Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3

Revell Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3

Hosea has been charged by God with a difficult task--marry a prostitute in order to show God's people the nature and depth of his love for Israel. When Hosea goes to Israel to proclaim God's message, the prostitute God tells him to marry turns out to be his childhood friend Gomer. He finds her broken and abused, unwilling to trust Hosea or his God. But when marrying Hosea becomes her only choice, Gomer does what she's good at--she survives. Can Hosea's love for God and God's love for Israel heal Gomer's broken spirit?

Mesu Andrews Discussion Questions

 | Love in History Series

Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Review 1 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A powerful read

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love in a Broken Vessel" is a powerful read, one that breathes with historical authenticity and heart-rending emotion, and has left me contemplating the vast love of God. Mesu Andrews does a fantastic job at bringing to life the story of the prophet Hosea, called by God to love a prostitute as a display of God's love for his chosen people of Israel. The characters are richly drawn, with much about them to admire while still definitely showing their human side as well. Gomer is a woman that you will quickly grow to care about, even as you may find yourself shaking your head at some of her actions and her often hard-heart. I love the author's portrayal of the various prophets you meet in this story, from Hosea to Jonah to Isaiah, and I can honestly say that I have gained a deeper appreciation of the cost that they paid to honor God's calling on their lives. I found myself asking if I could ever be as bold as they were, sharing God's message to a king who could strike them dead, telling people to turn back to God even if that may end up costing them their lives. I was not only fully entertained by this story, but I was challenged in my faith as well - and that makes for a worthy novel indeed.
Biblical fiction doesn't get better than this! I award this book a rating of 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love in a Broken Vessel by Mesu Andrews

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*Love In A Broken Vessel by Mesu Andrews
Choices are made every day, sometimes good ones and sometimes bad ones. Two abbas (fathers) make choices that have far reaching effects on their children and their futures as well as those around them. One abba and his son, Hosea move to Tekoa and Hosea attends the prophet school and becomes a prophet. The other abba sells his daughter, Gomer at age 12 to the temple of the gods in Israel and is abused and eventually sold as a prostitute.
The prophet Hosea is commanded by Yahweh to marry a prostitute and have children with her to show
God’s people how much Yahweh loves Israel. Hosea sets out for Israel not knowing who God will direct him to marry. Arriving in Israel, Hosea seeks the prostitute Yahweh has picked for him to marry and finds his childhood friend Gomer. Gomer has no plans to marry Hosea or serve Yahweh. Struggling over the years by the choices they, Gomer and Hosea, have made affect not only their relationship, the children but many family and friends.
I like the picture of how much Yahweh (God) loves Israel and the lengths He goes to get the attention of His people to share that love with them. Not all the choices His people made were good choices, a lot were really bad choices. We get a glimpse of a few of those lives and the struggles they went through in Love In A Broken Vessel. Even though Gomer’s life was a broken vessel (shattered even) Yahweh took that brokenness and redeemed it making her whole, like new. Hosea learned many things regarding loving his wife unconditionally just as Yahweh loves His people unconditionally.
I found parts of the book hard to read, almost skimmed over them at times as the book was a little long for me and repetitive. But as a whole, the book was very well written.
Recently I won a copy of Love In A Broken Vessel from Goodreads….*I received a complimentary copy of this book for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond Excellent!

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mixed Nutts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love in a Broken Vessel is the story of the prophet Hosea and his wife, Gomer. Mesu's research and knowledge of the time and setting of the novel is vast. In her introduction, she points out where she strays or adds to the Biblical narrative in order to flesh out the story, but she always remains true the facts of what the Bible says.
As a matter of fact, Mesu Andrews is one of the few authors who earns my "Enraptured Award"! It took me three days, because of my busy schedule, to read through Love in a Broken Vessel. During those three days, my thoughts rarely strayed from the story as I thought about what had happened up to that point and what was to come. Never did I turn to the back to find out what happens, as I was simply too deeply entrenched in the story itself and I longed to watch it as it unfolded.
Mesu's writing is beyond excellent: Enough detail to put the reader firmly in Israel and Judea, but not so much as to distract from the story itself; the characters are true to themselves always, which is a really big deal for me as a reader; over and over, I was overwhelmed with the idea that not only is the story of Hosea and Gomer a cautionary tale for the Israelites (and for us today), *but it really happened*. I came away from reading this novel, as I did with Mesu's first two, with an overwhelming desire to read the Bible with fresh eyes and really understand the people behind the words that have become so familiar to me.
There aren't many novels that can do that, now are there?
Love in a Broken Vessel earns 5 stars. I received Love in a Broken Vessel at no cost via NetGalley in return for an honest review. My thoughts are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book, Worth the Time

