Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2

Revell Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2

When Cate Kinkaid receives a frantic call about a triple homicide, she drives to the scene against her better judgement-aren't triple homicides more up the police department's alley?-only to find that the victims are not quite who she expects. Now she has a new rule to add to those she's learned in her short stint as an assistant private investigator: always find out if the victims actually have human DNA. Because these three do not.

But who would shoot this nice lady's dolls? What possible reason could the shooter have? And then there's the startling discovery of another victim, who definitely does have human DNA . . .

Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Review 1 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fast paced, filled with tension and humor

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Location:North Carolian
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cate Kincaid wants to become a private investigator like her Uncle. One day she receives a phone call from a very frantic women about a triple homicide. Cate decides to go the victims house against her better judgment. She knows that her boyfriend and uncle will not be happy with her decision. When she gets to the lady's house she is met by a donkey braying which makes her more jumpy and alarmed. Once she meets the lady named JoJo, she walks to the room where the murders took place. She is shocked by the scene, three dolls were shot. These were the victims that were murdered.
Cate isn't sure what to think of JoJo. She finds out by questioning JoJo that she has an ex-husband who didn't like her dolls and JoJo assumes he shot them. Cate decides to walk through the house with JoJo and check things out. When they enter the bedroom they find JoJo's ex-husband dead.
Cate decides that this should be handled by the police and hands it over to them. JoJo calls Cate a few days later and wants to hire her to investigate her ex-husbands murder. Cate learns that JoJo's ex has a new young wife and bossy mother in law. Cate becomes a witness to the mother in laws murder, too. She thinks she has every thing figured out and knows who killed the victims but she is wrong. One night she is confronted by the actual murderer who tries to kill her. Thankfully, her boyfriend and friends are near by and help catch the murderer.
If you enjoy mysteries this book will keep you guessing. I think both adults and teens would enjoy. (rev. S.Wall)
.... fast paced, filled with tension and humor make this a fun read. (ACS blogger)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy was provided by the publisher, Revell a division of Baker House Publishing, in exchange for our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer. No compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Murder and humor in the same book? Yes!

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Generally - in my mind - the two words "murder" and "funny" do not fit together.
However, in Lorena McCourtney’s newest book, Dolled Up to Die, they do fit together to make a most interesting book to read. Not that murder is funny; it never is, even in fiction books, but the situations Cate gets into as she tries to solve the mystery and keep herself alive, are amusing.
But really, murdered life size dolls, a deaf cat who can hear the phone ring before a human does, an over-protective boyfriend? Go figure! :)
Kate is an Assistant Investigator. She hopes someday to get her license to become just an investigator, but that is still off in the future. Meanwhile, her uncle is teaching her all she needs to know about the investigator business.
An investigator needs to think. Why would someone be killing the people around Kim? What could Cate do about it? She tries, in between becoming a “Biker Babe,” to solve the murder spree before she no longer has a client. Cate is also a bridesmaid in her boyfriend’s brother’s wedding, and while trying to keep herself safe, she has her work cut out for her.
Oh! Don’t forget there are two tattooed suspects. As I said, this is an amusing book with plenty of twists and turns.
I think that I especially enjoyed Dolled Up to Die, because the setting is in a town I know well. Lorena McCourtney even has her heroine get a mocha at my favorite coffee kiosk! Now, where can I get a copy of book one in the series?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another hilarious mystery

