Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2

Revell Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2

Spunky Allison McClare is determined to be a fearless, independent woman, resorting to a mammoth hat pin for protection on her way to and from the school where she teaches. But when she takes a notion to explore the wild Barbary Coast she quickly discovers she is no match for rum-soaked brute strength.

Detective Nick Barone would rather do almost anything than teach this petite socialite jiu-jitsu, but it seems he has little choice in the matter. Sparks fly every time the two meet until a grudging friendship develops into something deeper. But when Nick suddenly leaves town, Allison realizes he's a fraud just like all the rest of the men she's cared for. Does she dare love again?

Average Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 37100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Review 1 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"ANOTHER MASTERPIECE FOR JULIE LESSMAN"!!

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
BonTon
Location:Mt. Washington, Ky.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Dare to Love Again" is the second novel in The Heart of San Francisco trilogy of the McClare family, from award-winning author, Julie Lessman. Socialite Allison McClare's goal to be an independent woman is met with opposition from Detective Nick Barone (long e), whose beat is the streets of the wild Barbary Coast, in which the Hand of Hope School for girls - where Allison is the new teacher of English and drama - is located. Nick's secrets from the past have left him with a grudge against the upper class - Allison's belief that all men are liars, frauds, or fortune hunters, stems from the pain caused by a broken relationship. The humorous barbs between Nick and Allison start on the first page and don't let up until the last page of this delightful novel. Nick and Allison are equally surprised when romantic sparks between them start to fly.
From Julie Lessman's description of a "lighter, shorter, less complicated series - with less romantic and spiritual passion" (as compared to her Daughters of Boston and Winds of Change trilogies), I wasn't sure what to expect with this series. What I DID expect was to be thoroughly entertained and inspired - as Julie is a masterful writer - and I wasn't disappointed!!
Julie's heart-warming characters are in abundance, as usual. The girls and staff of Mercy House Orphanage are a touching addition to the story - watch out for little Lottie, she'll "steal your heart"! The "on-again, off-again" romantic relationship between Allison's mother, Caitlyn, and Allison's deceased father's brother, Logan, will have you cheering for, and sympathizing with, each of them before the story ends.
"Dare to Love Again" is chock-full of humor, suspense, passion, drama, secrets, romance, realistic characters, redemption, forgiveness, warm family settings, hope, regret, love, faith, and the ever-wonderful happy ending - it's a treat for ALL readers!! The McClare family is a delight - just as the O'Connor family was in Julie's two previous series!! I've loved each and every novel she's written, and I await - however impatiently - the October 2014 release of the final novel in the series, "Surprised By Love"!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous book!

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fabulous book!
Oh my goodness! Where to begin? I absolutely loved this book! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars! When I read Cassie and Jamie’s book, Love at Any Cost, I didn’t think Julie could top it, but once again, she has proven me wrong! Dare to Love Again is definitely my favorite of her books, so far!
Allison was wonderful! I liked her a lot in the first book, but I completely fell in love with her in this one! She’s so sweet, but sassy too. I enjoyed how she stood up to Nick, with her sharp wit and even sharper tongue (and of course, the infamous stick). Allison had been hurt before and wanted nothing to do with any men, until she meets Nick Barone. Saying they “hit it off” would be the perfect comment for their first meeting, emphasis on “hit.” It was so funny that I just sat and laughed! I loved watching Allison grow, learning to take care of herself, but also learning that sometimes you have to rely on family and most importantly, God.
I adored Nick, too! He was the perfect match for Allison, gruff, cranky, and equally stubborn. The two of them together is like, as Allison put it, kerosene and a lit match. As we get to know him better, his softer side comes out and we see that his cranky personality is because of all that has happened in his life. I enjoyed watching Allison’s sweetness smooth out some of his rough edges, though it did nothing for either of their tempers!
The spiritual part was undoubtedly my favorite. It focuses on forgiveness and not allowing hurt and bitterness to separate us from God. Allison had to learn this from the perspective of having her heart broken over and over. Nick had to trust God enough to release his hurt and do things His way. It was a journey for both of them, but also for me too. Julie’s books always challenge my faith and this one is no exception.
We also continue to follow Caitlyn and Logan’s floundering relationship, which I enjoyed immensely. I can’t wait to see where Julie takes it in the final book, Surprised by Love, which unfortunately doesn’t come out until October 21.
As always with Julie’s books, the writing was excellent and the descriptions so vivid, it seems as though you are actually there, walking the streets or sparring with the characters!
While Dare to Love Again is the second book in the Heart of San Francisco series, it can be read as a stand-alone. The story comes together quite well in the end and only leaves a few loose ends to be tied up in the final book.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Two stubborn but likeable characters

