Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1

Revell When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1

Determined to make it, three sisters promise to help each other in life and love! Working the telephone switchboard as a "hello girl," Hannah Gregory insists on reimbursing the charity of lawyer Lincoln Cole. After a run-in with the law, she's forced to accept his help, but When Love Calls, how will she answer?

Gregory Sisters SeriesLorna Seilstad


 

Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Review 1 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
daischop
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have quite a few books on my kindle, and too many times I pass over the kindle to read the latest book that I've received. This time I had no book at work on my lunch hour and opted to start a book. My book of choice was "When Love Calls" by Lorna Seilstad.
It's about a young woman who is in the process of being evicted from her homestead with her two younger sisters. Their parents died earlier from influenza, so Hannah drops out of law school to return home to care for her sisters.
The book starts off with Hannah not following the rules set by the grocery owner, and the trouble that ensues. She knows she needs to find work, but it's not until she and her sisters are evicted from their home by a young lawyer that she is forced to provide for her family.
She finds work as a potential Hello Girl, while at the same time meeting back up with the lawyer who was involved in evicting them from their home.
The book in all was quite enjoyable to read. There were little nuances that bothered me, but it wasn't enough to deter me from reading the book. I liked her spunkiness and I liked Lincoln. I kinda wish I had been able to get to know Rosie a little more, but just the little bit I did get to know of her was helpful.
For me, this book was an introduction to a new author for me. I will definitely be reading more books by Lorna in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sometimes Secrets Shouldn't Be Kept

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Independent thinking Hannah Gregory and her sisters lose their parents, and their farm, and she must drop out of law school. To support herself and her sisters she must keep her difficulty following rules under control as she becomes a telephone operator, which at that point in history and at Hannah's work location had ridiculous rules to follow.
Attorney Lincoln Cole feels guilty because he is the one who had to start the eviction of the Gregory girls from their farm. He tries to help but Hannah resists his efforts, being quite put out with him. Eventually she realizes she really does need help and he's willing to offer it.
Arson is blamed on Hannah's close childhood friend, who is also sweet on her. She must use her legal skills and Lincoln assists her to defend the young man. When Hannah overhears something, she doesn't share it, because of the rules at work. But her choice to keep this secret could have been deadly.
Excellent read full of wonderful historical details that really bring the reader right to the capitol building with Hannah and Lincoln. Sweet love story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rose McCauley
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read and enjoyed several of Lorna Seilstad's books in the Lake Manawa series, so was happy to read this book which begins a new series by her called The Gregory Sisters. The first one is entitled When Love Calls, and is the story of the oldest sister, Hannah, who drops out of college where she is studying law to become a switchboard operator in order to support her two younger sisters after the death of both their parents.
Life can be hard in the early 1900s for those without support, so she is happy to find this job as a "Hello Girl" even with the strict rules. Little does she know that the hardship of losing the home their parents raised them in will cause her to meet a lawyer who does care for justice and the poor.
This book has it all--history, family relationships and a love story, too. A delightful read, and I can't wait for the next book in this series. This book was supplied by the publisher for a review, but these thoughts are all my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun story with a good message

