Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell In the Shadow of Jezebel

Revell In the Shadow of Jezebel

Princess Jehosheba wants nothing more than to please the harsh and demanding Queen Athaliah, daughter of the notorious Queen Jezebel. Her work as a priestess in the temple of Baal seems to do the trick. But when a mysterious letter from the dead prophet Elijah predicts doom for the royal household, Jehosheba realizes that the dark arts she practices reach beyond the realm of earthly governments. To further Athaliah and Jezebel's strategies, she is forced to marry Yahweh's high priest and enters the unfamiliar world of Yahweh's temple. Can her new husband show her the truth and love she craves? And can Jehosheba overcome her fear and save the family--and the nation--she loves?
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Review 1 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An intricate look into the history of Judah

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bethyhope96
Location:Virginia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book I read by Mesu Andrews, and I'm telling you, the title alone was intriguing! If you know anything about the Jezebel written about in the Bible, you know she wasn't good news. I actually hadn't planned to request another book to review, but when I saw this one I couldn't resist. I love Biblical fiction, and this time period of the Bible especially intrigues me.
So let's start with the characters. Jehosheba is our protagonist. She is the daughter of King Johoram of Israel, and the step daughter of his wife, Athaliah, as she was born to one of his other wives. She was adopted by Athaliah because of her lack of daughters. Jehosheba is an interesting character. At the start we are tempted to dislike her because of her unkind treatment of her maids, but as we read we learn of Sheba's fears and insecurities and discover that there is more to her than a shallow princess who worships a false god. I think the author did a fantastic job in starting and finishing Jehosheba's character arc. There's also Jehoiada the High Priest, an "angry old goat" according to many in the book. It was neat to see the story from his perspective as well, and God's plan for him revealed. Each member of the supporting cast was well-written, and held something deeper. For a while, I was even wishing for Sheba's half-brother, Ahaziah, to find the truth... even though I already knew the ending to that thanks to the word of God. Yes, I enjoyed all of the characters, but want to give special mention to the author's portrayal of Jezebel and her daughter, Athaliah. They were portrayed in such a creepy, different way. It was well done, and made me afraid to meet up with them anywhere. The downright evil seen in their souls was chilling.
Now the plot. It was very interesting. It covered a pretty big stretch of time... but all added to the story. It was eerie learning about all the practices of worshiping the god Baal, and goddess Astarte, and uplifting to hear about worship in the temple of Yaweh. It's not often that an author can transport you back to the times of high priests, and the ark, so flawlessly, but Mrs. Andrews made me feel like it was all real. Even though I may have read the Biblical account of this many times, it is so interesting to see it written out as a story. I even enjoyed reading about Israel, in all of its depravity, and all the court intrigue kept me reading late.
I really liked this book. It was thorough, and you could tell the author did her research. I enjoyed each small thing that was included, like the special attention to description of the High Priest's garments, etc. This book was happy, but also sad, in a way, because it reveals the depravities of a land that forsakes God, almost in the same way our country seems to want to head. At any rate, I appreciated the author's attention to detail, and her attempt to keep it Biblically accurate. I loved this story, and I recommend this for readers 15 and up.
~ a rambling author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautifully written biblical fiction

