Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank

Revell Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank

Christmas may be the most wonderful time of the year, but it's also one of the most stressful--and most expensive. But you don't have to overspend or go into debt to have a fabulous holiday. Financial expert Mary Hunt shows you how to assess your situation, commit to no new debt, and think creatively about gifts. With Mary's guidance, you'll discover what caused you to overspend in the past and how to approach this Christmas with a plan. It just might be the best gift you can give yourself and your family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Review 1 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great ideas!

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christmas has become so commercialized and too many people feel they have to go into debt to buy just the right gift for everyone. This book is full of practical and affordable ideas to keep Christmas spending down and to focus on the true meaning of Christmas. It includes lots of great recipes, decorating ideas, simple gift suggestions, ideas for home made gifts, as well as wonderful heartwarming stories of what others have done to keep Christmas meaningful. I will be keeping this book on my e-reader for future reference!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some helpful information on saving money

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author, Mary Hunt, is a well known financial adviser. Her tips can really help you as you try to conserve your money while still making those around you happy with just the right gifts.
I gave this book 4/5 stars. Part of this book is about ways to conserve money and part is about handmade and personal items you can make at Christmas time to save money. I have read other books by Mary Hunt and this one is not my favorite. It could have been shorter if she had just stuck with actual debt free tips and not all the gift ideas. That said it is a helpful book and you cannot help but learn something from her many tips.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
DiDiW
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I was looking for. It's practical and down-to-earth, and also fun to read. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great financial tool

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs. White
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this difficult economy, it is wonderful to see a book focused on avoiding financial catastrophe at Christmas time. Mary Hunt, a well-known Christian financial expert, helps us avoid the traps of consumer spending. She knows the emotion and desperation of how much we want to buy presents, and lots of them, for our loved ones. Somehow, she guides us away from this kind of destructive thinking. She makes us look at what overabundance does to our families and to our financial stability.
The book contains 18 chapters, covering topics about our shopping attitude, finding cash, giving gifts that cost little or nothing, traditions, and so much more.
At the end of each chapter, there is a sweet letter from a reader. These are memories or ideas from their own homes of pleasant Christmas gifts or traditions that don't cost much money.
Some helpful quotes from the book:
p. 31 - "Debt is the result of reacting impulsively."
p. 40 - She encourages savings by talking about the old fashioned Christmas club accounts. "As little as ten dollars a week would result in a check for five hundred dollars."
Debt - Proof Your Christmas is a tremendous tool for planning a peaceful, stress -free Christmas. It is a book you will pull out year after year, to keep you on track.
*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Celebrating the holidays without breaking the bank

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas arrives every year right on schedule—same date, same expectations—and every year right on schedule, many of us are trying to add more events to our schedule, more gifts to our list and more money to our credit cards.
Mary Hunt, Founder of Debt-Proof Living, remembers the worst Christmas she ever had in her book, “Debt-Proof Your Christmas.” After hiding bills from her husband to have enough money to spend on Christmas presents, it wasn’t enough. With every credit card maxed and no extra money, Hunt took drastic measures which just mad e matters worse.
Making poor financial decisions around Christmas is easy to do. The best advice from Hunt’s book is to have a spending plan. She guides you through a process of how to decide how much you can spend without causing additional stress. Several chapters are devoted to homemade Christmas gifts with recipes and instructions as well as a family fun chapter which lists free activities your family can participate in together which will add joy to the holiday season and create lifelong memories.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book I wish I had when I still had a family at home. I certainly needed it then.
I’ve managed to come to terms with a Christmas season that is much less materialistic as I continue to tr to simplify my life. Still, this book has given me insight and new ideas.
It’s still early enough in the season to put a lot of this into practice. If you’ve already blown it for this year, you can make this year’s plunge into (or further into) debt be your last.
Just think how it will feel to have a more enjoyable holiday next year. You can start anew with the new year.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thrifty and Savvy!

