Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2

Revell The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2

Twenty-year-old Bethany Schrock is restless. Her love life has derailed, her faith hangs by a thread, and she is spending the incredibly hot summer days wading through a lifetime's accumulation of junk at the home of five ancient Amish sisters. About the only thing that holds her interest is the spirited and dangerously handsome Jimmy Fisher--and he seems bent on irritating her to no end.

When the sly old sisters and a guest at the Inn get Bethany involved in running the local soup kitchen and starting a community garden, she suddenly finds herself wondering, Shootfire! How did that happen? Despite her newfound purposefulness, a gnawing emptiness about a childhood mystery continues to plague her. Encouraged by Jimmy Fisher, she will seek out the answers she craves--and uncover a shocking secret that will break her heart, heal it, and point her to love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Review 1 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Adventures at The Inn at Eagle Hill!

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again we are back with the characters from the first book of this series, The Letters. We also have the pleasure of meeting a few new ones. Life at The Inn at Eagle Hill is never boring.
I was more than thrilled with the twists and turns that this book took me through. A secret is revealed for one of the characters in this book. One that causes great concern and rightfully so. Evil also rears its ugly head. A certain person is targeted with revenge and their very life could be changed if evil wins. I found this part very chilling.
When a young woman arrives for a stay at The Inn at Eagle Hill will her faith in herself be shaken? With a time of rest will she find where God is leading her? Will she have an open heart and mind to listen and to follow Him?
I must not forget to add that a Prodigal has come home; thinking all is well and finding that isn’t the case. What will be the consequences of past decisions and actions?
I highly recommend this book but be sure to read the first book in this series, The Letters.
I can’t wait to read The Revealing, the conclusion to this series. I must find out what happens to my beloved characters!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
poochiepepper
Location:Corpus Christi, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Second in a series and can't wait for the next book. You feel you are in an Amish world. Love the descriptions, smells, and emotions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:N/A
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher is another great book by Suzanne Woods Fisher. It is the second book in The Inn at Eagle Hill series. It is clean, all round good read.
As you all know, I am intrigued by the Amish and appreciate their deep sense of community and commitment to one another and this story exemplifies this in a very real and strong way. I cannot tell you how or I’d reveal part of the mystery of the book.
I really enjoyed getting to know Bethany’s character better. I loved how she played hard to get with her “friend” Jimmy. :) She also displayed wisdom and how she learned from her past mistakes.
The mystery and twists and turns surrounding Bethany’s mother kept me guessing and wondering. I also cried buckets over the revelation of that whole story line.
Another part of the Amish community I enjoy is the respect the younger have for the elderly. In this series, there is a group of five spinster sisters who stand out for their service and commitment to the community, but they also stand out for the way in which they care and interact with the younger generation. The younger in turn cares and respects them. It seems more rare than common in our society today.
If you haven’t guessed already, The Calling gets two thumbs up from me!
Faith and Family Reviews received the book in exchange for a review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strong Plot

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bethany is working to clean out the house of the five sisters home so they can host church. She thought the group of sisters where just old and liked to collects things but she soon finds out there is more to them then that. She is also still getting over the man she had seen, has up and disappeared and likely helped to ruin her father’s business. Jimmy is someone she thought was immature and not worth her notice but as she gets to know him she finds herself attracted to him. While she is working to clean out the sisters home she learns they run a soup kitchen once a month and as she and more and more of her community help out each week they find themselves learning to see their neighbors in a new light.
This is book two in the series. I have not read the first book yet this book can be read as a stand alone though you will have a better idea who people are if you read the first one as this is a continuing story. The author does a decent job bring the readers up to speed from the first book.
What I liked: The author is well-known for her deeper plots and this book and series is no exception. The family is dealing with the backlash of a failed business. The father is dead and the brother has run off. There are a few characters telling this story. I like the complexity and how well the story comes together as the book progresses. I found all the characters quite likable.
What I did not like: This book is good but the plot was a little slow at times. Fishers books always have a lot going on in them and it can take a little time to get all the subplots figured out and with a few characters telling the story I don’t always feel like I get to know the main characters as well as I would like.
Overall this was a good book and I am looking forward to the third book in the series to see how it all plays out. Towards the end I found myself more interested in the next book than how this book was going to finish up. If you’re looking for a light quick read this book is not for you but if you like books with a strong story and some twists and turns than this is a good series for you. I would highly recommend going back and reading the first book though. You don’t have to but it’s the back story and I wonder had I read it first maybe this book would have been more enjoyable to me.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dealing With The Past and Romance