Date:March 11, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Julie Lessman is an amazing writer. If you haven’t read any of her work yet and you love historical romance, you need to get your hands on one of her books and give her a try. Why not start with Dare to Love Again?
In this book we have two very stubborn characters, Allison and Nick. They had me wanting to pull my hair out.
The book opens with them meeting and then arguing, which leads to Allison actually hitting Nick with her teaching stick. She definitely has the hot Irish temper (not that I would know anything about that).
It seems every time the two try to play nice, which is encouraged by other characters in the book, something happens to set them off again and before you know it Allison is coming after Nick with a new weapon of choice.
Julie does such a great job building the tension up between these two that you will find yourself just waiting for that first kiss, which if you have read Julie’s books before you know will have your heart twisting for the lovebirds.
Not only is the plot great but you will enjoy this glimpse into San Francisco and taking a ride on a cable car.
I have no doubt you historical romance readers out there will enjoy this book.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through Netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An entertaining sequel to Love at Any Cost!
Dare to Love Again was such an entertaining sequel to Love at Any Cost. I have greatly enjoyed getting to know Julie Lessman’s writing and I have even more so enjoyed getting to know the McClare’s and all their friends.
Dare to Love Again stars Allison McClare and Nick Barone. Allison McClare is determined to become an independent woman. After having her heart broken one time too many, she has no interest in falling for any more sweet talking men. Allison has become a schoolteacher at a school her mother has recently opened in one of the worst places in town. When she runs into some trouble, her Uncle Logan hires a bodyguard to teach Alli how to defend herself and to keep her out of danger.
In steps Nick Barone, the grumpy police detective who has no interest in high-class women. Despite his reluctance, he agrees to Logan McClare’s terms. His own past is quite secretive and despite the mutual hatred between Allison and Nick, they somehow manage to form a friendship that slowly blossoms into more.
If you’re looking for a fun, romantic, witty, entertaining read, look no further. Dare to Love Again has it all and I guarantee you will find yourself falling in love with the McClare family. I was so excited to join their world again and I can’t wait to go back to San Francisco and visit them again. I have fallen in love with Julie Lessman’s writing and will certainly try to read her other series in the very near future.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Revell, in exchange for my honest opinion. I received no compensation for this book, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.
Leah B.
Must Love Books
http://mustlovereading.wordpress.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved Every Bit of It!

