Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan/Youth Specialties The Healer's Apprentice

Zondervan/Youth Specialties The Healer's Apprentice

An imaginative and romantic retelling of the classic fairy tale Sleeping Beauty! When Rose, a young woodcutter's daughter, falls in love with the village ruler, their relationship is complicated by a curse. Will their shared faith enable them to follow God's will for their lives---even if his plans don't include a happy ending? 272 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Healer's Apprentice
Review 1 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE this book!

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit that I only read this book because my 10 year old son (who is now 11) told me that I had to read “The Captive Maiden”.
Now you’re wondering why…
Once upon a time, I signed up to win a copy of Melanie Dickerson’s “The Captive Maiden” and I won. I was surprised because I don’t usually win when I sign up for giveaways. I do it to show support for the author.
But apparently God meant for me to read this series!
I was not impressed when I started reading the book. The cruelty was almost too much for me and I stopped reading. Then my son picked up the book, looked at the cover and read the back. After that, he demanded that I read it. This was such a rare occurrence (usually he ignores the books I buy or teases me about it) that I knew I had to give it a try.
And again, it must have been God’s leading.
These books are the absolute BEST versions I’ve ever seen of what are typically know of as “classic” fairy tales!
I’ve read reviews that complain about the strong themes in these books and I’ve read reviews that say they wish more from the original tales had been incorporated. And I am here to tell you that, in my opinion, they are wrong.
Melanie Dickerson deals with hard-core themes, yes. But she does it in a way that is honest and realistic while maintaining, what some may feel are ridiculously, high standards of modesty and decency – but I find refreshing in a world of bared bodies and brutish language. Our children need to be aware of these things and how to deal with them, especially since they are very much a part of the world we live in today. As much as I would like to shelter them from everything bad or wrong in the world, they have to know that evil exists and they have to know how to confront it!
I feel that Melanie Dickerson presents these harsh issues with grace and discretion.
And as for having more from the original tales, I think it is amazing how well Melanie weaves the pieces of the classic fairy tales through her own stories – using them to help tell the story and reveal the hidden truths slowly throughout.
“The Healer’s Apprentice” is a masterpiece of reality blended flawlessly with fairy tale!
Melanie Dickerson’s characters are simply astonishing – well written, colorful and embodying the very same values and flaws of the heroes and villains that inspired them. And, as much as I would love to say that she always paints the bad guys as bad – it would not be true to life if that were the case.
Evil is deceptive and tricky and it is not always easy to see it for what it really is.
The plot is so well-conceived, it is difficult to believe this is the first book she wrote after fifteen years of not writing. It flows beautifully and there is absolutely nothing I can think that would add to it.
Amazing!
And now I have three more books to look forward to – “The Merchant’s Daughter” and “The Fairest Beauty” right now and “The Princess Spy” releases soon!
Exciting!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for younger girls

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teri
Location:Neosho, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews, I bought this entire series for my 12 year old daughter for Christmas. Unfortunately she can't read them as they are not appropriate for younger girls. I guess because we homeschool, my children have maintained their innocence longer than other children because insinuations of rape and/or premarital sex do not figure into their worldview. I also did not realize that it is romance -ugh! I want my daughter to focus on the Lord not some 'Prince Charming'. I have tried to read the book to check for its appropriateness but just can't get past the contrived storyline and trite characters. So sorry I wasted money on this Christmas present which my daughter cannot enjoy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
ezrafam
Location:Tampa FL
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A beautifully written book. My friend and I read it, we both think it might be the best book we have ever read. It has some great characters, and it has interesting and rather unexpected events. I wasn't positive how it would turn out, besides of course who would end up with who. That was obvious to me, and even though I knew that it was a very gripping read. I have read other books and put them on the shelf to read, maybe once a year. This one I've read over and over again, it's a masterpiece.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Retelling of Sleeping Beauty

