Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Promise, Restoration Series #2

Revell The Promise, Restoration Series #2

For the last five months, Tom Anderson has been without a job, a fact he's been hiding from his wife Jean-and everyone else. He leaves each morning, pretending nothing has changed, and spends his disheartening day rotating through two coffee shops and the library, using their wi-fi to search for a job on the internet. The stress of keeping this secret is beginning to put serious strain on his marriage and it looks like the legacy that began with his father is still at work, slowly destroying the bond between Tom and Jean. Can their mutual trust-and love-be restored?
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Review 1 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets Revealed

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim and Marilyn Anderson have reclaimed their marriage through prayer, hard work, love, and a new respect for one another. Their second honeymoon in Italy is the perfect celebration of a love renewed. Unbeknown to them, their oldest son lost his job five months earlier. He hadn't even confessed this to his wife, but continued to keep the schedule he had maintained in his previous job. He spent his days in the library and coffee shops searching the Internet for work, and coming up empty-handed. Bills mounted, bill collectors were hounding him, and his list of lies was ever growing. His faith was virtually nonexistent. What was to become of him, his wife and two young children if this pace continued? His lies and fear were overwhelming and taking a toll on his family, not to mention the effect it had on him as a man. How much longer could he keep up this deception? A family secret has yet to reveal itself, but a great uncle may hold the key to his recovery.
This second book in The Restoration Series builds upon The Dance and the marital discord that Jim and Marilyn experienced. As their marriage and faith are healing and their relationship growing, the family is once again placed in a crisis situation. Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley as a team, have delivered another successful story of family dissolution and how claiming God's promises can lead toward the discovery of true healing. Reality lives within the pages of this book regarding struggles of the human spirit. Through openness, communication and prayer, reconciliation is possible, and hope is the claim for the future. I have discovered after reading both The Dance and The Promise that thoughts of these family adversities and the healing that takes place have lingered in my mind. I think that reveals a very effective portrayal of life and the possibilities that are within our reach through faith, trust and hope.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Prepare for tears!

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dan Walsh & Gary Smalley combine their efforts once again with the satisfying read, "The Promise", the second addition to The Restoration Series. Readers will be pleased to see the return of Marilyn and Jim, as we are treated to a view of their marriage after they've survived the turbulent waters as seen in the first book of the series, "The Dance". Though their marriage is by no means now perfect, it provides a wonderful portrayal of how a marriage built on Christ should look! I also really enjoyed the focus of this book on their son Tom and his wife, as they battle financial struggles, the impact of secrecy, and the danger of a marriage between two people who have grown distant. What I most appreciate about this book is the realness of the characters, people who struggle with things all of us will or have faced at one time in our life. The story moves along at a good clip, and I absolutely love the character of Uncle Henry and his focus on hearing the voice of Jesus and acting in obedience. We all would be blessed by having an Uncle Henry speak truth into our own lives! The scenes of reconciliation between father and son brought tears to my eyes and were very moving indeed. I do caution readers that this series, including "The Promise", are written with a definite purpose in mind, so although the authors tell an excellent story, some readers may feel they are getting preached at. I myself enjoy learning through fiction even more so than reading a non-fiction book, but others may not feel the same. However, readers who like contemporary fiction reads that celebrate faith and family will love this book!
"The Promise" is an excellent addition to the series, and I greatly look forward to reading more about the Anderson family in the future. I award this book a solid recommendation and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Promise by Walsh and Smalley

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
rose mccauley
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderful story by two great authors! Although this novel can be read alone, I would recommend first reading the story of the rebirth of love in the marriage of the matriarch and patriarch of this series--The Dance by .
The Promise begins a few months after the first book in the Restoration series, and mainly deals with the "falling apart" of the son and his wife's lives which we got a foreshadowing of in The Dance. We learn more about the generational sins of the fathers being visited on their children. We also learn about how following God's principles allows us to break that cycle.
But I don't want to make this book sound like it is just about learning a lesson. The lessons are not spelled out like points in a non-fiction book, but portrayed in this very engaging read with interesting, believable characters--some you want to shake up so they will wake up, and others you want to hug and encourage!
And the story is very much apropos for these times, with us finding Tom Anderson out of a job on the first page of the book, and wanting to read more to find out what he does to hide that fact from those he loves to protect them--and how it all ends.
Again, we see a marriage in so much trouble because of their lack of communication that the couple separate for awhile, and then see how that time apart causes them both to drawer closer to and seek God to put their relationship back together again, the True Foundation for all relationships.
Based on the principles of Gary Smalley's best-seller The Blessing, and written by one of my favorite contemporary fiction authors, Dan Walsh, you will enjoy this book for the emotionally engaging read while also learning from one of the best Christian counselors around, so how can you lose? And there are personal notes in the back from both authors sharing how The Blessing principle has blessed them and their lives.
This book was a review copy, and I personally would highly recommend it! Get a copy for yourself to enjoy and buy one to share with someone else who could benefit from this stellar combo of writers. I also recommend their others books, and be on the lookout for the third book in this series soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeping your promises can affect generations