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mesu Andrews does a beautiful job with this biblical fiction book about Gomer and Hosea. Love In a Broken Vessel is a book you will miss after the last page is turned. The key word is obedience. Obedience to God even when everything around you does not make sense. This is a beautiful story of how no matter how broken we are, God can still use us. We may carry the scares forever, but it will also be our testimony of God’s faithfulness.
This is a book I believe is definitely worth placing on your “Must Read” list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impossible Situations made Real and Alive

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary is faithful
Location:Greenfield, In
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mesu establishes our relationoship with Gomer in the first chapter. Shows us her heart – though not pure – understandable in the life she was shoved into, as she cleans a toddler's cheek with a spit bath. And we see the brothel owner hard and ruthless.
How beautifully God's love for Israel is described as Hosea describes it to Gomer. I liked the phrase, “Yahweh proves Himself to each one of us.”
Poignant awakening of Gomer's love for Hosea in their first moments of their journey to love. The little humor tossed back and forth between the two made their growing relationship real and fun. When Gomer knew she loved Hosea – such tenderness!
Your heart goes out to Gomer as she is tortured by abandonment and she becomes real with her very real whirling emotions..loving, hating, worshipping her idols, confused, disappointed and seeking a love she could only imagine. And seeing love expressed in the most impossible situations truly a reflection of God's determined love. Yahweh's love clearly defined over and over again. How can it be?
Mesu's description of Hosea's heart crying out to the God Who understood his pain clearly reveals God's heart. 3 questions put forth: Can a man's heart be as pure as Yahweh?
Can you refuse to love without sinning?
Can you refuse to forgive without becoming bitter?
Never a lull in this amazing book that covers some of Israel's most difficult history.
God given strength to love when everything in Hosea wants to hate....HOW CAN I LOVE A HARLOT? Yet the conflict in Gomer's heart and the unescapable desire for love – true love – is always there and so identifiable.
Watching the gradual growth of Hosea's understanding of God's words to him felt familiar and exciting and like my own growth in the Lord. Asking God WHY so often brings no answer as it didn't to Hosea. And I love how God speaks and Hosea hears. How precious! A lesson for all of us to heed and listen for that breeze. Hosea longing to hear God's voice and how he responds to God's gentle breeze. That makes hearing God's voice a possibility for all of us listening.
I must echo CBA Retailers & Resource's word on Love Amidst the Ashes for this book. “Mesu's research shines through on every page as she delves deeply into the cultural, historical and Biblical records to create this fascinating and multilayered tale.”
Hosea's love carried a passion your heart will sing over and their children were an added delight. When Gomer finally said, “I know now that Yahweh sounds like even when He's silent” I thought my heart would explode!
When we're fighting for eternal victories we mustn't be defeated by temporary struggles. This book is a lesson on that very thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE it!!!

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I can't help it, I sighed when this book was over because I really didn't want it to end. Mesu Andrews has a gift when it comes to Biblical fiction, she takes these stories (Job, Song of Solomon and now Hosea & Gomer) and just breathes life into them. Intricate details that bring the past into vivid picture and characters that break out of the boxes that we have put them in. I was entranced with the story of the prostitute that just can't leave her past behind and the husband that will obey Yaweh until his heart is broken over and over. The secondary characters are fantastic and I enjoyed this book from the first page to the last. This is one author that can't write fast enough to please me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lessons from this book can be applied to our lives

