Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Big Year for Lily, Book Three

Revell A Big Year for Lily, Book Three

Lily's family has settled into their new home, but life still holds big changes and big steps for Lily. Surprises are in store for her as she learns, with Mama and Papa's help, to manage the ups and downs of growing up Amish.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Review 1 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

absolutely great

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was absolutely great to be back in Pennsylvania with the Lapp family, and especially with Lily. She is such a fun girl, so active, both physically and in her imagination, dreams and projects. Not all of her projects turn out like she envisions them to, but turn out they do. Add in her cousin and best friend Hannah and you are either chuckling at their antics or cringing at the eventual outcome. Typical ten year olds who do not have access to entertainment except books and what they make themselves, their lives are full of drama. I learnt somethings too about their lifestyle (who knew that your tenth birthday ushered in a new and exciting season) and their dress. Those things that came up would not have been covered in an adult novel, because they would be of particular interest to young girls. I did not get the second book in the series, and though I do not have children in my house, I want to get each one of the series. Not since Little House on the Prairie have I found such a refreshing children's book series.
I received this book free from Revell Publishing Group through Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for an honest opinion. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Amish Read for kids

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am quite pleased to offer my review for a book that is possibly the only series of its kind. Amish books are so widely popular, and this is the perfect series for introducing children to this cultural phenomenon. I was privileged to read the first book, but I somehow missed the second book. As outstanding as the first book was, this book is even better! I was thoroughly engaged, and I often lost track of time as I raced through the pages.
At times I felt that I was reading "Little House on the Prairie" Amish-style. I took great delight in that series as a child, and this book is so similar and yet stands on its own. This book works well for the third book in the series, but it is also a stand-alone book. The characters appear to be authentic, and I appreciate the history and cultural lessons that are taught within this book. I found myself so engrossed, and the humor in the book was often laugh-out-loud funny. My only criticism is that I wish that the faith of these people was emphasized and explained in a more concrete way.
In short, if you have a child who wants to learn about the Amish culture, this is a perfect series to do just that. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Oh, and adults will love it, too! I sure did!
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Big Year for Lily

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily is approaching 10 yrs old, which is an important time for a young girl in the Amish community. She still likes to play with dolls with her friends, but one girl in particular seems to rub her the wrong way. No matter what Lily does this girl claims do it better if she can't she says it isn't lady like and should not be done. Dolls is one of the things this young girl thinks they are too old to play anymore. This girl and a particular boy at school are always causing trouble for someone especially for Lily.
Do you have anyone like this in your life? Someone that can ruin your whole day no matter how hard you try to avoid them.
I really enjoy reading this series, each book brings to light the normal everyday antics of Lily, like how she interacts with family and friends. Sometimes she does not always use good judgement. One of her bad traits is, "What my parents don't know won't hurt a thing." Wrong!
I am sure children will learn many good lessons from the mistakes the children in this book create. There are a lot of good things that come from the children actions too!
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Group/Revell for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lily grows and Lily learns

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We became friends with young Lily in book 1 of the series and continue our friendship in book 3 - A Big Year for Lily. Lily has her 10th birthday and that's a very big year in the life of a young Amish girl. She begins to dress differently, socialize differently, and supposedly behave differently.
But Lily is Lily and try as she might, she finds herself in one scrape after another. At school she contents with the boys - specifically one who seems to torment her and yet takes up for her. She has an issue, continuously, with one of the bossy girls. But Lily learns lessons in truthfulness, kindness, honor, and grace. She learns not to be nosy but to somewhat, at least, curtail her curiosity.
Lily is again a delightful little girl growing up Amish. But her life isn't really that much different from other little girls and the lessons each must learn as they grow. I heartily recommend this delightful book and series to young girls everywhere and to libraries public, church, school.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of A Big Year for Lily in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. No compensation was received for this review. Published by Revell a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is very interesting.

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phyl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price is very good. I was very happy with the speed of shipping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely, lively Lily Lapp