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meet Cate Kinkaid, Private Eye. Or, more officially, Assistant Private Detective of Belmont Investigations. Having found her love and calling, Cate is officially working toward getting her private detective license as her uncle phases out into retirement. Aside from getting herself involved accidentally in a murder investigation on her first case, Belmont Investigations doesn't do violent crime; however, when a woman calls frantically that Lucinda, Marianne, and Toby have all been shot and the police aren't responding immediately, what is Cate to do? Granted, it turns out that those three poor souls weren't alive to begin with, being extremely life-like dolls, but the body in the workroom, on the other hand . . . Once again, between delivering subpoenas and trailing secretive husbands, Cate gets thoroughly embroiled in a murder investigation in Lorena McCourtney's second Cate Kinkaid novel, "Dolled Up to Die."
I don't think I'm really throwing out spoilers to say this, but I really liked the ending - it is much more believable and realistic than so many mysteries where the villain Confesses All. Rather, evidence and actions point to the killer, and the murderer does not explain away every last detail of the crime. Even after putting the villain behind bars, Cate has to use "informed deductions" in addition to the facts while filling out the case file, since some of the reasoning and methods of the crimes are not explained by the alleged murderer. Huzzah for the sensible villain who doesn't waste precious minutes gloating over every evil deed when that time could be used to finish off the main character! (Not that they ever succeed anyway, but at least they use their brains.)
Cate is a great, realistic character. She is not perfectly coiffed, super highly accomplished, or out-of-this-world brainy, but she has sense, maintains meaningful relationships, and trusts God - an ordinary woman who could live next door or be one's best friend. Just as she is easy to relate with, so is her relationship with Mitch - both a good friend and an attentive boyfriend, she can call on him to rescue her from any trouble, and he can depend on her to be up for everything, even helping old men from church clean out their closets. He is a good guy who loves her and wants to protect her but knows when to let her go her own way and not stifle her.
Another great comedic mystery by McCourtney, I laughed out loud while reading the novel. The situations she sticks them in, Cate's quirky thoughts - it is a wonderful piece of literature. There isn't a big Christian message or lesson, but we can see progression in Kate and especially Mitch from the first novel, "Dying to Read," as he is growing stronger in his beliefs. It is a fun book. 4 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolled Up to Die is an exemplary sequel to Dying to Read, the Cate Kincaid Files. Here is a young woman who has a penchant for finding herself in dangerous situations no matter how hard she tries to avoid them. Kate is an associate private investigator working for her uncle and caretaker of Octavia the cat. In Dying to Read, you will learn about the adoption of the cat by Kate as well as how the young lady ends up in a profession filled with risks at every turn.
Dolled Up to Die is a continuation of the escapades of Kate as a P. I. along with a possible budding romance with Mitch, who is a computer genius and in business partnership with his friend Lance in the computer field. It is part mystery with a twist of humor sprinkled throughout the novel, along with Kate learning to listen to the voice of the Lord as she helps people. A murder has been committed and at first, the owner of the house makes it sound like an emergency when she calls Kate. However, as it turns out, Jo makes lifelike dolls and hers were destroyed. As the two women walk through Jo’s house, a human body is located.
Added into the mix is a mother in-law who uses unconventional methods in her business that come to full light when she is later discovered to be a victim of murder too. Now Kate has two murders without a single clue or person standing out amongst many other characters. Throughout the story readers will get entangled in the various twists and turns of the plot finding, themselves cracking up at the occasional funny one liners.
I really enjoyed Dying to Read and the author Lorena McCourtney’s writing was brand new to me. When the sequel, Dolled Up to Die, was available to read, I grabbed it in anticipation of continuation of the characters I was introduced to before. The humor adds a touch of reality as sometimes Kate finds herself in awkward situations, thinking thoughts many of us would probably be thinking too. I hope the author continues to write about Kate and Mitch so I can see where their relationship might be heading. Not only is Kate a daredevil so is Mitch when he takes Kate for her first ride on a motorcycle in some unpleasant weather. To top it off, Lance, Mitch’s business partner is getting married in a few days when everything that was setup months in advance begins to fall apart. Read these well written and entertaining novels; you won’t be sorry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good book from Lorena McCourtney