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
dliesner
Location:Racine, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review – The Promise by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley
No man is an island and repercussions of Jim and Marilyn Anderson’s poor choices, responses, and marital discord (The Dance, Book 1 in the Restoration series) continue to be revealed in the lives of their children.
Tom is most like his dad, and possibly most in need of his dad’s time, love and approval. Jim, however, is celebrating his marriage restoration and renewal of vows with his wife on a second honeymoon in Rome. Ironically, Jim, a former workaholic, has also been missing from Tom’s life for many years. Tom is running from truth, from love, from lies that get deeper day by day, and from his Uncle Henry, who discovers Tom’s secret life and encourages him to tell his wife the truth.
Fortunately Marilyn Anderson, like many moms, has a second sense of something being wrong in her Tom and Jean’s relationship and is praying for them. But everything blows up before Tom is able to tell the truth.
Several of the family members end up facing demons of the past to bring resolution to issues, which once again ripple out to affect not only the main characters in this well-written life drama.
Commitment these days is seen as a rare thing, life-long loving relationships even rarer. While an entertaining read, this story also provides guidance to relationship building, family dynamics, forgiveness and healing. It is also a vibrant reminder that we all in one way or another ‘become’ our parents, and our present choices will become an important part of someone else’s past. Discover the power of making –and keeping–a promise. It could change lives for generations to come.
I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A novel with a lesson

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.”
Sir Walter Scott wrote those lines in 1808, and The Promise illustrates the many consequences that arise when Tom Anderson disregards this warning. When he loses his job, he decides to protect his wife, Jean, by not telling her what happened. After all, he’s bound to find other employment soon and she’ll never have to know.
Five months later, no job and he’s still hiding his secret. Their marriage is beginning to crack at the seams. Jean doesn’t know him anymore and the marriage isn’t the only thing beginning to crack. So is Tom.
Walsh and Smalley have written an engrossing story. The life lessons their characters need to learn—of communication and mutual encouragement—will cause readers to stop and think about their own life situations. I know The Promise had that effect on me. I recommend this story highly.
Although The Promise can be read as a stand-alone novel, readers will enjoy learning more about the characters from The Dance, the first book in the Restoration Series.
My thanks to the authors and Revell for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Restoring Broken Families

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Promise, book 2 in the Restoration Series by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley, continues the story of the Anderson family. Jim and Marilyn's heart-tugging story in The Dance continues in this book, with the real emphasis on the struggles of their son and daughter-in-law, Tom and Jean.
The fictional characters and their real-life challenges provide a good story that draws you into their lives. At the same time, Biblical principles of family relationships and responsibilities challenge readers to look at their own families and see how God's grace can bring change and growth where it might be needed.
While The Promise was not as captivating as other Dan Walsh books I have read, it is a fairly quick read that provides both entertainment and encouragement.
Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Thanks to Revell for providing a copy of The Promise in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great love story

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Martha Rogers
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Promise, Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley give us the continuing story of the Anderson family. The main plot revolves around the son, Tom and his wife Jean, who are having much the same problems as Jim and Marilyn in The Dance. Where the first book began with how the problems were resolved, this book dives deeper into the pain that is produced by deceit and non-communication in a marriage. The reader also gets to see how Jim and Marilyn Anderson from the first book are carrying out what they’ve learned, and I loved seeing Italy through their eyes. Jim realizes what his previous behavior has produced in his son, and sets about to remedy it. The story wraps up in a beautiful way I won’t divulge. These are characters with whom the reader can relate. In fact, I became so involved with their lives I wanted to give them some advice of my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Promise you will love this one!