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another lovely, lively Lily Lapp tale! The third book in the series has enough details in it that it can be read without having read the first two volumes. It would make a perfect chapter book to read to young children or for a 6,7, 8 year-old and up to read alone.
As the family grows, Lily grows up gaining more responsibilities, often watching her baby brother, Paul. Her other siblings, Joseph and Dannie sometimes irritate her when she wants to spend time alone reading or painting pictures. Still she loves them and feels terrible when Dannie crashes into the barn on his first solo sled ride. Lily was supposed to be in charge, but couldn't resist his request to go down the hill alone. The family is trying to make the best of Christmas Day alone while Dannie recuperates, but would love to be with the extended family at Grandpa and Grandma's. They are surprised and touched when the entire Christmas Day feast is carried to them and all the relatives trek through the snow to spend the day with Lily's family. This is just one instance showing the strong family ties in the Amish brotherhood.
School has been a highlight in Lily's life in the past years and she can't wait till it starts again, especially since cousin Hannah will be at her school now. When Hannah takes a liking to Aaron, the boy who seems to live to make Lily's days miserable, it comes between the cousins. Lily is also left defending herself when someone keeps switching sandwiches in the students' lunches, making it appear that Lily is stealing! Being shy, she can't seem to find the words to convince the teacher that she is innocent and that leads to notes home to Mama and Papa. They find it hard to believe their sweet girl would do such things. She is so distraught when it keeps happening that she starts checking her lunch in the morning and at recess. Teacher Rhoda catches her returning yet another sandwich "plant" and assuming Lily is guilty, she assigns an unreasonable number of sentence writing: "Thou shalt not steal". Finally Aaron, her nemesis, tells the teacher that he saw Effie making a switch involving Lily's lunch. That took courage, because Effie, not the nicest girl in class, would definitely get back at Aaron eventually!
Home is a haven for Lily, especially her time with her father. When he takes her to town to help with the shopping, he rewards Lily with her first ice cream cone. She is delighted when he explains she can lick the ice cream right from the cone, but Papa forgot to explain that the cone was edible. Lily tosses it over the edge of the buggy thinking it was cardboard. She won't do that again!
She loves artwork, so Mama surprises her with a box of 64 crayons. Later when they are destroyed in a school fire, Papa replaces them for her. He even took a box of paints, brushes and art books as part payment for some work he did which he presented to Lily. She began painting pictures for gifts and dreams of the day she will be a famous artist and have ice cream after dinner, every single day. Also, store bought bread and deli meat in every school lunch!
Lily is still learning the lessons that every child needs to learn, how to think before she acts or speaks, and not to take matters into her own hands. The book ends with Lily turning ten, and that means a lot of changes in the clothes she wears and the privilege of sitting with her friends in church services. There will be one more book in this wholesome series and I just wish they had been written when my daughter was little! There are always granddaughters to read them to! Thank you Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher for this glimpse into the Amish world!
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was received to facilitate our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely our own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lily's Adventures Continue

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In A Big Year for Lily, Suzanne Woods Fisher and Mary Ann Kinsinger continue in a delightful way the adventures of Lily Lapp. This third book carries on the fun story of a precocious, now 10-year-old Amish girl who has a knack for getting into all kinds of escapades. Lily, while still a fun-loving little girl, is going through some of the rites of passage of growing up Amish -- things like wearing a straight-pinned dress and sitting with the other young girls at church services.
Lily's stories should hit well their intended audience of 8-12 year olds and serve as a perfect way to introduce a new generation to the genre. Young readers will identify with many details of Lily's life, at the same time learning about a culture with many differences from their own. As with the first two books, this one can be enjoyed in its entirety or on a chapter-by-chapter basis.
As before, Mary Ann's firsthand knowledge of growing up Amish and Suzanne's skillful writing work together for an enjoyable read for young and old alike.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a free copy of A Big Year for Lily in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reaching The Age of Ten

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished the third book in this series, and as usual I want more. The is a darling story of a loving Amish family, and among them is their nine year old daughter Lily. She becomes 10 during this book, and for an Amish girl it is a big step to womanhood.
Loved as she experiences big girl, or womenly dresses. Picking her own fabric, will she make the right choices. She will gain some new duties, and loose some fun things she enjoyed.
She loves that her cousin Hannah now lives nearby, but does Hannah have to like that awful boy Aaron? Made me think, that maybe in the future there maybe some interest in Aaron by Lily, and I can hear her now screaming at me..."No Way!!"
This book gives you a good feeling about people, loved the way Lily's Dad handled the boys who were stealing from them. We also meet the bullies, and the sneaking kids, think all schools have them.
Be ready for some cute adventures, when Lily and Hannah get together. What a wonderful wholesome book. This one you can share with you children. Too cute!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Big Year for Lily is full of new adventures!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Big Year for Lily
The Adventures of Lily Lapp #3
By Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher
A new school year is about to begin and Lily couldn't be happier, especially when she sees that she will be sitting next to cousin Hannah. But to Lily's utter shock and amazement Hannah isn't of the same frame of mind as she is where Aaron Yoder is concerned.
But growing up isn't easy and sometimes it isn't fair either. Effie Kauffman is as much a bully as ever and Lily and her friends are the target of Effie's meanness.
But there are plenty of good points to growing up too. Lily gets to start wearing pinned clothes(ouch!!!) and sitting with the girls in church instead of with Mama.
Lily has more adventures in cooking this time it isn't Jell-O but rather a birthday cake for Mama. Then there is a mishap with toasting marshmallows.
Being the only girl with 3 younger brothers can be a bit of a challenge especially on Saturdays and house cleaning. Then there are the times when she has to watch baby Paul and everyone else is doing something Lily wants to do.
A Big Year for Lily is sure to delight readers of the first two books in the Lily Lapp series as well as those new to the series. Lily is growing up and learning some important lessons along the way. Lily is a fairly good role model for young readers. Yes she makes mistakes and sometimes her thoughts may seem unreasonable, but she has a good relationship with her family which is a rare find in so many books marketed to young readers today. Lily Lapp is Laura Ingalls for today's reader!
I was provided a copy of this title by the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
Available July 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quickly Becoming A Family Favorite!

