Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2

Revell Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2

Average Customer Rating:
4.523 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 out of 4498%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Review 1 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Long Day

Date:July 20, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fatal Exchange by Lisa Harris is a fast paced suspense thriller that takes place over a period of 24 hours. Emily Hunt was just expecting another normal day. From the time she arrives at the school she teaches at, her day takes an unexpected turn. She comes from a family of cops, so she opted to play it safe and become a school teacher. But on this day, things will happen to be the stuff of her nightmares. And her love interest is none other than detective Mason Taylor, who is blamed for her brother’s death. With all the twists and turns, I really enjoyed this book and I am looking forward to the third book especially after the way this one ended. This is the second book in the Southern Crimes series. I did not read the first one which deals with Emily’s sister Avery, who is a cop. I will be going back and reading that one as there seems to be a bigger story arc tying all the books together. I received this book from The Book Club Network (TBCN) and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Story!

Date:July 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fatal Exchange is the second book in the Southern Crimes series and I had no problem at all following along with this story, even though I had not read the first book, Dangerous Passage. Although the members from the first book in the series do make some appearances in Fatal Exchange, this story can stand alone just fine. This is also the first book that I have read that was written by Lisa Harris. I enjoyed her writing style, and now look forward to reading books one and three of the series.
Fatal Exchange had many tense moments and a few unexpected twists, as well. The main characters, Emily and Mason, were well-written and handled the situations they faced with as much grace as possible, considering the various dangerous circumstances they were thrown into.
Emily was a likeable character who has to deal with a lot in this book. Toward the end of the book, she battled guilt and even second guessed her ability to judge people’s character. I did enjoy that she was a strong, Christian woman who wanted to be a good role model for children.
Mason was a strong and steady character through the turmoil of the book. But even he eventually had to deal with some issues of guilt and unforgiveness that weighed him down. A family situation hung over him that had to be dealt with and I liked that even though he was a follower of Christ, he struggled with being able to forgive some big wrongs that had been done to him.
This book had lots of action, tense situations, and the start of a sweet romance. I enjoyed Fatal Exchange and look forward to reading more from Lisa Harris.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell, through The Book Club Network, in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read!

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riveting suspense and it just doesn't let up! An intricate web of deceit almost gets the better of Mason and Emily. Realistic. Gritty. Emotionally driven. I had a hard time putting this book down. I'd let my guard down for a second and -- wham! -- I'd be reeling from shock the very next page. This one really kept me on my toes and I was beginning to suspect everyone!
The romance is just as gripping. Emily and Mason have an unrequited love kind of past, so watching them dance around that provided an entertaining break from all the action.
All round awesome read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fatal Exchange

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was #2 in the Southern Crimes Series. This book follows Emily Hunt (Avery's sister who was the main character in Book #1) and Mason Taylor (the guy that Avery believes has something to do with her brother, Michael's, death). There is a case Mason is working on with the drug cartel and Emily gets caught up in it. There is also another case going on at the same time. This book had a twist at the end. I would recommend this book and any book by Lisa Harris. She is a very talented author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced, faith-filled thriller!

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the tradition of Lynette Eason and Robin Caroll, Lisa Harris weaves the perfect blend of faith, suspense, and romance in her latest novel, Fatal Exchange. It is the top notch second tale in the Southern Crimes series, and can be read as a stand-alone book. It is fast-paced, full of heart-pounding danger and action with faith woven in and around a unique twist on one of the most terrifying situations in the headlines today. The characters from the first book, Dangerous Passage, are seamlessly intermingled with enough information to fully appreciate their role in this novel.
Primary characters Emily Hunt and Mason Taylor forge a tentative partnership for which the only purpose is to help a troubled teen, Rafael, who is one of the sons of a widowed mother who works long, grueling hours. Emily comes from a law enforcement family who loves her peaceful life as a private high school teacher. Mason is an undercover detective who has a serious family emergency that is put on hold when the morning that changes many lives begins.
Rafael’s brother is kidnapped by a drug cartel with the threat that if his impoverished family doesn’t pay the ransom demanded, they will kill him. The cartel may be responsible for the murder of at least four other young adults. Emily and Mason plan to do their best to help Rafael and his brother, at least until the nightmare begins and all bets are off.
Fatal Exchange breaks speed limits from the very beginning, progressing with the intensity of an out-of-control race car. Just when it seems that the brakes have finally caught and the car has stabilized, even for a moment, the deadly unexplained acceleration begins again … and the nightmare may never end for Emily and her family.
This is an outstanding, exciting novel which I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense with the potential for romance. The message of faith in God comes through without being “preachy”, and the characters are three-dimensional, believable people with conversations that are well- written and flowing. Fatal Exchange is well-worth the read, not only as an excellent work of fiction but also as an offering to the heavenly Father who gives all good gifts and talents.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lots of twists and turns!