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolled up to Die
When I heard Lorena McCourtney had a new book coming, I had to read it. No one else writes with the same down-home humor mixed with mystery and murder.
But a book that starts off with life-sized dolls riddled with bullets?
When I waded into this book I froze with a chill of wonder. What happened that this author would wrap a mystery around dolls that were dead to begin with? Then the bottom slipped out of my skepticism and I was over my head with a cold gape-mouthed body that bled red blood instead of stuffing.
Lorena creates characters that are lovable, usually in love with a handsome sometimes helper, and this heroine is loaded with snoopiness and a flimsy reason for trailing murderers, finding bodies, and barely escaping death herself.
Half the fun in Dolled Up to Die, is Cate Kincaid doesn’t take herself too seriously, and always tries to identify herself as assistant private investigator. Will she untangle the mystery in this book?
Finding out is what makes the book a great read.
Note: I was provided a review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolled up to die is the second book in the Cate Kinkade series.
Written as well as the first book, it takes the reader on a fun, page turning mystery that will captivate you until the very end. The storyline was well done and the ending was one that I didn't guess right. That's always a plus for me because I read a lot of murder mysteries and most time I can guess who the murderer is.
Cate Kinkade continues her P.I. training when Belmont Investigations receives a frantic phone call from a woman who claims that three people have been shot in her home. With the police being slow to respond to the call and against her instincts, Cate goes to the woman's home to lend support if nothing else. Upon arriving, Cate finds the woman's ex-husband dead. Desperate the woman pleads with Cate to find out who really killed her ex.
Going along with the mystery, Cate finds herself being roped into being a bridesmaid for a friend's wedding. Her romance with Mitch it taken up a notch and I really like the interaction between the two of them. It flowed naturally.
There was lots of humor and one liners that lightened up the book from being to dark.
This is a wonderful read and I don't think that you would be disappointed. I wasn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely hilarious

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorena McCourtney has done it again! Written with her signature humorous style, "Dolled up To Die" had me in stitches chapter after chapter, just as with the first book in the series, "Dying to Read". Cate Kinkaid continues to captivate me with her gutsy determination to solve murders, along with some bumbling attempts and misguided notions that made for some truly funny scenes. The book is filled with action-packed drama and had me zooming through the pages. I couldn't put it down because I simply had to find out what Cate would try next! Along with laughs and some true moments of suspense, the novel also celebrates the meaning of true friendship, even when it pushes us out of our comfort zones. The author also manages to present a clear gospel message without coming across as pushy. The dialogue is witty, and there is just enough romance without becoming too mushy for male readers. As such, both females and males will enjoy Cate's latest adventure!
I dare you to read this book without at least cracking a grin. If you are looking for an enjoyable suspenseful read, then pick up a copy of "Dolled up to Die". You'll be glad you did! 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light-hearted Mystery

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Olivia, the cat isn't the only curious one in this light-hearted mystery. Cate Kinkaid's curiosity takes her into some scary, dark places. This "assistant private investigator" fumbles and stumbles over clues, and eventually manages to solve the case, but not until she has this reader holding her breath.
Unassuming, Cate tries to help anyone who needs her; however, she gets in over her head right at the beginning of this novel. You see, Belmont Investigations handles "routine matters only"--no murders. Yet bodies are found all over the place! Cate plunges ahead and goes to whoever calls her: Jo-Jo first about the "massacre," then, Robyn, who needs Cate to serve as a last-minute fill-in bridesmaid. Well, you'll just have to read the book to see for yourself.
I really like the character of Cate. I also like Olivia, the cat, who owns Cate, and I like Mitch, Cate's romantic interest. And, need I say? I really like this series!
Thank you to Donna Hausler at Baker Publishing Group for my copy.
Available July 15, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like Cate Kinkaid. She has a habit of stumbling onto murders. This time it started with the death of three dolls.
The murders keep happening as she continues her investigation . She even has to run interference between an ex-wife and the current wife widow of a man who wasn’t what he appeared to be. But then, neither are some of the other people.
It’s a good thing her friend, Mitch, is around to help keep her alive and out of trouble. He gets a good workout in this book.
I enjoyed this book too much to put it down. Life got left by the wayside until tis book ended. I’m looking forward to many more books in The Cate Kinkaid Files.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dolled Up to Die is more Cate Kincaid fun!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolled Up to Die
The Cate Kinkaid Files #2
By Lorena McCourtney
When Cate Kinkaid of Belmont Investigations receives a frantic phone call from a woman who has just stumbled upon a triple homicide, Cate is about to be caught up in yet another murder investigation, even though Belmont Investigations didn't handle murders - at least according to Uncle Joe. Cate finds herself in hilariously ridiculous situation just as she did in Dying to Read.
With the help (or more accurately rescuing) of boyfriend Mitch, Cate is on the case of the doll murderer and a real murderer who may be the same person or any number of possible suspects. There's an ex-wife, the new current wife, the mother-in-law, the vineyard manager, the new wife's ex-husband, or an unknown murderer running loose in Eugene, Oregon and Cate is determined to find him, unless it is a her!
Cate is a humorously inept investigator who somehow manages to solve the crime, though escapes through upstairs windows and burning buildings seem to play a prominent role in her cases.
Adding to the fun, Cate is a substitute bridesmaid whose hair doesn't fit the color scheme of the wedding. And the murders are connected to the wedding venue.
Cate Kinkaid is the perfect distraction to a hot summer afternoon. Enjoy a good laugh when Cate's briefcase is stolen and when Octavia turns Cate's very important wedding accessory into a new plaything. Though she sometimes jumps to conclusions before she should Cate is someone you want on your side whether as a friend or an investigator.
Take a break from your day-to-day routine and join Cate as she solves the crime and saves the day! A perfect book to share with your best reading friend!
I was provided a copy of this book by Revell in exchange for my honest review.
Available July 15, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dolled Up To Die is a fun mystery!