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily’s story continues in the Adventures of Lily Lapp series by Suzanne Woods Fisher and Mary Ann Kinsinger with book three -- A Big Year for Lily. This series has been recommended for children ages 8-12; although I have been reading these books aloud to my girls, ages 6 and 9, and I have found myself looking forward to our nightly reading times. I have even caught my boys ages 11, 14, and 17 listening in.
Amish children are not much different than “English” children. They enjoy playing many of the same games, playing with friends, and have to learn to deal with feeling left out and being jealous. Lily has a hard time getting along with Effie Kauffman, who tends to be very bossy. When Lily decides to climb an apple tree to pick the apples that are out of reach, Effie declares she is sinning and being unlady-like. Lily declares that to be untrue, but when she jumps from the tree and rips the back of her dress she is more than a little embarrassed. Even at home there are sibling rivalries between Lily and her younger brothers.
Lily finally was able to move from her hallway bedroom into her own bedroom in the attic. Her favorite part of the room was the window. She liked to pretend that it was a picture frame in which the picture changed throughout the day. But when bats started coming in and Papa couldn’t find how, she moved into her parents’ old room.
Lily experienced marshmallow and baking adventures, as well as, some well placed lessons like when Lily and her father were painting a sign to advertise her father’s woodworking business and a bumble bee landed in the wet paint on the sign. He wandered around the green sign with little white feet and Lily was upset over how the insect had ruined the perfect sign.
‘Papa only smiled “I don’t think any one will notice those tracks unless they look closely.” He dipped his paintbrush back into the jar of paint and started to paint another letter. “You know, Lily, the sign is a lot like the people we meet. If we want to find fault with it, we can look much closer and see things like those little tracks. In fact, by looking too closely, you’ll notice that some of the letters aren’t exactly perfect. If we focus on those little faults, we’ll forget that the sign is actually a pretty good sign.”
Papa put the paintbrush down, “I could brush some more green paint over those little tracks, but I think I’ll just leave them. That way whenever you and I see this sign, it can remind us to focus on the good things in the people we meet instead of any little faults they might have.”’ (p.45)
My girls and I have enjoyed reading through the Adventures of Lily Lapp series together and have enjoyed watching Lily as she grows-up. They have learned that although she is Amish she really isn’t much different than them.
**A Big Year for Lily by Suzanne Woods Fisher and Mary Ann Kinsinger was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Big Year for Lily, Book Three
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect series for young readers!!!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lily Lapp is nine and for a young Amish girl there are as many challenges for her as any nine-year-old girl. Her first and foremost issue is dealing with Aaron Yoder, a boy that thrives on teasing Lily whenever the opportunity becomes available. When her pencil rolls off the desk and she bends over to retrieve it, he holds his hand over her head while the rest of her class laughs. Her only hope this year is that her Cousin Hannah is joining her. Perhaps dealing with Aaron with an ally by her side won't be so bad after all. But when Hannah soon finds that Aaron isn't as bad as Lily claims and even finds herself wondering if Aaron likes her, Lily is literally at wit's end. Could this year possibly get any worse?
In the latest novel, A Big Year for Lily, by authors Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher, The Adventures of Lily Lapp continues in book 3. Geared for children 8 and up, this makes a wonderful chapter book to get your child started in loving a different kind of life as an Amish child. Most of the time, there are very few differences between any nine-year-old. There are sibling rivalries as Lily is the only girl in a houseful of boys, there is the bossy classmate, Effie, who thinks all the things Lily is interested in are simply things a girl should never participate in, even calling a climb in the apple tree a sin, which Lily proudly proclaims is not. Only to her horror, she jumps from the tree and rips the backside of her dress causing her to be more than a little embarrassed.
There are so many wonderful adventures that Lily participates in, from having finally achieved her own bedroom in the attic only to discover at night that bats are getting in somehow, to baking her mother a wonderful birthday cake which turns out hilarious. There are also some wise bits of Amish wisdom tucked away in some of these charming stories one of my favorites being the time Lily and her father were painting a sign for their mom and a bumble bee lands in the wet paint on the sign. He begins to wander around the green sign with white little feet and Lily is upset over the how the insect has ruined the perfect sign. Her father reminds her that each time she sees the sign it will remind her to focus on the good in others instead of seeing all their faults.
I received A Big Year for Lily by Mary Ann Kinsinger and Suzanne Woods Fisher compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Revell Publishers for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. I am super excited to share this latest novel with my niece who inhales chapter books as fast as I do novels. I can't wait to hear what she thinks of Lily's life growing up Amish and how it compares to hers. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait for A Surprise for Lily coming soon. There is a great discussion guide at the end that helps parents explain to their children just what some of the concepts are in the Amish way of life and even a recipe for Lily's favorite Sweetheart Pudding which is served at Amish weddings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.