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pilar Arsenec
Location:New Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I heard about "Debt-Proof Your Christmas", I had to read it. Mary Hunt's books are so helpful, full of savvy ways to learn how to budget, spend, save and much more.
"Debt-Proof Your Christmas" put everything in perspective. I love all the tips, recipes, creative and practical ideas this book offers.
I am glad I was able to read this book before Christmas. I learned so much and will definitely implement what I learned this Christmas season.
If you struggle with spending too much around the holidays and need practical advice and ideas on how not to, then this book is for you. I highly recommend "Debt-Proof Your Christmas".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spend Black Friday peacefully at home

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was just last week that families everywhere were gathered around the table giving thanks for their blessings and enjoying the fruits of their labor. For some of these families however, their time was cut short this year. Why? Because some had to report to work, while others simply chose to go and get in line @ some retail store on Thursday evening for the NEW TIME and NEW KICKOFF of Black Friday. Call me crazy, I'm all about a good deal, and I am a Black Friday shopper but I don't go stand in line for any store nor do I go at some crazy hour!! I know just how crazy the atmosphere is even when I arrive sometime after noon! Mary has some great ideas that just might change your mind about how you do your Christmas shopping next year!
Mary Hunt's Debt-Proof your Christmas is filled with sooo much more than a recommended plan for getting through your Christmas debt free. She shares great ideas for gift giving, creating a plan for your budget and even the tools you'll need to be able to purchase a gift for that special person far before Christmas arrives. There are recipes for home-made gift giving as well as great holiday entertaining tips! Her BLACK FRIDAY is spent at home with her family, working together, making memories and far far away from any mall or outlet shopping!
Even if you have your shopping done and have all those gifts wrapped and under the tree, this book is one that will help you regardless of when you read it. In fact, it is one that will benefit you as the new year arrives. It will be one to refer to as the year goes quickly by and would make a Terrific gift for just about anyone!
I know I will benefit from this book greatly! Thank you Donna Hausler and Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group for allowing me this complimentary book in exchange for my honest review! It is most definitely a 5 ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥'s
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The recipes make this book!

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s that time between Thanksgiving and the new year. The time when everyone is zeroed in on the next BIG holiday. Of course, I’m talking about Christmas. We’re fully ensconced in the season of gift giving.
Which means we’re also fully ensconced in the season of spending money, lots and lots of money. Often we’re spending in a frenzy, trying frantically to remember what we gave great-Aunt Hilda last year and trying to remember what she gave us so we can be sure to top the monetary value this year. Often though we just can’t remember so we rush to the stores without a plan, nary a thought in our heads about what we have to spend. When our wallets are sadly bereft of cash, it’s no problem, we’ll just whip out Mr. Plastic and let him make our purchases for us.
The only problem with that? When the bill comes in January, Mr. Plastic is sadly quiet and suddenly not quite so nice.
Mary Hunt, financial guru most noted for her no-nonsense approach to digging your way out of a mountain of debt, has written a book on this subject, Debt Proof Your Christmas. As far as “how-to get out of debt” books go, this is really just another one. If’ you’ve read any other book about finances, you could pass this one by.
BUT! This book is worth it’s weight in gold because of the recipes in the back!! Recipes for holiday gift giving, holiday spiced nuts, slow-cooker sugared nuts, recipes for “Gift in a Jar”, Mocha Mix, Friendship Tea Mix, Cappuccino Mix etc. Worth it’s weight in gold!
So if your finances are on track, but you’re looking for new inexpensive gift ideas, get this book! If you’re finances aren’t on track, but you’re desperately trying to get them there, get this book and make some Christmas gifts. Your house will smell divine and the recipient will get the weight gain. What could be better!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prepare for a debt-free, joyous Christmas!