Date:April 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Focusing on the eldest of the Gregory sisters, Lorn Seilstad begins her series with the foreclosure of the Gregory farm, leaving the three orphaned women without a home. Taking care of her sisters like always, Hannah lets go of her dream of becoming a lawyer and turns to employment as a Hello Girl - a switchboard operator. While laws (and upholding them) are something Hannah approves of, following pointless rules has never been her strong suit, and the job of switchboard operator has a lot of them. When her childhood friend is arrested as an arsonist, Hannah is sure he is innocent, so she is forced to turn to a young attorney, the man who delivered the message of their foreclosure, for help. Can Hannah hold onto her job and care for sisters, or will the rules and the two young men angling for her affections drive her crazy?
Clearly the author has put in a lot of research to perfect the setting - both in its time period and place. Descriptions of the Des Moines capitol building sound breathtaking, while the little details of everyday life firmly set it at the turn of the century. It was fun to learn about the Hello Girls, though based on the rigid rules, I would think just about anyone would have a hard time keeping that job! I am sure they were exceedingly efficient, but to be forced to stare straight ahead without ever glancing at the people right next to you, or to be required to ask permission to blow a nose or wipe a forehead? Wow!
Seilstad is good at working messages into her stories, and this one is no exception; in fact, besides the main theme of depending on God and not just on oneself, she works into it a secondary theme - don't give up on your dreams. Sometimes circumstances force one to put them aside for a while, but God has given us dreams, and he finds a way to bring them to fruition. Hannah had long wanted to be a lawyer, but in order to survive, she has to work rather than go to college; yet that dream never dies. Even if it is not in the way she expected, God provides a way for her to use her talents and education. It was encouraging and good reinforcement after just discussing this same theme in bible study!
Sprinkled with a generous dose of humor, the story is a fine balance of drama, danger, and romance. The characters are both fun and flawed, making it a pleasure to follow their stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1908 Telephone Operator faces troubles

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hannah Gregory, eldest of three orphaned sisters, believes it’s her duty to look after her siblings, Charlotte and Tessa. Her dream of finishing law school gives way to the reality of supporting her family that remains. Will working as a switchboard operator be the means to this end or can she survive Iowa Telephone Company’s rigid rules? The year is 1908, and standards for women are as distant as a party line is from today’s instant messaging.
To further complicate Hannah’s life, add Attorney Lincoln Cole, who had to evict the Gregorys from their family farm but desires to assist them as they settle into their future—especially they lovely Hannah. Will his wealth and position elicit a busy signal from her? Plus Charlotte seems infatuated with George, a demanding young man who pays attention to her, but does he care for her as her should? Then Hannah’s childhood friend, Walt, is accused of arson. Can she help free him?
All the complications make for an intriguing read as suspense builds and tensions flare. Author Lorna Seilstad has a firm handle on the period. Her historical fiction rings true and her characters vibrate with life. Enjoy stepping back to a simpler time—yet one with problems similar to our own—and explore the solutions along with the people on the page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Summer Read: When Love Calls by Lorna Seil

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These past few years I've come to look forward to each book written by Lorna Seilstad. Light-hearted and fun romances with great settings and unique plots are pretty much guaranteed with every story. Her latest, When Love Calls, continues along these lines and is one of the sweetest romances I've read all summer.
Hannah, having suddenly lost both her parents, quits law school to become a Hello Girl for the local telephone company in Des Moines, Iowa in order to support herself and her two younger sisters. Along the way, she meets handsome lawyer, Lincoln Cole. Not knowing whether to loath him, he was the one who informed them that they were being evicted from their family home, or to love him for assisting the Gregory's in finding a new situation, Hannah is torn. To top it all off, one of her oldest friends is being convicted of a crime she knows he couldn't possibly be guilty of. With everything so uncertain in her life, she's stubborn, wanting only to depend on herself. Hannah learns to lean on God and on people who love her to make it through trying times.
Hannah is a thoroughly likeable character. She's gutsy, loyal to a fault when it comes to family and friends, and she is extremely stubborn. I was a little frustrated by her hard-headedness at times, wishing she would just let somebody help her without flying off the handle but still, I liked her. Hannah and her sisters were easy to root for. I'm anxious to read more about the youngest Gregory siblings in the upcoming books! Recently, I've read a few stories set in the early 1900s with the main characters employed as switchboard operators but When Love Calls is definitely the best. Lorna Seilstad's books ALL come highly recommended by this romance fan!
~ My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars ~
*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I am however an influencer for the author, however I wouldn't have posted a positive review if I didn't genuinely enjoy the book. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging and entertaining!

