Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell What Follows After

Revell What Follows After

In October 1962, Colt Harrison and his little brother, Timmy, hatched a plan. They would run away from their Florida home, head for their aunt's house in Savannah, Georgia, and refuse to come home until their parents got back together. But things go terribly, terribly wrong. Colt's mother and father must come to grips with years of neglect and mistrust in order to recover their beloved sons, their love for one another, and their broken marriage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Follows After
Review 1 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Absorbing Tale

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What Follows After"
By Dan Walsh
Having always been impressed by this author's creations, I immediately "dug" in to this book with enthusiasm! This book is definitely a five star book in my opinion. Dan Walsh uses his talent to immerse you in the story from the first page, not allowing you peace of mind, until you reach the end of the book. What is very special about this author, is that he has a message in all of his works, a very clear one, that underlies the whole story, engaging your mind in applying it in your own life.
The time is 1962 when life was simple, the world made a lot more sense than now, and most families were quite happy and content. When a family did have a problem, you KNEW you were still supposed to pretend that everything was fine! No one must know that your perfect family did not exist!
The main characters, Scott and Gina Harrison had been living a lie! They attend all family get togethers in the same car, however they had been living separate lives for over a year. This charade has been forced upon their two sons, as well. The boys had to lie to their grandparents, teachers, and their friends. Can this kind of lie ever achieve a life of happiness?? Is it not wrong to make your children lie to protect your image in the public eye??? Dan's characters are, as usual, realistic, complicated beings who have the same problems as many others. I felt this couple's fears and worries as the plot develops. At times, my heart was pounding with concern and wondering what on earth the next chapter would bring!
One of the boys, Colt develops a plan. He and his little brother will run away and refuse to come home until their mom and dad get back together. Sounds simple, doesn't it??? At least it does in a child's mind. BUT things go terribly wrong! Scott and Gina must somehow come to grips with their years of neglect and problems in order to find their sons.
The message throughout the book was one that we all need to remember. The things that matter most in life are NOT what others think!! Love, truth, and family are the key to a life of happiness! You have to deal with the hard times and look back on them as a learning experience! We all need to look into our lives and think about the hard times! Can we smile about them now??? Has God met our needs as He has promised? Of course He has! Does the past really matter now? God knows where He is leading us, it is up to us to follow His plan.
Loved this book!! If you want to be completely absorbed from beginning to end, try this novel. Truly a winner! Eagerly awaiting Dan's next creation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of his best!

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh has long been one of my favourite authors, and "What Follows After" is another well-written, utterly absorbing read. Although this book would not be placed in the "suspense" category, I am not joking when I say that I found myself infused with tension, gripping the pages and barely able to refrain from rushing through the pages to see how things would resolve. Anyone who is a parent will see exactly what I mean as the plot unfolds! The author has woven together several different subplots into a unified whole, all set in a unique time in history I have never read about before. I was fascinated to observe people's reactions to the Cuban Missile Crisis, and I kept imagining how I would feel contemplating the potential of nuclear strikes near my home. But I was most absorbed into the fate of Scott and Gina's marriage and the welfare of their sons. I found myself reflecting on the health of my own marriage and whether I am treating my wife as she deserves to be treated. Am I investing in my children the way I need to? Am I being the man God has called me to be? The author has succeeded at creating a story that left my heart racing, while leaving me pondering the deeper questions of life at the same time. Now THAT takes skill!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish, from the dramatic, moving plot, to the wonderfully drawn characters, to the satisfying ending. Well done, Dan Walsh! 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Family In Crisis and Love