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 2 in the Restoration Series is every bit as good as the first book ("The Dance") in this series! If you want to read this as a stand alone book, you certainly can! No matter what ...this is just a must read book!
I truly appreciate how "The Promise" deals with such true to life situations and shares such an incredible teaching on how to deal with circumstances that arise in marriage. Also, showing how God will bring you through those hard times when you seek HIM! Tom & Jean both are hiding things from one another and their marriage is hanging by a thread, per se', but the road to forgiveness and restoration can be long and winding but once you've arrived, you know it was worth every bit of it!!
Thank you Lanette and Revell, a Division of Baker Publishing, for allowing me this complimentary issue in exchange for my honest review! a true 5 ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ hearts;'s for sure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Family In Crisis, Healing, Forgiveness & Restora

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley in their new book, "The Promise" Book Two in The Restoration Series published by Revell takes us into the lives of Tom and Jean Anderson.
From the Back Cover: One home, two hearts, and the power of a promise kept . . .
For the last five months, Tom Anderson has been without a job, a fact he's been hiding from his wife Jean-and everyone else. He leaves each morning, pretending nothing has changed, and spends his disheartening day rotating through two coffee shops and the library, using their wi-fi to search for a job on the internet. The stress of keeping this secret is beginning to put serious strain on his marriage
But Tom's not the only one hiding something. Jean Anderson has a secret of her own-one that will seriously complicate their situation. Will the promises they made on their wedding day hold firm?
Without any doubt Dan Walsh is one of the best writers out there. He consistently writes books that go right to the heart, have wonderful characters that deal with issues that affect all of us. "The Promise" is no exception. "The Promise" is all about a marriage. Tom and Jean are married but not happily and Tom is unemployed. He doesn't want to tell Jean not because he fears her but because he fears his father, Jim from the previous book. The issues that Jim birthed in Tom are causing his marriage to disintegrate. It is going to take God to make it all right between father and son as well as husband and wife. This book touches on issues that can affect any marriage. The team of Walsh and Smalley takes these issues, put them in a fictional setting and get their point across without being preachy. There is healing, forgiveness, restoration all within the family and all from God. This is a wonderful book that shows the power of God to heal and restore.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read the story of Jim and Marilyn Anderson in The Dance. In this book we find out about the lie their son, Tom, has been living for months. Unfortunately Tom’s life seems to be a legacy from his father.
You’ll need that box of tissues as you read the continuing heartbreak in this family. Is it destined to go from generation to generation?
On what she thought would be a happy day, Jean Anderson discovers her husband’s secret. With secrets exposed, the two have to figure out a way to heal their broken marriage.
Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley once again give us a look into dysfunctional marriages and how they can be healed in The Restoration Series.
Will they give us another look into the Anderson family? I hope so. There are still two more Anderson children.
***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspirational and thought provoking along with a couple tugs on the heart makes The Promise quite a stunning book! This is a story of one generation after another in a family, repeating actions and words observed from the next generation. Then, when one marriage breaks apart and begins anew with hard work along with accountability, is it possible that another marriage will be able to be pulled from the brink of falling apart?
As I read the novel, it was if some of what these characters were dealing with was a page from my home life today, and if not a page from today, then a page from the past. In either case, as I read, hope began to spring within my heart. Looking from a telescopic point of view helps readers see how the character’s past plays into the present and perhaps change future generations. A person can then take a microscopic look in their own heart and perhaps apply that change to the unhealthy direction life may be taking. In our home that is how reading a work of fiction impacted in a positive way the future for our family line.
After the story is shared, both authors share from their life experiences what they have learned and as a result a story was birthed. Jesus sure made us lovers of tales, and He used parables to teach many. So as you read The Promise, don’t be surprised if something sparks within your heart or mind that may lead to choices and actions that need to be taken.
I loved how the characters learned that His Word was something they couldn’t live without daily. There was also the importance of family being a conduit of support, love, encouragement and challenge. Even when all seemed lost for the main male character, it was awesome how other older male characters spoke into his life. They acted on what they heard the Lord speaking to them, and in fact, when they were broken in their hearts by what the Lord was showing them, they cried. Rarely do novels show males in that state, yet how attractive to see a man turning to God, taking his responsibility for his actions and then asking forgiveness from those he wronged.
How good God is to gift men to write a story that encourages men to seek His face and walk in His ways. The Promise shows as well how women within a family come together, share burdens, care, pray and walk with each other as God leads them. Many may think family means those which we are born into and that is true, but a smaller part of the bigger view God has given us. Those who are born again Christians have an awesome Father who loves us, seeks us, calls us, comforts us and brings other members into our lives.
I heartily encourage you to read The Promise; then, maybe share the hope with someone you know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A VERY COMPLEX AND COMPELLING STORY....