Date:September 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
KenzieB
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose couldn't stand there gaping, so she spurred her mind to action. "Lay him on the bed. Where is he hurt?"
With breathtaking emotion, Melanie Dickerson sweeps you into a story of a healer's apprentice that will leave you craving for more. She draws you into the story of Rose, who is struggling to find her identity. All Rose wanted was to prove that she was capable to become the next town healer...and to forget the engaged Lord Hamlin, who she had nursed back to health.
But it seems like forgetting is a lot harder than she thought.
The Healer's Apprentice is a story I won't soon forget. I actually did not know that the story was a retelling of Sleeping Beauty until I finished the book, which made it even better. The tension of the story keeps you reading for hours. It is enjoyable, fun, intriguing, and has some mysteries along the way. I fell in love with all the characters (except the "evil" ones) and wish that the book was a little longer.
The ending was a little predictable, but besides that I loved it! I'll definitely be on the look-out for more Melanie Dickerson books in the future.
Recommended for ages 13 and up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

4.5 Stars, Congratulations Melanie!

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I literally JUST finished this book and my thoughts: this was gooood!
Now, I must admit that I am really not a reader of legends and tales. In fact, this might explain why I had trouble getting into the story --If you ask me, things were moving fast and most of the outcomes were obvious. And the 'love' story between Rupert and Rose? Good heavens, it made me wanna seriously squeeze myself into the story and slap some good sense into this 'lord'. But thank God for His divine mercy and grace. Which is really what this book is all about. Diving into the Medival times, (but writing in an understandable way) Melanie lets readers into the lives of Rose and compagny, living through twist and turns and in the end the message is GREAT and well put : God is the God of impossibilities. In the beginning, I didn't see how it was a retalling of Sleeping Beauty, but what is clear is that at the center of this love story there's a girl and the knight in shining armor. (Ladies did y'all the catch that? And no Rupert's NOT the one I'm talking about.)
I'm satisfied and I truly give a shout to Melanie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doesn't dissappoint

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
TaraW
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was leery when it was labeled "young adult," thinking it would be trite, but it was very satisfying and well written. I enjoyed it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite young adult book yet!

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Spicer, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Healer's Apprentice" is a wonderful read. While reading it, I found myself day dreaming about this book. It's one of those few books you can't wait to plunge into. The setting is described so vividly and the characters come alive as you read. I have also read Melanie Dickerson's second book, called "The Merchant's Daughter", which is also very good. I purchased both for our church library and they have been rated highly among all ages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely wonderful!!!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book! It literally fed my heart and soul! Little warning - This was one of those books that I couldn't put down no matter what so plan to read it when you know no one will be bothering you. Or at least that badly. My mind seriously was always on that book and even after I read it...I dreamed about it days after!
At first I was sort of questioning it because even though I knew who the talented Melanie Dickerson intended this book to be for, it was my friend's ninety year old grandmother that made me buy it. It was the very first time I saw her reading a fiction and was a great shock as she always gave lectures on how they were bad. Apparently, her daughter in law bought it for her saying she loved it and was going to visit her in a week. Knowing she would ask whether or not she read it, she finally broke down and read it. Boy did she break down! She was so wrapped up, she didn't even notice the barking dogs outside or the food my friend and I burnt by accident! I immediately read the description after she finally put the book down and bought the book even though I was sort of wondering whether or not I would like it as she, my friend's grandmother, usually reads quite boring books. I was so misguided!
This book was wonderful and is great for all ages! It is now a top favorite of mine and I will most definitively be buying Melanie Dickerson's future books! This is a MUST read!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Fairytale Romance

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth Axtell Morren
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a feeling Melanie Dickerson will become a new favorite author of mine. I loved this story; it had a wonderful fairytale quality to it, while at the same time sounding up-to-date enough for the contemporary reader. While technically a Young Adult book, it's the kind of romance that will appeal to any age. Dickerson has a heroine who appeals to the reader because she is a mixture of quiet/shy yet feisty. It's that underlying feistiness that catches the prince's eye. It's a medieval tale loosely based on Sleeping Beauty, and has an authentic feel to it. I especially enjoyed the hero and heroine's spiritual journey as each one is forced to grow in their faith. Wonderful ending. Some great *sigh* moments. Can't wait to read the next fairytale! And hope there are many more to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Heartwarming Tale