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Love Calls is an enjoyable read, that is entirely wholesome and fun and never drags or gets dull. Not with Hannah as the principle character! She's strong, stubborn and independent and doesn't give up. It was interesting to learn about the Hello Girls, the early telephone operators, and all the rules they had! That would have been a problem for me too.
The author includes several fun tidbits from the time period, such as riding in an early car, and other such adventures and it's a lot of fun to see it through the characters' eyes. She did a great job with her descriptions, not making them overly long or cutting into the story but just thorough enough that you can see this story in full colourful detail.
This was a very enjoyable read that kept me engaged and entertained all the way through and I will be watching for the next book in the series for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hellooo Hannah!

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hannah Gregory joins Lorna Seilstad's other historical heroines as a young lady of gumption and humor. Hannah becomes responsible for her younger sisters when their parents die and must quit law school to get a job. Working as a Hello Girl (switchboard operator) means keeping a lot of rules, something Hannah isn't so great at.
A young lawyer, Lincoln Cole, has the unenviable task of evicting the Gregory sisters when the family home is repossessed. There seems to be no way to get Hannah to see it's nothing personal, no matter how hard he tries to help her and her sisters.
When an arsonist begins targeting union holdings and Hannah's old friend becomes implicated, Lincoln steps in to help. What happens When Love Calls?
If you enjoy lightly humorous stories set in the early 20th century, check out When Love Calls by Lorna Seilstad. I'm looking forward to reading about the other two sisters in upcoming novels.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A SWEET LOVE STORY!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
WHEN LOVE CALLS by Lorna Seilstad is a wonderful inspirational historical romance set in 1908 Des Moines,Iowa. #1 in "The Gregory Sisters",and what a beginning to a new series by this author. A sweet story of family,faith,secrets,healing,mystery,forgiveness and the power of love. Hannah Gregory,the eldest Gregory sister,and who is royal,feisty and resilient to a fault. And Lincoln Cole,a young lawyer. Follow,these two young people plus a cast of characters who are not only engaging but will steal your heart as they navigate their way through hardships,struggles,life,and romance. Hannah becomes a Switchboard operator to help support your younger teenage sisters,but she dreams of being an attorney. Lincoln is a senator's son who finds Hannah and her troubles right up his alley. A heart warming story of the 1900's during which there are many changes and companionship turns to a sweet romance. Ms. Seilstad is a wonderful storyteller who draws the reader into her stories and holds them there. She also has a powerful message in her stories. A charming and unforgettable love story. I would recommend this title,especially, if you enjoy twentieth century history,charming characters,and a powerful story. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR,Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Story from Lorna Seilstad

Date:May 18, 2013
What a wonderful book! In a week of working around the clock, getting sick, and trying to recover quickly, When Love Calls was just what the doctor ordered! Lorna Seilstad is an incredible author that delivers a story filled with characters to love, interesting historical details, humorous moments, a delicious romance, and the beginning of a series that I can't wait to read more of!
I loved the message throughout the book that God is in control of our lives and we must depend on Him. This was illustrated over and over again, through every character, without being preachy or cheesy. As much as this message applied to the fictitious Walt, Hannah, and Lincoln (and others), there is certainly a message for this real-life reader as well.
I enjoyed every moment spent reading When Love Calls and highly recommend it! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When Love Calls is a delightful Historical Romance