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved how the author quickly brought me right into the story, and then eased into the past relationships and information from the first book (which have not read but now would love to read – and I can’t wait to read her next book!). The back of the book really sums this book up – Fatal Exchange will draw you into a complex matrix of intertwining lies, unraveling secrets, and unexpected love.
Emily Hunt is a school teacher. Although it seems the rest of her family are cops – she has no desire to have anything to do with that kind of adrenaline filled life. But she finds herself one cold morning in a strange hostage situation. Then, just when it seems to be over, the plot thickens and changes like a roller coaster ride. Most of the book occurs during a single day, which in some ways doesn’t seem possible but given how life can change in a moment, it all seems so real as I read it. Another part of the story revolves around Mason – a cop and former enemy to Emily as he supposedly caused her brother’s death but as the day progresses, he becomes her new love interest. He has his own issues of needing to forgive his dying father for abandoning him as a child. I loved how the characters often prayed short, simple prayers as they sought God’s wisdom during their difficult circumstances.
This was a great book! I highly recommend it. I received this book from TBCN in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
AnitaC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mason is an undercover policeman who has been mentoring Rafael. Emily is a schoolteacher who enjoys her quiet predictable life. When Rafael’s brother is kidnapped, he holds Emily and her classroom hostage for the ransom money. Suddenly Emily’s life is anything but quiet.
This book is classified as a suspense, and it lives up to that classification. From the first moment, my attention was grabbed and held. It had lots of action, danger and questions. I wasn’t sure what was to expect next.
This is the second book in a series, but you can follow with no problems as a stand alone. However, I did enjoy it so much, I will be reading the first one also.
I was given this book by bookfun.org for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fast-paced suspense novel - 3.5 stars

