Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3

Revell Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3

Private investigator Cate Kinkaid arrives at an autobody shop to give a friend a ride---and stumbles upon a case of self-defense. When the shop's manager Matt Halliday hires her to find the owner of a particular motorcycle, her search takes an interesting turn. Was the shooting in Matt's office really as cut-and-dried as it appeared?
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Review 1 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light, Fast-Paced Mystery

Date:July 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
LifeofLiterature
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fast-paced, light mystery novel is bursting with adventure from page one. Death Takes a Ride is written in simple language that allows the reader to speed through the pages and discover the surprising ending. The romance is not complex but adds a nice flair to the crime and murder that accompanies Cate’s life. Although the story is not very deep, the author does a wonderful job of keeping the reader guessing as to the truth behind each event in the plot. While this novel can stand alone, it serves as a nice addition to an exciting series. This book is recommended for lovers of contemporary mystery.
I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great addition to the Cate Kinkaid Files!!
After loving the previous books spent with Cate, Mitch, and Octavia, I couldn't help myself when the opportunity arose to review Death Takes a Ride. Once again, Ms. McCourtney exceeds expectations as she rises above the common cliches associated with murder-mysteries. Nothing comes easily to Cate. Some might shrug at this, but this truly is what makes this series, particularly Cate, stand out over the ones where the main character always has that convenient friend.
Cate grows a little bit more in each book and I'm always excited to spend some time with the tomato-red head. Her quirks and her cat, Octavia really grow on you. Cate comes through so clearly that, though the book is written in third person, there were times I had to remind myself it wasn't first person! I really hope this isn't the last we see of Cate and Mitch (especially after that ending!!), because I would love to read another book.
When I sit down to read a mystery, my biggest concern is whether or not I'll be surprised with the ending. This time, I was not surprised but that didn't detract at all from the experience for me. Instead, I felt more of a "I knew it!" avalanche of excitement rather than a "Drat. I was right." disappointment. As I stated earlier in the review, I hope there's another book!!
I recommend this novel to readers who enjoy a more relaxed mystery novel over the common suspense/thriller. Things to know: a character is killed by being impaled in the head. I think readers should be at least fifteen or sixteen before diving into this novel.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Murder Mystery, Fun and Faith

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorena McCourtney in her new book “Death Takes A Ride” Book Three in The Cate Kinkaid Files series published by Revell Books gives us a new adventure with Cate Kinkaid.
From the Back Cover: It’s official. This case is above her pay grade–and Cate’s in over her head.
Cate Kinkaid arrives at H&B Vintage Auto Restorations to give a friend a ride. But, as usual, trouble finds Cate even there–this time in the form of one dead man, one wounded man, and what appears to be a pretty obvious case of self-defense.
Despite having been merely an unfortunate bystander, Cate finds herself sucked into the case. And the deeper she gets, the more she begins to suspect that the shooting in the H&B office may not have been as cut-and-dried as it appeared.
Bestselling and award-winning author Lorena McCourtney takes you on wild ride in this clever cozy mystery that will keep you guessing.
Assistant PI Cate Kincaid is back. Things are falling into place, Cate is waiting for her P.I. license to arrive in the mail and her uncle is going to retire and turn the business over to her. And it doesn’t involve murder. In her dreams. Cate goes to pick up a friend, gun shots ring out, there is a dead body, of course, and once again Cate is involved in murder. Ms. McCourtney has given us a prize in Cate Kincaid. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down as you try to figure out who the killer is. Ms. McCourtney is an excellent writer who knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book and I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A bit tame

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This book had some great things about it. Firstly if you're a pet lover, you're going to love Clancy, the dog. His antics will keep you amused. Secondly, the story will stand alone without reading the first two in this series.
However if your a serious mystery buff, you will know who-done-it quick, and be a bit bored with the mystery/suspense aspect of this story.
Lorena McCourtney does a good job of weaving her characters together and making them likeable, I just wished there had been more suspense. I did find this book less interesting than the others in the series. I will still read this author, because I enjoyed those books.
4 stars from this reviewer. This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read!!!

