Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1

Revell Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1

For six-year-old Lily Lapp, every day is a new opportunity for blessings, laughter, family, and a touch of mischief. As she explores her world, goes to school, spends time with her family, and gets into trouble with her friends, Lily learns what it means to be Amish and what it means to grow up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Review 1 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish Kids Book

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was absolutely delighted with this book on all counts. I originally got this for my daughter to review, but her schedule did not permit it. So I decided to undertake the task. As I began the book, I was reminded more than once of "Little House on the Prairie," a book series that I absolutely loved as a child. I felt like I was reading a modern-day pioneer story! And the delightful illustrations only added to the charm of this book.
This book cannot be easier to read, and it is the perfect introduction to this wonderful group of people known as the Amish. I wasn't sure my daughter would like the book as I read it with her in mind. But as I got into it, I discovered that this book is not just a "fairy tale Amish novel." I was most fascinated with how the Amish family dealt with the outside world. And it was little Lily who was always asking her parents about it. It was also nice to see the lifestyle of these wonderful people through the eyes of a child instead of an adult.
There were a couple of interesting stories that still showed where the true heart of the Amish family in the book is. Both evolution and racism come up as well as "witchcraft," and all situations are dealt in light of God's Word as well as Amish tradition. When I got to those portions in the book, I knew that my daughter needed to read this book, and I have set aside time in the future for her to do so. But even so, I thoroughly enjoyed the book, and I know that if this book had been around when I was a child, I would have loved it even better!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A charmer

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a charmer. Each chapter tells funny, interesting, and adventuresome stories, and the simple pen and ink illustrations are darling. I would recommend this book for third-fifth graders to read on their own, and for kindergarten-second graders for reading aloud - or on their own if they're advanced readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light-hearted and engaging!

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bringing to mind the treasured Little House on the Prairie Books, “Life with Lily” is written in a light-hearted, engaging manner for young readers aged 8 to 12. Each chapter of the book recounts a different adventure or moment of learning for Lily, whether finding Lily driving her own pony and cart, rescuing her young brother from a wild dog, or getting into mischief with the sometimes mean-spirited Mandy Mast. The book allows readers a peek into what it would be like to grow up Amish, learning to work hard and play hard too, learning about the importance of family and treating others fairly and with love. “Life with Lily” makes me wish that more families were like Lily’s, with loving parents, and fun adventures around every corner which don’t involve television, video games or hand-held devices! I did wonder if the book was a bit long for the age group that it is intended for, as it is well over 200 pages. At the same time, it offers a good opportunity to cuddle up with your child and read some of the chapters together and talk about why the Amish choose to live the way they do, and the benefits of living life more simply. Despite being set in an Amish community, the story is one that all children are sure to identify with as Lily encounters new teachers, questionable friends, and even sees the effects of racism.
Life with Lily is a great start to a promising new series for young readers, and I give it a solid recommendation and a rating of 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life of an Amish child

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily is Amish. She has two brothers. Her grandparents live close by.
This story gives a glimpse into the lives of Amish children. They are like any other chldren in the love of play. They go to school unless there is no teacher available. But material possessions are not a big desire.
The Amish have a strong faith.
Joseph, Lily's brother, tries to fly and breaks his arm. Lily is always getting into trouble because of a friend.
A sad turn of events comes when Lily's grandparents and parents decide to move. There was no teacher to be had at school. Her Mom was finding it hard to teach at home and provide financially for family.
This is basically a story of Lily, an Amish girl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a wonderful book for children

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If a simple life without tech toys is but a distant memory, read Life With Lily. Today many children spend too much time in front of a screen, have some form of entertainment dangling from their ears, and tire their thumbs texting. Not Lily and her friends. Everyday is a new adventure brimming with simple pleasures: playing with cats, climbing trees, helping mom in the house and garden and travelling by buggy to see grandma and grandpa. A stark contrast with the average child growing up in America.
I enjoyed this book along with my students, while reading it during story time. At first glance they thought the little girl on the cover was Hutterite, but then one little boy said, "No, she's Amish. I've seen the ones that live near Gladstone." (a small town here in MB) In many ways our children could relate with Lily, as they too help around the home and barns, then go and play games or explore the farm with their friends. However, our children have never had a buggy ride and they have no idea what it's like to not have electricity. Nonetheless, they thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Lily and learning that she, like them sometimes gets into mischief and that there are consequences.
For a children's book, I found that the chapters are a bit too long. Also, I think the print should be a bigger, so young readers will not be intimidated with so much tiny text on one page. Personally, I find bigger print easier for read aloud books as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for Read Alouds :)