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
hulamonkey30
Location:Ottawa, ON Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"In a kingdom controlled by cruel and manipulative women, one princess will discover the power of truth and love. Trained as a priestess in the temple of Baal, Princess Jehosheba strives to please the demanding Queen Athaliah, daughter of Jezebel. But when a mysterious letter from the dead prophet Elijah predicts doom for the royal household, Jehosheba realizes that the dark arts she practices reach far beyond the realm of earthly governments. Forced to marry Yahweh's high priest in order to further Athaliah and Jezebel's power plays, Jehosheba enters the unfamiliar world of Yahweh's Temple. Can her new husband show her the truth and love she craves? And can Jehosheba overcome her fear and save the family--and the nation--she loves? With deft skill, Mesu Andrews brings the Old Testament to life, revealing a fascinating story of the power of unconditional love." (Publisher's Description)
Another wonderfully woven biblical tale written by Ms. Andrews. The heroine, Jehosheba is due to become the next high priestess of Baal until a plan concocted by her mother and her grandmother Jezebel sees her married to the High Priest of the Jewish Temple. Having been used all her life by an unloving mother and a demanding false god, she struggles to believe in the loving Yahweh and her new husband Jehoiada. At 432 pages, this book is full of rich biblically history. I highly recommend this book to people who like biblical fiction. It is well researched and full of wonderful tidbits and pictures.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Shadow of Jezebel there were several characters that really touched me but I think the one that really stood out had to be Jehosheba also known as Sheba. She grew up in conditions that were less than ideal, with a mother figure that was anything but kind. Sheba was such a complex character and we learn this right along with her husband Jehoida. Speaking of him, he really wasn't the typical suitor, he was older than Sheba, and was a bit set in his ways. I really enjoyed watching their story unfold. I found the worship of Baal to be quite fascinating, because I have been reading quite a bit about it lately in my Bible studies. As I read this story it was obvious that Mesu Andrews certainly did plenty of research, and the way that she opens each chapter with scripture verse really makes it easy to turn to the Bible and read the "true" story.
I have become a huge fan of Biblical fiction because the characters really come to life. Sure it's fiction but it certainly makes me understand better not only the time period, but also the author also allows me to better understand what the characters might have been feeling, but the best thing about this genre is that it always makes me go back and read the original story in the Bible and normally has me paying attention to the finer details. Mesu Andrews unique telling brings the Bible to life, providing rich historical fiction that weaves together fact and fiction to make for a compelling story.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mesu Brings This to Life!

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Contrary to what you may assume from a precursory glance at the title, this story is not focused on Jezebel (though she is certainly a player in the grand scheme of things). Rather, this book concentrates on her grand-daughter, Jehosheba. As you may have noticed, it’s got over 400 pages, and each page has a lot of words – definitely full. Despite this, it’s never boring! Mesu managed to absolutely pack this book with Biblically accurate information, events, and people. She brings to life characters and stories that may otherwise seem stuffy – but truly aren’t! The whole book has a realistic feel and a gripping story. I could definitely identify with what Jehosheba felt. It’s absolutely worth reading! I highly recommend it for those of you who love Biblical fiction, or anyone looking for a creative and unique story set in Bible times.
**Revell sent me a free copy of this book for review. I wasn’t required to post positively or paid in any way for this review. All opinions are my own. **
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fascinating and Intriguing!

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Savanna
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title of this novel alone intrigued me. It warned of danger, hinting of a dark, mysterious story embedded within. And there was, but fortunately the story beneath the beautiful cover also carried an abundance of reassuring hope and strength within the lives of these Biblical characters, some of which you might just be introduced to for the first time. I know I “met” a lot of them for the first time through these pages. Their journey to learn how to trust and love again instantly drew me in.
The author’s depth of research and passion for this story was evident through the book and made me truly care for the characters, even some of the “evil” ones on a page or two. ;) Each one was brought to life in such a way I felt like I was standing in the room with them. My stomach was in nervous knots as I stood with the heroine, Jehosheba, before the evil Queen Jezebel. My heart broke with Yahweh’s high priest, Jehoiada, as he took on the sins of the people during the sacrifice in the Temple. And I celebrated when the Lord gave them strength to stand for the truth against all odds. There is hope amidst the pain and the Lord’s unconditional love for His people is beautifully transparent throughout.
The only thing that really tripped me up while reading was getting familiarized with all the names in the beginning. Fortunately, there is a family tree and and character index at the front to introduce everyone. Without that, I would have been lost for the first half of the book. Many of the names are long and sound so much alike that I struggled at first to remember who was who and had to keep turning back to check. I’m still a little new to Biblical fiction, can you tell? ;)
This story is not exactly what I would call a “light read” where you just pick it up for a chapter or two in the evening to relax. There is a lot of drama amidst the families, politics, temple worship, and kingdoms from this era, so I warn you it is an emotional roller-coaster. However, despite all that, I still enjoyed it and felt like I learned from it.
If you like reading Biblical fiction and getting to know the people behind the names we can barely pronounce, you will enjoy this book. ;) Each chapter is accompanied by an introductory verse from Scripture that helps ground the fictional side with the real, which I loved as well. This was my first time reading one of Mesu Andrews’ stories and I’m definitely going to be checking out her other novels in the future.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers at Revell for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2014
Reading the Old Testament history books can be intimidating. The names are hard to pronounce and the chronological story weaves through several different books and can be difficult to follow. Mesu Andrews has taken those challenges in stride and brought to us a book that breathes life into those obscure characters on the page.
I really enjoy Biblical fiction when it remains accurate to the original account. In The Shadow Of Jezebel is spot on when it comes to accuracy. Each chapter of the book begins with a Scriptural reference to where that portion of the story is told. It was great to be able to follow along in my Bible as I read the fictional account.
Beyond all of the accuracy, it is a wonderful story. I know we always say we couldn't put it down . . . but truly I couldn't. I'm pretty well versed on these stories and so I knew the framework, but being able to see their day-to-day encounters was enthralling.
The story is very character driven. Jezebel has such amazing power over people, even when she isn't the one in the seat of power. She has raised up a daughter, Athaliah, that follows in her footsteps and continues her reign of deadly deception. But as widespread as their terror is, there is an even more powerful overriding theme and that is love.
There are several examples of the love of a man for a woman. There are even some very beautiful and uplifting stories of love between friends. But the love story that pervades everything is the one of Yahweh for His people. Because of this Old Testament account we are privileged to see how His plan for His people unfolds and uses every aspect of the good and the bad to bring about His will and destiny for those who call upon His name.
Jehosheba is the main character of this story and through her journey from the temple of Baal to the temple of Yahweh we get to see just how completely our God can take a life that was destined to be destructive and turn it around to one that brings life to those around her. This is definitely a book that should be on your to read list. It will leave you with a deeper understanding of that period in history where evil women tried to control everyone, but Yahweh had long ago made a promise to David's descendants . . . and He kept it!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully crafted biblical fiction

