Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2

Revell The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2

Scarlet Lindsey's aunt Wilhelmina may be Texas's most popular cake baker extraordinaire, but she's also getting on in years. When Scarlet decides to take on the role of cake decorator at her cranky aunt's bidding, it's just the beginning of a series of misunderstandings and mishaps that will lead her to compete in a cake challenge on national television-and might even lead her to finding true love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Review 1 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Favorite

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tings Mom
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I've pretty much decided that it's impossible to not like anything Janice Thompson writes. And also, I want to move to Galveston and become friends with all these characters I love so much.
The Icing on the Cake is book two in the Weddings By Design series. I read the entire book in one day - and I think that sums up how much I enjoyed it!
I love Scarlet so much and I love that Bella is always the connecting piece of this friendship circle that just keeps growing.
Bottom line - go get the book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New book in one of my favorite series...

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Every once in awhile a series of books comes along that develop such fantastic characters, usually in a delightful setting with fun plots and ideas, that you just can't help falling in love with the entire series and you wait with bated breath for the next book to be released so you can go back to your favorite spot and reconnect with some of your favorite characters while you are introduced to more fun people. In the past I have seen Mary Connealy accomplish that with some of her Christian Westerns, Julie Lessman definitely did that with her Boston series... so much so that she wrote a second series about the same family! Janice Thompson has definitely accomplished the same thing with her Bella books that she has continued in her Weddings by Design series! The cover is lovely and fun, but it is just the gateway back to Galveston where we get to meet back up with Bella and her crazy friends and family but we really have the opportunity to get to know cake designer, Scarlet and Bella's brother (troublemaker) Armando!
The storyline is fun (love the tv contest and the descriptions of the hot lights and the horror of going through all of that!) but you know the girl will get her happily ever after... with Janice's books it isn't so much the suspense of - whoever will she end up with?!?! but more the witty journey that gets you there. The writing style is hilarious and a mile a minute riot. I absolutely adore her books and Icing On the Cake is just the next in a wonderful series that I encourage you to start from the very beginning with Fools Rush In and then go all the way through (and don't forget the Backstage Pass series that picks up with characters that first appear in the Fools Rush In books...) I can't wait for the next one!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beware if you have a sweet tooth! :)

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have a sweet tooth, don’t read this book!!
If you don’t like to laugh, don’t read this book.
If you don’t like reading about people problems and personalities, don’t read this book.
Otherwise, The Icing on the Cake is quite a fabulous way to spend several hours of enjoyment. ☺
Scarlet Lindsey is a young woman who lives on Galvaston Island, off the coast of Texas, and has just opened up a new bakery in a popular area of her town.
Her somewhat elderly Aunt Wilhelmina (called “Willy” behind her back) has funded this project and is determined to keep her finger on all aspects of the venture.
Scarlet has many doubts about her own abilities, other than her baking, but has always admired her heroine, Lucy—as in “I Love Lucy”—and often thinks back to how Lucy would get herself out of the messes she has created. Scarlet’s life is complicated by the fact that she has many friends and admirers and tends to never say no to requests. For instance, she is deeply involved in helping the teens in her church (of which her father is pastor) raise funds for a third-world country trip; being maid-of-honor in her very best friend’s upcoming wedding and in fact, will be making the wedding cake for that occasion as well; she is deeply empathetic with the plight of at least one youngster who lives a very rugged life within her city; she is passionate about her bakery and making a success of it.
Scarlet has a very capable helper in her bakery: Kenny, a wonderful problem-solver in her many escapades. However, an accident sidelines him for a while, and in steps Armando, the brother of a special friend. Oh, did I mention, there is just a little bit of romance within this story?
All the characters in this novel have background issues which influence what and how they are living and making decisions. They are “normal” people who have been greatly affected by “little” things that happened in their childhood or by unthinking people saying things that should never have come out of their mouths. Scarlet is quite sensitive to some of her issues and sometimes overcompensates for what she feels are weaknesses in her own life. She is also a great listener and is able to help others overcome their own issues.
Each chapter in this book has a small quote at the beginning; one which this reader appreciated said: “Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.”
It is a challenge to overcome the thought that one must get to the kitchen and whip up a batch of cream cheese frosting after finishing the book. Lots of good laughs throughout, but also great recognition of the grace of God in our lives; He is our Companion, our Healer, our Partner in all we do. I know you'll enjoy The Icing on the Cake!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MOSTLY SWEET WITH A FEW NUTS!