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanne Woods Fisher in her new book, “The Calling” Book Two in The Inn At Eagle Hall series published by Revell introduces us to Bethany Schrock.
From the back cover: Bethany’s restless heart is searching for answers–in life and in love
Bethany Schrock’s love life has derailed, her faith hangs by a thread, and she is spending hot summer days wading through a lifetime of accumulation at the home of five elderly Amish sisters. She’s not sure what she wants out of life, but she knows that she’s not finding it in Stoney Ridge.
Then a new guest at the Inn at Eagle Hill ropes her into volunteering in a community project for down-and-outers. Reluctant at first, Bethany starts to feel a bit of joy and satisfaction again. But not so much that Jimmy Fisher, adorable and impossible, can woo her affections with his winks and tricks. Well, maybe a little.
When a figure from her past reenters her life, Bethany must decide: What does the past mean to her future?
Bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher delivers her trademark twists, turns, and tender romance in this delightful and exciting visit to the quiet community of Stoney Ridge.
Welcome back to Stoney Ridge this time the focus is on Bethany. When you find yourself adrift without purpose sometimes it takes family to get you back on course again. As Bethany finds out the things she is really good at she needs to come to terms with her past otherwise she is not able to see the future. Plus there is a new romance for her to deal with. Suzanne Woods Fisher writes an interesting story that moves along at a remarkably brisk pace. Ms. Fisher has a lot of characters to work with and she provides an excellent story for them to grow in.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rises above the Amish genre, another winner

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Calling, book two in the Inn at Eagle Hill series, reunites us with the Schrock and King families, introducing some new characters as well. When it comes to Amish fiction, Suzanne's writing stands out because of its authenticity, flowing prose, spiritual depth, rich characterization, and multilayered storylines. Book one, The Letters, was inspired by an actual event in the Amish community, and this theme continues to cast its long shadow. Suzanne is also very effective at bringing non-Amish characters into the story, which expands this book's appeal beyond Amish fiction fans.
A major strength of The Calling is its outstanding ensemble cast, and I'm amazed at how they all connect and interact. The five elderly sisters captured my heart, for they understood what it meant to be the hands of Christ to their world and they worked tirelessly. Bethany struggles with her job of cleaning their messy house, but "the more time Bethany spent around the sisters, the more amazed she was at their quiet and purposeful lives . . . they had better things to do with their time than clean and tidy and iron and dust." One of the things I love about the Amish is the way they quickly rise to meet a need, making work fun - and this is beautifully shown in the way everyone comes together to create and sustain a community garden.
One of my favorite characters is Geena, a youth pastor who is passionate about helping teens, but was fired from her church because of her weak preaching skills. Using her stay at Rose Schrock's bed & breakfast to find another church position, God uses her passion and gifts to minister to those around her. Geena discovers an important spiritual truth that should speak to all of us: "She had been asking the wrong question: Which church should I serve in? Surely the answer was to look around and see the church was everywhere."
Galen's sister, Naomi, is another strong character that I loved - a young girl extremely talented at quilting, and with an unusual ability to see or feel strange things. Suzanne is really gifted at creating characters you'll love and a storyline that entertains, with spiritual insights a natural part of the narrative. In Naomi's words:
"Piecing a quilt top seems to be evidence of how God works in this world. . . . I take all these scraps and leftovers and odds and ends, and turn them into something beautiful. Something useful and purposeful. It just seems like that's what God is always doing, all around us. Taking our jumble of mess and transforming it into something wondrous."
Book three, The Revealing, will be released in July 2014. I highly recommend The Calling to all readers.
Thank you to Litfuse Publicity and Revell for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More from the Inn at Eagle Hill

