Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1

Revell Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1

Jilted by a fortune hunter, cowgirl Cassidy McClare is a spunky Texas oil heiress without a fortune who would just as soon hogtie a man as look at him. Hoping a summer visit with her wealthy cousins in San Francisco will help her forget her heartache, Cassidy travels west. But no sooner is she settled in beautiful California than Jamie McKenna, a handsome pauper looking to marry well, captures her heart. When Jamie discovers the woman he loves is poorer than he is, Cassidy finds herself bucked by love a second time. Will Jamie discover that money can't buy love after all? And can Cassidy ever learn to fully trust her heart to a man?

Heart of San Francisco Series | Julie Lessman

 

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
41 out of 4591%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Review 1 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent start to a new series!

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started Love at Any Cost I wasn’t sure how much I would like it. I had fallen in love with the O’Connors from her other books and didn’t know if I would be able to connect with a new family. I am happy to say that I love the McClares! I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!
Cassie McClare has been burned before and wants nothing to do with another “pretty boy” as she calls them, so imagine her surprise when one literally sweeps her off her feet when she gets to San Francisco! I loved Cassie’s character! She was so sweet, but sassy too. I enjoyed the sparring that went on between Jamie and her, and watching her stand up for herself. She was so determined to keep Jamie at a distance, but he was equally determined to change her mind. My favorite part was when she came to the realization that she didn’t need a man to make her feel loved, because God already loves her.
Jamie McKenna was also a favorite! He was so dogged in his pursuit of Cassie, not taking “no” for an answer (which was slightly annoying at times). Everyone thinks of him as a rogue, but as I got to know him, I found he wasn‘t that much of one. He was just so sure that he alone had to provide for him family, that he was willing to do anything to make that happen. I loved how sweet he was, especially with Jess, his sister. I quickly fell in love with him too! Jamie had to learn that he does, in fact, need God. I enjoyed seeing him go through a transformation during the story, as this truth finally began to sink in. He’s one of those characters that you just want to cheer for, when they finally get it!
I also fell in love with all the other characters - Cait, Logan, Allison, Bram, Blake, Maggie, Meg, Rose, Hadley, and Jess! They were all so real and very well rounded, even those that didn’t get much page time. I very much enjoyed the secondary story between Cait and Logan, and I can’t wait to see where that goes in the following books!
As always, Julie’s books are well researched and written and this one is no exception! The descriptions were so vivid, bringing the early 1900s and San Francisco to life! I enjoyed the differing points of view, which I feel really brought the story to life. I can’t wait to read Allison’s book, Dare to Love Again, which in next in my TBR pile! I’m not sure how it could top this one, though Julie always manages to surpass my every expectation!
I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a wonderful romance with characters that jump off the pages and into your heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"JULIE LESSMAN = WRITING PERFECTION !!"

Date:March 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
BonTon
Location:Mt. Washington, Ky.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In May 1902, Cassidy McClare - cowgirl, and Texas oil heiress (whose father's oil wells had run dry) - visits her wealthy cousins in San Francisco in hopes of forgetting her heartache over a jilted relationship with a fortune hunter. Although not wanting a relationship with another charming "pretty boy" - she falls in love with family friend, Jamie MacKenna, not realizing he's another fortune hunter, hoping to provide a better life for his mother and sister and the surgery needed by his sister - to heal from an accident for which Jamie feels responsible. Unbeknownst to Jamie, Cassie has even less money than he.
Cassie is a "spit-fire" who had me laughing one minute and crying along with her - the next!! Jamie's family situation tugged at my "heart strings", and even more so when a "bombshell" was dropped - late in the novel. The love/hate romantic relationship between Cassie's Aunt Cait and Cait's deceased husband's brother, Logan - adds "spice" to the story, along with the humor of a talking parrot, a butler with hearing problems, a "crotchedy" cook, and numerous delightful cousins.
"Love at Any Cost" is the first novel in the Heart of San Francisco trilogy by award-winning author, Julie Lessman. It is a departure from Julie's Daughters of Boston and Winds of Change trilogies - a lighter, shorter, less complicated novel, with less romantic and spiritual passion (the trademark for which her novels are known). However - there is more than enough passion to satisfy, the characters are realistic and endearing, the central theme of releasing one's life into God's hands, and trusting Him for the best solutions to life's trials and tribulations - is present, as in all of Julie's novels, and there is the, as always, happy ending. "Love at Any Cost" is a wonderful story of faith, regret, redemption, forgiveness, love, and hope.
I found myself regretful at finishing the reading of "Love at Any Cost", and eagerly anticipating the next novel in the series, "Dare to Love Again"!! Julie's novels always stir my emotions, inspire my faith, speak to my heart with her touching, warm, family settings and realistic characters, and leave me wanting more - she never disappoints!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great start to a new series!