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Love Calls
The Gregory Sisters
By Lorna Seilstad
Following the deaths of her parents, 20 year old Hannah Gregory is left with the care of her two younger teenaged sisters. Caring for her sisters means giving up her dream of becoming a lawyer, but how is she going to support them all?
Hannah uses her determination and learning skills to get a job as a "Hello Girl" if she can follow the rules and pass the training stage. But when lawyer Lincoln Cole insists on helping the Gregory girls after their farm is foreclosed on, Hannah's ire is raised and she blames Lincoln for the loss of their home.
Set in 1908 When Love Calls is a look at a different world, a world of switchboards and operators who must connect each and every call. This is such a contrast to the world that we now live in where we can connect almost instantly through cell phones or over a computer.
Hannah is feisty and independent so becoming a Hello Girl is a real trial for her especially having to strictly follow the rules. Hannah's antics are at times just too much. She doesn't back down to anyone when she feels she is in the right and she is loyal to those whom she views as friends.
When Love Calls is a delightful step back in time, which were simpler but not necessarily easier. What's a girl to do when union unrest comes knocking at her door and her sister hides who she is just to capture the heart of a boy? Needing her parents guidance can Hannah learn to turn to God and rely on someone other than herself, someone like Lincoln?
I love Hannah's risk taking attitude, though she definitely got herself into a few situations that proved taking a risk is sometimes not the best choice. I can honestly say that I would not have gone up to the top of the capitol and looked over the railing, UGHHH heights!!!
The references made to the story of Ruth added another dimension to the story. We should all be like Ruth and allow God to cover us with His protection.
If you like historical fiction with a touch of romance you will love When Love Calls. Take a set back in time as a whole new world of thought, invention, and equality begins to open up but not without a fight. Enter the world of the Gregory sisters as they reach out to capture their dreams and to triumph over their losses, you will come away with some new friends!
I received a copy of a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Self-Reliance Versus God-Relaince and Romance

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorna Seilstad in her new book, "When Love Calls" Book One in The Gregory Sisters series published by Revell brings us into the life of Hannah Gregory.
From the Back Cover: When romance calls, will she choose to answer?
Hannah Gregory is good at many things, but that list does not include following rules. So when she must apply for a job as a switchboard operator to support her two sisters, she knows it won't be easy. Hello Girls must conduct themselves according to strict-and often bewildering-rules, which include absolutely no consorting with gentlemen while in training.
Hannah doubts it will be difficult to keep that rule-until a handsome young lawyer starts getting under her skin.
With historic details that bring to life the exciting first decade of the twentieth century, Lorna Seilstad weaves a charming tale of companionship that blossoms into sweet romance.
"When Love Calls" is a lot of fun. Just the idea of saying, "number, please" your entire shift is enough to drive you crazy. However Hannah is a self-reliant woman who has two sisters who must be taken care of. Hannah feels she lost the farm her deceased parents had owned and that guilt is what partly motivates her. All Hannah wants to do is follow the rules and keep her job but Lincoln Cole, the young lawyer who presented the eviction papers to them, is making that rather difficult. "When Love Calls" is full of wonderful themes of self-reliance versus God-reliance. Ms. Seilstad does a wonderful job of transporting us back to a time and place that we will, sadly, never experience again so savor the time spent in these pages. This is an interesting story filled with lots of excitement and romance as well as history. I liked it a lot and I am looking forward to more in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
"Available May 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The world of Hello Girls is fascinating. It’s also restrictive. If one makes the cut and gets into the phone operator’s school, it’s still no guarantee she’ll end up with a job.
They are told up front that half of their class won’t make it. Hannah really needs this job to put food on the table and care for her sisters. After her parents death, the bank repossessed the farm and house, so she’s desperate for the job.
Big problem - all the rules and regulations. Hannah can’t seem to stay out of trouble. The two men hanging around her create another problem. There’s that rule about no male callers during a woman’s time in school.
Hannah/s attempts to stay out of trouble while fighting her attraction to one of these men makes a good story. Then there’s that danger that gets one of the men tossed into jail.
I’m looking forward to reading more about the Gregory sisters.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