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh in his new book, “What Follows After” published by Revell takes us into the lives of The Harrison Family.
From the Back Cover: In 1962, life was simple, the world made sense, and all families were happy.
And when they weren’t, everyone knew you were supposed to pretend.
For the past year, Scott and Gina Harrison have been living a lie. While they show up at family get-togethers in the same car, they’ve actually been separated for over a year. To keep up the charade, they’ve even instructed their sons, Colt and Timmy, to lie–to their grandparents, their teachers, and their friends.
Colt, for one, has had enough, so he hatches a plan. He and his little brother will run away from their Florida home, head for their aunt’s house in Georgia, and refuse to come home until their parents get back together. But when things go terribly, terribly wrong, Scott and Gina must come to grips with years of neglect and mistrust in order to recover their beloved sons, their love for one another, and their marriage.
In this emotional story, bestselling author Dan Walsh takes you on a journey to rediscover the things that matter most in life–love, truth, and family. With profound insight into the heart of a hurting child, he reminds us that a time will come to look back on hard times and smile, because we’ll know that what follows after . . . is not what we expected at all.
What is the most important part of our lives? Our family. Don’t believe me? Just look at what happens when something happens to one member of our family. All of a sudden all our little petty problems are pushed aside and we rush to the aid of the member in trouble. This is so vividly portrayed in Dan Walsh’s new book, “What Follows After” Scott and Gina don’t want to listen to each other and, of course, that causes a separation. Their boys, Colt and Timmy, want their parents back together again. So they figure out a plan that might actually have worked except for an unforeseen development. It is this development that brings the family together again as they try to fix the situation. I can’t tell you more that would spoil things but needless to say the book does take on the appearance of a thrill ride as we breathlessly flip those last pages. Dan Walsh has given us characters that live and breathe, that have faults just like us, and are able to deal with them and that we get emotionally involved with. God can take our plans with all their faults and use them to accomplish His perfect plan for our lives.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2014
This is one of the hardest Contemporary Fiction books that I have read in a long time. The first part of the book depicts a child abduction and it is terrifying. The time frame is 1962 during the Cuban Missile Crisis. The normal protocol for searching for a stolen child is all derailed in the light of the national crisis. Dan Walsh does a masterful job of reminding us how different things were then. No GPS tracking on buses, no cell phones, no Amber alerts. All those things we take for granted now were absent then. In my mind I kept thinking why don't they just . . . then I would remember that technology wasn't available.
While the story line of the missing child had my heart racing, the plight of the parents left me cold. I don't want to give away plot lines so I will just say their strategies for finding their missing child just didn't make sense. And to top it off their focusing on their marital relationship in the midst of this disaster just seemed out of place. I really enjoy the writing of Dan Walsh but this just felt like two separate stories that just didn't quite fit together. Nevertheless I will continue to read his work because he really is a great story teller. This just didn't happen to be my favorite.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Edge of Your Seat Reading!

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What Follows After is an emotional story full of drama and suspense. At the same time, it is realistic and totally believable. Dan Walsh has written a story that is sure to tug on your heartstrings while at the same time offering hope to your soul.
This book is more than a mere child abduction/broken relationship story. By incorporating the setting of the beginning of the Cuban Missile Crisis in America into the storyline of What Follows After, Walsh adds depth to the story that I feel would have been lacking had it solely been a story of child abduction or broken relationships. He also perfectly weaves marital insights into the conversations between the characters. The conversations take place naturally. They are not presented in a preachy “this is how you do it” manner. It is so natural that you don't even realize you are actually hearing sound marital truths. He does a superb job of drawing Scott and Gina together and healing their relationship that their reconciliation is mostly believable and not forced or fake. The only thing that I found somewhat unrealistic was how quickly Scott received and positively responded to the advice given him.
Finally, What Follows After is fast paced and intense all at the same time. There are unexpected twists and turns that will keep your interest and the pages turning. Whether you decide to read the book in paperback or e-book format, this book is not to be missed. It gives us hope that we will be able to look back on difficulties we experienced, smile and be able to say that “What Follows After” is better than we ever expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Dan Walsh winner

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What Follows After
By Dan Walsh
When Colt Harrison decides he's had enough - he didn't realize just how painful it would be. His parents have been living a lie, forcing Colt and his younger brother Timmy to live it with them. But Colt's plan to force the truth to come out go wrong and Timmy along with the rest of the family may pay the price.
But as the Harrison's world crumbles around them, an even greater threat is looming over the entire country and even the world as the United States and Russia threaten World War III. As the nation hangs on every word spoken by President Kennedy, one family waits to hear anything about their missing 6 year old son. But Timmy has gotten lost in a world on the brink of war - until a church full of hard working people decides to be on the look-out for Timmy and his abductor.
The crisis at home brings to light what is wrong within the Harrison family, but the question is is it too late to fix what is and has been broken? What is sad is this is so often the case within families - something is wrong and yet our pride refuses to admit the truth. We hide what is wrong instead of confronting it and fixing it. That is what I like about Dan Walsh's books he portrays real life and real life can be messy. And What Follows After is no exception, but with as is the case with all of Dan's books there is hope. And the hope Dan offers is something that we can all put to use in our own lives and families.
Having heard people over the years talk about the Cuban Missile this is the first book I've ever read that is set during this period. So this was also an enlightening book to read as it brought the realities of this period of unrest and fear to light in a way that brought it home, unlike most history text books. So even though this book is being marketed as contemporary fiction, I think it could easily fall into the historical subcategory as well.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Revell in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian fiction at it's best!