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved every bit of this book.....from the cover, to the character named for me and the story itself had my full attention, even when I put the book down to have a break :)
I soooo enjoyed how Nick and Alli met, never a dull moment between them and their banter was wonderful throughout the story. "She paused, alarm curling in her stomach at the sudden gleam in her cousin's eye. 'Oh, no you don't--you can just get that matchmaker glow off your face right now! I'd just as soon whop the guy as look at him. Talk about oil and water--I'm kerosene and he's a lit match."
LOVED Cassie, Alli's cousin, and the entire McClare family!! It's just nonstop fun with every scene they had, wow :)
I felt like Uncle Logan was a wonderful protector and loving man for the family, but at times I felt like telling him to butt out. He meant well, but he was just too much in the way sometimes. However, it was refreshing to see a family man like himself so involved and he genuinely loves them all.
I loved the deal Logan makes with Nick so that Alli has to spend loads of time with him, the ju jitsui lessons were such a treat to the story!
"She folded her arms and hiked her jaw. 'Well, then, perhaps I should apologize as well' she said with a sincere pucker of her brow. 'Please forgive me, Mr. Barone, for losing my temper with you that first day....' She paused and scrunched her nose. 'Pardon me, make that every day we have ever met. No matter how correct my assessment may have been, it was wrong for me to call you a Neanderthal, brainless caveman, polecat, half-wit, pea brain, cave dweller, unsavory baboon, grouch, Attila the Hun, Mr. Personality, illiterate, dim-witted moron, airheaded oaf, brainless barbarian....." *i dare the reader to keep a straight face with lines like that :)*
There was less kissing in this book, but the way Lessman writes it is brilliant. There's still plenty of looks, tension, romance, sweetness, forgiveness, humbleness, adventure and character growth and the plot is perfectly done. Just when you think you know how the story will play out, something unexpected goes down. I'm thankful I won this book and I loved every bit of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful!

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie has written another gem of a book! I enjoyed this one so much. Allison was delightfully full of life (for lack of a better way to sum her up) and daring and energy and fun. Nick was a classically mysterious hero, exciting and heart-stopping. The setting there in San Francisco is fascinating and I greatly enjoyed it. The whole book was less passionate than some of Julie’s others have been, which I appreciated. However, it was still full of romance and I really enjoyed the humorous situations into which the characters often stumbled. I’m definitely keeping this book, and I’m definitely excited to read more by Julie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome and excellent!

Date:February 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have read some series by authors and thought, "Wow, this is really good!" and then when their next series comes out, it just can't live up to the first series. I loved Julie Lessman's first series so much that I was just sure that she would never be able to create new characters that could be as strong and compelling as the O'Connor family. I was wrong. Plain and simple. Julie has outdone herself with this new series. I was encouraged by the first book but book #2 shows that it is not a fluke. Julie Lessman has struck gold again!
In Book #1 we meet Cassidy McClare and her rich cousins in San Francisco and get to know them as Cassidy starts falling in love with Jamie McKenna and resists it every step of the way. Now in Book #2 we pick up with them but through the eyes of Cassidy's cousin Allison McClare. She is an independent young woman, or at least she wants to be... much to the chagrin of the adults in her life. So Detective Nick is brought in to protect Allison from herself and her independent spirit. He is under threat of death is her hurts her romantically, so of course, they start having feelings for each other that neither one wants to admit. And then no great book would be complete without a host of issues... and poor Allison and Nick have more than their fair share! The mob, deaths, pregnant girlfriends, over protective family members and more...
This book has proven to me that lightning can strike twice... and does for Julie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dare to Love Again a Delight!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading Dare to Love Again was such a delight! It made me laugh, it brought tears to my eyes, and made me fall in love with Julie Lessman’s characters all over again. Dare to Love Again is the second in The Heart of San Francisco series and is the story of Allison McClare and Nick Barone. Julie is known for creating sparks that fly and lots of romantic tension. And the tension between Alli and Nick, romantic or otherwise, rivals the tension of a coiled spring. And as always, Julie threads her story with yet another story—how a loving and powerful God can change the hearts of the children He loves. Dare to Love Again is definitely a new favorite for this Julie Lessman fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner from Julie Lessman