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After adoring the O'Conners I was slightly worried as to how much I would like this new series. I shouldn't have worried though since I ended up loving it! I loved the McClares from the get go and I can tell I'm going to love reading all of their stories!
Cassie was such a fun heroine! I loved her spunk and down to earth ways! I also loved how wow she was sweet and fun when she wanted she could be tough and no nonsense when needed! And another favorite thing about her was how strong her faith was and how she refused to lower her standards! I felt so bad for her with all the pain she went through but I was greatly impressed by how strong she stayed through it all!
Jamie was great too! Though I was a little annoyed with how he wanted to marry rich I did understand where he was coming from since he wasn't thinking just about himself but rather about his mother and sister. I really admired his love and care for his family and how dedicated he was to making a better life for them. I also really liked the fact that he held himself to a pretty high standard when it came to drinking and women. It was really cool to watch as he learned to give God the control and trust in Him rather than doing everything himself.
As I said I loved the rest of the McClares as well, from kind and motherly Caitlyn, to stubborn rogue Uncle Logan, and Cassie's cousins Blake, Allison, Meg, and Maddie. I also really liked Bram (side note: I love that as a nickname for Abraham!) with his quiet faith and his friendship with Jamie. And then there were Hadley, the old butler with the bad hearing, Rosie, the gruff but sweet houskeeper/nanny, and Miss Behave, the parrot that they taught to say funny things, all of whom I loved.
So suffice it to say I thoroughly loved this first book of Julie's new series and I can't wait to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light-hearted feel, but a deep story.

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I became a fan of Julie Lessman’s writing earlier this year when I read her Daughters of Boston series and the novella, A Light in the Window. I had heard that Love at Any Cost was a little different than the previous books she had written, a little lighter feel perhaps. I have to agree. But I must say that although Mrs. Lessman has lightened the mood a bit with fun Texas sayings thrown in, this is still a deep story. It is full of interesting characters that I am now completely invested in! I am so happy that Dare to Love Again arrived in my mailbox a few days ago and that I can now begin reading it this week and follow the next stage of this story.
Cassie comes to San Francisco to visit her cousins for the summer. She is escaping a devastating broken engagement and the fact that she was dumped because her family’s oil empire is crumbling. She is a funny character in one sense, spouting funny Texas colloquialisms, but is also a very hurt young lady.
Jamie is a young man with a heavy weight on his shoulders. He has worked his way up from the slums of the Barbary Coast area and is desperate to help his sister get an operation she needs. He has decided that if he is going to fall in love, it might as well be with a rich young woman. So, can you as a reader feel for a man who is basically a fortune hunter? I wasn’t sure how I would feel about Jamie at first. I was frustrated with his decisions, of course, but the way Mrs. Lessman lets you see inside her characters, I was able to understand where he was coming from.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish and at one pivotal point in the book (much to my husband’s surprise) sat up and yelled, “I knew it!!! I thought this might be a possibility, and I was right!!” I will say no more, as I don’t like spoilers. I will just stop here and say, “I loved this book!” (5 stars)
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Strong characters, some forcefully so

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Windsong
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a voracious reader of Christian romance, adventure, mysteries and non-fiction, I have enjoyed thousands of books dealing with hundreds of difficult situations. Rarely have I struggled to finish one as much as I did "Love at Any Cost". The storyline was very interesting and all of the characters were developed nicely, however the the continual forced affections from Logan and Jamie toward Cait and Cassidy was very lustful, monotonous and offensive. These two strong women were steadfastly beseeching God to heal them from previous relationships in which their trust had been violated and the two men, for whom God was a nuisance, imposed their physical desires upon them over and over, ad nauseam to the point of virtual molestation. I would caution anyone who has had to endure the trauma of imposed affections, physical abuse, rape or stalking NOT to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Characters and plot both fun and frustrating

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wannie
Location:Asia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As usual, it has been too long since I read this. Characters and plot both fun and frustrating. I guess that makes it a descent piece of writing. I liked it except that I like tea totaling books. I liked the Texas parts better than the Seattle ones. This is not much of a review, but I do not plan to read and again right now in order to write it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Sad commentary