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't judge a book by its cover. If you do, you might miss out on a very good book! When Dolled Up To Die first arrived at my house, I was a little disappointed in the cover, and feared I was in for a blah book. Thankfully, I was wrong.
Dolled Up To Die was a very entertaining and satisfactory cozy mystery. I was immediately pulled into the story and drawn to the characters. (So much that I neglected my chores and let the kids' chores slide one evening, until my husband came home and dragged me back to the real world.) The cover of this book does not do it justice, and I will definitely be going back to read the first Cate Kinkaid mystery, Dying to Read. Lorena writes with humor, warmth, and romance. The mystery had me guessing until close to the end. I couldn't decide who the killer really was, or if there was more than one person involved. As a cozy mystery, it's not high suspense or deeply emotional, but it's a perfect light, summer read.
I have to confess that I have previously enjoyed another cozy mystery series about a red-headed sleuth, but those mysteries were not Christian and I didn't like the way the author always had the heroine and her boyfriend dancing on the edge of a physical relationship. It just didn't seem necessary and eventually led me to stop reading the series. I was pleased that The Cate Kinkaid Files include romance without being sensual. The book is also free from cursing and includes Christian values as the main characters seek God's direction for their life, and share His Word with those they meet. This seemed to flow pretty naturally in the story, rather than being forced.
I'm adding Lorena McCourtney's books to my Summer Reading list for next year. I'm sure I'll enjoy her other books and series just as much as I enjoyed Dolled Up To Die.
I received one free copy of Dolled Up To Die for review purposes. No other compensation was received, and this is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Triple Doll Homicide, Action, Adventure Thriller