Date:July 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Lorena did it again! :) This is the second book from The Cate Kinkaid Files for me and I really need to go back and get the first in the series! It is SO good! :) This time I didn't really solve the case before Cate, but I wasn't really surprised when she realized who the killer is! Lorena fills the case with many suspects and different twists as the plot thickens! Octavia, as always, is amazing! :D She is one of the best pet characters I've had the pleasure to read about and in Death Takes a Ride she is joined by a new and lovable sidekick. ;) Cate is excellent as well; I LOVE the way she witnesses and always makes an effort to stick to her Christian morals even when its hard to do the right thing! I can not wait for the next installment! The way this one ends is fantastic!!! Lorena's writing is witty and hilarious, but not lacking in suspense either! The way she ends some of her chapters...you HAVE to keep reading! More changes are coming for Cate in Death Takes a Ride but are they welcome changes; and how will her relationship with Mitch handle said changes? Overall this is a highly entertaining read, from a fantastic author, filled with amazing, lovable characters, topped off with a lovely mystery! I highly recommend it and can't wait for more!!! :D
Songs: "Move" by MercyMe, "Press On" by Mandisa, and "Tennessee Waltz" performed by Anne Murray
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC
Psalm 121:7-8
~ASC
*I requested and received this book as a member of Revell Reads for the purpose of reviewing it. This in no way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Death Takes a Ride. ~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cozy up with this mystery

Date:July 21, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What a fun cozy mystery. This is the third in a series, I haven’t read any of the others but from my reading of this one I think you can jump in at any point and not feel lost. I didn’t at all.
Cate Kinkaid is a spunky character who I enjoyed reading about and getting to know. Lorena did a great job with all of the characters in this book giving them each their own distinct personality. Especially the cat and dog, loved them!!
This is not a grip-the-pages-because-I-am-so-scared kind of book, which from what I understand of cozy mysteries they’re not supposed to be that way, hence the word “cozy”. But Lorena has definitely written a book you will want to keep reading so you can figure out whodunit.
If you like a light mystery with murder thrown in, an ex-wife who seems too eager for insurance money, a little suspense and a dash of romance, then this is a book you will want to grab and probably an author you should really check out.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2014
My reading in the summertime tends to be of the lighter variety. A good cozy mystery is just the right thing on a long summer evening. The Cate Kincaid Files are especially nice because they strike the right balance of being a light story that has just enough substance to keep you interested.
Death Takes a Ride is the third in the series. Dying to Read and Dolled Up to Die are the first two, but each one can be read as a stand alone. There is an underlying story that threads through each of the novels but each story contains a new mystery that doesn't really hinge on the previous ones.
When the story begins Cate is anxiously awaiting the arrival of her official license that will propel her from being an Assistant Investigator to a full fledged Investigator. When that happens it is expected that she will take over the agency so her Uncle Joe can retire and travel.
Cate is also trying to patiently wait for Mitch to take their relationship to the next level as in marriage. Unfortunately Mitch and his business partner have been offered a lucrative proposal that will take Mitch to another city. Cate begins to wonder if the relationship means more to her than Mitch. Will he ever get over his aversion to her being a PI?
As was the case in the two previous novels Cate didn't go looking to become involved in a murder investigation but it surely sought her out. To say that she was just in the wrong place at the wrong time is putting it mildly. At first it looks like a robbery gone bad, but then things just don't add up. The deeper Cate digs into a different matter involving the murder victim the more her intuition tells her that there is more to it than they first suspected.
The characters are just quirky enough to add humor to the serious theme of murder. Add in a big slobbery dog and a persnickety cat and you have the makings of a story that will amuse you as you try to figure out who the real culprit is.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More Cate Kincaid Murder Mishaps...

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death Takes a Ride
The Cate Kincaid Files #3
By Lorena McCourtney
Cate is back with yet another murder case that she has yet again literally fallen into. Well, she didn't fall into it - more like she was offering a ride to a friend of her Aunt Rebecca and was there for the actual event. In Cate's case the falling comes later.
But this is a time of change as Cate awaits her license making her an official private investigator and she'll be able to get rid of her assistant add-on. And then there is Uncle Joe who is talking retirement (Yikes! Is Cate ready to be on her own???) And her maybe-boyfriend Mitch might not be around much longer to be her Knight-on-a shiny-motorcycle when she needs rescuing.
At least Octavia is her one constant. Always knowing when the phone is going to ring and managing to find clues and facts that Cate never would have. This is one kitty with a personality to be reckoned with.
There are funny moments throughout Death Takes a Ride but I think this also the least funny of the series. It is a bit more serious as Cate works through the upcoming and possible changes in her life. There are plenty of suspects and not much to go on. And if Cate's not careful she may be taking a ride with death herself, especially if she can't discover who is in danger and who is the threat.
Spoiler: Cate (like Frodo) lives so we can hopefully expect a fourth book in this delightful series in the not to distant future. I hope!!!
Sit back and get ready to enjoy another Cate Kincaid murder mystery. This would be a great book club discussion book as you work alongside Cate to solve the case. Good clean fun with a murder mystery thrown in.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Revell in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A quirky mystery and fun, fast read