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh's What Follows After is a skillful combination of hope and forgiveness.
This story follows the life of Scott and Gina, the seemingly happily married couple and parents of two boys, who have been secretly separated for several months. Gina feels betrayed by the man she loved and Scott is frustrated that Gina refuses to accept his claims of innocence. Their separation places their boys in a difficult position: not only are they struggling with the changes at home, but their parents demand they keep the separation hidden from friends and family.
That's when 11 year old Colt decides to take his younger brother and tun away to their aunt's house. The children wish that this would bring their parents around. Instead the unthinkable happens and 7 year old Timmy is kidnapped while with his brother.
Suddenly everything must come into focus Scott and Gina must both decide what is going to be important in their future as they and the reader hope for Timmy's safe return.
As in his Restoration series written with Gary Smalley he delivers a story that will not disappoint readers with a welcome and hopeful conclusion that you can't help but be glad about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A parent's worst nightmare

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you do if the world was on the verge of a nuclear holocaust and your little boy was kidnapped? No one has the time to care. All law enforcement officers are engaged in trying to keep the country safe. The media is overcome with covering the earthshattering story. No one has time for one family with two little boys, except two FBI agents, a pair of praying housemaids, and a nosey neighbor. Will this be enough to solve a life or death struggle for the Harrison family? Will they solve this crime before something terrible happens?
Colt and Timmy Harrison have run away to force their parents to stop lying about their relationship and hopefully force them back to each other. Unfortunately, six-year-old Timmy is lured away by a stranger while his brother is gone. Now an unstable recluse has Timmy, thinking he is the replacement for his dead son. At the same time, Russia is building missiles to aim at the United States. With this horror overshadowing the world, no one has time for this horrific crime.
I am a fan of Dan Walsh’s books. This book is no exception. There was some good research into the time period and the Cuban Missile Crisis. I especially enjoyed the author’s notes at the back. He discussed the nostalgic look at the “Leave It to Beaver” years and challenged that maybe there were challenges simmering under the surface. He says “ … a more honest assessment would suggest that many Americans’ church experiences in the fifties and sixties had more to do with the religion of Christianity than a clear understanding of the gospel.” You can also tell he has done much counseling as a Pastor, with the marriage advice Mike, the brother-in-law gives Scott, the dad. Well worth the time spent reading this one!
I received this book from Netgalley for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dynamic!

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deceit serves no one. When marriage is compromised by a misunderstood observation the fallout impacts an entire family. An unforgiving wife refuses to consider her husband's explanation of an innocent event, alienating him, and the family unit is broken. Scott Harrison is forced to leave his home and family, and Gina takes on a full-time job while raising the children. In an attempt to protect themselves and their family's reputation, Scott and Gina have been living a lie over a 10-month time frame, even convincing their sons to lie about the broken family. Eleven and six, Colt and Timmy embark on a bus trip to seek solace with their favorite aunt and uncle. While stopped at a diner Timmy is kidnapped, setting the stage for an FBI search for the little boy.
Set in 1962 at the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis, all of America is on high alert, keeping local law enforcement agencies and the FBI occupied with the potential crisis the world is facing. Two FBI agents are assigned to the kidnapping case, and their leads are few and far between. As leads turn into dead ends and information is waning the search for Timmy becomes more dismal.
Dan Walsh has written a compelling, dramatic and poignant novel of a broken family whose lives are further fraught with anguish due to the kidnapping of their youngest child. This novel is replete with reality. I experienced the angst of the Harrisons throughout this novel, as their lives evolved into the quest for healing and the return of their child. Their faith in God is tested and the author's nuances regarding their frustration and anxiety are exceptional. Dan Walsh has surpassed my expectations through this beautifully written, heart wrenching story of broken trust, deception and fear of the future. His information regarding the Cuban Missile Crisis is well researched and accurate. Redemption and resolution are developed with clarity and compassion. I highly recommend this novel written with depth and discernment. This is Dan's best novel thus far!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Revell for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Story

Date:April 10, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to read a book by Dan Walsh for a long time. I have heard he is an excellent writer.
I am hear to tell you that is true.
In What Follows After we are taken back to the 1960s and the backdrop of the story is the Cuban Missile Crisis.
Well, what would happen if two boys went missing the same day the president was to come on t.v. to address the nation? Would the needs of these boys gets pushed to the side because of man power needed elsewhere?
We take so much for granted in 2014. The power of the internet to get information spread quickly is helpful but that wasn’t an option in 1962. They had to completely rely on word of mouth to get information out. So different from today.
Then we have Scott and Gina the parents who have been pretending to be married but now they must face the truth. Could anything bring these to hard-hearted people back together? Well, you’ll just have to read the book to find out.
Any mother will have her heart twisted in knots as you read this story and we hope for the best.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable book

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book very much, it is a bit suspenseful and definitely has great tension. You know "who done it" because the story tells it all, but is has a feel of a suspense book to it. I was interested in the historical aspects of the Cuban Missile Crisis, and how it affected everyday life and the life of law enforcement officials. It is obvious this book took some research, to get the feel correct. I was not born in '62 so I have no memories of that time, so this was a part of history that is new to me. 4 stars from this reviewer. I did enjoy Dan writing on his own again after his last few books being collaberations.
This book was provided by Revell Books for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magnetic Book

