the middle of the story became a little long. There was also a rather intense kissing scene, so you might want to preview it before your teens read the book. Or, if you avoid books with passionate kissing, this may be one to not read this time:
It was a dark night; the lady and her maid were gone at last. This is his chance! Now can he find out what milady is really up to. Is she a spy for France, or not? It was the perfect chance, so what went wrong? Why is he huddled up under milady's gowns, cramped and hurting all over, in fear of his job, if not his very life?
So begins the story of Celine and Rees, two star-crossed young people; one French and the other English. This is just my type of story! Ruth Axtell has written a beautifully described romance in Moonlight Masquerade.
The descriptions of life in Regency England and the fast-paced action made this book an attention-getting read that I finished in one day. :) I enjoyed the budding attraction between Celine and Rees and the slow but sure steps that they took to a God-ordained marriage.
The interesting detailed descriptions of the gowns of this period were fascinating. Just reading about the number of times they needed to change clothes for each activity made me tired! Oh, except for the gowns, it just might have been worth it!
For a peep back into time to the English aristocracy and the conflict between the English and the French expatriates, Moonlight Masquerade by Ruth Axtell is a book I think that you will enjoy reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unsure who to root for ... but still enjoyable

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author does a great job of leaving the reader guessing from page one. Though I will admit that at first I found it to be a problem. It took me a little while before I was completely sucked into this novel (though I eventually was). I feel this happened because I wasn't sure which character I should be rooting for? I didn't know if I wanted Reese -- the butler who is really an English spy -- to discover Lady Wexham was a French spy ... or not.
Once I knew the two characters better (a few chapters in) I was more solidly into the story ... and I truly began to enjoy the historical Regency era backdrop. I'm glad I stuck with it and read to the end. It was a wonderfully written story, full of misdirect and intrigue. I had not previously read a spy novel from the Regency-era and thoroughly enjoyed this one. Though there is a strong male character in this story, I do feel female readers would enjoy "Moonlight Masquerade" more then men. There are too many details about dresses and socialite expectations of the era for me to feel it is written to appeal to both sexes equally.
This book was provided by the Publisher for review, with no guarantee of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Didn't work for me

Date:March 9, 2013
I've heard a lot of great things about Ruth Axtell, so I was excited to read her new regency romance Moonlight Masquerade. Unfortunately, however, this book just didn't click with me. The book got off to a really slow start. There were a few times when I thought the story would pick up but then it would slow back down again. I also felt like the author alternated between long, descriptive passages and lengthy sections of dialogue filled with tedious details. After reading 80 pages, I realized that I couldn't really tell you what had happened so far. While I hate not finishing any book—especially one I've received for review, I decided I needed to move on to something else. There are, however, quite a few great reviews out there, so if you enjoy regency romances or historical novels, this might be a good fit for you. [DNF = Did Not Finish]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
An authentic Regency novel is always a satisfying read and Ruth Axtell’s latest novel fits the bill in that regard. A slow moving beginning introduces readers to the intriguing and interesting Celine and Rees, each with their own hidden agendas and lively suspicions. Given the era and the context I worried for some time how she would pull off a romance between a countess and her butler but I need not have been concerned. A student (albeit some time ago now!) of this era, particularly in French history, I loved the attention to detail in both the historical detail and social mores. The pacing could have been quicker, given the woven mystery but readers will be rewarded for sticking with this story. I look forward to more from Ruth in this era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spies, Espionage, Adventure and Romance

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruth Axtell in her new book, “Moonlight Masquerade” published by Revell brings us into the lives of Lady Céline Wexham and Rees Phillips.
From the back cover: Sometimes it is hard to tell if you are the cat or the mouse.
Lady Céline Wexham seems the model British subject. French by birth but enjoying life in 1813 as a widowed English countess, she is in the unique position of being able to help those in need–or to spy for the notorious Napoleon Bonaparte.
When Rees Phillips of the British Foreign Office is sent to pose as the countess’s butler and discover where her true loyalties lie, he is confident he will uncover the truth. But the longer he is in her fashionable townhouse in London’s West End, the more his staunch loyalty to the Crown begins to waver as he falls under Lady Wexham’s spell.
Will he find the proof he needs? And if she is a spy after all, what then will he do?
With sharp wit, fast-paced dialogue, and infectious intrigue, Ruth Axtell deftly creates a world where black and white burst into a confusion of colors–and no one is who they seem.
Spies in the British nobility. Lady Céline Wexham is a French patriot who is looked upon as a British Countess who also happens to be a widow. She is spying for the French. Rees Phillips is working for the British Foreign Office. He is spying on Lady Wexham posing as her butler. They are supposed to be at odds with each other as they represent opposing viewpoints. Yet, somehow, romance begins to develop. Ms. Axtell gives us espionage, suspense, adventure and romance all rolled up into one neat story. All the characters are likable and Ms. Axtell has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ROMANCE BLOSSOMS IN STRANGE TIMES AND PLACES!