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall, I got a lot out of this book by the time I finished. It really brings the era of the Biblical prophets to life. The more Hosea and Gomer's marriage suffered because of the hardness of her heart, the more the story felt real to me. The details regarding the pain and suffering Gomer was willing to go through because it scared her less than the feeling of being utterly loved is very real with people who have been abused in childhood. The author did a fantastic job showing why hurt people run from love. It scares them.
The characters also had some great questions and a reason to fear God. They saw how God smote King Uzziah with leprosy because of his pride. Many times I have heard in sermons about God's judgement because of Israel's wickedness before, but I didn't realize just how sick the people were until I read this book. It's one thing to read about pregnant women being ripped open in the Bible, but being in Hosea's head as he sees this makes it feel real as opposed to just a statement of fact. This is just one example, though. The fact that the kings allowed the people to worship in the high places (because they were afraid to go into the temple) resulted in neglect of God's how and compromise when it came to worship. Everything got perverted and twisted around because of fear.
Whenever I read a book I always look for the overall lesson in the story. This one is a great illustration of how God's ways don't often make sense when we are in the midst of things, but in the end we get a clearer picture of what God was doing in our lives because He loves us. If Hosea hadn't married Gomer as God commanded, he would not have suffered so much, yes, but at the same time Gomer never would have been saved from her life of sin and brought into a relationship with the living God. It tore Hosea's heart open many times because of her unfaithfulness, but in the end, their love was stronger. It hurt worse than anything Hosea had ever known, yet God used it to illustrate His commitment to Israel despite the pain resulting from their idolatry. I liked how the author brought that all together.
At first, I found the book amusing, if not a bit corny. It was the same way I felt about some scenes in Love Amid the Ashes. Other than the scenario with the Prince of Shechem in that book, much of the dialog didn't work for me. But after the first 100 pages of Love in a Broken Vessel, I really felt like the novel had engaged my heart. So if for some reason the beginning doesn't pull you in, hang in there because the complete story is worth it.
I loved how Gomer worked with pottery in the story. At the end, there is an illustration of how Israel will never be without scars, just like you'd see when looking at a broken pot glued back together. People who rebel against the Lord will never be completely whole again, but they can still be useful. Brokenness does lead to healing if we let God bind us back together with his healing glue, but we'll always have cracks and scars resulting from our straying. The message, however, is that there no one so damaged that God can't heal them and use them for His glory. Great message. Good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Biblical Love Story

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mesu Andrews in her new book, "Love In A Broken Vessel" Book Three in the Treasures of His Love series published by Revell gives us a fictional account of the Prophet, Hosea and his marriage to Gomer.
From the Back Cover: An epic journey of intimacy, rejection, betrayal . . . and hope
God gives Hosea a difficult command-marry a prostitute in order to show God's people the nature and depth of His love for Israel. When Hosea goes to Israel to proclaim the Lord's message, the woman God directs him to marry turns out to be his childhood friend Gomer. He finds her broken and abused, unwilling to trust Hosea or his God. But when marrying Hosea becomes her only means of escape, Gomer does what she's good at-she survives. Can Hosea's love for God and God's love for Israel restore Gomer's broken spirit?
With her powerful combination of in-depth research and masterful storytelling, Mesu Andrews brings to life one of the most complex and fascinating stories of love and forgiveness in the face of utter betrayal.
Mesu Andrews has once again written a wonderful, fictionalized version of a book of the Bible-this time it is the Prophet, Hosea. Hosea had a message to deliver to the people from God, obviously, that is what made him a prophet. But the real message that he brought to all people who read the book is found played out in his marriage to Gomer. Gomer is one unfaithful woman and Hosea keeps taking her back time after time. I must say if it had been me I would have walked away from her which is probably the reason why God didn't choose me for this particular task. The marriage between Hosea and Gomer is a reflection of the marriage between God and mankind. We are unfaithful but God is faithful and He keeps taking us back time after time. In "Love In A Broken Vessel" Ms. Andrews has done a superb account of researching many different sources to give us a cast of characters that most of us are probably not aware of.
Ms. Andrews gives us the Biblical portrayal of the man, Hosea, in a new way. There is quite a lot of detail that Ms. Andrews provides us that is not the Biblical account but is still historically accurate. I believe that this book should be read, not only for the Biblical detail, but for the extra story that brings new life to the man we know as Hosea. Well done.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ANOTHER COMPELLING TALE BY THIS AUTHOR!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LOVE IN A BROKEN VESSEL by Mesu Andrews is a compelling Christian Historical Romance(Biblical Characters). #3 in "Treasures of His Love" series,but can be read as a stand alone. What a compelling tale of love,forgiveness,healing,adultery,betrayal,rejection,hope,faith and the power of God's love. Can a prostitute and a Prophet truly find love? Hosea is commanded by God to marry a prostitute,his childhood friend,Gomer,to show Israel God's love. What follows their marriage is the ultimate betrayal,Gomer does what she must in order to survive,she uses her body,and prostitutes. "Love In A Broken Vessel" is a complex story.The author delves into different areas of history,Biblical records, and culture,in this multifaceted story. She brings Biblical characters to live on each page. The characters become real as you have never seen them before. I love how she brings each character to life and into their own. Hosea and Gomer has struggles both in their marriage,their lives,and their faith,as Hosea follows God's teachings. Gomer feels abandoned and discarded. Both doing different things in their lives,and living separate lives. Gomer,leaves her two children in Hosea's care to follow her heart. Hosea follows God's word. But, together with God's guidance and love they may just find their happiness and peace. A must read for anyone who enjoys historical romance, inspirational romance,that is not "preachy" but inspirational,and enjoys learning more on Biblical characters. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captivating