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I opened “Icing on the Cake” written by Janice Thompson, I anticipated lots of fun and many surprises. Janice’s sense of humor and tongue in cheek quotations at the beginning of each chapter were so entertaining – my favorite being “Families are like fudge, mostly sweet with a few nuts.” (Author unknown) Having read the prequel “Picture Perfect,” in this series – Weddings by Design - many of the characters were familiar to me in the beautiful setting on Galveston Island. Janice’s stories are written ingeniously around wedding productions created by Bella Neely and Club Wed; and the whole cast of characters from Bella’s odd family; Scarlett’s family and other familiar characters like Hannah and Drew whose wedding is being planned in this episode. There is not a family on this Island that isn’t sweet with a few nuts!
Our main character Scarlett Lindsey had just opened her own bakery, Let Them Eat Cake, on the popular Strand. Her friend Kenny worked in the bakery and had a crush on Scarlett, however she was a bit of two minds where romance with Kenny was concerned. Little did Scarlett know what she was in for when her spinster Aunt Willy, an infamous first-rate chef, financed Scarlett’s venture. Not only was Scarlett planning an elaborate wedding cake for her best friend Hannah’s wedding, she was in charge of planning the church fund raiser.
We met Armando, Bella’s brother, in “Picture Perfect” as the problem child of the Rossi family with a reputation of being a real womanizer. He swept in and out of the first story like a bird on the fly and had a dislike for staying on the Island. Scarlett had issues with her self-image because of being overweight. Many, including “moi” can relate to her inner feelings and insecurities. Let Them Eat Cake was located next door to John’s Pizzeria where Armando worked in his family’s business. Scarlett and Armando found themselves pushed together at a Rossi family event – not at all to Scarlett’s liking. An indefinite relationship sets in motion…and Scarlett begins to perceive Armando differently. He volunteers to help solve the sound problem at the church which meant more time spent in each other’s company. When Scarlett fills in for Armando’s mother on a Food Network competition with a secret recipe for Italian Wedding Cake, she decides to drop a few pounds so she’ll look better on camera. Now the real fun begins, so hold onto your hat!
Ms Thompson has an innate talent at developing a plot that serves the heart in hilarity to sentiment along with beautiful spirituality throughout. What does “sticky buns” and “Lucille Ball of I Love Lucy” have to do with Scarlett’s anxiety? It was entertaining as the author allowed the reader into Scarlett’s inner thoughts and I laughed loudly at the zany debates she argued with herself. One never knows what to expect in the stories Janice Thompson writes. She is perceptive in creating characters that are well rounded and real. Her characters build as the story moves forward and can be loved in one chapter and disliked in the next. Scarlett reminded me so much of myself that that I wondered who might have been the role model for Janice. Honestly, I’ve never met Janice Thompson in my life….although I’d consider it an honor to do so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ookpik
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Entertaining and lighthearted while still delivering a good message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Janice Thompson never fails to pen a charming romance, full of sweetness, humour, and quirky characters. The second instalment of her Weddings by Design series, readers will love reaquainting themselves with the Rossi clan, the Splendora sisters, and Scarlet and Armando who take centre stage. Identity, purpose, and self worth are themes Janice explores through Scarlet, whose choice of career has not helped her waistline, and Armando, with his bad boy reputation and a penchant for avoiding commitment. While some moments that a little too saccharine for my taste, and an overuse of ”sticky buns”, readers will delight with Scarlet and Armando as they discover purpose, belonging, and love. Despite my quibbles, I always enjoy Janice’s sense of family, faith, and fun, and The Icing on the Cake is no exception.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great as always!

