Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Revelation: Four Views

Thomas Nelson Revelation: Four Views

Explore the four traditional interpretations of the Book of Revelation in this in-depth, verse-by-verse overview. "Revelation: Four Views" is a comprehensice, even-handed resource that offers a clear, fair presentation of the four most important interpretations of the book, allowing you to evaluate and decide for yourself which view is most convincing. The easy to read format is arranged to encourage thoughtful comparison and evaluation along with the study of the book of Revelation itself. Careful, unbiased summaries of the views of over 50 commentaries and commentators put you in touch with outstanding representatives of each view from throughout much of church history.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Revelation: Four Views
Review 1 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Revelation: Four Views - excellent source

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
RB67Bug
Location:Winston-Salem NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend to any student of the Bible. I think Gregg does a very thorough job of giving a good overview of the four main interpretations of Revelation. Would recommend to anybody!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brandon S
Before you read a commentator's own interpretation of Revelation, read this book!As Steve Gregg points out in the intro, there are no other commentaries like this one. This book is not meant to provide specific and detailed facts about every single phrase in Revelation, but it does exactly what the author intended: compare the style and general foundations of each school of interpretation. The main idea of each interpretation is captured in the author's comments on every section of each chapter. This is the perfect intro to Revelation because it is unbiased and all 4 views are presented equally. Once you read this book you can then decide which interpretation you would like to pursue for further in-depth study by choosing a commentary devoted to that specific interpretation.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann O
I had been looking for a book that presented the four basic views of Revelation and this book does just that. It presents the four views concisely and clearly. This is helping tremendously in our study of Revelation. I recomend it to all who want to see other views as well as the more popular ones.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard J Labun
Each of the four views are presented clearly, describing their unique characteristics, and even suggesting the foundations of their assumptions in a very brief, succinct manner. Good summaries of the three millennium positions are also given. This book can save you lots of time researching the interpretations of many scholars, and the bibliography identifies books for further study of any of the 4 views. I liked the impartiality shown by the editor. Reading the scripture before each view is presented, allows the reader a quick flashback to the original document (Revelation) in checking out the interpretations presented. Contrasting views within each of the 4 views aids in an overview of the problems encountered by each system of thought.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karl Anderson
What I appreciated was that proponents of each view were quoted extensively, to the point that they were pretty much able to speak for themselves. I found most of the authorities cited were names I recognized and respected. He also cited a few that I recognized and considered wacky even before reading this book. But even those were allowed to speak for themselves.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pollyana J Brown
"Revelation: Four Views" was ordered as a resource for a brief series of classes. It far exceeded my expectations and my husband and I are tremendously excited with the presentation. It has become an active study resource for both of us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Charles Welsh
If you want to see what the four views of Revelation are, then this is the book. Scripture is provided at the top of the page and the four viewpoints underneath. Highly recommended.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
Brian R
This is an excellent book that is easy to read and follow. Four different interpretations of the Book of Revelation are laid out side by side so the reader can easily see how each passage of the book is interpreted. While none of the viewpoints are explored in great detail, the reader can establish a firm understanding of each viewpoint and the differences between them. An excellent starting point on the study of this difficult book of the Bible, this parallel approach allows the reader to get beyond basic presuppositions and begin to fairly examine the different approaches to the study of Revelation.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Revelation: Four Views
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2001
Customer Avatar
John H
Outstanding resource! Each passage is exegeted according to each of four different theological persuasions. This book is not technical, but makes coherent, evenly-balanced arguments for each possible view of each passage.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.