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE PROMISE by Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley is an incredible inspirational Contemporary Fiction. #2 in "The Restoration" series,but can be read as a stand alone with re-appearing characters. Although, I would suggest reading "The Dance" first just to better understand the characters of Jim and Marilyn Anderson. This is the story of Tom and Jean Anderson, a dysfunctional couple to say the least,and one who is on the verge of disaster. Tom, is Jim and Marilyn's son,from "The Dance",he has lost his job and has been lying to his wife, Jean for a few months. This is a very complex but compelling story of faith,trust,secrets,and love. While at times disheartening, it shows the truth of marriage, the struggles within a marriage, the trust involved with loving someone and trying to protect them. An overwhelming story of the power of forgiveness and love. The team of Dan Walsh and Gary Smalley is suberb! Their characters are believable,realistic,engaging and very compelling. Their storyline is stressful at times while you follow the lives of their characters, but is true to life also.
"The Restoration" series is just that a restoration of what is important in life. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.*
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE the Restoration Series!

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful. Hopeful. Inspiring.
Those are the three words I would use to describe The Promise.
The entire Restoration Series is based on such a great idea,
and that premise is brought to life so well through the saga of the Anderson family.
The Anderson's are believable characters that I related to right away, because they are living out the stories that I have witnessed all around me.
As Tom Dugan said in In The Heat of The Night:
"We did all the things that married people do.
We bought things and made payments and caught colds."
I loved this line, because it sums up the familiar-yet-wholesome routine
that we settle into with our relationships. It is not bad...but it is not complete.
Tom was telling that story in that context of mourning his wife,
whom he lost to a drunken driver one ordinary morning.
She left the house after kissing him goodbye...
he remembered that his last words were telling her to find someone to fix the water heater.
Half an hour later, she had left this world.
We are like that, and we all know it.
At some point, everyone takes the loving relationships they have been blessed with for granted.
There are days for all of us when we need to be loved but don't know how to give love.
Most of us nod our heads at the wise advice we hear about making marriage work,
and some of us take notes on it. It is hard to consistently follow through!
And when we decide we want change, we want it now.
We grow discouraged when it doesn't happen fast.
The process of healing hearts often works the same way as healing broken bodies...
slowly and carefully, sometimes with setbacks.
And setbacks are tough.
Proving to someone that you really, at long last, have changed for the better, is hard to do.
Learning to love and communicate meaningfully after years of mutual misunderstanding
and emotional distance is very difficult!!
But it can all be so worth it.
And that is why I love The Restoration Series.
In a world wracked with painful, sad marriages, these books paint a glorious picture of what
could happen if the husband and his wife agreed to take real steps to rebuild their love and trust.
I gave this book, and book one, The Dance, to a teenage girl I know.
She devoured them both and really delighted in the way marriage and family was portrayed in this book. It refreshed her heart to read about men and women who value their spouse and who will fight to honor their marriage vows...not just keep them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Promise, Restoration Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Family Love

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I enjoyed being updated about Marilyn and Jim Anderson, the parents of Tom. They were the main characters from the first book in this series, and I am happy that the authors included them in this story. So often in a series, characters are contained in only one title. Here, the reader gets to know the Anderson family a bit better with each new book. However, if you did not read the first in The Restoration Series, The Dance, no problem. This is a stand-alone novel.
The major theme is one of supporting those you love. Children need to be encouraged so that they will grow up to become loving parents. For five months Tom has been self-centered. He can barely smile at his young son. The tangled web he's woven catches him and . . . . Well, you'll have to read the book to see what happens.
Thank you to Lanette Haskins at Baker Publishing Group and Revell for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.