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stormi
Location:missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson is by far one of my favorite Christian authors to read. She has the ability to make you really care about and love her characters. They are so of the wall funny and I love how she incorporate some music or movie icon. In Icing on the Cake it's Lucille Ball! Just ask yourself what would Lucy do?
Scarlet is a baker and she really loves what she does. She has the ability to make the most delicious cakes, brownies and cookies. So when her aunt decided to fun her first bakery shop she is thrilled, that is until her aunt Willy seems to want to take over her baking life. Her aunt is really intimidating and Scarlet is always feeling inadequate when it comes to her aunt. It doesn't help that Scarlet isn't a little tiny supermodel, she is a few pounds overweight. To Scarlet she feels larger than life and doesn't seem to see herself the way others do. Scarlet is one of my favorite characters because I think she is very easy to relate too as she is not a skinny girl.
If you have read the Weddings by Bella or the first Weddings by Design books then you have already met Armando. Armando is Bella's younger brother and he is known for being a troublemaker and a bit of a bad boy. He has never been one of my favorite characters and I wasn't sure how I felt about him being paired with Scarlet. In this book though you get to learn a lot more about Armando and see a side of him that you don't get to see in the other books. He has grown up a lot in this book and he grew on me as the book progressed.
Scarlet has her plate full with not only opening her bakery, but she gets roped into a baking competition, and she is trying to organize a talent competition for a church fundraiser. She is dealing with not having the feelings she thinks she should have for her faithful friend and kitchen help, Kenny. Then in steps Armando to help her with her churches soundboard and he is so hot and sexy that she has a hard time concentrating. She keeps thinking about everything she has heard about him, but learns that she needs to make her own decision about him based on what he is doing now and not his past. Armando comes to her rescue more than once and has proved himself faithful and doesn't see her as being anything but a woman with a hearty appetite! He is the Ricky to her Lucy!
If you haven't read the Weddings by Bella series then I highly recommend you start there first, though any of these could be read alone you just really need the whole feel of the books. Then grab the Wedding by Design series which is where The Icing on the Cake comes in. These books are great fun and wonderful light-hearted romantic reads. If you don't laugh then something is wrong! :o)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Janice’s wedding books, especially when characters we already love are pulled into the story.
You’re going to be a witness to a surprise wedding as well as lots of bakery antics. You’ll even be gifted with a “secret” family cake recipe if you’re good.
As usual, I’m never disappointed with Ms Thompson’s books, but I did miss the songs. You’ll know what I mean if you’ve read all her books. If not, it’s time you should be reading them if you want to find out this secret. I won’t tell you which books to read, because you should read them all. Every single book is a winner. I can hardly wait until the next one.
Please keep writing, Janice. I’ll follow you to Galveston, Splendora or wherever you take us.
***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Let Them Eat Cake!