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book perfect for before bedtime read-alouds.
Lily Lapp is a cheerful five-year-old girl, with two little brothers, and she's Amish. Come along with Lily on each of her chapter long adventures as she deals with everything from a new baby brother to mean neighbors!
What a cute story! I loved the charming setting and positive outlook that little Lily had on life. For me this book reminded me of something that would be a great read-aloud, because I think that it could be enjoyed by children much younger than the targeted 8-12 age group, who might not be able to read yet. I remember listening to my mom read to me everynight from one of the Little House on the Prairie books when I was about 3 or 4, because they were above my reading level but I enjoyed them. And I think that this book is also a book likely to be enjoyed by a younger crowd as well.
I liked the simple storytelling, that was at the same time filled with small details. I really liked how each chapter was a sort of adventure of its own, again making it perfect for reading loud before bedtime :)
Overall, this is a book that I found charming and endearing with many cute stories. And I think that a young girl or boy ages 3-10 would especially enjoy it!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great book for girls over age 6

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life with Lily by Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher is an endearing story, centering on the daily life of a little Amish girl named Lily Lapp and her family. The book is written for young children, – those just beyond picture-book age. I read the first few chapters aloud to my 6-year-old and 4-year-old daughters. My oldest was the most interested, as she is old enough to listen for longer spans of time and can picture the story in her mind. My youngest was more interested in seeing the photo at the beginning of each chapter, and I'm not sure how much she paid attention during the reading of the chapter.
My oldest child enjoyed it more. Her main comment was "she's like a little girl that grew up a long time ago." We've visited a historic village with our children in the last year, and I think she was picturing that village from 'a long time ago' when she was listening to me. (No electricity, lots of animals etc.) She was fascinated to learn about Lily, and through her what it was like to be a little girl growing up Amish (much like it was to grow up a long time ago, but not quite).
The book is composed of 39 chapters, and each chapter can be read as an individual story. Each chapter builds upon the other into an over-arching story, but has a satisfying short storyline of its own. The stories involve Amish life, animal care, friendships, siblings, school, gardening and much more. They are told in such a way that the child learns about the Amish life, yet there are many things about the story that the child can still relate to.
A great read for ages 6 and up, particularly for girls.
* This book was received from the publisher for review. Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Children's Book

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a joy it was to read this book. I savored it and made it last...trying not to read it all in one sitting. Each day as I walked my Grandson's to the bus...they are ages 5 and 7, I told them about the previous days story. They started begging for more, and could sure relate to Lily and her brothers.
This is the story of a little girl Lily Lapp, and her life in an Amish family. We travel with her and her extended family, her Amish community, her school life, and her home life. We meet a lot of interesting people, some friends, and others??
The book reminds me of one of my favorites...Grandma's Attic Series by Arleta Richardson and the Little House on the Prairie series. I am so glad that now there are more wonderful stories to share with the boys, and I can't wait for the next book in the series. This is one of those books, that linger years after you read it, a very small number of books make it to this level in my mind.
I received this book through Litfuse Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life with Lily kind of reminds me of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s series, Little House on the Prairie, but it’s about an Amish girl. It’s all about family life on the farm….we live on a small farm so we really appreciate that.
It's definitely a book for children and that's why I am posting my daughter's thoughts about the book.
Life with Lily Review by My Daughter
Lily is a really sweet girl.
I loved the grandmother’s lesson on choosing the right friends and the influences they have on you.
I loved her friendship with Trisha. I liked the fact they were kind to Mr. Young even if he wasn’t kind to them. He was a grumpy man.
I thought Lily’s descriptions were very cute, especially the one about her new brother.
I felt very sorry for Levis’ character (he was her cousin) and what the new teacher did to him. I thought the way the parents dealt with it was very smart.
I didn’t really learn anything new because much of what was in the book is what my parents are teaching me or have already told me.
=====
Sounds like Peanut enjoyed Life with Lily by Suzanne Woods Fisher, so it gets a two thumbs up from us!
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In the style of Grandma's Attic...