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love in a Broken Vessel by Mesu Andrews is a biblical fiction novel. My husband loves the minor prophets and I’ll have to admit that I’ve never really fancied them. I enjoyed reading through many of them when reading through the Old Testament because they were quite often the shortest books! Ha! I have found it takes a lot of brain power to try and wrap my mind around God’s prophecy concerning Israel. Biblical fiction helps me put it into perspective for some reason.
This book captivated my interest for the very same reason Rebekah by Jill Eileen Smith did. I enjoyed reading Mesu Andrews’ “take” on the prophet Hosea’s obedience to marry a prostitute, make her his wife and to love her as God loves Israel. Can you imagine receiving a command like that? It seems unfathomable, doesn’t it?
At times I detested Gomer, Hosea’s harlot wife. She couldn’t see what was right in front of her – a loving, tender man who loved her with all his heart regardless of her past or her continual gravitation back to her old way of life – prostitution. God gave him an unselfish love for Gomer and she could not see or believe it for what it really was – God’s love pouring out through Hosea. She had so many walls and barriers up around her heart…Yet Hosea pursued her. The picture of Hosea’s pursuing love showed me anew God’s love for us.
Have you ever thought of God as a pursuing beau? It’s a rather beautiful thought. God’s love is so great that he pursues us. What amazing love!
As with Mesu Andrews’ other biblical fiction novels, Love in a Broken Vessel made me want to read the book of Hosea in the bible and try to understand all that God truly accomplished through the prophet Hosea, who had the hard task of delivering prophetic messages to God’s people. This book truly showed that God’s love endures, even when we are unfaithful – like Israel and Gomer were to their bridegrooms – just as the bible teaches.
“Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fantastic, heartbreaking, fictional account of Hosea and Gomer's story!
Mesu Andrews does it again in Love in a Broken Vessel! Having studied the book of Hosea late last year, I was so excited for Mesu's latest! I just adore how she weaves scripture into the story seamlessly. She does not disappoint and I can honestly say I really liked this book. :-)
Gomer is an emotionally broken girl. Her father sold her to a brothel at the young age of twelve and she has never known a love like Yahweh's for his people. Her character and personality felt real on the page. Her internal struggles, her tangled heart, and feelings of abandonment make me pity her. Watching her change throughout the novel was both heart-wrenching and encouraging. She certainly has a few ups and downs.
Hosea has been called to represent Yahweh's love for prostitute Israel, so the Lord sends him to Samaria to marry a harlot. He never expected the harlot he meets to be his childhood friend, Gomer. Reluctantly, she marries him. Hosea's care and love for Gomer goes beyond what he could ever imagine. Through this marriage he finally understands how Yahweh aches for His people to return to Him. It's so powerful to read.
If you like Biblical fiction then this one is for you. I highly recommend this book! ;-)
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent story of the life of Gomer from the O.T.

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hosea, Amos, Micah, Isaiah, Jonah: little known prophets of old, with books of the Old Testament attributed to their names.
Jerusalem, Tekoa, Israel, Samaria, Judah: real geographical sites of happenings told in the Old Testament.
Jehoash, Jereboam II, Zechariah, Shallum, Menahem, Pekahiah, Pekah, Amaziah, Uzziah, Jothan, Ahaz, Hezekiah: kings of Israel and of Judah during the period of this story.
Gomer: the misfit harlot who is hard to respect and love and yet, God commanded Hosea to woo her, marry her, have children with her, and most of all, love her to know his God, Yahweh.
This is an almost inconceivable command which we are likely to skim over and ignore because of the abominable descriptions of this woman and her activities who is center-front in Hosea's story.
Yet, God had a definite purpose for this story and compared it to Israel's love and rejection of Himself.
It is used to teach lessons that we all must learn. These people are connected and brought to life with their emotions, intentions, and ideas through the gift of great imagination and excellent writing.
This was a difficult story to read as a Christian, and it had to have been a difficult story to write.
Yet it is accomplished in a way that leaves the reader needing to read more and eventually come to the end of the story.
In Love in a Broken Vessel, Gomer becomes a very real personality, a picture for all of us as we judge those less fortunate around us every day. We generally read Hosea, the book, and think only of him and his frustration with this woman as he attempts to follow the commands of Yahweh. We know that there was a huge purpose in the telling, and we also know that Gomer, as a woman, had her own story to tell.
It must have been a very sad one.
Gomer connects with Hosea as he pursues her, but very reluctantly. She does not understand or even like the life to which he introduces her in his village, Tekoa.
She is rejected by most of the villagers and used by those who have no respect for her; she eventually learns to become a potter as a trade, an escape from her mundane life, and she falls in love with creating beautiful clay objects. Hence, the title of the book, Love in a Broken Vessel.
Gomer does not relate at all to Hosea's travels throughout Israel and Judah, feeling always that he has deserted her, and so she falls back on the trade she knows most well, prostitution.
But the one true God, Yahweh, has other plans for her and insists that Hosea, as broken-hearted and even becoming hard-hearted toward Gomer as he does, continue to pursue Gomer and bring her back. He never stops loving her, just as God continues to love all His children no matter how far away we stray from His Word and His teachings. Hosea has a difficult time ignoring his Yahweh.
This is an emotional story, with many personalities coming to life and expressing their feelings. Life is real, life is hard, and there are many disappointments along the way. There are also untold rewards for following the call of our Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love in a Broken Vessel a Story of Unfailing Love