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What do you get when you pit an overweight baker who specializes in wedding cakes against her man-hating great aunt and a hunky Italian who may—or may not—be trying to shake his bad-boy image?
Scarlet Lindsey is determined to do Aunt Willy proud, even if it kills her. And when she's offered a spot in a Food Network showdown and decides to crash diet so she'll look better on camera, it nearly does. Thankfully Armando is there to save the day, not caring a whit about Scarlet's weight or the disaster created onstage.
Armando Rossi's sister Bella is a wedding coordinator on Galveston Island, Texas, and we've met both characters in previous books (Weddings by Bella series and now Weddings by Design). Armando, always shown as a rebel until now, comes into his own as the hero of this book as the author provides insight into what makes him tick.
And tick he does. All the way into Scarlet's life and bakery, in a lightly humorous romp typical of Janice Thompson's tales.
I was given a copy of this book from Graf-Martin Communications and Revell for the purposes of review. Opinions are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weddings by Design is a series of novels that focus on relationships, first with the Lord before looking elsewhere for fulfillment. I read the first novel, Picture Perfect, and thoroughly enjoyed the various heritages the characters brought to the story. Now in the sequel, The Icing on the Cake, Janice Thompson continues where Hannah’s story wasn’t quite complete in the first novel one. The story continues with Hannah’s adventure while expanding on several of the other players’ story lines.
Scarlet is the daughter of a pastor and an only child, which is why Hannah is her BFF. While preparing for events, Scarlet begins to feel uncomfortable with herself and who she is, doubting she can be loved for who she is and her looks. Armando comes from a large Italian family, who feels as if he never got the right amount of attention; therefore, he was making decisions based on what he felt, which led him away from the family. Now, he has returned to the island to help his family and then go wherever the winds might blow, at least that was his plan.
Sometimes when we aren’t looking for Who we really need or want God brings the pieces together to draw us to Him. In the story, many characters are looking for or avoiding God for a variety of reasons. Some even refuse to interact with people based on past experiences. Now, in the tale, the tiny church, which isn’t modern by any means, is going to have a talent show to raise funds for a mission trip. There are also plans to have a sale at the bakery Scarlet owns and runs. Faced with her past and wondering about the future leads her down a road of opportunities.
The tale has many themes running throughout the pages such as nicknames that build up and others that cause pain for a long time. There is forgiveness, choosing how to live now for a healthier future, as well as being gently led out of one’s comfort zone. Each chapter highlights a little saying that adds spice to the novel some of which will cause you to really laugh out loud! Some of the personality traits in the players I would venture to say are ones we can relate to in ourselves or someone we know. Most of the quirks in these fictional families will crack you up or at least make you smile.
So grab a sweet ice tea, a comfy chair and enjoy book 2, The Icing on the Cake!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great rom-com from Thompson!
This is an excellent addition to the Weddings by Design series, and a well written one at that. Not that Picture Perfect wasn't splendidly done, because it was. I just think Icing on the Cake is just that: the icing on the cake. Thompson brought to surface an issue that is scarcely written about in fiction: obesity. She handled it with grace and accuracy.
Nonetheless, it felt good to get to know such a beautiful character. I enjoyed Scarlet's presence in Hannah's story, but nothing could have thrilled me more than getting to know dear, sweet, funny Scarlet more. As with every character I grow fond of, I loved watching Scarlett blossom into the woman God made her to be, flaws and all. She changed for the better.
So far, there hasn't been a book written by Miss Thompson that I haven't liked. Time literally flies when I pick up one of her novels, in a very good way. I cannot express how much I enjoy her style, her characters, and her humor. I really need to go finish her Weddings by Bella series now...
If you enjoy clean romantic comedies, then I can almost promise you Janice Thompson won't let you down! I recommend for ages 15 and up.
Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wedding Cake, National TV Cake Challenge & Romance

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson in her new book, "The Icing On The Cake" Book Two in the Weddings by Design series published by Revell returns us to Galveston Island and into the life of Scarlet Lindsey.
From the back cover: Scarlet isn't sure if she has just the right ingredients for true love-or utter disaster
Scarlet Lindsey is busy making her dreams come true. She's moved her bakery to a prime spot on Galveston's most popular street, she's planning an extravagant cake for her best friend's wedding, and she has a great relationship with Bella Neeley, the island's most popular wedding coordinator. Business is booming and Scarlet is enjoying the ride.
But when Bella's dangerously handsome brother Armando breezes into her life, Scarlet is faced with a sticky situation. Should she stay with the safe, sweet guy who's been a fixture in her life for years? Or will this brash Italian hunk melt her guarded heart?
Fan favorite Janice Thompson is back with more wit, more weddings, and more of what you love best-bridal-business drama laced with laughs.
When you go to a wedding the item that dominates the reception hall is the wedding cake. Bella is the wedding planner and Scarlet not only is the cake baker but also Bella's friend. Welcome back to Galveston Island and a whole new set of characters to go along with Bella and her Italian family from the Weddings By Bella series. Scarlet gets involved in a series of misunderstandings and mishaps that cause her to compete in a cake challenge on national television and this is where all the fun is. And then, of course, there is the romance. This book is all about relationships within the family and also among friends and how these relationships can affect those we come in contact with. All the characters are likable and Ms. Thompson has a way of bringing you into the story and making the characters lives very real. I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yummy Novel