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
thearmychapswife
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I read the book, I read through the sections of Scripture which contain the stories found in In the Shadow of Jezebel. I wanted to re-familiarize myself with that time period of Israel’s history. And let me tell you, it gets rather convoluted and bloody.
What Mesu does is take this complex part of Biblical history and make it and its characters “come alive.” She truly succeeds at getting readers to consider the humanity and struggles of the people involved in these major events.
It is not that Biblical events need embellishing, but there is something about the “what ifs” of conversations, characters, and circumstances that makes Biblical fiction so enjoyable. When excellent storytelling is then combined with excellent Biblical research and scholarship–as it is in In the Shadow of Jezebel–the result is both thrilling and thought-provoking.
As with Mesu’s other books, I highly recommend this one for anyone who likes Biblical fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Political intrigue in Biblical times and Romance

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mesu Andrews in her new book, “In The Shadow Of Jezebel” Book Four in the Treasures of His Love series published by Revell Takes us back to Biblical times.
From the Back Cover: In a kingdom controlled by cruel and manipulative women, one princess will discover the power of truth and love.
Trained as a priestess in the temple of Baal, Princess Jehosheba strives to please the demanding Queen Athaliah, daughter of Jezebel. But when a mysterious letter from the dead prophet Elijah predicts doom for the royal household, Jehosheba realizes that the dark arts she practices reach far beyond the realm of earthly governments.
Forced to marry Yahweh’s high priest in order to further Athaliah and Jezebel’s power plays, Jehosheba enters the unfamiliar world of Yahweh’s Temple. Can her new husband show her the truth and love she craves? And can Jehosheba overcome her fear and save the family–and the nation–she loves?
With deft skill, Mesu Andrews brings the Old Testament to life, revealing a fascinating story of the power of unconditional love.
Political intrigue in Biblical times! Say the name Jezebel and everyone will agree she is the most evil person ever. Now we have a story where Jehosheba has to work with and for her. Ms. Andrews gives a spectacular job of showing what life what like in that time period and all the political maneuvering. She also gives us a warm, wonderful picture of life without love and then life with God’s love and protection. In “In The Shadow Of Jezebel” Ms. Andrews has done a superb account of researching many different sources to give us a cast of characters that most of us are probably not aware of.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In the Shadow of Jezebel

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fourth book of biblical fiction by Mesu Andrews is quite different than her earlier books. While none of the books are a series, and thus can be read in any order, this book deals with some of the Bible's most evil people, namely Queen Jezebel and her daughter Queen Athaliah and how God's people lived with them. Mesu has a way of writing about the Old Testament people in ways that bring their stories to life and make the reader care about them. It's like reading a history textbook vs. reading historical fiction. I've read the stories in 2 Kings in the Bible, and thought how merciless and cold-hearted the people were, with all the killing for position and power, but did not look deeper. Mesu's telling of the story helped me look under the surface and draw parallels that are applicable today. I recommend this book if you enjoy Biblical fiction.
With thanks to Revell for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterfully Written