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading a few of Julie's books, I've grown to love her unique style, enthusiasm, and characterization; I like the anticipation of a new storyline coupled with the comfortable feeling of knowing generally what to expect. And she never disappoints! In fact, I was so eager to read Julie's new book, second in the Hearts of San Francisco series, that I was sorely tempted to put other review commitments on hold just so I could start Dare to Love Again.
One of the strengths of this story is characterization - and with the McClare family of San Francisco, Julie has created a family dynamic of genuinely flawed characters who are unashamedly open, not only in voicing their love for each other, but showing it as well, and will go to the ends of the earth in order to protect a loved one.
Nick and Alli are great lead characters, and I loved them from the very beginning. Nick, a "penniless womanizer cop who breaks hearts for a living" according to Logan, initially comes across as slightly rough around the edges, but we quickly see his soft side with Miss Penny and the orphans she takes in. The love of 6-year-old Lottie is especially touching.
Alli realizes she has been blessed by God and wants to give back by reaching out to disadvantaged young women through the Hand of Hope school that her mother, Cait, started in the Barbary Coast area. But to Nick, Alli is just "another rich dame appeasing her guilt by dabbling in charity between high tea and tennis on the lawn."
But as much as I enjoyed the chemistry between Nick and Alli, it's Logan and Cait who steal the show. Julie does such a good job at incorporating attraction and romance between an older couple - and just when I think their story will have a happy resolution, she throws in another twist! Logan tells Cait, "I understand that you are a hard taskmaster, Cait, one whose trust I can never satisfy no matter what I do. . . . I guess I should be grateful it's only my heart that's captive and not my soul, lest I be a man lost forever."
From Nob Hill to the Barbary Coast, the San Francisco Gilded Age setting is one of contrasts and is very well done. The narrative moves at a steady pace and is laced with humor; secondary characters like Miss Penny, Lottie, and servants Hadley and Rosie are a special delight. Spiritual elements - such as the ease of praying spontaneously, caring for those in need, learning to let go of anger, forgiveness - feel like a natural part of the storyline and I found them to be both moving and challenging.
I highly recommend Dare to Love Again to romance fans everywhere.
Thank you to Lanette Haskins and Revell for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dare to Love Again

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dare to Love Again is my first book I have read by Julie. Right now, I am wondering why that is. If her all her books are like this, then I definitely need to pick up all of them. She definitely has a new fan here. From page one of this book, I find myself literally laughing out loud. It is sweet, fun, entertaining, and romantic.
If you are looking for a great, inspiring, and humorous read, then this one if for you!
Highly recommended! 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Julie Lessman returns with her unique brand of historical romance with her second Heart of San Francisco novel, Dare to Love Again, a sassy and engaging tale of two people seeking justice in differing ways. Allison desperately wants to make life better for the children she teaches and Nick has a personal mission that dictates his choices and colours his outlook on life. I really enjoyed these characters – in true Lessman style, their flaws are authentic and frustrating, leading to both funny and entertaining moments. Allison’s feistiness and Nick’s irritability make this couple a favourite of mine, their interactions are never dull and take twists you don’t anticipate. While I struggled with a few elements and characters in Julie’s previous novel, I have no such issues with Dare to Love Again. This book is a winner from start to finish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant right to the end!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Noela N
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those stories! The type of story that adheres you to its pages, shackling you as its willing captive. The type that invades your thoughts and your heart with its arresting characters, the rousing and invigorating plot, and the faith-building, inspiring voices within. And the type that has you exclaiming upon reaching the end, “Wow, now THAT was an incredible story!”
High-spirited Allison (Alli) McClare is fighting two battles. She desperately wants her independence regardless of the neighbourhood dangers; and after having her heart utterly broken by a money-hungry fraud in the past, she’s been in a fight to guard her heart over the last two years. That is, until the handsome yet surly Nick Barone comes into her life and unintentionally into her heart. Nick has some monumental secrets however, so if Allison dares to love again, can she survive yet another heartbreak if these secrets were to unravel?
Dark-haired Nick Barone (must be said with a long ‘e’!) is a grouchy detective that is holding a massive grudge for the rich socialites of the community. Allison seems to fit into this mold, so when Nick is forced to teach her self-defence and see to her safety that she may have some independence, he is furious! In time, Nick sees that there is much more to this little spit-fire than he originally thought and soon this begrudging relationship, sparks and all, grows into something much more intense. Nick has plenty to overcome for this to work. Will the secrets of this angry and vengeful detective kill their hope and future before it even begins?
This is a not-to-be missed Julie Lessman masterpiece! In this second book of the Heart of San Francisco series, the lively characters we all fell in love with in the first, are right there along with Alli and Nick, providing extra scintillating dialogue and a powerful heartfelt subplot. I’m truly in awe of the author’s ability to create not only the most engaging and animated conversations that have razor-sharp wit and discourse so raw and believable, but she also manages to generate romantic tension so passionate and spring-loaded that you’re left breathless!
My only grievance with this story was that it came to an end. I wanted more as I wasn’t ready to give it up. The good news is – there will be another following. The bad news is – I will have to wait. However this highly recommended story is easily read again in the meantime!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun Historical Fiction