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
MOONLIGHT MASQUERADE by Ruth Axtell is an exciting inspirational Regency Historical Romance set in 1813 London. "A Regency Romance". Follow, Lady Celine Wexham,who has a secret and Rees Phillips of the British Foreign Office on a journey of treason,secrets,intrigue and love. Rees goes from a butler to a diplomat and everything in between. Lady Celine is a possible French spy. "Moonlight Masquerade" is filled with mystery,romance,faith,healing,social class,forbidden love,betrayal,adventure,spies,and second chances. A heartfelt story of how love can blossom in the strangest places and when you least expect it to. Ms. Axtell has written a story that is intense,heartfelt with an intriguing plot and characters that pull you in from the first page to the last. With secondary characters who are also engaging and intriguing. A must read for anyone who enjoys spies,treason,romance, French spies and England. Filled with historical intrigue.A wonderful,fast paced story. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A mysterious regency romance!

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A mysterious regency romance!
The title very well suits this novel, and not just literally. We are taken back through time to 1813 London with Napoleon Bonaparte at large in France. I confess, I'm very partial to Julie Klassen's regency novels so I set my expectations high and for the most part Miss Axtell came through. :-)
On the very first page I was intrigued and drawn to have my questions answered. Rees is a great gentleman with a strong faith in God and a love for his country. When he's sent on assignment from the Foreign Office to spy on Lady Wexham he's ready to ferret her out. What he didn't expect was for her to be so... charming.
The writing is well done. The setting shows Miss Axtell did her research. And her characters are lovable, except perhaps Valentine... but that's okay. Hehehe! Near the closing of the book it appeared Miss Axtell was building an epic end to the book. However it did not go as I thought it would and seemed to drag out.
To conclude, I did enjoy Moonlight Masquerade and look forward to what Miss Axtell comes out with in the future. If you're a fan of a light mystery or of regency era novels this book may be for you.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Things Are Not Always As They Appear

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lady Céline Wexham is living in England in 1813, she is a sweet, kind woman. When her butler is injured, he sends his nephew, Rees Phillips...aka Mr MacKinnon, to help out.
Yeah right...his cover is blown when they see him, handsome, tall and only 31. Whereas most butlers are at least in their 50's. What no one realizes is the fact that everyone seems to be a spy. Spies and spying on spies...yup. Makes for a very interesting read.
Love all the historical background given, and you find yourself living in the beautiful homes, traveling the countryside, and attending lavish balls. Also you feel like you are in the room looking for clues...creak, creak on the floor boards.
Where does Céline's loyalties lie? With England or the home of her birth France. Is she a Royalist, or following Nepoleon? Will Ree, a very Godly Man, remain loyal to England, or follow his heart?
Travel along with this page turning read, you won't be disappointed, and you will relive a lot of history. I really enjoyed this book, and hope you will also!
I received this book through the Revell Publishing Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Regency Laced with Intrigue

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Klassen turned me into a Regency fan -- I discovered I loved the time of Jane Austen's England, but alas Julie only writes one book a year. With Moonlight Masquerade, Ruth Axtell joins this time period...and does so with an eye on the details that I was transported into this tale of impossible love and forbidden longing.
Take a French emigre who is the widow of British nobility and add in a British foreign office employee who is posing as her butler and you have a recipe for a book filled with tension. Add in a dash of spying, a pinch of counter-espionage, and a dollop of intrigue stirred with a generous helping of interest in each other and it created a recipe for a book that drew me happily to its pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well written!