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rose is the daughter of a woodcutter in Hagenheim, Germany. She's been lucky enough to be taken into the Duke's castle as Frau Geruscha's apprentice healer. Even though her best friend is enamored of the Duke's returning handsome sons, Rose knows her place. That is, until the elder son, Lord Hamlin, becomes injured and Rose is required to sew him up.
Lord Hamlin has been betrothed to the neighboring duke's daughter since he was five years old, but he's never met the girl. An evil sorcerer threatened her when she was a baby, and her parents whisked her off to safety. She will come out of hiding on her eighteenth birthday and marry Lord Hamlin a week later. Hamlin has been seeking the sorcerer for many years and is nearly out of time before his wedding. He's been focused on family duty but, since his injury, he's fallen for the healer's lowly apprentice. How can he marry the princess when he loves another? How can he let Rose go when it seems someone is stalking her?
The Healer's Apprentice is a tale of historical fantasy and a rewrite of a much-loved fairy tale, fleshed out and set in 14th century Germany. Any lover of historical novels with a twist will be sure to enjoy Rose's well-researched, heartwarming tale.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Read

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josie girl
Location:Northern Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book, started out a little slow but once it started you could not put it down. Had twist and turns that kept you guessing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Destined To Become A Classic!

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melanie Dickerson takes us on an exciting medieval journey to 14th century Germany, where knights in shining armor, castles, lords and ladies, and of course, forbidden love and secrets abound! The lovely young Rose, is appointed as a healer's apprentice in Hagenheim Castle under the tutelage of Frau Geruscha. When the handsome Lord Hamlin, the future duke is injured, Rose must tend to him in the absence of Frau Geruscha. Out of gratefulness to Rose for helping her brother, Lady Osanna invites her to a festive ball and there she catches the eye of Lord Rupert, their other brother.
A romance with either brother, however, is forbidden, for Rose is a lowly woodcutter's daughter, and Lord Hamlin has been engaged since the age of five to a young lady he is soon to wed, though they have never met. Soon Rose is torn between both brothers and a web of deceit and treachery threatens her innocent life. Who is this mysterious young lady who is betrothed to Lord Hamlin?...and how can Rose get him out of her heart and mind? Are Lord Rupert's intentions toward her honorable? How can she have feelings for both brothers at the same time?...and what evil lurks around every corner? Will Rose trust God to lead her to her destiny or follow her young foolish heart?
A beautifully written page-turner, destined to become a classic, is a must read for all ages! I can hardly wait for Melanie's next book to be released, The Merchant's Daughter, a take on the wonderful classic, The Beauty and the Beast!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christy-nominated Debut book

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! I read it in electronic format. Melanie Dickerson has a lovely voice. The story and characterization was gripping. Ms. Dickerson acknowledges that she parallels another popular fairy tale, being inspired by time spent in a medieval German town but her “take” is original and compelling. The inspirational theme was strong.
Obviously those involved with the Christy awards nominations recognized the power in this story, too. Melanie’s debut novel was nominated for a Christy this year!
Rose is a sweet young lady, daughter of a woodcutter, who apprentices with Frau Gerushka, the village healer, in 14th century Saxony. Two royal brothers pursue her but only one will win her heart. One has pure attention but is betrothed to the mysterious Princess Salomea, whom the chivalrous Wilhelm seeks to find and protect. A very satisfying read and a lovely ending to this book.
This book also just won a Reader's Choice award.
Well done, Melanie!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Healer's Apprentice