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the first negative review I have ever posted! I was sorely disappointed with this novel. I have enjoyed reading this author's previous works. BUT, I had a hard time even finishing this one--I felt as thought I was reading one of those trash novels with the vuluoptuous women on the front. The recurring scenes of sexual arousal over and over and over throughout the book with a young couple and even a middle-aged couple, both outside the bounds of marriage, was offensive to me. The spiritual value was subsumed by the vulgar. In addition, in my opinion, the author took the LORD's name in vain in Chapter 23.
I note that another reviewer feels this way as well. I pray that the author reconsiders all of the sexual content for the rest of the series. I truly think it is beneath her writing giftings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not of a christian moral

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
leslie padgett
Location:cecilia, ky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not a prude, but this novel is more about lust and passion than it is God and living for the Lord. Way to much "earlobe suckling" as she calls it and things that are not appropriate for Single Christians. I went to the authors site and clicked on a video of this and afterward there are a lot of clips you can choose from of people actually making love. I don't consider this a Christian novel. to me a Christian novel is where the couple acts appropriately until marriage. we all make mistakes and I have certainly made my share, but Christian novel should promote Christian values in all who read them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lasso Up a Great Romance!

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If there were a new literary BFF I would want to make, it would Cassidy McClare. The girl not only personifies spunk, but tells down our cocky and almost bad-boy hero, Jamie, with wit and sass. Plus the girl knows how to twirl a lasso and wrangle a steer which takes her up another notch.
It’s a new series, a new setting, a new family of characters and I have to say I’m eager for more books about these spunky and vivacious clan of McClare’s. Romantic sparks and plenty of sassy dialogue fills the pages with more pig-headed descriptions of Jamie McKenna than I knew could be invented in one novel.
I love that we really get deep into the characters in “Love at Any Cost”. It’s not just a surface knowledge of these characters and sure there are plenty of romantic sparks, but the reader knows what makes them tick. What motivates their decisions. And really, for all intents and purposes, Jamie McKenna should not be a likeable character, and yet I thoroughly every scene he was in and watching him grow and change.
There is a lovely subplot between Cait and Logan and talk about a TWIST in those last hundred pages. This is the second time I’ve read the book and it still takes me by surprise. I honestly don’t think readers will see this one coming.
Another one for the keeper shelves!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, Flirtatious, & Forever

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first in Julie’s new series delivers plenty of flirtatious fun, but she still carefully misted forever's sweet fragrance throughout this delightful story. Like a beloved girlfriend, kindred spirit Cassie McClare took me through the torrent of emotions with her: betrayal, denial, temptation, surrender, heartbreak, new hope & sweet contentment. Jamie made the perfect bad-pretty boy between his almost begging to be set straight & those knee weakening kisses. Cassie, with a heart as beautiful as her face& form, had everything required to lasso his heart, except cold hard cash. While Jamie’s desire for wealth had much to do with providing for his mother &sister, he wasn’t entirely selfless. Besides that, he lacked the one thing Cassie sought above all else – a heart devoted to God. Why should Jamie worship a God who had been against him from birth? Friends & family give him plenty of reasons while sending up prayer after prayer on his behalf, but would he listen? Julie’s special gift for creating not just a story world but also characters that leap out & steal your heart continues. The twists &turns in this fresh new series kept me gasping with both shock &delight. Every bit as well placed as the ribbons on those oh-so-lovely dresses, Julie wove stunning color, amazing historical details & rich, vibrant faith into Cassie’s journey. She also left enough family threads dangling to make me anxious for the next installment while perfectly concluding Cassie’s story with a truly sigh-worthy “beau”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A well-written story of love and forgiveness

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Shene
Location:Southeastern Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had heard a great deal about this book from comments on Fred St Laurent’s Book Club Network, then won the book in a blog giveaway.
The characterization in Love at Any Cost is well done. The two main characters, Cassidy and Jamie complement each other with their opposing world views. This sets the stage for Jamie’s spiritual growth. Secondary characters round out a loving family to be carried on throughout the series.
I am familiar with the time period, but not the Barbary Coast of San Francisco during that era. I liked the way the author showed compassion for those caught up in the lifestyle there through the thoughts and feelings of her characters.
This book sustained strong themes, such as love of family, forgiveness, the power of love, and the importance of God’s presence in a relationship. Miss Lessman enhanced the story with humor as well as thought-provoking moments.
I did have a problem with the references to Jamie as a “pretty boy.” Somehow the use of this description made Jamie an unlikeable character for me, and it took me quite a while to warm up to him as a character even worthy of Cassidy’s consideration as a romantic interest.
I had only read one other Julie Lessman book, her debut novel, A Passion Most Pure. Even though I enjoyed Love at Any Cost, I felt it lacked the intensity I found so compelling in A Passion Most Pure.
I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy historical romance, especially where a character's spiritual journey is well defined.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was sucked into this story from the very start.