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Regency era story with suspense and intrigue woven throughout. The author allows you to see the story unfold from both the 'upstairs' and 'downstairs' viewpoints which adds a lot of depth to the story. And isn't that a great cover? It's one of those books that catches and holds your attention from the moment you see the cover and flip it over to peruse the back, until the end of the story.
The author's writing reminds me of Julie Klassen, another author of the same genre. Her characters are engaging and believable, and the relationship that develops between the Lady of the house and her servant is handled smoothly. The scenery and locales she describes make it easy for you to feel as if you can see it all happening.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intrigue and mysterious characters

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rees Phillips of the British Foreign Office is sent to pose as Lady Celine's Wexham's butler. Lady Wexham is French by birth, and rumors have spread that she is a spy for Napoleon Bonaparte. Rees has several narrow escapes from detection as he endeavors to uncover the truth about Celine. Then while working together to give several parties and a masquerade ball, Rees begins to fall for the beautiful Celine. Will his loyalties lie with his country or with the spying Lady Wexham?
The intrigue and mysterious characters in the book keep the reader's attention. In my opinion, however, the two main characters' relationship does not seem to have enough interaction to truly know one another and warrant a decision to marry each other. The characters were not realistic to me. It was strange to have the hero in a subordinate position to the heroine, and then suddenly for him to be promoted to the British Legation to the Congress of Vienna.
The plot was intriguing. It had several spiritual lessons interspersed, and those who enjoy the regency romances will have difficulty putting down the Moonlight Masquerade. (rev. S. Fuqua)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of Moonlight Masquerade was provided to us by Revell a division of Baker Publishing Group in exchange for our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moonlight Masquerade is a delight of intrigue

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moonlight Masquerade
A Regency Romance
By Ruth Axtell
Rees Phillips has been 10 years in the British Foreign Office with no chance of advancement when an unusual assignment could change everything. But posing as a butler in the home of Lady Céline Wexham is not how he had envisioned his life.
Lady Céline Wexham, widowed 3 years ago has become the toast of London society. But is she loyal to her adopted homeland Britain or is she a spy filtering information to the land of her birth France? Rees is tasked with determining the truth.
But the longer the masquerade goes on the the more drawn he is to his "employer" Lady Céline. Céline is unsettled by her new butler and her abigail Valentine is suspicious of
MacKinnon. But is Valentine right in her suspicions or is it merely her dislike of the British that makes her suspicious? Thus a game of cat and mouse begins, but who is who?
When danger comes looking for Lady Céline what will Rees do? Will her charms blind him to who she really is so that he betrays the crown or will he unmask her to the world?
Moonlight Masquerade is an interesting look at the war between Britian and Napoleonic France and the various parties with an interest in the outcome. If you like court intrigue, the Regency era, and subterfuge you will love Moonlight Masquerade!
I was provided a copy of this title by Revell for the purpose of this review. All opinions expressed are my own.
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable novel, vivid historical detail

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Moonlight Masquerade" is a Christian historical romance set mainly in 1813 in England. The political and everyday historical details (like manners and dress) were woven naturally into the action and brought the story vividly to life in my imagination. The suspense came mainly from the continual danger of the undercover activities.
The romance was a sweet one with two nice people who come to care about each other, only circumstances stand between them. I wasn't sure how believable I'd find the romance as I'd have a hard time accepting hard-core patriots for opposites sides genuinely falling in love (rather than lust). Luckily, the situation and motives were more complex than that, and I did find the romance believable. I was a bit astonished by how helpful certain people were at the very end, though.
Celine gave up on God when a prayer for protection for someone she loved was not fulfilled as she wished. Rees was a devoted, Bible-reading Christian. The Christian content flowed as a natural part of the characters' behavior and from their circumstances, though it wasn't a major focus of the story.
There was no bad language. The was no sex. Overall, I'd recommend this enjoyable novel.
I received this book as a review copy from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Moonlight Masquerade
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mystery and Intrigue

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mystery, intrigue, and Regency Era romance all come to life in Ruth Axtell's latest release, "Moonlight Masquerade." The plot calls to mind both Jane Austen and "Downton Abbey." Axtell has crafted a story resplendent in period detail to satisfy the appetites of fans of Regency England. There is the drama of unfulfilled romance and the danger of espionage to pull readers into the plot. Axtell's descriptions of Regency England, France, and French emigres are strong and developed, painting a realistic backdrop for the story.
The suspense of a budding, but forbidden romance between Lady Celine Wexham and Rees Phillips propels the plot as much as the political intrigue. Axtell creates tangible tension between the two characters, but also communicates their mutual affection through their actions and awareness of one another.
I thought the political aspect of the novel might be a bit dry, but Axtell conveys the background of the political climate in 1813 England and France clearly, without overwhelming the plot with detail. I enjoyed seeing both sides of the conflict through the eyes of Celine and Rees. They are a shining example of compromise, despite their opposing views and loyalties. Their covert activities contribute moments of tension, but the danger remains relatively mild. In retrospect, I would have liked a little more suspense during the potentially dangerous situations.
“Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received a complimentary copy of this novel from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>