true-to-life story that flows so beautifully

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May the Lord repay you for what you have done. May you be richly rewarded by the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge. --Ruth 2:12
Iowa 1908. The Gregory sisters' parents have passed away from influenza. Hannah is home from law school at Drake University to care for her younger sisters. While leaving the grocer, she notices an advertisement: SWITCHBOARD OPERATORS wanted.
As supper is ending, there is a knock at the door. A legal representative of the bank is there to ask if Hannah is aware their father had taken out a second mortgage on their farm? He has come to give them notice of foreclosure and auction of personal property to go toward the mortgage, with one week to vacate. Lincoln Cole said as no payment has been made in the three months since her father's passing, there is no other recourse.
Hannah is among two dozen applicants who have come to interview as "Hello Girls" telephone switchboard operators. She is chosen along with her new friend, Rosie, and they begin the rigorous training that includes no contact with any males during their two-week course. Their instructor stops in at church to make sure they are attending and speaks to the pastor to verify the reference given. On one end of Hannah's pew is her childhood friend, and on the other is the young lawyer. What a day for them to be bookends!
Hannah is a take-charge, headstrong young woman. Finishing law school has now come to an end for her as she focuses on caring for her teenaged sisters. She supports them to reach their dreams. Tessa, the youngest at fourteen, is quite dramatic and outspoken. She has become my favorite and I look forward to her appearing. Her aspired dreams change by the moment. I learned a lot from her about preparing the soil for transplanting tea roses. Charlotte enjoys preparing their meals. Her dream is to attend cooking school and open her own restaurant. She has her first beau, and his outlook is different from her own. I liked how George revealed his own character without exposure from someone else.
Lincoln Cole is a young attorney whose firm is projecting he will follow in the footsteps of his father, who was in the senate before he passed away. Regardless of his future standing, Lincoln takes on a case for justice-sake and not political appearance ~ and his interest in Hannah ~ who has a delightful entry in chapter one at the grocer and again when she is "quite able to get in a rowboat by herself." You are going to love the development of "getting to know each other" of these likeable protagonists.
I like the true-to-life story that flows so beautifully. Lincoln has the input of his aunt Sam, and she is delightful when she comes to visit from St. Paul. Full of her own opinion as well, she is a wonderful addition to the story. I liked how the inner striving for each of these sisters was resolved. They find their own place while leaning on each other during their mourning process. They are remarkable in listening and following through in caring for each other. They have had good training and biblical example. I may have overused the word "delightful" but indeed this is exactly how I would describe this wholesome story of values in business and relationships, overflowing from In God We Trust.
***Thank you to Revell Blog Tour Network Historical Fiction for inviting me to be part of the book tour for When Love Calls by Lorna Seilstad and sending a copy of the book. No other compensation was received.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When love calls is the first book on the new series by Lorna Seilstad. When her parents are both killed, Hannah Gregory quits law school to take a job as a "Hello girl" at a local hotel switch board to take care of her two sisters. However the job proves to be quite a challenge when Hannah finds the rules to confining. Add to that a union strike, a rash of fires, a good friend arrested on suspicion of arson, and lawyer that is getting on her last nerve.
As with her previous books, the author sets her story in historic Iowa. I liked the description of the capital building and it was fun to see Hannah's reaction about riding in a automobile for the first time.
This was another great read from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When Love Calls, Gregory Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book!

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At times, a mystery can form a common bond.
Hannah is looking for a new job adventure to call home. After reading an ad for a switchboard operator she decided that perhaps this would become a perfect fit for her and a way to provide for her and her sisters, Tessa and Charlotte. When she meets an attorney who was hired to assist with monetary affairs an unrecognizable spark captures the attention between the two. Is patience enough to ignite the chemistry? While dreams are hung on a limb what will become of the sisters?
Offering a perfect mix of fun, humor, history and romance When Love Calls shines. I was drawn into the storyline from the beginning and connected right away with these well formed, personable and spunky characters. Life walking into a history book the scenery was reminiscent of the period and the dialogue fitting, charming and easy to follow. The book has no dull or dragging parts and is a read that historical fiction lovers will enjoy and savor. I was entertained by this inspirational and spiritually challenged novel and will recommend it to others. Well written! 5 Stars! I received a complimentary copy from Revell Publishers for this blog tour for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.