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've seen Julie Lessman's name in Christian fiction circles, but had never read a book by her before Dare to Love Again. If this book is a good representation of her storytelling, I certainly look forward to reading more.
From the very first page, the characters were fun and interesting -- all the way from Allison and Nick to sweet little La-di-da. The romance and plots twists kept the interest level high throughout the story. Historical fiction has recently become one of my favorite genres, and I really enjoyed this first-time look at the Barbary Coast as a setting.
Although this was the second book in a series, I had no problem jumping into the storyline or getting to know the characters. I do look forward, though, to reading more in this series by checking out the previous book.
Thanks to Revell for providing a copy of Dare to Love Again in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spunky Allison McClare is determined to be a fearless, independent woman, resorting to a mammoth hat pin for protection on her way to and from the school where she teaches. But when she takes a notion to explore the wild Barbary Coast she quickly discovers she is no match for rum-soaked brute strength.
Detective Nick Barone would rather do almost anything than teach this petite socialite jiu-jitsu, but it seems he has little choice in the matter. Sparks fly every time the two meet until a grudging friendship develops into something deeper. But when Nick suddenly leaves town, Allison realizes he's a fraud just like all the rest of the men she's cared for. Does she dare love again?
The lushness of the glorious Gilded Age beautifully showcases Lessman's passion as a writer in this engaging love story written with humor and heart. From the glamour of San Francisco's Nob Hill to the seedy gambling dens of the Barbary Coast, Dare to Love Again is a journey to find a love that never fails. Fans will love revisiting the world of the cousins McClare, and new readers will seek more of Julie's passion-filled novels.
My Review:
I personally enjoyed the romance between hero/heroine a lot. I know I'm a sucker for the typical Christian romance, but the formula works on me every time. In this story, the characters had depth and were interesting people. The plot line had friction between Nick and Allison, and I have to admit that while that seems slightly overused, it really does work in real life. I loved how Lessman wrote all the relationships into her story; none of them were forced, far-fetched, or ridiculous.
The historical value of this novel is priceless. Lessman not only portrays San Francisco in 1903 with flair and accuracy, she brings the city to life. It has never been a particular interest of mine to learn about Chinatown, but the author did such an excellent job of giving me a peek of the past, it genuinely got me interested in learning the history of this magnificent city and it's people. A wonderful story that was well rounded, satisfying, and enjoyable.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story + Great Characters = Great Book

