Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Reunion

Revell The Reunion

Forty years ago, Aaron Miller saved the lives of three men on the Vietnam battlefield---only to come home and lose everything. Now he's a handyman in a trailer park who fixes everybody else's problems but is unable to heal the deep wounds that haunt him. Has the Redeemer given up on him, too? 256 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.946 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 37100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reunion
Review 1 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good message in this.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
James Link
Location:Keswick,ON
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have always been pleased with DVD's from Christian Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Desi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As with all Dan Walsh books, it grabs you right from the start and you are eager to find out how the story unfolds and ends. Very excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
mwb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is the first time I've read a book by Dan Walsh and it was so good I ordered all of his books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story of God's redemptive power.

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Jay
Location:Mississippi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Story of a troubled Vietnam war veteran and how he was reunited with his children. Beautiful story, had to keep the kleenex close by.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jannie
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This was such a great story. Very touching. Have the tissues ready toward the end because you will need them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-tugging tale heartily recommended

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh’s prose penetrates routine life with the behind-the-scenes drama so easily overlooked. He draws readers into the lives of his memorable characters as they deal with troubling circumstances and grow into more than they thought they could become. The Reunion illustrates this well. The poignant tale weaves together lives once torn apart and leads them toward healing. Vietnam vet Aaron Miller considers himself more a failure than a hero down on his luck. Can the life and family he lost ever be restored? Watch the masterful plot unfold and take your breath away. I heartily recommend this novel to readers of all ages, no matter your preferred genre.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
susieq
Location:Windfall
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like all of Dan Walsh's books. I especially like The Reunion. I work in a small town library and have purchased all of his books to date. I've donated them to the library and I have about 12 of my friends waiting to read them. Just finished The Dance and eagerly awaiting the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read book

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a powerful book! It will linger with you even after you have put it down! The characters develop and change over the course of the narrative. I gave this book 5/5 stars. There is so much to this story that I can’t begin to explain it all as I would give away some of the best parts of the plot. All I can say is if you are looking for a book that flows well, is an easy read and an impressive story, this is it! I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great book to read!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Restoration can always be found in any life!!!

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes life isn't about us. It's about the difference we make in the lives of people around us. Aaron Miller is one such person. Thinking he has little to offer the world as a retired Vietnam veteran, he spends his time working as a maintenance man for a little trailer park in Florida. Reflecting back on his life offers him the justification for the life he currently finds himself in. After serving in Vietnam and saving the lives of three men in his squadron, he was injured and thus found a way out of the way. Disabled in both body and spirit, Aaron tried to find his way back to his wife and children. When his PTSD symptoms and addictions to pain medications caused a division in his house, his wife told him that they would be better off without him.
So Aaron left, and spent the next few years eking out a living on the streets. When he finally found the strength to get clean, he tried to make his way back home for a second chance. His wife told him that his kids no longer asked about the whereabouts of their dad and it's for the best to give them a second chance at a better life with her new husband and now father to their kids. Heartbroken, Aaron found solace living in the storage shed while trying to save money to purchase a small trailer in the park he helped to maintain, but that seems to be a dream far out of his reach.
In the Reunion by Dan Walsh, restoration seems to be the theme. Aaron's old habits die hard and soon he finds himself helping people out around him who seem to be filled with no hope. Aaron becomes more than a hero to them. While he keeps his own past buried, he works to offer hope to those who need it the most. Dan Walsh is instrumental at getting this powerful message across in this wonderful inspirational book about looking at the lives of the men and women who serve in our military. It gives us insight into the details we may never fail to inquire about but a story that each needs to share if only given the chance. I think he does a wonderful job at conveying that just because they finish their tour of duty, these wounded men and women still have a much needed purpose in life. This is a book to be treasured and shared. Be warned however, this may require more than a boxful of tissues by the time you reach the end. A well deserved 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read This Book!!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cried. There aren't many books out there that have made me cry--not just get choked up, but actually cry! I wasn't quite sure what to expect going into this book, but I loved it. I loved the quiet humility of Aaron. He knew what he was and what God had saved him from and was thankful for it. I especially loved that he quietly, but firmly talked about his salvation. I have noticed a disturbing trend in religious fiction to talk vaguely about 'meeting' God, finding peace, having an emotional experience, etc but never actually saying "Christ saved me!". Personally, I think it's just authors trying to be politically correct and not offend anyone. I am glad Mr. Walsh didn't have such qualms. Aaron wasn't pushy--he just quietly stated the fact of what happened to him.
I really enjoyed Karen and Dave's story. I enjoyed the fact that they were 40-somethings. My sister was just recently married (yes, for the first time!) at 42, so I appreciated Karen being older and never married with Dave a widower.
I could go on and on about the things I liked in this book. Suffice it to say, this was a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable book that I would recommend to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharyn Noble
Location:Cape Paterson Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice read. I enjoyed finding out more about the Vietnam vets, hearing their story also. It was quite an emotional story and well worth reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book! As are all of Dan Walsh's books