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I didn't get much sleep last night; I stayed up and finished reading this magnetic book. What a compelling story! Because of a horrific tragedy, a family rediscovers their priorities. The story even contains secrets of a happy marriage!
Set in 1962, when divorce was an ugly word, a husband and wife separate but continue to put up a front so society won't learn of their broken marriage. Their two boys feeling unloved and neglected decide to run away from home with the hope that their parents will somehow get back together. Things don't work out as planned, and . . . Well, I can't say any more without ruining your reading experience.
I lived in Florida during this time period, and I clearly remember the events depicted, the bomb shelters, President Kennedy's blockade of Cuba, and the sure knowledge that World War III was upon us. The author did a good job setting the scene, writing believable characters, and telling a story that will have readers choose to read over sleep. This is a book I heartily recommend!
Thank you to Revell and Baker Publishing Group for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An Average Novel

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
LifeofLiterature
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
One fall day in the early 1960’s, young Colt and Timmy Harrison devise a plan to run away from their separated parents to their favorite aunt and uncle’s house. They hope their drastic act can restore their parents’ relationship and create a happy family once again. But when Timmy is abducted from a diner a few hours into their journey, Colt suddenly discovers that doing things on his own was not wise. His parents, Scott and Gina, must work together to find their lost son, and in the process, learn to forgive each other and repair their relationship. What Follows After is an easy read and moves at a fast pace, allowing the reader to flip the pages quickly to discover if little Timmy will be safely found. However, the tone of the novel is almost condescending, introducing cliché comments as means to preach ideals necessary to maintain a perfect marriage. In addition, the topic of a scared little boy locked in a dark place is difficult to read, especially since this situation endures almost the entire novel. It is a relief to finally read a happy ending of a restored family who learned to value each other despite difficult circumstances. However, this novel leaves the reader dissatisfied and is only average at best.
I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotion-filled story

Date:April 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Dan Walsh is a master story teller. He doesn't get your attention with elaborate plots, over-the-top characters, or anything of that nature. He just draws you in and invites you to hear a tale filled with emotion. From the very first page of What Follows After, I felt like I was in an intimate conversation with a friend -- a friend who had a story to tell, one I very much wanted to hear.
The characters of What Follows After seem to be real, very ordinary people, who just happen to be going through the most difficult days of their lives. The details he provides about the Cuban Missile Crisis are just enough to provide a realistic setting to the personal crisis Scott, Gina, Colt, and Timmy are experiencing. And throughout the story, Dan points his readers to truths about love and priorities and how God can use "what follows after" the dark days to bring about blessing and peace.
Thanks to Revell Publishing for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What Follows After
This review is fromWhat Follows After - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bringing about the good

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confused by their parents' separation, brothers Colt and Timmy Harrison run from home and head to their aunt's house, out-of-state. Unfortunately, the worst happens and everything changes for the family. This is a great story about the way God can work a situation to bring about good from terrible circumstances. Coastal Florida during the Cuban Missile crisis is the setting of the story and it adds a unique element to the seriousness of the situation. This story is fabulous. I don't want to say to much and give away a spoiler. You'll be glad to find out what follows after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Couldn't Put It Down

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What Follows After by Dan Walsh
Stunniing Riveting. Realistic. So masterfully written that I didn’t just read the story, but became involved in it.
What Follows After, through the Harrison family story, brings to life and personalizes an important historical time in our nation.
The emotional turmoil of Cole’s brother being kidnapped and locked in a dark place will made the story and resolution particularly poignant to others who experienced childhood dark-place punishment.
Despite the fear and bomb-shelter panic of that time, the story also stirs memories of faith, and acts of patriotism and selflessness that brought hope in a very tense time. A hope America desperately needs today.
I received a free copy of this book to review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What Follows After
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Gender:female
Another great novel by Dan Walsh! Plenty of suspense! The story is about family, relationships, and dealing with tough times. I really enjoy reading this authors books, and anxiously await the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What Follows After
This review is fromWhat Follows After - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Angela Suzanne
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was written in a different style than I am used to and it took me a little while to fully get into it. At the beginning I thought it was going to flip back and forth between the present and the past and I was hoping it wouldn’t and thankfully it didn’t. I kind of liked how it started off as first person and ended as first person but everything in between when it was in the past it was in third person.
I thought there was more telling than showing because there wasn’t much description on facial expressions and I found there were a few point of view errors. The description wasn’t as much as I was used to but I think it just made for a faster read. There were times I would forget the majority of the book was set in the 1960s especially when it came to phoning people because I would catch myself thinking couldn’t they just use a cell phone. So I would occasionally have to remind myself it was taking place over 50 years ago.
I liked the story of a family trying to find their little boy and working through their marriage issues which started everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.