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book is absolutely precious. It reminds me a lot of the Grandma's Attic books by Arleta Jackson which I love. It is in a similar style of each chapter kind of being its own story and they weave all together to create this wonderful picture of life on a farm as a little Amish girl. Lily is precocious and sweet and certainly speaks her mind - one of my favorite lines is when she declares (to herself) that her new baby brother is ugly! Why couldn't God send them a pretty baby? I actually giggled at that because it is so true - most babies are a little rough around the edges the first couple days - leave it to Lily to say it like it really is! That is kind of how the book goes - you will find yourself smiling and enjoying yourself. It is written for the 8-12 (tween) group, but I enjoyed it and believe my 16 year old will as well. My 12 year old and her 8 year old sister are actually starting it together now. I look forward to more Life with Lily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Now an Amish series designed for young children!

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a huge fan of Christian Amish Fiction for many years now and sometimes it was hard to be able to relate to my youngest daughter how incredible the stories are and what life is like for the Amish people. It's a simple life, one free from complications that arise when you have too much going on in your life or with technology overload. So when the opportunity came along to review, Life with Lily, the first book in The Adventures of Lily Lapp series by Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher, I knew this was the answer I was searching for to get my daughter involved with the love of reading about the Amish through the eyes of a young Amish girl, Lily Lapp.
This is a beautifully illustrated chapter book designed for your child from 3rd grade reading and up to see what Lily Lapp's life is like as she goes through her day. The book is 270 pages designated into 39 easy to read chapters that would make for a perfect bed time story to read to your child. There are chapters that deal with Lily's birthday, how the Amish celebrate Halloween and Christmas, first day at school, what life on an Amish farm is like, the chores Lily has to do and how she deals with farm animals, new friends and interesting people she meets along the way.
For me one of my favorite chapters was "An Unwanted Schoolhouse Visitor" where the school's superintendent, Mr Wilt comes to visit to see what the children are doing. Since Lily's in first grade, she is working on her Learning Through Sounds book in which she is cutting out pictures and gluing them beside the letters that begin with the sound, something she really enjoyed while trying hard not to get distracted by Mr. Wilt as he walks around their one room school house. He had come to ensure that each of the children were learning what they should at their assigned grade levels which Lily passed with flying colors but not all the children did as well as she did. In fact, what Mr. Wilt wanted them to learn wasn't something that the Amish agreed with such as learning about evolution. You'll have to pick up this book to see what happens when the Amish learn about what has been going on at the school.
I received Life with Lily compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Revell Publishers for my honest review. I am absolutely thrilled that my daughter has enjoyed reading this with me and it gives us an opportunity to talk about the lifestyles that some families have that are different from ours. It allows us to interact more and show how truly educational reading can be and how it really brings us together as a family. After we finished, my youngest daughter realized that while something may be different, Lily is a lot more like her than she first thought. They like the same things and they both still have to deal with school! I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to continue the series with my daughter. It's almost like a Little House on the Prairie series but dealing with an Amish girl named Lily instead! It's a heartwarming and charming book to get your child interested in the love of reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great to read with young kids

Date:October 5, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily is just a little 6-year-old girl who is Amish and lives with her Mama, Papa, and her two younger brothers. She experiences the simplicities of the Amish life, but finds such amazement in the little things. She enjoys helping her mother carry out her chores, playing with her brother, befriending other children, and her life never falls short of adventure. In fact, some of her adventures made me cringe, but I was so glad to see that my kids share in some of her adventures! I liked seeing how they participated in certain holidays and special events because we put so much emphasis on the gifts when they put the emphasis on the person and on the event or holiday. They seem to focus on the the reason of why they are gathered together celebrating.
It took me a few chapters to get used to reading shorter, less complex sentences but once I got the hang of the writing style, I really enjoyed this book. I only mention that because it is written more for younger children, but it's a great book for a mother to read to her children before bed or during story time. I actually read a lot of it to my 2-year-old and my 4-year-old. I got lots of "whys" to some of the stories, but they really enjoyed it. I liked reading something beside short little books.
I am putting this book on the shelf, right beside the Little House on the Prairie books and the Anne of Green Gables because I know this will be a series that I want my daughter to read and re-read as she grows older. I love how the book is written from Lily's perspective. Most of the Amish books are written from the adults perspective, or the teens, but it was neat to think about how a little girl might feel or interact with her peers. I'm excited about this new series and all the possibilities for Lily. I kind of could see a new "American Girl" series beginning! Except for the fact....well...it'd be about the Amish instead!
___________________
I received this book free from Revell, a part of Baker Publishing, and Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life with Lily