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ktaz
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh is an excellent writer! All his books are great reads! Once you pick them up and start reading it is hard to put them down. His writing style makes you feel as if you know the characters personally and are experiencing with them the trials they are going through. Don't forget to have the tissues handy, you will need them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tremendous Story of Redemption & God's Goodness

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JimK
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can anyone be more extravagant in their goodness than God? God can bring redemption and His goodness into any situation through any of His children who are willing to be used by Him. This story illustrates this in a most inspiring and encouraging way. I have read each of Dan Walsh's books and have enjoyed each one. This one God used in a special way to touch my own heart with just how good God can be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully Memorable

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What more can I say? Another absolutely amazing book from Dan Walsh!
Aaron Miller is the trailer park handyman and hero in disguise. Who has had his share of heartache, and bad decisions that changed his life forever. Will this Vietnam War veteran ever be reunited with the family he lost so many years ago?
There is something about Mr. Walsh's books that I just love. I savor every word, trying to avoid the inevitable event that I know will happen all to soon...Finishing the book. I did not want it to end! I came to love the wonderful characters, who touched my heart. Aaron was such a wonderful hero, selfless and honorable, a little rough around the edges but with a heart of purest gold. I also loved Dave and Karen's story, and how they came together.
Mr. Walsh's story-telling skills are amazing, he truly draws the reader into the story, in a way that makes it so that they never want to leave! I wanted to keep right on reading this book forever, because I loved the story and the characters so much. The characters felt real and compelling.
This is a tale sure to please, written with heart, and tinges of humor. The main character, Aaron Miller was a true hero in every sense of the word, and I just loved him. There's romance, family, long-lost relationships, in Dan Walsh's newest release. This is not a book to be missed! I can't wait to see what Mr. Walsh comes up with next!
“Available September 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a captivating read

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second book by this gifted storyteller and like the first, it did not disappoint, quite the opposite. Dan has a wonderful way of weaving engaging and poignant narratives that bring history to life in a beautiful way. Packed into the pages of this book are glimpses of the horror of war, post war trauma, loss, brokenness, misunderstandings, loneliness and heartache. But all this gloom serves to bring people closer to God and finally realize the importance of family and friends. Dan Walsh has crafted a rich array of characters – from poor and humble to wealthy and distinguished. Who in the end find themselves united, celebrating under one roof, the selfless deeds of one man, but also God’s grace and goodness, bringing to mind Luke 13:30 quoted at the beginning of the book: Some who seem least important now will be the greatest then… You cannot help but be emotionally drawn into the intriguing, heart-wrenching, but also heart-warming story. An extremely worthwhile and captivating read!
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get ready to cry!

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You know that feeling when you get to the end of a book and your eyes kind of hurt because you've been crying so much? If not, you'll know exactly what I'm talking about when you finish this book! "The Reunion" is a masterpiece, with incredible characterization and a deeply moving story of selflessness, sacrifice, and new beginnings. I was completely swept up into Aaron's world, quickly coming to admire the man who made so many mistakes and yet who lived a life that made a profound impact upon the world. I found myself wishing that I could have just a small measure of the impact Aaron had! Walsh has written a story filled with grace, celebrating the power of faith in God to utterly change lives. The book ends beautifully, and during the last few chapters, I felt like I was given a glimpse of what heaven will be like one day. Any book that can achieve that is worth reading over and over again!
It was with a tremendous feeling of satisfaction that I closed the pages of "The Reunion", and I hated to see the story come to an end. I cannot recommend this book higher, and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Vietnam Veteran's Reward