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't read the first book in the Heart of the San Francisco series, but if Love At Any Cost is half as good as Dare To Love Again, I would still consider it a great book. Julie Lessman has developed a storyline in Dare To Love Again that is an exciting and entertaining story of romance, intrigue, deception and forgiveness encompassed in humor and Christian faith.
I loved the characters of Alli and Nick. Alli, “Miss La Di Da” or “Whack 'Em Till They Weep McClare” as Nick likes to call her, is a spitfire that is fiercely independent with a temper to match, yet she's kind, loving and full of a compassion for others that is rooted in her Christian faith. Her "terms of endearment" for Nick are even more humorous than Nick's are for her.
Nick, aka “Mr. Cranky Pants”, “Mr. Pinhead”, and “Mr. Personality”, is grumpy and hard on the exterior. Surprisingly, he reveals a soft spot for the little girls at Ms. Penny's house for orphans and has touching memories of his Gram and his mom and dad. These “softer” qualities give his character a depth that you wouldn't expect and also make you wonder just what his past has been. The mystery of his past plays an important part to the story line and author Julie Lessman executes it perfectly.
All of the characters in this book, the McClares; Jamie, Bram, Meg, Maddie and especially Cait and Uncle Logan (I can't wait to see how the relationship between Cait and Uncle Logan plays out), the McClare's household staff (Hadley and Rosie gave me quite a few chuckles), Nick, the grandmotherly Miss Penny, and the 6 year old orphan Lottie (who has a touching love for Nick), are endearing and add to the enjoyment of reading this book. I can't imagine the book without even one of these characters in it.
I'm extremely glad I had the opportunity to read this book and meet these wonderful people! Dare to Love Again: a great story line + great characters = an overall great book.
Read it. I know you won't be disappointed either.
I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another home run from Lessman!

Date:January 26, 2014
Julie Lessman's Dare to Love Again is another home run! The second installment in the McClare family saga, readers get to know Allison McClare better and catch up with the rest of the family as well. Lessman does a beautiful job portraying a contentious relationship between Allison and Nick. They both struggle to overcome past hurts and rebuild their relationships with God. I loved watching the two happen simultaneously! The romance was so sweet too!
The other thing I love about this series is that the entire family is part of the story. I loved being able to continue reading about Jamie and Cassie and the rest of the siblings and am anxious to see if Caitlyn and Uncle Logan will ever find their way to each other! I loved that Lessman centered so much of this book around the McClare's new school in the Barbary Coast, and Miss Penny and the orphans under her care (especially Lottie!) were a nice addition as well.
I'm so looking forward to reading another book in this series and am wondering who will be featured next time. There are so many wonderful possibilities to continue this series!
Fans of historical romance/drama and/or family sagas will enjoy this series. I highly recommend! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Snark, Sass, Romance, and God . . .

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
AndiinNampa
Location:Nampa, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OUTSTANDING!!!! OUTSTANDING!!!! SPORGENTE!!!!
When you pick up a Julie Lessman novel you are guaranteed:
Snark
Sass
and Romance! Oh, the romance!
Alli McClure has been bit by the romance bug three times and lost, will the fourth time be the charm?
Nick Barone (long e) dislike's the upper crust with a passion. When he and Alli meet sparks fly, or rather her pointer does.
Alli has joined her mother in teaching disadvantaged girls on the Barbary Coast of San Francisco. Nick Barone (long e) is a detective and he is determined to keep the girls and those that work at The Hands of Hope school for girls safe. Alli wants independence and she is going to get it no matter what it takes.
Barone (long e) or as the girls that live at Miss Penny's home call him Mr. Cranky Pants, Alli calls him Mr. Grunt and Garaon.
When Nick is offered the opportunity to teach Alli self defense he reluctantly agrees.The more time he spends with this snarky little teacher, a deep friendship begins to develop, and Nick realizes his heart needs some protecting too.
Along with Alli, and Nick there are returning characters from Love At Any Cost. Cassie, Cait, Uncle Logan, Jamie, Rosie, Mr. Bigley, Hadley, Maddie, and new ones that will melt your heart, like little Lottie who will just steal your heart. When she grabs Nick's face with her little six year old hands and tells him "We're family" you want to just hug her.
True to Julie she weaves a story not only rich in sass and romance, but one rich in godly principals. Seeing Uncle Logan come face to face with what was keeping him from a relationship with Cait McClure was pure God, because no one can change someone's heart but God.
Dare to Love Again is a book that will stay with you long after you close the last page, and then you will want to start the book all over again, because you will have left your heart in San Francisco.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Get ready for lots of humor!!!