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love in a Broken Vessel
By Mesu Andrews
What if God told you to marry the last type of person you'd ever think of marrying? Would you do it? Would you marry a woman who had given her body to other men in the worship of false gods? Would you think God was playing a trick on you?
This is the message Hosea received from God. But could he give his heart to a prostitute and love her as God loved the nation of Israel even though their love was rejected for the fleeting love of another?
Love in a Broken Vessel is a powerful and moving look at the power of God's love and even, in a way, the forgiveness of God.
Gomer, from a young age was forced into a life of selling her body for the pleasures of men under the guise of worship. It is into this very environment that Hosea has come to warn the nation of Israel that the time of punishment was drawing nigh. God was offering His chosen people a chance to return to Him and to give up their false worship. But Hosea's words fell on deaf ears and hardened hearts.
But in addition to delivering God's warning Hosea is to also marry a prostitute. Hosea's marriage to Gomer is to be a parallel to God's relationship with Israel. How long can God love a people who refuse to worship or acknowledge Him? How often can a husband be expected to forgive a wife who seeks out other men? Does he accept the children of her unfaithfulness as his own? Or will he reject her as she seemingly rejects him?
But God's love is true as is the love Hosea has for his wife. God has redeemed His love through the blood of His Son. Hosea is to redeem his wife but only after she has suffered for her unfaithfulness and can fully grasp the redeeming love that is again offered to her.
If you have ever read the book of Hosea you need to read Love in a Broken Vessel which is a story of unfailing love and redemption. This is a moving story that will touch the heart of any sinner who has experienced the redeeming love of the Savior.
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, all opinions are my own.
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Favorite Biblical Fiction Author!

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yay! A new favorite Biblical fiction author for me to enjoy! She’s right up there with Tessa Afshar and Jill Eileen Smith. This mesmerizing book is based on the story of the Old Testament prophet Hosea, who, as you may remember, was commanded by God to marry a harlot to illustrate Israel’s relationship with God. Of course, Mesu had to include quite a bit of fiction to flesh out this book (based on a book of prophecy), but it all seemed accurate and was very well done. I was especially impressed by how many direct quotes there were from the Bible and specifically the book of Hosea. All worked neatly into the story! This book naturally deals with some tough material, but Mesu handled it very tastefully and without over much detail – though this still isn’t a book for younger readers. That being said, it was an intriguing book and you won’t be able to put it down! Do you like Biblical fiction? If so, definitely recommending this author and this book.
Available March 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
**Revell sent me a free copy of this book in return for my honest review. All opinions expressed here are mine and are honest. I wasn’t required to post a positive review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love in a Broken Vessel, Treasures of His Love Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterful Bible Story Telling

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Mesu Andrews, but it won't be the last. Even the title has so much meaning, and it will be clear to you once you finish this book.
How could anyone sell their child, and into prostitution. What a hard life Gomer has had, but even with all of her sins God was looking out for her. Hosea, God's Profit, receives a message from God to marry a prostitute. Gomer is there, and she is an old childhood friend...indeed they have been on different paths.
This book is reading a living Bible...you feel like you are in the tents, markets, and even at the bloody battle scenes. Once you start this book, you won't be able to put it down, and it will move your spirit. Your heart will cry out for these people, and yet they have brought all on themselves with their worshiping of idols. Paganism is rampant, and their is so much evil. Satan has taken a hold, Israel has always God's chosen people, but they were turning their backs on him.
A very different read from my usual, but one that will be lingering with me for a long time.
I received this book through Revell Publisher's Bloggers Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.