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Healer's Apprentice is set during the Middle Ages in Saxony (Germany) and is loosely based on the Sleeping Beauty fairytale. It is the story of a poor woodcutter's daughter, Rose, and Lord Hamlin, the Duke's son, and their forbidden love. Rose is apprenticed to Frau Geruscha, the village healer, and though Rose tries hard to learn her future trade, she is sickened by the sight and smell of blood. When she must treat Lord Hamlin's injury, they begin to be drawn to each other. Rose's lack of social status and the fact that Lord Hamlin has been betrothed to Lady Salomea since he was 5 years old are obstacles that seem impossible to overcome. This is a Christian version of the fairy tale, however, and nothing is impossible with God. Lord Hamlin and Rose both have a strong faith, which helps them hold on to hope. Most of the story was predictable, though there were a few twists that surprised me, including the climax of the conflict. My Kindle dictionary got a workout while I read this book, but I enjoyed learning about some of the clothing, Church services, food, music and dances of the Middle Ages. This story is listed as YA, but I enjoyed it thoroughly, and I'm looking forward to The Merchant's Daughter, based on Beauty and the Beast, which releases later this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved reading this book! I read it in one day, which I have not done since my daughter was born over a year ago. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading historical fiction from this time period. I don't know why it is labeled teen fiction. I am not a teen, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! It was well written, and I love the Christian principles that were present. All around great book!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This splendid fairy tale of a medieval romance shouldn’t be limited to teens—it’s an enjoyable read for all ages! An enchanting story set in a castle, even if a bit predictable at times, The Healer’s Apprentice keeps readers enthralled with its mix of love story, intrigue and suspense as good battles evil. I like that the main characters turn to God for help and the way the Lord teaches them and works things out for their best. It’s not just a typical “and they lived happily ever after.”
The Healer’s Apprentice explores relations between peasants and nobility and topics such as selfishness, duty, forbidden love, and discovering one’s destiny. It also shows how God can accomplish the seemingly impossible in ways that are as believable as they are a relief. I truly appreciate quality fiction like this that not only brings pleasure but encourages and uplifts the reader. Well done, Lady Melanie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enchanting story not just for teens

Date:February 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mauri
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though this book is labeled teen fiction, this fifty-something mom was enchanted by it. Rose is a healer's apprentice, a lowly woodcutter's daughter, in 1386 Saxony. Wilhelm, Lord Hamlin, has been betrothed to Lady Salomea since they were both young children. She is in hiding from the evil Moncore. Rose and Lord Hamlin meet and find themselves being drawn to each other. Both try to deny their love since it can never be, or can it? This is a fascinating, lovely tale of God's love and the wisdom of following His will. I highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Admirable characters in an enjoyable story

Date:January 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
CTF Devourer
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an interesting story, it contained a tiny hint of mystery and some honorable characters determined to do what was right no matter how much they suffered for it. Both Rose and Lord Hamlin fought attraction to each other from early on in the story, but both resisted giving in to it, especially Lord Hamlin. And when Rose was offered the desires of her heart at the cost of others, she chose to deny herself. It’s primarily just a beautiful story, but the characters are admirable and their choice to pursue honor above their own desires is a good example to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Location:Tuolumne, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like stories that keep you guessing - this is the one for you. It more than met my expectations. Great story and great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Healer's Apprentice
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Medieval Fairy Tale for the Modern Reader

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unrequited love. Searching for meaning and purpose. Mystery and intrigue. These are the things of teenage fiction. Melanie Dickerson, in her novel The Healer’s Apprentice, includes all of these and more. Though the book is heralded as Teen Fiction, this thirty-something mom of three thoroughly enjoyed the read.
Rose, a woodcutter’s daughter in fourteenth century Lower Saxony, finds herself apprenticed to the town’s healer, despite her lowly station. While Rose secretly wonders if she is really cut out for this type of work, it suits her better than marrying the repulsive man her mother keeps shoving her toward. An injury to the future duke brings Rose and Lord Hamlin together where sparks fly but must quickly be extinguished, seeing as Lord Hamlin is presently engaged to another.
Dickerson, a former teacher and missionary, unravels a harsh yet intriguing world where protocol reigns along with the royalty, where women are more often seen than heard, and where a spirited young healer might hold the key to unlocking a mystery. The characters are delightfully fleshed-out, the setting comes alive with sounds, sights, and smells, and the ending is just what you are hoping it will be, but not sure how the author is going to get there.
Recommended highly for teens looking for quality fiction and any reader fond of romance, medieval fiction, and suspense.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>