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
I love the characters that Janice Thompson creates. Boy, do I connect with Scarlet, the main protagonist in this novel. She is the first overweight female I've "met" through reading. Poor thing, Scarlet feels self-conscious about her abundant backside--her "sticky buns," a thoughtless nickname her Aunt Wilhelmina gave her long ago. To further complicate things, Scarlet owns and operates a bakery named, "Let Them Eat Cake" which is financed by the same Auntie, who makes a habit of popping in often to offer her advice.
Scarlet's love interest, Armando Rossi, doesn't notice her (ahem) thickness. In fact, he seems to think she looks just fine. He's an Italian bad boy who has come home to temporarily work in the family business--Parma John's Pizzeria, located next door to the bakery.
I learned about the business of running a bakery, a bake-off competition for a national television show (as in Food Network), and the work involved with raising money for a mission trip. Included is a recipe for an Italian Wedding Cake that I plan to try, even though I know my "sticky buns" will surely expand!
I recommend reading the first book in the Weddings by Design series Picture Perfect. Nonetheless, Icing on the Cake is a delightful stand-alone novel and certainly can be enjoyed without reading any other.
Available August, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Thank you to Lanette Haskins at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

COME ON OVER TO WEDDINGS BY DESIGN....

Date:August 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE ICING ON THE CAKE by Janice Thompson is another delightful inspirational Contemporary Romance set on Galveston Island. #2 in the "Weddings by Design" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Picture Perfect". Join Scarlet Lindsey, and her friends, as Scarlet tries to make her dreams come true. Her best friend Bella Neeley is getting married and Scarlet is to make the wedding cake. Scarlet bless her, can not only make cakes, she skirts disaster as well. With, weddings,charm,wit,wedding cakes,and romance what not to enjoy! Ms. Thompson has done it again with her "Weddings by Design" series. She certainly knows how to spin a tale of charm,humor,weddings,wedding cakes,with her sweet romantic story of Scarlet and Armando,Bella's dangerous Italian brother. Well written with charismatic characters and a treat of a story! If you enjoy a witty storyline, charismatic characters, sweet romance, Weddings and a taste of love than pick up "The Icing on the Cake" you will not be sorry. Another enjoyable read by Janice Thompson. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
**Available August 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yummy!

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dab a bit of icing on that cake…it’s done! The loveable Rossi family can’t get any bigger or more loveable…or can they? Maybe they need to add another lovely member for one of their long-time single young men, hmmm?
For all the fans of the “Bella books”, we’ve ALL been waiting for Armamdo’s love story. The bad boy of the Rossi clan? Oh yeah. I won’t say too much for fear of giving away the entire plot of the story, but know this: for old and new fans of Thompson’s loveable clan they are sure to find the perfect match in Scarlett and Armando’s love story.
I love surrounding a fun, first-person book around food. Probably because anything Italian and then sweet involved with more than a dollop of romance just makes for a yummy, enjoyable escape. The novel is perfect on all these counts. It’s sweet and tender with Thompson’s brand of humor that keeps the pages flippin’ beneath the fingers.
I giggled and sighed through the story, more than a bit glad I got to spend so much time with Bella and her family and get to know Scarlett – and oh Scarlett has a story to tell, a sure favorite for contemporary romantic comedy readers. Talk about beloved characters!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
**Available August 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Icing on the Cake, Weddings by Design Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Icing on the Cake!

Date:August 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
KeliZ
Location:Spring, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janice Thompson is a wonderful Christian writer! and she has of course, done it again! What a fun, super sweet funny novel! I cried, laughed, and said awe more than a few times. This is an inspiring story about people who overcame there struggles. I love hearing about characters from Janice's previous book series "Weddings by Bella"! It is a fast read, and you will love it! All I want to do now is bake an Italian Cream Cake! full of nuts with Cream Cheese frosting on top!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.