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I was sucked into this story from the very beginning.
I won a free copy of this book in a giveaway that Julie Lessman held.
Cassidy McClare is broken hearted after the man she was engaged to dumps her. She leaves home to visit her cousins in San Francisco hoping that time and distance will help her heart to heal.
Jamie McKenna has worked hard his whole life to better his station in the world. His chief goal is to give his mother and his crippled sister a safe and secure home and the surgery that his sister needs.
At their first meeting Jamie knocks Cassidy off her feet, quite literally, in the Oakland Pier train station in San Francisco. Cassidy blows up and declares him a “pretty-boy polecat.”
Their second meeting is when Cassidy’s family has a dinner to welcome her to town. It is just for family and a few very close friends. Jamie is one of the close friends as Cassidy finds out at dinner.
They each feel an attraction to the other within a very short time. This sets the stage for a very delightful and comedic story as they try to sort out their feelings for each other and people they have been in relationship with in the past.
The biggest problem they face though is that Cassidy has a deep faith in God. Jamie on the other hand feels that he has no need for God and that God has never done anything for him, his mother, or his sister.
How do you handle the word of God when it says that a believer is not to be unequally yoked with an unbeliever? Especially when the man you love doesn’t share your belief?
Julie has crafted an incredible story digging deeply into this problem. Her characters are marvelous and well developed. There are a lot of incredible twists and turns that take place in the story to help them navigate these treacherous waters.
I’m looking forward to the next book in this series. I hope that it will dig deeper into some of the other members of the McClare family that we meet in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love at Any Cost

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, Julie Lessman is one of my very favorite authors! Her stories are always a huge hit for me and this one was particularly adorable!
You can see on the youtube clip the incredible set-up for this book and how much the description is able to pull you in to this fun, energetic, memorable story.
With a great mix of humor and fun, this book will inspire you with tales of forgiveness, love, friendship and trust. I genuinely enjoy how the author can weave joy and pain into a complete, wonderful novel.
Cassie and Jamie are the perfect blend of characters with personalities that spark at every turn. I had so much fun reading their antics as well as the crazy interactions with the other characters in the book.
You will not want to miss this book and if you've never picked up a Julie Lessman book... you must soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read this book... At Any Cost

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was already a huge fan of Julie Lessman, but this book just made it ten times more official.
All the characters in this story were fantastic and I'll be in agony till the next book comes out! Cassie was the type of heroine that we can all cheer for, and Jamie's the rogue who wins our hearts. Even though you yell and scream at him from time to time for being so stupid, luckily, he eventually takes our advice and gets a little sense through that thick pretty boy head of his!
I loved the story between Logan and Cait, and I am so terribly excited to see how it all works out! Having two different romances through the story gives it a bit more depth, and I have to admit that the plot had some great twists that I never expected!
Bottom line: read this book if there is any small part of you that likes historical romance. Julie gives us beautiful gift and it's all wrapped up in a tale of heartache, healing, self-control, and ultimately... love
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE Love at Any Cost!

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE Julie Lessman's new series, The Heart of San Fransisco. I wondered what it would be like, reading about a whole new list of characters after having fallen in love with her beloved O'Conner family. Well, it's actually no surprise that I like this new cast of characters, The McClare's, because this family is just as much fun and done with the same wonderful finesse that Julie is known for. So sit back and get ready for a fun ride Julie Lessman style.
Book one, "Love at Any Cost", introduces us to cowgirl Cassidy McClare from down Texas way. She's spunky, fiesty, and would rather wear a pair of demin jeans instead of a frilly dress. She's an oil heiress, but unfortunately there's no fortune in the bank. Not to mention, her fiance has just jilted her for that very reason. Needless to say, she'd rather hog-tie the man as to look at him and decides to make a trip to San Fransisco to visit her cousins and get away from the fortune hunter who has broken her heart. She's in no mood for the attentions of another man...including that of the handsome Jamie McKenna.
Jamie McKenna is a young lawyer, struggling to make ends meet and working three jobs to do so. Growing up on the wrong side of the tracks, he's worked all his life to make something of himself as well as taking care of his mother and his crippled sister. His goal? To one day live in high society and to procure a surgery for his sister that will help her. But Jamie believes the only way he'll get there is to marry into a rich family. And so he sets his sights on the beautiful Cassie McClare.
This is a story of one's struggle to find faith, and another's struggle to regain trust. As always, Julie weaves a spiritual thread through the story, addressing each struggle and how God works in each of her character's lives. All wrapped up in a package containing humor, tears, and romance. Julie, you did it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Book!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
dixiedarlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love at any Cost is another incredible book by Julie Lessman! You'll love Cassie and her family! This book is full of romance and drama!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

another winner!