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fatal Exchange is the second book in Lisa Harris’ newest series, Southern Crimes. This is the first of her books that I’ve read and I enjoyed it. It is fast-paced and held my attention.
Since I didn’t read the first book in the series, Dangerous Passage, I didn’t understand at first why we had Avery’s point of view. Once I found out book one was hers, it made more sense. Though this is book two in the series, it can very easily be read as a standalone, though there is a bit of a cliff-hanger at the end to ensure you will want to pick up the next book when it releases in Spring of 2015. There were undoubtedly several things I missed because of not reading Dangerous Passage first, but nothing noticeable enough to detract from the story.
Emily Hunt comes from a family of cops, but is the odd one out because she chose to be a school teacher. I really liked Emily’s character. She was very believable and likeable. I enjoyed that while the author threw her into a high-stress, high-risk situation, she didn’t try to make her into a super heroine. She was scared, tense, emotional, everything I imagine I would be, if I were to face a similar crisis. There seems to be a fine line in writing, between having a strong, independent heroine, and a clingy, annoying one. I really appreciated that Ms. Harris finds just the right balance to make Emily feel real.
Our hero is Mason Taylor and he is a great character! He is strong, determined, while also being kind and compassionate. The undercover cop character sometimes seems overdone and worn out, but Ms. Harris finds just the right balance for his character, too. While he is a cop, we see more than just one side of him. He has loved Emily for years, but has stayed just a friend out of respect for her faith. I was a little surprised that when he gets the chance to reconnect with her, he doesn’t immediately jump at it. Yes, there is a lot going on so that wasn’t really an option, but he mostly continues to be the friend she needs, while weighing the possibility of something more.
I was slightly disappointed that Ms. Harris left Emily and Mason’s relationship on the sidelines for most of the book. This book is mostly suspense with a little romance. I suppose since the book covers a very small time frame, the romance would have seemed rushed had she done more with it, but I would also have liked there to have been a bit more depth to it. Hopefully she will pick it up again in the third book.
My main complaint is that this book is more suspense than mystery, which wouldn‘t be a problem, except she tried to make it a mystery. The few “twists” seemed to lack originality and I could guess what was going to happen next without putting much thought into it. Also the “surprise” villain was very obvious. I saw it coming almost as soon as it happened, the only surprise was why they did it and that never seemed to be clearly defined. We are left with the “we may never truly know the reason,” excuse. That was frustrating for me.
I was impressed with how she wove faith into the story. It isn’t a major part of it, but she highlights what is there very well. The main spiritual theme is forgiveness, focusing on forgiving others. This quote sums it up rather well, I think, “My father always told me that forgiveness is a choice. A conscious decision to let go.” Emily Hunt, page 279
Mason and Emily struggle with this through out the book. Mason must forgive someone from his past and Emily has to let go of the betrayal she feels. Forgiveness is never an easy topic to broach and while Ms. Harris does a great job of it, it did get a bit overwhelming for a couple pages at the end. I know she was trying to tie up the story and bring it to a close, but it felt both condensed and strangely long at the same time. She piled a lot into a few pages, then drug the last chapter out.
I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys fast paced suspense!
I received this book through The Book Club Network for my honest opinion, which I have given. I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A suspenseful thriller that keeps your blood pumping with a true adrenaline rush and keeps you on the edge of your seat. It is a non stop action story with twists and turns, suspense, some romance, sorrow, hope, faith, school shootings, the drug cartel, and kidnappings. WOW! Did not want to put this book down. One of the best I have read. Lisa Harris is a talented writer. The characters are well written and strong. I loved Emily and Mason, their relationship and how they handled the situations involved in the story.
Emily Hunt comes from a family of cops but does not want to follow tradition or even date a cop. She decides to become a teacher, to live a quiet life and to make a difference in the lives of her students. Her world is turned upside down when one of her students Rafael Cerda comes to class with a gun and takes her and the students hostage and demands a ransom for their release.
Rafael's younger brother has been kidnapped by the drug cartel and he is desperately trying to rescue him.
Mason Taylor is an undercover cop trying to bring down the drug cartel and get drugs off the streets that are ruining the lives of kids. He has been mentoring Rafael to try and keep him out of the drug world. Mason arrives at the school, is in contact with Rafael and tries to defuse the situation. When he enters the classroom, he and Emily both try to talk Rafael down.
I highly recommend you read this book and find out what happens to Rafael, his brother, mother, the the people behind the kidnappings, Mason and Emily. When you think everything has been resolved their is another kidnapping and some surprises as to the ending.
I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fatal Exchange" is the second book in the Southern Crimes Series. It is a quick easy read that is filled with mystery and adventure. Lisa Harris has written another winner!
Although "Fatal Exchange" is part of a series it stands alone well. In the beginning you might be a bit confused about a character or two, but their roles are quickly explained. Lisa Harris' book contains suspense, mystery and clean romance. The book deals with a school shooting, drugs and kidnapping. It also deals with issues like forgiveness, the stress that our law enforcement officers have to deal with, as well as the stresses of being a teacher in today's world.
I enjoyed "Fatal Exchange" and plan to read more by her. I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lisa Harris's Fatal Exchange