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily Lapp is just starting school in the first grade. She really likes here new teacher and all the fun things she gets to do in school. She gets to sit beside her cousin Hannah. Her favorite thing to do is art and recess. She has to learn to not to let her peers influence her into doing things that always end up getting her in trouble.
At home Lily is her mother's little helper while learning to to do what it takes to care for her families needs. A big part of her daily activities is watching over her two younger brothers. It is not all school and chores there is plenty of fun time.
She has a new miniature horse she named chubby and he pulls a little cart she can ride by herself.
This is a sweet book that is similar in many ways to the Little House on the Prairies series. It is about the everyday activities of a six year old little girl. Her and her family are Old Order Amish. Author Mary Ann Kinsinger takes memories from her childhood to build the story of Lily. Suzanne Woods Fisher pulls all of these memories together into this darling series.
I plan on getting this series for my granddaughters. They will learn through Lily's series that life does not always go the way they might expect. It will teach them the importance of family, following the rules and having trust and faith in God. It is an all around fun read.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Revell/Baker Publishing/Litfuse for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can a person not love Lily? She’s a delightful child.
This is such a good book for the age group of 8-12. These older children are now reading books with chapters, and each chapter here tells a story. It’s just right for short attention spans. A child can read for as long as he or she wants,; then put the book down until ready to read again.
I’m looking forward to the next book of Lily’s adventures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Read Aloud

Date:October 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in upstate New York, in a small Amish community, 6 year-old Lilly Lapp and her family enjoy a simple life on their farm. Lily’s days are filled with helping her mother, collecting the eggs, school, and playing with her brothers; 4 year-old , Joseph, and baby Dannie.
As I read this story to my little girls we were able to take a peek into Amish life through the eyes of Lily. They learned that Lily is a lot like them, she likes to play with dolls, color, help her parents, and sometimes she is naughty.
I enjoyed reading Life with Lily with my two daughters, who are 5 and 8, The story is reminiscent of Little House on the Prairie. and Lily reminded us of Laura Ingalls.
I recommend Life with Lily to children ages 5-12, but I think Moms will like the story just as much, if not more, than than their children.
Life with Lily is the first of four books in The Adventures of Lily Lapp series.
**Life with Lily by Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

heart-warming

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Life of Lily Lapp reminded me alot of Little House on the Prairie only dealing with Amish life and adventures. The chapters are short and direct about an aspect of Amish life but yet they intertwine into the life of Lily. Lily is fun loving and full of mischief and adventure though she tries her hardest to be good.
A copy of this book was provided in exchange for my honest review through Litfuse book tours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Child's Introduction to Amish Life

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you grow the next generation of Amish fiction readers? One way is to introduce them at an early age to The Adventures of Lily Lapp. The series is co-authored by a bestselling writer of Amish fiction (Suzanne Woods Fisher) and a former Amish (Mary Ann Kinsinger) whose memories form the basis for the stories.
Life with Lily is a charming story about a lovely little Amish girl. Lily Lapp is six years old when the story begins, and she seems to find adventure and important lessons in the day-to-day routines of life.
This book, directed toward children ages 8-12, is also a fun read for adult fans of Amish stories. It could easily be treated as a collection of short stories with short chapters that make easy reading for young readers and would likely hold the attention of pre-readers as well. Englisch children will find Lily to be much like them in many ways while also learning about differences in her Amish world. Watching Lily grow through the four novels in this series will be a delightful adventure, one to be shared by readers of all ages.
Lily even has her own website where young readers can have additional fun.
(This book was provided free from Revell Publishers for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Life with Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet story

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Life With Lily” we see the world through the eyes of a six-year-old Amish girl named Lily. We meet Lily as she is about to learn of the birth of her new brother. Lily is inquisitive, smart and adorable. Always willing to help, Lily takes care of her little brothers, helps her mother with the cooking and her father with the chores. There is always an abundance of work on an Amish farm and a lot of people to help, both young and old.
The Amish life is one of simplicity and resourcefulness. The Amish are simple people who know the value of life and family. Lily’s story may be remarkable to those of us who live with grocery stores, modern conveniences and technology. For all of these things which are supposed to make our lives easier, the Amish life seems much simpler and family-oriented. Lily learns the important things and we see, through her eyes, the world as it could be.
Lily’s life is not always easy but it is filled with a love and family. Lily’s adventures are heart-warming and a perfect story for children in the 8-12 age range.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Publishing Group as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.