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
The Calling is another delightful Amish story from the pen of Suzanne Woods Fisher. I can always count on Suzanne to deliver a fun story, complete with some quirky characters, a little romance, and a few unexpected twists and turns.
The Inn at Eagle Hill got off to a captivating start in The Letters with a new cast of characters, as well as some familiar "faces" from a previous series. Those characters, while almost all Plain folks, definitely do not find life uncomplicated. Their simple lifestyle offers no guarantee of simple solutions to their day-to-day struggles.
Bethany Schrock, the main character of this book, has a lot of questions about her life, questions that are easily identified with as they could just as well be found in an English setting. How she deals with those uncertainties drives the story, along with lots of things going on with friends and family around her. Some of the most important lessons Bethany learns have to do with looking deep within herself and other people to try to understand the hurt that is hidden behind actions. In the midst of the difficulties, long-time fans of Suzanne's books just might be surprised to see the responsible young Amish man Jimmy Fisher is turning out to be.
As a good installment in an ongoing series, The Calling brings resolution to some of the issues in the story. However, there are plenty of loose ends left to make me anxious to read The Revealing, due out later this year. I highly recommend this series to fans of great Amish fiction.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shootfire! She made me cry AGAIN!

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I realize that, as a male reader, I am likely not the intended target for the genre of "contemporary Amish romance" that Suzanne Woods Fisher's novels fit within. However, I freely admit that I am addicted to Fisher's writing, and so I simply couldn't stay away from "The Calling". I was hooked from the first couple pages, and couldn't put the book down for a moment! This time round, we get to reunite with the wonderful characters we were introduced to in "The Letters", with a focus on the gutsy Bethany Schrock and her often hilarious relationship with Jimmy Fisher (a favourite character of mine from a prior series). As with previous books from Fisher, the characters are beautifully developed, and you soon feel like you are becoming reacquainted with friends. There were many moments I chuckled to myself or laughed out loud, and as Bethany is so fond of saying, "SHOOTFIRE!" if I didn't even cry at one scene! That's not the first time Fisher's books have moved me to tears, and it probably won't be the last. Although there are many light-hearted moments sprinkled in the pages, there are also poignant scenes of forgiveness and unconditional love. I love what the youth pastor Geena has to say to Bethany midway through the book about forgiveness, where she says "Sometimes...we have to make decided efforts to let go of the past. Not so that we pretend hard things didn't happen, but so that the power of hard things is lessened". That is a message so many people need to hear!
I give this book my highest rating of 5 out of 5 stars, and eagerly anticipate July 2014 when Book 3 in "The Inn at Eagle Hill" series is released, entitled "The Revealing". If it is anything like the first two books in the series, it is going to be a wonderful book indeed.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Wonderful Visit to The Inn at Eagle Hill

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Calling is the second book in The Inn at Eagle Hill series by Suzanne Wood's Fisher; the first was The Letters. Although this book can do well as a stand-alone, I suggest that you read the first book in the series first. This will help you get to know the characters, and to understand the plot better. I enjoyed reading The Letters so much that when The Calling was available for review I requested it right away. I was not disappointed.
The first book in The Inn at Eagle Hill series, The Letters, focused on newly widowed mother of five, Rose Schrock, who needing a way to support her family turned her home in Stoney Ridge into The Inn at Eagle Hill. The Calling turns the spotlight on Rose's step-daughter Bethany, who is struggling with coming to terms with the death of her father and her brother's disappearance. She is also dealing with the break-up between her and Jake Hertzler; as well as trying to figure out what to do about Jimmy Fisher!
I also enjoyed catching up with the other characters and meeting someone new to Stony Ridge. Bethany's younger sister, Mim, has secretly become the columnist "Mrs. Miracle" for the local paper. The youngest Schrock's, Luke and Sammy are still full of energy. I also enjoyed finding out more about Naomi, Galen, and especially the five elderly sisters, Sylvia, Ella, Fannie, Lena, and Ada. Geena Spence, the newest guest at the inn, is a youth pastor who is trying to figure out what God wants her to do next.
I loved how these characters interacted with each other bringing Stoney Ridge to life. I also loved the suspense and mystery surrounding the story! It kept me guessing as the story progressed.
I look forward to the next book in the series The Revealing which is due in July 2014.
**The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Return To The Inn At Eagle Hill