Date:June 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Lebanon, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like a fast paced, action packed, suspenseful mystery with a twist of romance, this book is for you. Although it is the second book in the author’s series , it can be read as a stand alone.
Just when you think the book has ended, you get a totally
surprising finale !! So grab a copy of this exciting adventure.
The characters are well developed individuals. You will find how the good and bad in each character intertwines to make them interesting. There are issues face everyday in real life:
kidnapping, drug trafficking, easy of getting hold of illegal guns, deceit, gullibility, fatherless home, trust, fear, romance, silent prays and a real faith in God tactfully mixed into the story.
Emily Hunt comes from a family of generational cops. But Emily decided to become a teacher to try and make differences in children’s lives by educating them. Little would she ever expectto have one of her students enter her classroom with a gun to hold the classroom as hostages.
Mason Taylor was a friend of her deceased brother. He is a cop in her sister’s precinct. He is under suspicion in her brothers death. One of the kids Mason mentors turns out to be the student holding the gun in Emily’s classroom to get money to get back his kidnapped brother from the drug cartel.
How will the situation be resolved? Is the kidnapping
of the brother the real reason behind the hostage taking?
How did the student obtain the illegal gun? How is the drug
cartel involved? Who can be trusted since the gun was once
in police custody? So many questions to be answered makes the story a fast paced, action adventure you won’t want to miss.
I received this book from book fun.org. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don’t you just LOVE finding a new author? Lisa Harris, while maybe not a NEW author, is definitely a new one to me. With over 25 published books to her credit, counting anthologies and her own novels, this is going to be fun picking out my next title by her. “Fatal Exchange” is book 2 in the Southern Crimes series, with book 1 being “Dangerous Passage”. I would strongly suggest you read the books in order so that you are aware of how the characters are connected.
Mason Taylor, an undercover policeman, has been working diligently to keep his streets safe as well as providing needed mentoring to Rafael to keep him from going down the same path that so many in the neighborhood end up. Emily Hunt loves her nice, safe life as a teacher. She’ll gladly leave the adrenaline-filled life to that of her family members. And when it comes to dating, she makes sure that is simple and organized too. Yes, the simple life may not be for everyone, but it certainly is for Emily. All of that changes when they are thrust together due to a hostage situation. Rafael’s brother has been kidnapped and he’s reached out to Mason for help. Before Mason can help, though, Rafael shows up at his classroom, Emily’s room, with a gun demanding 2 million dollars in cash. As the situation goes from bad to worse, Mason and Emily have to work together to diffuse this explosive situation. Afterward, just when they think it’s all over, there’s another kidnapping. This time, though, it’s personal. They’ve grabbed Emily’s niece and the time is running out. What happened to Rafael? Is Emily the next target? Can Mason keep all of them safe? Don’t wait for the bell to ring, go BUY THIS BOOK!!!
As a man, a little romance is more than enough sometimes. Ms. Harris is labeled as Romantic Suspense, a title that doesn’t scare me off at first glance. Not having read her other books yet, I would put this book more in the Suspense rather than Romantic Suspense, but who am I to quibble. Ms. Harris provides you with plenty of depth to her characters, showing you flaws and concerns as the story progresses. She gives you enough of the backstory at you go through the book that you never seem overwhelmed with trying to remember all of the story at once. The plot line is believable with enough of a twist every so often to keep you reading well into the night. The story is wrapped up tightly all the while leaving you with hopes of a new book in the series.
Is this a "guy's book"? Putting aside any remnants of romance, this book would definitely be the kind of book that any guy needs to read. Kidnapping, hostages, gun battles and more, this story has all of the makings of a perfect book for any guy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended for romantic suspense fans.