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mauri
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having loved the O'Connor family in Julie Lessman's previous seven books, it was with a mixture of trepidation and excitement that I started reading Love At Any Cost, the first book of her new The Heart of San Francisco series. Would the McClare family be as endearing as the O'Connors? The answer is a resounding YES! Cassidy is a spunky heroine; Jamie the "pretty boy" (I did get a bit tired of that term) charmer who tries so hard to provide for his family (his mother and crippled sister) and falls in love with Cassie. Of course, he blunders greatly, hearts are broken, and it doesn't look like they'll ever be together, especially when in chapter 29, the author throws in a huge surprise. Read the book to see how it all works out! I'm looking forward to more in this series; I'd especially like to read more about Bram, Meg, and Jess, and of course see how the romance between Logan and Cait progresses (this was not resolved in this book).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fabulous!

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
A great start to a fabulous new series! Cowgirl oil heiress Cassidy McClare isn't going to be taken in by another fortune hunter! Not even a smooth-talking, self-made city boy like Jamie McKenna.... I loved reading Cassidy and Jamie's story, but I'm really hooked on the byplay between her aunt and her deceased husband's brother! There's plenty here to remind us that Lessman's talent for creating romantic tension is unmatched!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love at any cost

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Make no mistake, when Julie Lessman says that there is a lot less drama and angst in this book, that does not translate into "boring"! LOVE AT ANY COST is anything but boring! There is drama, there is angst and there is romance and humor. And all of that squished into about 100 pages less than what Julie's novels normally are. While LOVE AT ANY COST gave my heart less of a workout than former Julie Lessman books I can't say that it gave it a total rest! The romance between Jamie and Cassie is fraught with humor and tension. Jamie is determined to do whatever it takes to win Cassie even if he has to fake a faith that he doesn't have. Cassie is determined to never be taken in by a pretty-boy again. When Jamie's plans are thwarted and Cassie's heart is once more broken it seems that nothing can bring them together again. As with all of Julie Lessman's books there is a secondary romance going on. Or at least Logan wishes there was a romance going on! He was once engaged to Cait, but she married his brother instead. Now she is widowed and Logan hopes to win her heart once more. One thing Cait has taught Cassie is that the man she courts needs to share the same faith as her. Now Cait finds that she must remember her own advice. With so many hurting hearts in this book one wonders how Julie will wrap it all up, because as she has always assured me all of her books have a happy ending and that is what keeps me reading to the end! I definitely recommend LOVE AT ANY COST and I am looking forward to the next book in the Heart of San Francisco series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love at Any Cost, The Heart of San Francisco Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Jewel By Julie!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Love at Any Cost, Julie Lessman sweeps us away on a passion-filled, heartwarming journey to beautiful San Francisco with its bustling cable cars, crisp bay air, and the smell of fish permeating the air...from the lush lawns of the very wealthy on Nob Hill to the poverty stricken streets of the Barbary Coast.
Lovely Cassie McClare, a spunky Texas oil heiress, heartbroken by a young man who jilts her because of her family's financial woes, travels to San Francisco for an extended visit with her fun loving, well-to-do cousins on Nob Hill. Determined never to be taken in again by a fortune hunting "pretty boy", Cassie finds her resolve dwindling when she meets the McClares' handsome friend, Jamie MacKenna.
Jamie, an illegitimate young man from the wrong side of the tracks, is determined to marry a rich girl on Nob Hill, seek a political career, and obtain enough money for a major surgery for his crippled sister. Cassie Mclare seems the perfect and most likely candidate for his plans....which certainly did not include Jamie falling head over heels for this spunky little cowgirl. But as love grows, secrets kept between them threaten to tear Cassie and Jamie apart—possibly forever. Will Cassie ever learn to trust any man again?...and will Jamie ever learn to trust in God instead of himself?
Julie Lessman has done it again! I absolutely loved this book! What started out as a light read ended up with as many twists and turns as the streets of San Francisco! I chuckled and boohooed throughout this book too many times to count. I also enjoyed the fact that Julie Lessman includes the seemingly futile romance of Cassie's widowed aunt as well, and I sooo hope some loose ends will be tied between those two in future books. With a strong spiritual thread throughout and toe curling romance within, and an unexpected twist near the end guaranteed to knock you for a loop!...I think you'll agree with me that this may possibly be Julie Lessman's best one yet. And that is saying a mouthful as I loved her previous series tremendously. Way to go, Julie Lessman!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.