Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2

Revell A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2

Lily Lapp and her family are moving to Pennsylvania to join a new Amish community where changes and newcomers are greeted with suspicion. Lily must learn to adjust at her new school and make new friends, despite a boy who teases her endlessly and a new baby brother at home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Review 1 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
servant
Location:asbury park nj
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this book because it is so real. When im done reading a book of lily lapp i feel a little sad because i dont want it to end ive been with lily since she was five.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

an Amish Little House series

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is such a refreshing series for children and adults alike. It reminds me of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House series....but with an Amish setting. I had not read the first book in series but that did not cause problems for me as I read Book Two.
This book actually provided a great deal of information on the Amish life for me and it would be especially useful for those who have many questions about the Amish faith. Lily is such a sweetie but is also very much a little girl with her own personal struggles and Aaron is one of the things that drives her crazy. He is the irritating little boy in her one-room Amish school who continuously tries to irritate her. Lily is not happy with the move her family has made to a new home in a new state. This book will speak to many, young and old alike, who are experiencing change of any kind. I was really pleased with this book. It took me on a mini-vacation to an Amish farm in Pennsylvania for a short while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another charming glimpse of life as an Amish girl

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A New Home for Lily" is the second book in an Amish Juvenille fiction series "The Adventures of Lily Lapp" by authors Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher. Although I did read book one of this series, my children and I would have enjoyed this book even without having read the first one. A lovely trait of both books is that each individual chapter is a small story of its own - making it perfect for bedtime story reading! The stories also connect into one over-arching story line, but the fact each chapter is a story of its own is perfect for younger readers with shorter attention spans.
I have read quite a bit of Amish fiction, but this series is the first I have ever read that is written from the viewpoint of a very young child. My girls don't get that this is modern day and call it 'stories about the girl who lived in a long time ago.' And really, that is what is unique about reading Amish fiction. It doesn't feel like our everyday lives, and yet we can still relate to the frustrations and joys these loveable younger characters face within the chapters of this series.
In book two Lily is dealing with learning to love the things that are different about her family's new home in a new town. A new school, new friends ... and all the feelings of being uprooted and transplanted into a new situation. What small child can't relate to starting in a new classroom or a new school - even if they don't have to move to a new home?
* This book was provided by Revell for review with no promise of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In the style of Grandma's Attic...

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I love the way this series of books reminds of the style of the Grandma's Attic books from when I was a kid. The storyline through the book is the continuous but each chapter kind of stands on its own too - I love that! This book is fun but touching at the same time. There is a chapter where Lily gets a new doll that she is so excited about but... well, let's just say that I was very moved during that chapter and almost wanted to quit reading the book because of how emotionally attached I was getting with Lily and her desires. But the way this book really gives us a glimpse inside the way the Amish community works is amazing. I can't wait for my girls to read this book. It is really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our darling, little Lily is back, but no longer in New York. Her family has moved to Pennsylvania.
Everything is different, and Lily’s not sure very much of it is better. Each chapter is a delightful little story about Lily’s adjustments to changes in her life. Changes that include a new baby brother. (Why can’t it be a sister?)
This is a book that any young girl or boy will enjoy. Big people, too.
***A special thanks to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for girls!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is awesome! However the one part I didn’t like was the cover. It was as welld one as the other one, or maybe I am just a bit more picky. I don’t know for sure. But the book itself is a very good one.
Lily Lapp moves to a new home and with come lots of adventures. But Lily must watch out for the nasty Aaron Yoder and the persnickety Eve Kuffman. But when Aaron goes missing, is Lily the only person who can find him?
In this book Lily not only moves and has a lot of fun times, she gets a new baby brother, as nice as he is she still really wants a little sister.
Once Lily’s friend Beth, says that if you look in a mirror when the clock strikes midnight, you will see what you will look like in your coffin. And so Lily starts turning her mirror around when she goes to sleep. But one night she forgot and see herself now. So she tells her mother and finds out it was just a superstition.
I think girls of any age will enjoy this book, it is a page turner for sure. I give it five turning pages.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in this story of Lily's life, and just as good as the first one! You do not need to read the first to enjoy this one, but don't miss it!
This story begins with Lily Lapp's move from her home in NY to PA, a new school, and new friends. At first it seems like all children, where NY was better for everything.
There are some funny and some sad things that happen, every day life, but we are traveling with Lily, a young Amish girl. In this story we are entering second grade, and at the end of the book, we are going to go into fourth grade in the fall.
The Lapps are now living near their Grandparents Miller, and Lily is able to play dolls and visit often. Her Aunt Suzie has Downs Syndrome, but leads a very normal life among the Amish.
Be ready for some great children's adventures here, asking to sleep in the barn....feeding a calf, and owning some new goats!
I love reading these stories to my Grandson's, and at times they are almost rolling on the floor! Enjoy!!
I received this book through the Revell's Book Blogging Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Fun with Lily