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the third of her Cate Kincaid files, Lorena McCourtney sends Assistant Private Investigator Cate Kincaid to H&B Vintage Auto Restoration. Not, mind you, on a case, but only to give an employee a lift to a church function. The shootout while she is waiting is purely coincidental. While at first it appears to be a clear-cut case of self-defense, as Cate gets further involved, she discovers that there is more going on beneath the surface than there initially seemed.
I love Cate, the heroine of the series. Still a little awkward and non-stereotypical-PI, Cate has not lost the ability to laugh at herself, and it is fun to see her gain confidence in her abilities as the series progresses. Even in cases where she doesn't figure everything out, her heart is in the right place and she does what is right and legal. She is a somewhat unlikely heroine, at least in comparison to people she meets on assignment, but it adds to her charm.
I can understand Cate's insecurities - soon she will be a full-fledged private investigator, legal to carry a concealed weapon, and working on her own while her aunt and uncle drive off into the sunset. The thought of running her own PI business is an intimidating thought. And Mitch also has big changes coming that will affect Cate, but she does not know exactly where - or if - she will be fitting into Mitch's new life direction. Change is rarely easy, but once through the transition, it often leads to surprisingly good places.
Like the others in the series, this quirky mystery is a fun, fast read. I thoroughly enjoy McCourtney's style of humor, and each book is an utter delight. While not full of heavy spiritual themes, the author does honor God in her works. My main concern is, will there be a fourth novel? Or is this the last of the Cate Kincaid Files? Personally, I think there is great potential for hilarious havoc to come . . .
Thank you Revell for providing a free copy in exchange for a review; I was not required to make it positive, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Death Takes a Ride by Lorena McCourtney

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
DEATH TAKES A RIDE by Lorena McCourtney is an interesting Christian Mystery. #3 in "The Cate Kinkaid Files", but can be read as a stand alone.
Once again, we found Cate Kinkaid in over her head in this mystery. All is not as it seems at the H&B Auto Restorations. With one man wounded, one dead, what more could possibly go wrong, as Cate gets pulled into this mystery.
If you are looking for a fast paced, heart-thumping story, this is not it, at all. What it is, is charming, fun, not over the top tale with humor, tension, mystery and a great whodunit. Very entertaining with interesting characters and a well thought out plot. An enjoyable read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
Rating: 4
Heat Rating: Sweet
Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cate has dropped by H&B Vintage Auto Restorations to give someone a ride to church. What she doesn't expect is a murder. Cate is still a waiting on her P.I. license to arrive, so technically she isn't supposed to investigate a murder. But when the business partner asks her to investigate another issue she gets pulled into everything before she realizes what she's into.
I hadn't had the pleasure of reading anything by this author before. I didn't know what I was missing. I could not put this book down. It was funny, entertaining, and well written. The author did a great job of mixing a little bit of romance, lots of mystery and intrigue, and subtle mentions of God.
I haven't read the first two books in the series, but was still able to enjoy this book. I enjoyed the author's sense of humor that she infused into the story. The main female character was quirky and klutzy, but endearing. I can't wait to get the first two books.
I received this book free of charge from Baker Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our Favorite PI

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death Takes A Ride, and our favorite PI is in the midst of a murder, and all she wanted to do was pick up someone for a ride to a church event. Cate was just helping out, but bodies seem to find her, or she is the next victim?
If you love mystery and suspense, with a bit of romance, this is for you, and it won’t disappoint. Poor Cate is finally achieving her goal of becoming a fully licensed PI, just waiting for it to arrive in the mail. Of course, her relationship with Matt maybe fully jeopardized, as he does not like her line of work, and the danger that seems to follow her around.
Now that her Uncle is finally retiring and turning the business over to her, she has more life decisions to make. Some decisions seem to really fall into her lap. She sure has some heart stopping events happen to her, and you never expect where help will come from, at least I didn’t.
I have read the first two books in this series and they are equally as good, and I highly recommend that you read them. This book can stand-alone, we get caught up with a lot of the information that is presented to us.
Love the end of this book, and hope that there will be more in this series, hate to say goodbye.
I received this book through Revell’s Blogger’s Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cozy Mystery