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorena McCourtney in her new book "Dolled Up To Die" Book Two in The Cate Kinkaid Files series published by Revell Books gives us a new adventure with Cate Kinkaid.
From the Back Cover: Cate's not sure just what she expected...but she knows it certainly wasn't this...
When Cate Kinkaid receives a frantic call about a triple homicide, she drives to the scene against her better judgement-aren't triple homicides more up the police department's alley?-only to find that the victims are not quite who she expects. Now she has a new rule to add to those she's learned in her short stint as an assistant private investigator: always find out if the victims actually have human DNA. Because these three do not.
But who would shoot this nice lady's dolls? What possible reason could the shooter have? And then there's the startling discovery of another victim, who definitely does have human DNA . . .
With tension that is matched only by humor, Dolled Up to Die is the exciting second book in Lorena McCourtney's The Cate Kinkaid Files. Mystery fans won't find a place to stop and take a breath in this fast-paced and intriguing tale.
Assistant PI Cate Kincaid is back. This time Cate goes to investigate a triple homicide shooting only to find out that the victims were dolls. When she decides to really investigate a real body shows up and the case is on. Ms. McCourtney has given us a prize in Cate Kincaid. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down as you try to figure out who the killer is. Ms. McCourtney is an excellent writer who knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book and I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available July 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great mystery from McCourtney!
Cate Kincaid is back! She made a big impression in Dying to Read and I couldn't wait to see what adventures she'd tackle in Dolled Up to Die. I love her spunk, her humor, and above all else her drive to find the answers. Also returning is Mitch, Cate's occasionally overprotective boyfriend, and Octavia, Cate's newly adopted deaf cat, who sometimes has better intuition than Cate.
I love it when I get the opportunity to review a mystery novel. In this whodunit, I was constantly guessing and never quite sure if I was right. The pacing was dead on, pun intended, and the stakes rose just when you thought they couldn't. Combine McCourtney's great sense of humor with her equally great mystery devices and you get a pleasure-filled afternoon with Cate.
If you enjoy whodunit mysteries, Dolled Up to Die is right up your alley. Aside from some minor, brief, adult humor the story is very clean and appropriate for 15+. I recommend this to anyone in need of a laugh while they try to solve the murder. :-)
Available July 15, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Adventures With Cate Kincaid

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in this series, and just as good as the first. We continue with Cate Kincaid, and her now cat Octavia.
Of course Cate gets herself into many predicaments, and sometimes near death experiences. There are some chuckles in among the difficulties. She is, it seemed, anyway working as an assistant PI, without getting paid on her current case. She is called to a murder before the police? Huh! You shall see. Once involved in these murders a few others pop up, and she is almost the victim a few times herself.
Once you pick up this fast pace book, you won't put it down. How would you like to be the replacement bridesmaid, because someone else can't do it, and the gown fits you? Cate does...and find out what else she does for a friend, loose term here. Also you will find out how Octavia helps her? Ummm?
Just when you think you know who committed the murders, my thought changed, and then changed again. I love it when I'm wrong!! This book doesn't let you know right away, and through it all, there is a strong reliance on our Lord. This is one great book to curl up with. Don't miss it, it is a good one!
I received this book through Revell Book Bloggers Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Read

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolled Up to Die is the second book in The Cate Kinkaid Files and a lighthearted murder mystery.
Cate is an Assistant P.I. and a bit of a bumbling one, but somehow she always comes out of the messes she gets herself into.
I enjoyed the characters in this story and how well the book flowed. If you haven't read book one, no worries, Dolled up to Die stands alone.
I really enjoyed this book and may even read it again at some point.
I received this book for the purpose of reviewing. This is my honest opinion. I was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Little Cozy

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngieArndt
Location:near Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Dolled Up to Die is a perfect little cozy full of humor, twists, turns and, of course, clues. I love the way McCourtney drops them out little-by-little to keep you going, but not enough to figure out whodunnit before the end. From a motorcycle-riding vinter with a past to a out-of-control bridezilla, each character has secrets and any of them could be capable of murder. She's given us a heroine with flaws, too, in Cate Kincaid. But in spite of her quirks, she's lovable, smart and blessed with her faith and her PI sense, or what she calls "her gut."
There are a few recurring characters from Dying to Read, the first in the Cate Kincaid Files. From a hunky Mitch Berenski, to her uncle Joe who owns Belmont Investigations and then of course, because it's a cozy, there's Octavia, the heiress cat who chose Cate to care for her.
I loved Dolled Up to Die as much as I loved McCourtney's other mysteries. She's still one of my favorite mystery writers.
Thanks so much to Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dolled Up to Die, Cate Kincaid Files Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Northeast
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book #2 in the Cate Kincaid series is a very enjoyable read. Lorena McCourtney's style of writing is very engaging--as also is her main charactor, Cate Kincaid. Lorena keeps the storyline and mystery moving right along. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.