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
DEE LANA
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Allie McClare had her heart broken more than once, so she’s been in a fight to guard her heart over the last two years. Becoming a teacher in the new Hands of Hope school that she and her mother and cousin have opened for young girls living in the Barbary Coast of San Francisco, Allie desperately strives for independence regardless of the neighbourhood dangers.
Nick Barone is a bitter and grouchy young detective that is holding a massive grudge for the rich socialites of the community. Betrayed by his former debutante fiance' Nick has no patience for the likes of Allie McClare. Not given a choice, Nick is assigned to protect Allie and to teach her self-defence as part of her becoming independent.
When Nick Barone comes into Allie's life and unintentionally into her heart, will Allie dare to love again? Nick carries dark secrets, so if Allison dares to love again, can she survive another heartbreak if these secrets were to unravel?
I loved the humor in this book, but overall this wasn't one of my favorite reads. In the beginning of the book, Alli got on my nerves, her naivete was annoying at times, and I lost interest in the story when the action slowed down about halfway through and I struggled to finish reading it.
I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2014
With Dare to Love Again we continue on in the saga of the McClare family of San Francisco. Not only do we get to see what's happening with Cassidy and Jamie we also get to shift our main focus to Allison.
The Hand of Hope School is finally up and running but it is located on the edge of the unsavory Barbary Coast neighborhood. It is a great place to reach the girls that the school is intended to help but it is an unknown territory for the McClare's of Nob Hill. Allison is an adventurous girl and wants to explore the city that she loves.
In order to keep his beloved niece safe from the unsavory elements of the city, Logan McClare grudgingly hires Detective Nick Barone to teach Allison self-defense and to also secretly guard her. Nick has a great disdain for the elite so the sparks begin to fly between the two of them right from the beginning.
This is a fun story but an even greater tour through historic San Francisco. Julie Lessman does a fabulous job of drawing out the distinctions between the Barbary Coast and Nob Hill. She has brought a very multi-cultural city to life by taking us into the very heart of Chinatown and allowing us to get to know some of the residents and experience through their eyes the struggle between the haves and the have nots.
I think you are really going to enjoy this story of love and struggle. The characters are multi-dimentional and the sights and sounds of the city are brought to life on the pages of this novel. Pick up a copy for yourself and be transported back in time.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dare to Love Again, Heart of San Francisco Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Julie Lessman’s enjoyable Heart of San Francisco series, readers will be enthralled with the tension between some of the main characters. Readers will also find themselves laughing at some of the remarks that pass between Allison McClare and a certain detective named Nick Barone. Most of the story, along with the cast, is a continuation from book #1 in the series, Love at Any Cost; yet some of the cast is new which brings new dynamics plus a hint of some mystery.
What thrills me most is the way the friendships that begin between some of the cousins like Cassie and Allison deepen even more as their faith is tested. The matriarch of the family, Clare, has her lifelong dream fulfilled when a school that borders on the farthest street of the Barbary Coast is opened to teach and reach girls of all ages. There is an orphanage that is run by an older lady with a faith that is stalwart. She has no qualms about confronting a certain young man who is renting a room about the state of his faith at the moment and what is the reasoning behind it.
Within the blooming romance of a teacher at the school and a reluctant handyman, there lies a little 6-year-old girl whose innocence will cause sudden outbursts of laughter when reading her understanding of certain words. It didn’t take me long to read the book because of the humor, romance, faith and trust. Trust is a word Clare would love to attach to a man named Logan, but can she after all the times he has broken her heart?
Mrs. Lessman has penned a tale based in the early 1900s in the heart of San Francisco that many will find a pure joy to read. I know the cover of the first book isn’t what captured my interest as much as the description of the story within the pages. Here, in book number two, the novel goes even deeper into the lives of the characters and shows us sometimes how hard it is to trust God, especially when we are hurting or angry.
I personally cannot wait for book three of the series to be released to see how the author may bring conclusion to the ongoing drama. So, grab both novels and be prepared to be entertained and perhaps busting out in laughter as the fiction unfolds. I know I had a blast reading both and I am sure you will too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>