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! In the Shadow of Jezebel is an awesome read. It is an expertly written story based on an Old Testament story that I am aware of, but really knew very little about. Mesu Andrews tells the incredibly beautiful story of Jehosheba, from her life being trained as a priestess in the temple of Baal to her marriage to a priest of Yahweh and ultimately daughter of God. It is an emotional story of God's love and the reconciliation and redemption made available to us by God.
Andrews has done an incredibly thorough study of scripture and research that has enabled her to bring the ancient city of Jerusalem to life. I appreciated her inclusion of the Character List and In the Shadow of Jezebel Family Tree in the front of the book. Both helped make the story clearer to me. I also enjoyed reading her Author Note in the back of the book. Lovers and readers of history will appreciate these as well.
I found reading In the Shadow of Jezebel to be a fascinating and thoroughly enjoyable task. It was a quick read for me because I was so enthralled by Andrew's writing. This is the first book of hers that I have read and I can't wait to pick up the others.
In the Shadow of Jezebel is a masterfully written book that brings an oft overlooked Old Testament story to life and a deeper understanding of the traditions and customs of ancient Jerusalem's struggles to follow the one true God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another awesome release from Andrews!
When the opportunity arose to review In the Shadow of Jezebel, I eagerly accepted. I have loved every novel of hers that I have read and this one is no exception. Going into the story, I wasn't sure what to expect. I generally knew from the back cover when the story would be set, however, I was not familiar with Jehosheba or Jehoiada. In my daily Bible study I choose to read Paul's letter over the numerous evil kings of Israel and Judah.
Jehosheba, or Sheba as she is more frequently referred to, is a wonderful character. Andrews evoked my compassion for the poor girl on more than one occasion. Sheba grew up in such a horrible, tense, environment that her change is a testament of the healing God gives, if we seek it. It isn't easy to balance an internal transformation but I think Andrews did excellent. Every hard, raw, moment felt realistic.
Despite his anger issues, Jehoiada was exactly the man Sheba needed and he was certainly the right high priest at the right time. I was/am fascinated with the sheer amount research Andrews has done on this time period. The temple, the palace, all of it jumped off the page and into my imagination. If one thing is certain, it's that Andrews has a talent for writing Biblical fiction.
To wrap up this review, I'll say this: While In the Shadow of Jezebel could not overtake Love in a Broken Vessel as my favorite novel from Andrews, Biblical fiction fans will be pleased and eager for more. I definitely recommend this book to teens/adults. I look forward to her future releases!
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely loved it!

Date:March 15, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Raised to fulfill her future roles as high priestess to Baal Melkart and a queen of destiny, Princess Jehosheba learned early to use manipulation, cruelty and fear to gain power and impress Queen Athalia, her father's wife. An invitation from Jezebel, the Queen Mother of Israel, and a letter from the dead prophet, Elijah, begin a whirlwind of events as Jehosheba learns deep family secrets and reluctantly marries Yahweh's high priest. As Jehosheba learns more of Yahweh, she loses faith in Baal Melkart. Under a death sentence should she fail to carry out the plans of the queens of destiny, will Jehosheba overcome her fear and fully trust Yahweh for life, love and a safe future?
I was very impressed by In the Shadow of Jezebel, the first book I've read by Mesu Andrews. From the beginning, the story had my attention and, in spite of one scene that I think had a lapse in tone, my interest in the characters and their stories, never waned. One thing I particularly enjoyed was the story's setting. I haven't read a lot of fictional stories set in this period and the use of unfamiliar words such as “Ima” and “Gevirah” intrigued me. Andrews expertly weaved Biblical events with fictional elements. This book actually made me want to go back and read the correlating Biblical accounts. I can not say enough good things about this book and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys Biblical fiction.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

IN THE SHADOW OF JEZEBEL BY MESU ANDREWS

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
IN THE SHADOW OF JEZEBEL by Mesu Andrews is an wonderful Inspirational Historical Romance (Biblical Fiction). #4 in the "Treasures of His Love" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Love Amid the Ashes", "Love's Sacred Song", and " Love in a Broken Vessel".
This is the tale of Princess Jehosheba, who was forced to marry a Yahweh's high priest by her Queen, Queen Athaliah,daughter of Jezebel.
If you enjoy seeing Biblical characters come to life, though the pages of a book, then you are in for a real treat. With her usual aplomb for telling the Bible though story,the use of scripture, and historical facts, Ms. Andrews has once again written a tale of unconditional love, sacrifice, and faith.
You will feel the characters struggles, their faith, see their customs, history and the culture of an era gone by long ago. She has captured the spirit of those from ancient times. A must read for anyone who enjoys Biblical Fiction and romance. Received an advance copy.
*Available March 2014 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.*
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is wonderful example of Biblical Fiction.