Date:July 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mason Taylor has had a bad start to his day. His estranged father is dying, but he’s had a desperate phone call from Rafael Cerda, a teen he counsels from the wrong side of the tracks. Rafael’s younger brother has been kidnapped by drug lords, who are asking for a ransom of $250,000, money he can’t possibly find. And things get worse …
Emily Hunt is Rafael’s history teacher at the prestigious Dogwood Academy, where he is a scholarship student, but now she and her niece, Tess, are his hostages. Meanwhile, Mason works with Emily’s sister—Tess’s mother—to negotiate with Rafael before anyone gets hurt. But who is behind the kidnapping?
Fatal Exchange is fast-paced romantic suspense. Most of the action takes place over the course of a single day, and there are no end to the twists and turns as Mason and Emily work to resolve the situation from their different positions. The plot was excellent, and kept me reading.
Along with plenty of suspense, there is a sizzling romantic undertone between a couple who have known each other for years but have never dated because of Emily’s aversion to dating a cop—and because Mason didn’t share her faith. I thought the way their relationship was handled was excellent. And the teaser at the end … I’ll be waiting for the next book with bated breath.
Lisa Harris won the 2014 Christy Award for Romantic Suspense for Dangerous Passage, the first book in the Southern Crimes series, and Fatal Exchange is a fast-paced follow-up that is every bit as good, but can easily be read as a stand-alone novel.
Thanks to Lisa Harris for the ebook, which I won in a contest hosted by SoulInspirationz.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A plot ripped from the news headlines

Date:May 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The plot for Fatal Exchange is similar to current news headlines, which makes it all the more chilling and frighteningly feasible. A hostage situation in a school is not where any of us would like to find ourselves. I thought the author tacked this tough situation well. This story is compelling and interesting, with a few well placed twists you won't see coming.
Unfortunately, the thing that detracts from this being a fantastic book and takes it down to somewhere between interesting and pretty good is that much of the romance is pretty cheesy. Also, because of this, the ending is somewhat underwhelming. I still enjoyed the book because of the engaging storyline. It's still worth a read, just be prepared for an eye roll here and there.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fatal Exchange

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast paced, suspense filled, page turning mystery that's just a few of the phrases that come to mind after reading Fatal Exchange. Along with a fast paced plot the characters were very well fleshed, and came off as very realistic, and for me that allowed me to connect with this story, becoming invested not only in the mystery but in the lives of the characters as well. The romance was a bit light but it make the story seem more authentic, really it was the perfect blending! Honestly that is what made this a great read for me, the author knew how to create a scene without diverging to much information as to overwhelm, for example there were murders mentioned but they weren't graphic, which is something I always appreciate.
Fatal Exchange by Lisa Harris is the second book in the Southern Crimes series and truthfully while the author does provide enough information for this to be a stand alone read, I would say that anyone who enjoys a suspense filled romance with more than a few twists will want to read the first book as well. Murder, suspense and a twisting plot that provides a few punches that aren't anticipated is what readers are going to find with Fatal Exchange.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian thriller

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Christian suspense thriller that starts off with an adrenaline rush and keeps the momentum going until the end of the story. The first half of the book puts the reader into the middle of an intense hostage crisis involving a gun-wielding teenager holding his teacher and fellow students until a ransom is paid and his younger brother is released by the drug cartel holding him captive.
When that situation is resolved, for better or worse, it seems that the rest of the book will take the reader through the aftermath of said events as those involved try to sort out motives and culpability and deal with their emotional trauma. It is impossible not to relate to Emily’s feelings as she says: “Why was everyone asking her if she was okay? She wasn’t okay. She wasn’t sure she would ever be okay again. Or at least she would never look at things the same.” And “ She shook her head wondering how long it took to shake the fear that had surrounded her the past few hours. How long would it take to forgive herself for not saving (everyone)? How long would her heart hurt because things had ended this way?”
Unfortunately, however, the crisis is not over; the nightmare continues with new victims. Everything Emily, and the reader, thought was true is turned upside down as the action goes racing off in the new direction in the second half of the book. I don’t want to spoil the story with more information, but suffice to say, the roller coaster ride continues.
The reader is introduced to the Hunt family in the first book in the Southern Crimes series, DANGEROUS PASSAGE, but this second book is well able to stand alone. While the first book emphasized the story of Avery, a homicide detective, this book is gives her sister, Emily, the starring role. Emily is the teacher in the classroom, and the gunman is a student she mentored. Her niece, Avery’s daughter, Tess, is one of the hostages. Mason, the undercover cop hero is the same man that Avery blames for the death of their brother, Michael. All of these characters are likeable, true-to-life people who are motivated by desire to do good in the world and a sense of intense responsibility for making bad things right. They draw strength from their faith, and their prayers for guidance and help flow naturally as integral components of their lives.
I received the book in a Goodreads giveaway, but the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

COURAGE!