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aaron Miller is a Vietnam veteran who’s lost love, respect, his job and his family–barred, even, from seeing his two children. Suffering from what we now know as PTSD, shame, and guilt, he became a homeless drunk. Once honored for receiving the Congressional Medal of Honor for his heroism in war, he’s now a simple handyman in a trailer park, clean and sober.
Unbeknownst to Aaron, one of his fellow servicemen, John Lansing, now a multimillionaire, is searching for him to thank him properly for all he did for him and his two buddies in Nam. The three men had a reunion every few years, but had lost track of him. Without Aaron’s intervention in Nam, they wouldn’t be alive today, have good jobs, or their families.
Dave Russo, a wire editor for a local Florida newspaper, is writing a book on Vietnam in honor of his father, who had died in the war. One of the people he’s interviewing is John Lansing. But instead of talking about his war times, John talked about Aaron Miller. John then made Dave “an offer he couldn’t refuse”–find Aaron Miller in exchange for a large chunk of change. Dave takes leave from his job and pursues any and all leads in his search for Aaron Miller.
For anyone who’s never served in war, you will get an eyeful. It’s not pretty and it’s anything but safe, and I’m sure that’s only the tip of the iceberg. But you will come to understand how some men come home with PTSD. Dan Walsh doesn’t mince words when it comes to the descriptions of the war. It’s heart-wrenching to read about those who were killed and those who suffer from physical and mental health issues due to the war.
This is one author I’ve come to thoroughly enjoy as a writer. He’s engaging in his storyline, but he’s also realistic in his portrayals of the characters. He has a sense of warmth and empathy that hooks you emotionally into the circumstances and lives of each character. His inclusion of a gentle romance helps compensate for some of the harsher realities of life.
Though Aaron lived a humble life, he was also self-deprecating. But God had a purpose for his life that would show him who he is in His sight and the sight of others. The author demonstrates how God is intertwined in his life whether he realized it or not. It’s the same for you, if you are willing to look for Him.
For an emotional, yet heart-warming look at how important God, friends and family are, this is one book for you to pick up and savor.
This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant at Baker Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I absolutely love Dan Walsh!

Date:September 20, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just closed the book for the final time and how I wish it never had to end. Dan Walsh has written another book that left me in happy tears and itching to read another book by Walsh. I'm pretty sure he needs to start coming out with books quarterly!
In my last review of his previous book, which was my first one to read by him, I compared him to Nicholas Sparks. Now, in my own opinion, I think he's better! He has a way of making his characters so personal to his readers. I felt like I was in the trailer park with Aaron and then I had been transferred to the Vietnam War and was living through what 3 men thought would be the end of their lives. I felt as if I was peeking in on Karen and Dave's relationship and how Karen really felt about a dad that abandoned her after the war and then never made contact with her or her brother Steve again.
This book had a lot of history written into it and I found it fascinating. I know alot of the vets from Vietnam did not get the thanks they deserved from Americans. However, I think Dan's book is a wonderful fiction book that praises the vets and honors them. It's a book that has some true examples in it and is patterned after the lives of 2 vets. Above all, Walsh reminds us that we don't know every one's past. How often do we walk past the unknown heroes or brush them aside?
So....his next book comes out next when?! I can't wait much longer!
________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching Tale Pays Tribute to Our Vietnam Vets

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh has once again touched my heart with his gift of story. From the opening scene where Aaron Miller lives in a storage room at Bentley's Trailer Park and Campground--with a bed that "wasn't much more than a military cot. But it was way nicer than sleeping in cardboard boxes and underneath highway overpasses. He'd done enough of that years back."--I was swept into this book. So many hidden scars he carries from the war as he quietly devotes his days to serving the visitors and residents of Bentley's; hidden away in his room is the highest honor a soldier can receive, the Congressional Medal of Honor, which he received for saving the lives of three fellow soldiers. Walsh has penned a beautiful tale of a life lived in obscurity, yet not unseen by the One who says "the last shall be first." It is also a powerful tribute to our nation's Vietnam Vets and is highly recommended for anyone who served or knows someone who served in that conflict. And for anyone who has felt the heartache of abandonment, only to discover that the truth isn't always what it seemed, this book is for you. Poignant and tender, The Reunion brought smiles and tears. My only complaint is that it ended!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell prior to an interview with Dan Walsh. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Reunion
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Story

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aaron Miller is a Vietnam veteran. Once upon a time a hero, now forgotten—except by three of the men with whom he served in the jungles of Vietnam. Aaron’s job as handyman in a trailer park is about as far from heroism as he can get, and he prefers it that way.
Dave Russo is a reporter for his local paper. In his spare time, he’s working on a book about men who served in the Vietnam war. He’s compiled a list of names from old news accounts, and when he contacts John Lansing, one of those names, the former Marine makes him an offer too good to refuse—find Aaron Miller. After John shares his reasons, Dave agrees to do what he can to find a man whom no one who knew him has seen for decades.
Walsh’s storytelling skills shine in The Reunion. His descriptions of jungle battle scenes were so realistic I was transfixed in horror. The novel moves at a brisk pace, with surprises in every chapter. Be sure you have tissues on hand when you read the final scenes.
I don’t normally get too personal in my reviews, but my husband is a Vietnam vet. Reading about Aaron’s (and the other men’s) struggles brought me to tears more than once. In addition to being a gripping novel, The Reunion is a tribute to Vietnam veterans, all of whom bore the brunt of our nation’s dislike of an unpopular war at that dark time in our history.
I recommend The Reunion wholeheartedly. Just don’t forget to keep a box of tissues handy.
My thanks to Revell and the author for providing me with my review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>