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
justpeachy36
Location:Morehead, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly acclaimed Biblical fiction author Mesu Andrews brings readers her latest book, In the Shadow of Jezebel. A combination of history, fiction and Biblical accounts combine to create this story about a princess who defied the odds and finds true unconditional love. Andrews is able to project feelings and emotion into little known Biblical characters and bring them to life. With astounding research this novel broaches, political, cultural and historical aspects of Biblical times and gives the reader and authentic and real experience as they read. An amazing new book from a well respected author.
What I liked:
Mesu Andrews is an author that I have watched for a long time. I have had the opportunity to review some of her books and I think it is safe to say that she is one of my favorites in Biblical fiction. In case some of you are wondering what Biblical fiction means, it is basically where an author takes the Biblical account of a story or person and uses fiction to enhance the story. It brings the characters to life or continues the story as it may have happened. It is important to remember that this is fiction. The author isn't trying to add to, or take away from the Biblical account, it is just the author's interpretation of what if. Andrews is a master at it.
Princess Jehosheba's story is one that is often overlooked in the Bible, even though she had a great contribution to the history of the people of Judah. When Jezebel's daughter, Athaliah was on the throne she was determined to kill all of the sons of the royal household in order to establish her place on the throne and keep herself in power. Jehosheba is the woman who hid Joash and his nurse from the queen for several years before he assumed the throne.
Very little is really known about this remarkable woman, but Mesu Andrews has taken her and made her into an amazing character. She is serving in Baal's temple when she is married off to one of the high priests in order to appease Athaliah. Then from her husband she learns of Yahweh and his love. It is just a remarkable 'what if' tale about a young woman who was a priestess to idols who learned the love of the one true God. I thought Andrews did such a fantastic job with this one.
Andrews has a gift for bringing characters to life. Readers learn a lot about the history through the real life historical characters of the book and they learn a lot about life in Bible times and the culture of the people and their every day life from the fictional secondary characters. I don't know about you, but I have often read the Biblical accounts of people from the Bible and wondered about them. How did they get from point A to point B, what made them they way they were and I think Andrews really satisfies that part of me as a reader who wanted to know more about these amazing people.
What I didn't like:
I liked everything about this one. Jehosheba is a woman who lives in under a tyrannical queen, yet she finds a way to save her nephew the future king of Judah.
Bottom Line:
If you enjoy Biblical fiction or think you might, this is the author to try. Mesu Andrews has a real handle on this kind of writing. She is very descriptive and readers will almost feel like they are a part of the story, everything is so vivid and realistic. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings the Old Testament to life

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
lmbrandonsmith
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Shadow of Jezebel brings life to an Old Testament story I'd breezed over. Mesu Andrews has a gift for story telling that accentuates what is already there by engaging the imagination. She paints beautiful, detailed pictures of Biblical lives and times that make me want to dig into the Old Testament Scriptures and remind me of the beauty and wonder that is within.
I am always impressed by the extensive research Mesu obviously does for each book. I've read all of her books voraciously cover to cover. In the Shadow of Jezebel is no different. I couldn't wait to get my hands on it and once I did I could not put it down.
We all need to be reminded how much God loves us and how He gently pursues us. We need to remember the strength we have in and through Him to be people of destiny, to change the landscape of the world we live in. We need to remember that our past doesn't define us, God's grace does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful story!

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mesu Andrews has such a wonderful gift for writing. Her stories are captivating, the historical detail is phenomenal, and the characters have such depth you either want to hug them or see them taken out of power. In the Shadow of Jezebel is another one of these fantastic stories!
Jehosheba was an intriguing character. As the daughter of the king, Jehosheba was taken on as a project by Queen Athaliah. Raised in a power hungry and corrupt setting, I didn't know how I would feel about Jehosheba. As we were introduced to her, she seemed like a spoiled princess, but as the story unfolded, I couldn't help but feel sorry for her.The abuse and the manipulation she suffered under the women in charge was horrific. As the story progressed, my heart broke for her. The years of abuse left scars, but God knew the man who would help lead her down the path of healing.
Mesu Andrews isn't trying to rewrite the Bible by any means, but the way she was able to turn a few verses in the Bible into a plausible idea that captures you into the story is wonderful! There are a few times in the Bible where it says a king did wicked things, or a king did evil in the eyes of God. In the Shadow of Jezebel, it makes you ask, was this the king's own doing, or was there a darker and more sinister force pushing him?
I will also say, that like other good Biblical based fiction, this story made me want to go and read the original story.
Thank you to the Revell Blog Tour program, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Edge of Your Seat Read