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few months ago, I had the privilege of reading the first installment in the Adventures of Lily Lapp series. (See my review here.) I recommended this series as a great way to introduce young readers to Amish fiction. Book two, A New Home for Lily, reinforces that recommendation.
Following Lily through her day-to-day life as a young Amish girl makes for a fun read. Knowing that the story is based on real-life memories of a former Amish girl makes the book even more enjoyable. Lily's adventures provide excellent opportunities for readers, young and old alike, to learn more about Amish customs. And those with no connection at all to Amish ways can identify with Lily's challenges in adjusting to the new life she finds when her family moves from their familiar surroundings in New York to a new home in Pennsylvania. There are lots of moments that can bring a smile or a chuckle as Lily finds herself in one kind of fix or another.
Just like book one, this book can be read in large segments, or each chapter can be enjoyed as a short story.
Kudos to Suzanne Woods Fisher and Mary Ann Kinsinger for combining their first-hand knowledge of the Amish and excellent writing skills to craft a sweet series of stories.
Lily has her own website where young readers can have additional fun. Updates are made to the website with the release of each book in the series.
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
(This book was provided free from Revell Publishers for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Adventure in Growing Up with Lily

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A New Home for Lily
The Adventures of Lily Lapp Book 2
By Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher
After reading book 1 ~ Life with Lily, I was very happy to review the second book in this delightful series. Lily's family has moved from New York to Pennsylvania and Lily is adjusting to her new home and new school.
But new surroundings bring new problems. Mandy Mast was left behind in New York, but Pennsylvania has Effie Kauffman and Aaron Yoder. Lily struggles to remember Mama's advice that "it is much more important to treat others kindly than to think they have to be nice to you."
But Lily is growing up and having new adventures and learning along the way. Lily starts helping Mama with some cooking and learns that Jell-O is not as easy to make as it looks when she makes some for Grandma Miller's birthday - lots and lots of Jell-O! Lily's adventures in cooking continue with Thanksgiving pudding and stuffed eggs! With Lily in the kitchen mealtime isn't boring.
Lily's new home bring new animals in the form of goats. Goats are new and exciting and they are milked just like a cow. But to Lily's amazement goat's milk is not good, instead tasting like the big billy goat smelled (I can totally agree with Lily's assessment of goat's milk and the flavoring of billy goat to it!).
Lily also learns that there are differences between New York and Pennsylvania Amish - different clothes, different head coverings, different ways of doing things, different dolls and even different jobs.
But through it all Lily is learning and growing as a person and she comes to realize that sometimes being a grown-up is difficult. Lily also experiences death as she loses her Great-grandmother and birth as the Lapp family welcomes a new baby.
I would highly recommend this series to anyone looking for a Little House type book to share with their children. This is recommended for ages 8 - 12, but I think it would be a great family time read-a-loud book. This would also make an excellent series for home schoolers to include in their reading list. You will be eagerly awaiting A Big Year for Lily when you finish A New Home for Lily!
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review and all opinions are my own.
Available February 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A New Home for Lily, Adventures of Lily Lapp Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Sweet Lily Story

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the first book, Life with Lily, this is a delightful book to read to young children. As Lily settles into her new home, makes new friends, and meets new challenges, she eventually finds that this place is not as bad as she first thought. Once again, every chapter is a new adventure or learning experience for Lily and her siblings, all of which gives the reader a glimpse into the life of an Amish family, through the eyes of a sweet little girl.
As much as I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to every school and family with young children, I wondered if an Amish girl in grade two would really know about writing a Last Will and Testament or even know how to do that. Not that it is such a big deal, it just made me stop and think.
My sincere thanks to the authors and Revell for sending me this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.