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Debt-Proof Your Christmas
By Mary Hunt
Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank...
Do you feel that Christmas is not a season of joy, but rather a season of stress and spending? There are ways to simplify your Christmas so that you can recapture the true spirit of the season.
Debt-Proof Your Christmas offers a new way to look at the commercialism that has taken this day hostage. We have fallen into the trap that says that the more we give the better the season will be, but the trap is sprung after Christmas when the bills start coming in.
If you refuse to use credit for your holiday spending and instead use cash you will become a more conscientious spender. Another hint for cutting the debt involved with Christmas is to plan for Christmas throughout the year. Last minute purchasing is an instant stress maker that will make you feel that you need to spend and buy more.
You need a plan to 1) save money towards your holiday spending, 2) have a list of possible gifts, and 3) enjoy time with your family. Christmas that is spent rushing around to meet deadlines won't bring you joy and time spent making memories with family is more important than an expensive gift that won't last.
Mary offers a wide range of options for homemade gifts that can be created throughout the year. Cookie recipes, jams, pickles, relish, bubble bath, play dough, kitchen potpourri and more are offered as gift options. Creating a gift of memories is also an option. If it comes from your heart even a letter can mean more than the expensive gift basket that was thrown together by a company.
Some of Mary's ideas for saving money include cutting out an occasional coffee, brown bagging your lunch a couple days a week, or skipping a dinner out and pocketing this saved money. These are good tips if you buy a daily coffee, purchase lunch daily, or got out to dinner on occasion, but if you are someone like me who doesn't drink coffee, has leftovers for lunch, and goes out to eat at the absolute most once every two years these tips are a big joke offered by every expert on cost cutting.
Overall I think this book can offer helpful advice to the stressed out Christmas participant. We need to get back to the simplicity of the season. The old Andy Williams song You Meet the Nicest People at Christmas Time will again be true if we all step back and enjoy the Christmas season and not turn it into a sport to see who can spend the most on gifts, food, and decorations.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review, all opinions expressed are my own
Available September 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sane Advice To Handle Christmas Pressure & Finance

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Hunt in her new book, “Debt-Proof Your Christmas” published by Revell gives us ways for Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank.
From the back cover: Christmas — with no debt, less stress, and more joy.
Christmas may be the most wonderful time of the year, but it’s also one of the most stressful–and most expensive. Expectations run high and it’s tempting to whip out the credit cards to create the perfect Christmas for your family, with lavish meals, new decorations, and the latest, greatest gadgets and fashions for everyone on your Christmas gift list.
But you don’t have to overspend or go into debt to have a fabulous holiday.
Financial expert Mary Hunt shows readers how. She helps readers assess their financial situation, commit to no new debt, and think creatively about their gift list. With Mary’s guidance, readers will identify what has caused them to overspend in the past and approach this Christmas with a plan and a new attitude toward holiday spending. This just might be the best gift you can give yourself and your family.
Mary Hunt has put a few cartoons in ”Debt-Proof Your Christmas” and one of them has a husband, his arms filled with bill statements, telling his wife who is standing there with horror on her face, “We’ve just been visited by the spirit of Christmas past…due!” Christmas is a wonderful time of the year. It seems to change most everybody. You see more smiles, more willing to get along, more sharing at Christmas than at any other time of year. It is also the time of year when we feel the pressure to purchase things as we need to have presents under the tree, we need to have Christmas parties with big dinners at our home, we need to have Christmas clothes. All these needs cost money which we may not have and so we rack up credit card debt. A comedian wrote, “If you didn’t have the money in May, June, July, August, September or October then you probably don’t have it now so don’t give in to the “Black Friday” sales call. Otherwise you might experience black out Saturday as you spent the light bill money. ”Debt-Proof Your Christmas” is loaded with helpful advice, tip, dos and don’ts that will help to keep you focused, on-track and sane. It is not a gloomy picture that Ms. Hunt presents us with it is just a matter of self-control and a battle plan that begins longs before December. ”Debt-Proof Your Christmas” is a great book. You might want to hold it in a special place on your shelf you might be referring to it again and again. This is also a great book to give as gifts to family and friends. They will think of you every time they put it to use. I recommend it highly.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
“Available September 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Debt-Proof Your Christmas: Celebrating the Holidays without Breaking the Bank
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This will help me!

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
aknitica
Location:Ottawa, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great ideas and encouragement, not just for avoiding overspending, but also for enjoying the Christmas season with less stress. I'm looking forward to making our family "plan" for the holidays, finding free-yet-special ways to make memories, and avoiding the stress of buying last-minute presents and spending too much because I didn't plan ahead.
My only disappointment comes from the formatting of the ebook. The version I bought October 29, 2012, is missing text in the points at the end of a couple chapters. I'll be halfway through an idea (with a little lightbulb icon beside it), but when I go to the next "page," the rest isn't there. I'd recommend getting the trade paperback version until they fix this problem. Otherwise, I so very highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.