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grams
Location:Elizabethtown, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death Takes a Ride by Lorena McCourtney – A Book Review
The first book I read on my Kindle was Invisible by Lerena McCourtney. I enjoyed it so much, I purchased the other three books in the series about the insuppressible little old lady, Ivy Malone, and read them in quick succession. So, when I had the opportunity to read and review Death Takes a Ride by Ms McCourtney, I jumped at the chance.
The leading lady and sleuth in this story, Cate Kinkaid, who is moving in on middle age, does not find herself in quite the same types of dangerous yet hilarious predicaments as her predecessor, little old lady Ivy Malone. Yet this mystery provided enough twists and turns to keep me interested in the story line. I have always been a big mystery fan, and I enjoyed this cozy mystery that kept me awake nights wanting to know what was coming up next, not checking the doors and jumping at bumps in the night.
Death Takes a Ride is the third in the Cate Kinkaid series. However it worked fine as a stand alone read. Through implications within the text, I was able to infer that throughout the series Cate typically finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time, or as an assistant PI, was that the right place at the right time? While her uncle’s private investigation agency did not typically handle murder cases, it seems Cate often has a way of finding herself alongside a dead body. The reader of this book does not have to get far into the story before just such a situation manifests itself. The story also includes enough romance between Cate and her “Computer Dude” boyfriend, Mitch, to keep romance novel lovers interested, while there doesn’t seem to be any love lost between Cate’s cat and the dog Mitch is fostering for the victim of an attempted robbery. Or was it attempted murder? No spoilers here, you will have to read the story to find out, and also to enjoy the wonderful ending with the sweet, and ketchupy, surprise.
If you are looking for a cozy mystery that is enjoyable without overtaxing your own inner sleuth, this book is for you. I would give it four out of five smoking guns for reading pleasure. I thank Revell Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for providing Death Takes a Ride for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Death Takes a Ride, I found that all three novels in this series are certifiably enjoyable while balancing action, adventure along with romance. Cate Kincaid is an unemployed young lady who begins as an assistant private investigator working with her uncle, starting in book #1, Death Takes a Ride. Cate’s adventures continue in the sequel titled, Dolled up to Die. Each novel has continuing characters so make sure to start with book one. Cate goes through some suspense-filled mystery she just happens to find herself involved in and then she is often calling her friend Mitch to come to her rescue.
Mitch is a single guy who, after finding himself unemployed, began a software company with his friend Lance. Now the company is being pursued by a large corporation to be purchased. If sold, Mitch has his future filled with possibilities that may or may not include Cate. In what may or may not be the last installment, readers will embark on following leads that include homicide, deception, and embezzlement, with a surprise ending.
There are twists and turns in the plot that I found very enjoyable along with busting out laughing at some of the quirky situations and anecdotes. I cannot tell if the author is planning any more in this series, a spinoff from the series or what, but whatever the author comes up with, I will be reading! It is fun to just sit back, read a fun and exciting story without worrying about high tension possibly robbing me of sleep! There is just something about the mysteries that captivates the imagination along with the easy way it reads that makes for a great summer book!
I hope you take time to read all three books in order to fully appreciate the tale, plots and characters within! Enjoy the adventure beginning with Death Takes a Ride, and then Dolled up to Die, ending with Death Takes a Ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Death Takes a Ride and it was a Wild Ride

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death Takes a Ride
Lorena McCourtney
Book Summary: Cate Kinkaid arrives at H&B Classic Auto Restorations to give a friend a ride. But, as usual, trouble finds Kate even there--this time in the form of one dead man, one wounded man, and what appears to be a pretty obvious case of self-defense. Owner Matt Halliday wants to hire her, but not for this case. Instead, Cate is charged with finding a man who owns a particular motorcycle Matt would like to buy. As her search progresses, she begins to suspect that the shooting in Matt's office may not have been as cut-and-dried as it appeared.
Review: I loved this book! It is a great series and at the same time a standalone book. Easy to read and a brisk storyline make for a suspenseful mystery! I did figure out the who and the why but it was so much fun to see it all come together that I could not put it down. I loved Cate and Mitch - they make a great team. I am hopeful for more stories but if this was the last in the series I can see them working together to track down hackers and other suspects. This was my first book of the series and I can not wait to read the other ones. I was predisposed to like this series when I started it because of Ms. McCourtney’s other books but to me this book was culmination of series she wrote. The suspects were realistic and memorable. Well written overall and believable. This PI was what you would really expect - rote work, occasional excitement and stumbling on things no one wants to be part of. These are all the elements wonderfully blended to make the story seamlessly written. Candy, Lily, Andy, Matt and Shirley were realistic people caught up in life. I really liked the parts with Candy and Cate together. They made a funny duo, it is the humor of these things that were tastefully blended throughout the story that made the entire book five stars!
I would like to thank Net Galley and Revell for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Latest Cate Kincaid Mystery is the Best!