Date:May 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Reading Rover
Location:Midwest
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FATAL EXCHANGE
By
Lisa Harris
Emily is from a family where every member is in, or connected to Law Enforcement, and she is so not up to the challenge.
A High School Teacher, and glad to be so far from the Law Enforcement part of life and living, especially after a broken engagement and her Brother’s murder, both in Law Enforcement.
But doesn’t everything she’s trying to cringe away from come knocking on her classroom door when she becomes involved in a Hostage Situation locked down in her classroom with an old flame, as the on site negotiator?
Wait-it gets worse, after they think the situation is resolved, her Niece is abducted, the Safe House she is sent to is compromised, the Cartel finds her…!
Does the terrible, horrible, gross day never end? Does it end well, or at least as well as it can? Who gets out of the Hospital, gets involved in the Niece Hunt, who’s recovered alive, and who was behind it all anyway?
Those old boyfriends can be a problem…especially when they think you are still in love with them. Yes, it can get more traumatizing, it’s the moment that you wish you could forget about, but there is a surprising end, very surprising end to the story, and a sequel!
You know, this is not my genre-but the writing style will draw you in. If you stop reading or skip parts as being really stressful, you’ll still enjoy the rest of the book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fatal Exchange

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fatal Exchange is a great piece of romantic suspenseful fiction. I thought it was a great book. It is full of mystery, suspense, and action. I was constantly turning the pages to see what will happen next. I loved reading about Emily and Mason. They were fabulous and strong characters.
I recommend this book.
4 1/2 stars.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest review which was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holy Smokes!!! This is one of those books that will take you on a WILD RIDE!! The pages can't be turned quick enough and sleep is not happening because you just can't get your head out of this book!!!
Even though this is the 2nd book in the series, it can be read and understood just fine!
I LOVE the suspense with a touch of romance! I am definitely a new fan of Lisa Harris!
Thank you Revell for allowing me this book in exchange for my honest review!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fatal Exchange, Southern Crimes Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A thrilling, captivating mystery!
What a roller coaster ride! Once you start reading Fatal Exchange the pace picks up and never slows. I loved that. There's nothing quite like curling up on a rainy day with an awesome mystery book and Fatal Exchange fit the bill. I was completely enthralled into the story and was lost in its pages for a couple hours, hardly able to set the book down.
I did not read the previous book in this series, nonetheless, I didn't feel like I was missing anything. It can definitely be read as a stand-alone. I will say, after I tore through Fatal Exchange, I'll be going back to find Dangerous Passage for certain. Harris writes in a fluid style that leaves you turning pages.
I really, really, liked Emily and Mason. I felt I could relate to certain aspects of their character. They felt so real! I was so thankful for how accurately Emily's emotions were portrayed after everything she went through. I cringe when I read about characters who breeze through life having unrealistic reactions to traumatic events. I also felt Mason's internal struggles were justifiable. I found myself thankful again that his growing relationship with Christ wasn't stilted or forced, rather the opposite. I appreciate Godly characters so much.
The "mystery" and thrill in and of itself was fantastic and different for me, personally. I will definitely be looking up more of Harris's works and digging into Dangerous Passage when I have time. Why, oh, why must we wait until Spring '15 for the next book?? I highly recommend to fellow readers of mystery/thrillers. There really wasn't much romance in the story, but if there had been more than there was, it wouldn't have flowed. I recommend to readers fifteen or older due to the nature of the story. Things to know: There are at least ten murders either mentioned or presented in the story, though not given in grotesque detail. There is a drug cartel.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.