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me a little bit to get back in this story, but as I continued I was happy to be reunited with some dear friends. We are reunited with the Schrock family, among others. There is still the romance of Rose and Galen, but they are not primary this time.
We find with Bethany that some bad decisions, keep coming back to haunt her. Will she ever be free of Jake Hertzler? Some of the things that happen made me gasp...."No". We find that Jimmy Fisher is still working for Galen, but his mother wants him to take over the chicken business. Can he give up his dream of being a horse trainer. Does he have a chance with Bethany, she has sworn off men.
Then there is sweet Mem, she is still trying to be Mrs Miracle. How will that work out? These and more questions are answered in this book, but we are really left with a lot of unanswered. I can't wait for the next book, I want to know what happens.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Expect The Unexpected!

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sequel to The Letters from The Inn at Eagle Hill series surpassed my expectations. A guest at Eagle Hill teaches Bethany how to seek direction through patience, as she waits for a call to action in her own life. Through the help of this guest Bethany finds the answer to her mother's sudden disappearance many years ago, and she grows beyond being a heartbroken young woman into one of strength as she uses opportunities to help others bring out the best in herself.
Five elderly sisters play a key role in this story. Colorful and somewhat eccentric, their actions teach Bethany much about what is important in life. Romance is knocking at Bethany's door, but a recent painful experience has left her raw and skeptical of flirtatious young men.
The Calling moves along at a fast clip leaving no room for boredom. The author is well seasoned in creating believable characters and realistic events that make this book of Amish fiction hard to put down. Mental illness is broached in this book, which is not a common topic in Amish fiction. Ghosts from the past wreak havoc when least expected, and at times I was brought to tears.
Suzanne Woods Fisher is a master at creating authentic and inspiring Amish fiction. The Amish lifestyle is well defined and substantive to their way of life. I highly recommend The Calling, and can hardly wait for the sequel. This is a bit of a cliffhanger, so prepare yourselves to be begging for more! This book can be read as a stand alone, but I suggest reading the entire series.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I think this is my new FAVORITE Series

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK… I think these books are my new favorite series! WHAT a turnaround! Here I thought there was something about Suzanne’s writing that was annoying me and I was ready to quit reading. Well I was right… sort of. It is Suzanne’s writing that was agitating me. But only because she draws a reader into the story so well that we feel the emotions that her characters are feeling. And at the beginning of “The Letters”, there was some serious agitation going around.
“The Calling” is a FANTASTIC read! Suzanne Woods Fisher has managed to continue the story beautifully while introducing many new elements as well!
As I read further, Suzanne introduced more and more elements that drew me even deeper into the story – to the point that I was in tears over what I was reading. AMAZING! Suzanne crafts a story that involves each character we are introduced to in ways that we could never imagine. She is a truly blessed author and I look forward to going back and reading each and every one of her other books while I wait for the next book in this series.
What a wonderful continuation of the story. What a tremendous example of how God moves things and people in and out of our lives for our good. We almost never see God in the little everyday kind of things that happen to us. And most of the time we miss the grand plan that God has for us until it’s staring us in the face… and in some cases, not until it has already settled in for a nice long stay.
“The Letters” was very much a surprise to me. I began reading and was almost immediately irritated – to the point that I almost decided not to even finish the story. But, having a determination to finish what I start, I did. And I am so glad I did. It was an amazing story, a true blessing to my soul. And “The Calling” was even better! Now I find myself agitated again, except this time it is because there is so long to wait for the next installment.
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Read