Date:July 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngieArndt
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cate Kincaid's latest case is even better than her first two. As usual, she finds herself in the right place at the wrong time -- or is it? Is this a clear-cut case of self defense or is it something more? Quirky Cate has to rely on her wits, her faith and her own (handsome) personal computer guy, Mitch, to solve this mystery before someone else gets hurt.
Let me just start by saying I LOVE all of Lorena McCourtney's mysteries. Whether it's Ivy Malone or Cate Kincaid, I'm a big fan. In Death Takes a Ride, McCourtney mixes the perfect proportions of puzzle, action/thriller, romance, hilarity and faith to make this latest installment of the Cate Kincaid Mysteries her best.
If she ever decides to teach a mystery writing class, I'm right there because she's one of the best!
Many to the publisher for my copy in exchange for my fair and impartial review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fun Mystery

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I like the feel of McCourtney's books. I don't read many mystery books, but I find McCourtney's to be light and an easy read.
The cat cracks me up, and the addition of a dog was fun. As for the mystery, I probably don't read many because I'm too good at figuring them out and then I read the end to see if I'm right midway through the book. This book was no exception, but what I liked about it was that that it's more than a mystery. The characters are engaging and I care about them.
I look forward to the next book in the series. No worries, if you haven't read any of the other books. They all stand alone.
I was given this book by the publisher for review purposes. I was not required to give a positive review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A cozy mystery with a generous dollop of humour

Date:July 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Madcap mayhem at its best. Who knew murder could be so much fun? This cozy mystery has all the elements of a perfect summer read.
There's a complicated mystery with plenty of twists and turns to solve. Impeccable pacing make this the kind of read you want to race through, but slow down so you can take the time to enjoy all the nuances of McCourtney's clever wit.
Loved the deaf cat and behemoth of a dog. Who can resist a story with secondary characters like that?! Not me, that's for sure. Mind you the besotted hero grabbed my attention as well and provides some lovely toe-curling scenes in the midst of all the chaos.
And though this is the third book in the Cate Kinkaid Files series and the romance is continuous through each book it reads very well as a standalone. I read book one, somehow missed book two and had no problems delving right into Death Takes a Ride. If you like cozy mysteries with a generous dollop of humour, this is definitely the book for you.
My thanks to the publisher and Net Galley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Mystery

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Once again private investigator Cate Kinkaid finds herself in more danger than her pay grade should allow when a straightforward case of attempted robbery turns out to be so much more.
About the Author:
Lorena McCourtney is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of dozens of novels, including Invisible (which won the Daphne du Maurier Award from Romance Writers of America), Dying to Read, and Dolled Up to Die. She resides in Oregon. Learn more at www.lorenamccourtney.com.
My Review:
Cate Kinkaid didn't plan on trying to solve a mystery when she offered her friend a ride. Even though she never goes looking for trouble it always seems to find her--some how some way. Her love life may suffer as a result, as well because of trouble always finding her boyfriend isn't so sure he likes her new job. Not quite a private investigator Cate still loves a good mystery and really has a knack for solving them. But this is a case of foul play and Cate intends on finding out what really happened and why it seems that murder is involved.
The author has done an amazing job of blending the characters and setting up the perfect crime. Not only does she create the story behind it all but the mystery as well and it takes a very talented writer to do that. She managed to get a chuckle out of me every now and then. The story takes off from the very beginning so there are no dull moments or lulls in the story.
This is number 3 in the series, The Cate Kinkaid Files.
**Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge for my honest review from Revell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Death Takes a Ride, Cate Kinkaid Files Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death Takes a Ride is the third book in the Cate Kinkade series. It picks up not long after the second books ends so there isn’t a big gap of time where the reader might feel lost.
When Cate agrees to give friend a ride she walks into what looks like a robbery. But after being asked by several people to investigate, she finds there is more to this would be crime than first meets the eye.
What struck out at me in this book is, while her Uncle has turned over his PI business to Cate, she finds that she has a lot to learn. I loved this aspect. It brought a real human side out in this character. We also get to see more romance between Mitch and Cate and an insecurity to her when she finds that Mitch might be selling his business, and yet he doesn’t mention to her what he will be doing after that.
I am not a cat person, but I do enjoy Octavia, Cate’s deaf cat. Her antics are very well written and quite enjoyable.
For the most part I liked this book, although there were parts in the middle that did drag on a bit too much for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>