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
It says a lot about a story and an author that you know how a book will end and yet you can’t put it down. That was my experience with In the Shadow of Jezebel. From a princess struggling to find real love in a palace mired in evil and shadows, to a villainess as detestable and ruthless as they come, Mesu Andrews excels at creating multi-dimensional characters that truly come to life and jump off the pages!
The political drama and intrigue of the time is palpable in this novel and makes for an edge of your seat read! Fans of Biblical fiction will appreciate the research and attention to detail the author puts into her story and I can wholeheartedly recommend this read.
*I received a copy of this book from Revell. All opinions are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Had trouble connecting

Date:March 8, 2014
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found it interesting to read this book after I have read Reign: The Chronicles of Queen Jezebel. The books are not by the same author but many of the same people (characters show up). I think it would be good to read a book on Jezebel before reading In the Shadow of Jezebel just to give you a deeper understanding of who the characters are.
There are a lot of characters and many of them start with the letter "J" so it is hard to keep track of them, but there's a reference at the beginning of the book to remind you as you read.
I had a lot of trouble connecting with this book. I really wanted to but I just could never get into it. However, as I always say when I don't love a book, someone else will love this book, it just didn't resonant with me.
I think it was just a bit too slow to get to Sheba meeting the high priest. I wanted that tension to take place faster. Yet, I understand that the author was laying the ground work for that to happen and there are were several other places were there was tension.
What I did like was that each chapter started with a Bible verse that applied to the action that was about to take place. This book is very Biblically centered and there is no place better to be than in the Word.
As always, these are my thoughts only and I encourage you to make your own opinion.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Israel and Judah’s history is complex, intriguing, filled with good and bad kings, as well as a people were faithful one minute and unfaithful the next. Mesu Andrews chose a character out of the Old Testament whose very name brings to mind evil, but who was at times beguiling too. Mesu does an excellent job viewing a period of the past by having a chart as a visual aid to help readers understand what’s going on before beginning the book.
Before the chart, Mesu writes a personal note to readers followed by a list of characters in this particular book, explaining to her audience those who were real and those who were fictional. At the beginning of each chapter, Scripture is shared to remind readers what the Bible reveals while giving readers a chance to read the complete passages from the Word for themselves.
As I began reading, I was trying to find my way in an ancient time where customs and people are vastly different from present day. I found the story really begins to pick up after wading through the first few chapters, while being reminded again of the history of God’s chosen people. Israel and Judah had once been a united kingdom until Solomon’s death. After that, the history of the land and people grow in complexity and division.
This biblical novel reminds me of a couple of points that I would like to share from my perspective. While reading the tale, I am reminded that mankind needs to look and depend upon Yahweh daily. Another observation is that the wars and conflicts that assaulted the nation then and now are first and foremost spiritual wars. Last but not least, we all face a choice to follow Yeshua or not as well as realizing our choice affects more than ourselves; it can and does affect nations.
There are many accurate portraits the author paints of the real people who lived long ago, but don’t let the historical time frame keep you from learning more about a time, nation and her people. Jezebel is not a positive name to be associated with. Her place in history is not a shining example, but we can learn what not to do from her by living for God each day. Along with that, we see a part of the Old Testament come alive through fiction. To learn more about the many characters in the story who once lived, go back to the Bible and unearth the treasures in the pages of His Word.
What a compelling, heart-grabbing story told with wisdom and love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In the Shadow of Jezebel
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In The Shadow of Jezebel

Date:March 4, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many things I want to say about this book, but I can only think of one word: AMAZING!. I was blown away by the love that Jehoiada had for Jehosheba. He knew that she had been abused and he gently loved and cared for her to show her that love endures long and is patient and kind; love never is envious nor boils over with jealousy, is not boastful or vainglorious, does not display itself haughtily(1 Corinthians 13:4 AMP). It was amazing how she blossomed and grew in the Lord and walked into her destiny. I have read all of Mesu book and this is the best one so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>