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK
In The Calling, Bethany has a job of cleaning out the house of five sisters. It is long past time for these sisters to have church services at their place, but with all of the mess they have hoarded for so long, there is no room for all of the people. While spending time with the sisters, Bethany finds out interesting things they did with their time, helping her to understand why they didn’t take the time to clean their house.
There is a lot going on with the family Schrock family in this book. Rose the mom is still running the Inn, and still seeing Galen King, Mim the young sister is acting as Mrs. Miracle and answering letters for the newspaper, Bethany is helping the sisters, with cleaning and their other activities. And there is the Englisch friend staying at the Inn trying to find her way in life, Jimmy Fisher who is hot on Bethany, Jake Hertzler who broke Bethany’s heart and ended up being a fake, Bethany’s mom in which finally Bethany and her brother found closure because they were able to see first hand at what happened to her.
Suzanne Woods Fisher does an amazing job weaving life and its good and bad times of these characters, bringing them altogether in a story And I really enjoyed this story, and was happy to revisit the Schrock family and their friends and neighbors in this Amish community in Stoney Ridge. To find out what happened to all of the characters, I encourage you to pick up a copy of The Calling, and before you read this book, it would help to read The Letters, the first book in this series, first.
I received this book from the publisher Revell Publishers to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"The Calling" Review

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though this is the second book in the series, it seemed as if the characters were even harder to keep straight in this one than the last one. I also didn't connect as well with Bethany as I did with Rose in the previous novels. Most likely it's because I am closer in age to Rose. I thought Bethany was a very interesting and entertaining character in the first novel, and I found this to be the case again. I just wasn't as emotionally invested in her or in her relationships. However, there were some issues that were brought up in this novel that were handled very well.
The Sisters in the story were also very entertaining (why does an Amish family of four sisters have so many things?!), and Bethany's relationship with them was unique and made for some fun plot twists. To me these weren't entirely realistic, but I don't need that to be the complete focus in a fiction novel. Those types of things make the novel more fun to read.
Not only were there tons of characters in this novel, but there were many different plots as well. These varied plots seemed to step on one another at times and sometimes didn't seem to be related. It almost felt like reading disconnected observations rather than a composite story, although thins did come together closer to the end.
Although things did wrap up more at the end of this novel, there were still things that will need to be played out in the next book.
The Calling is a nice novel that deals with some complex issues with grace and hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read!

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE CALLING by Suzanne Woods Fisher is another exciting inspirational Contemporary Amish Romance set in Eagle Hill, Stoney Ridge. #2 in "The Inn at Eagle Hill" series, and I must say, I believe you should read book 1 first, "The Letter" just to understand the characters, and storyline a bit better. Whose who better! With this said, "The Calling" touches on a very difficult topic mental Illness and how the Amish deals with this issue. Bethany is one of five sisters, she is searching for answers and looking for love. What she finds is a mystery, a secret that is shocking to say the least, scandal, healing and forgiveness. A must read for anyone who enjoys tender romances, twists and turns and the simple life of the Amish people. Who has the same hurts, and difficulties as the rest of the world. They just deal with things differently. "The Calling" will steal your heart, as the characters come to life. I love this phrase
" A girl must never chase after a boy"! A great read! Ms. Fisher is a wonderful storyteller, who describes today's issues with grace and wonder. Well done! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Coming from Revell Books January 2014*
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I want to stay at The Inn at Eagle Hill

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book addresses mental illness among the Amish communities and I loved this book. It was a very moving and touching look at secrets and the pain they cost, and yet there is forgiveness. Some characters will even be able to pray for their enemies. I fell in love with The Inn at Eagle Hill and wish it were a real bed and breakfast that I could go and get away from life for a respite. The Inn did indeed create a respite and healing for those who came to stay. Mim and Bethany both truly stole my heart. I also adored Jimmy Fisher, who is perceived to be a big flirt, but I can see so much tenderness and compassion in him. The next book in this series can not come too soon! I am ready to read it now!
I received a pdf version of this book from netgalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twisty turns, tension, and resolutions

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reading Rover
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Calling by Suzanne Woods Fisher
This fiery Amish Maidel is not falling for the charms of the girl-magnet Jimmy Fisher!
Vulnerable after her Father’s suicide over his bankrupt business, abandoned long ago by her real Mother, and her Brother year long sudden absence…Bethany finds herself smiling, and then remembers to be firm.
When the SEC comes looking for her newly returned Brother, and she discovers the difficult way that her ex-good-riddance fiancé is just as dangerously mentally ill as some other skeletons Bethany uncovers, its turning into quite a year.
Just to add depth, her about to finish school younger sister is writing an advice column, and everyone thinks she’s a much older woman of wisdom and maturity.
The horrific suffering of this Amish family is balanced by a lot everyday living.
A fired Youth Minister retreats to their Bed & Breakfast trying to find God’s next best step, and they ask her to stay longer, repeatedly, for free.
How this Amish community deals with broken lives, minds and hope while intersecting with the rest of the World is worth the read.
Love wins.
PIB Revell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Stoney Ridge!

Date:January 20, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh how I love Stoney Ridge! I'm so glad that just because the Stoney Ridge series is over doesn't mean that I have to say goodbye to all of my favorite characters from that series. I was excited that Uncle Hank came beck on the scene because he was always one of my favorites. His loudness and carefree personality was always funny to me. He and Fern had quite a few memorable moments back in the day!
I liked Bethany's spunk. She reminded me some of M.K. with her personality. She didn't care at all what others thought. Her and that scooter cracked me up every time that was a part of the scene. The scooter depicts her personality perfectly, I think. She blazes in and blazes out!
Jake has always scared me a little and that still rings true in this book. I'm so ready for him to be caught so he stops threatening people and scamming them. I want Allen Turner to find him and find out the truth from Tobe. I might also be hoping for some romance between him and Geena.
Jimmy Fisher has been another favorite of mine. He has grown up a lot though in this book and isn't the same annoying prankster that gets under the skin of everyone. He mature a lot.
So many questions left unanswered at the end of this book. Good thing that I only have to wait until July to read the next book in this series. I hope Stoney Ridge stays as the main setting for a few more series. It feels like home to me as I read because I see so many familiar characters. It's always nice to catch up with some old friends!
______________
______________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stoney Ridge is a quiet, normal Amish community; up until Bethany Schrock begins to dig through five sister's lifetime accumulations of junk. Then all of a sudden, things get very interesting depite the boring, hot summer days that Bethany thought were in store for her. Just what kind of secrets can five ancient sisters possibly harbor that could change everything? Something gnaws at Bethany from her past, but she doesn't know where to go for the answers she seeks. Could the sisters possibly be the answers to everything?
Then there's Jimmy Fisher. He seems particularly interested in her - in driving her crazy, that is. Handsome, charming, and brash, Bethany and Jimmy take a shine to each other from the very start. Bethany is distracted by a mystery from her past that seems to go nowhere, but Jimmy steps in and encourages her to find answers. Will she be able to succeed?
My favorite thing about this book was how uncommon it was. So many unusual topics were covered in this story, a very unique flavor among Amish fiction. Having a slower paced lifestyle leads to a slower paced book. But it was unhurriedly particulate with descriptions and settings to be savored, enjoyed and appreciated. Jimmy was quite the rouge with his flirtatious ways, and Bethany grew up in this story. But of course, my favorite characters were the sisters that were constantly up to something. A very good read overall even if you're not into Amish fiction - Fisher brings a fresh voice to the genre that will appeal to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Calling, Inn at Eagle Hill Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by author Suzanne Woods Fisher. As the 2nd book in the series, it was a little slow going in the beginning but it did provide the necessary history to help the reader follow the storyline. I would recommend reading the first book in the series, The Letters, first to get a better understanding of the history of the Schrock family and The Inn at Eagle Hill.
One of my favorite parts of this book are Bethanys grandmother's “words of wisdom” interspersed throughout the story. Some of her “words of wisdom” were just a little odd to me, but some were of particular interest to me as a mom of 2 boys. For example, “Wann'd der Sohn hawwe witt, muscht dich mit der Mudder halde” which means “She that would the son win must with the mother first begin”. These are wise words. Also, Bethany's grandmother's favorite saying about Bethany's 9 and 11 year old brother was “Buwe Uffziehe is so leicht as Eise verdaue” which means Raising boys is as easy as digesting nails.
I was particularly touched by Bethany's developing relationship with Rusty, one of the girls at the Group Home. Bethany works hard to understand why Rusty is the way and is and learns a lot in the process. The scene where Rusty and Bethany make bread together stands out to me as a symbol of truly living and showing Christ's love.
There are many twists and turns in this storyline. They keep the pages turning and the reader interested in finding out what is going to happen next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>