Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1

Revell The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1

It is 1704 when Genevieve Gaillain and her sister board a French ship headed for the Louisiana colony as mail-order brides. Both have promised to marry one of the rough-and-tumble Canadian men in this New World in order to escape religious persecution in the Old World. Genevieve knows life won't be easy, but at least here she can establish a home and family without fear of beheading. But when she falls in love with Tristan Lanier, an expatriate cartographer whose courageous stand for fair treatment of native peoples has made him decidedly unpopular in the young colony, Genevieve realizes that even in this land of liberty one is not guaranteed peace. And a secret she harbors could mean the undoing of the colony itself.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
40 out of 40100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Review 1 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pelican Bride is a tremendous book. It is a historical romance set in the early 1700's, when women crossed over from France to become brides of men at Fort Louis in the south. It is an enjoyable book with alot of history immersed throughout the book. It is a hard book to put down. There is alot of romance, suspense, secrets being kept, and adjustments to the new environment needing to be made. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
I recieved this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Thereadmaster
Location:Davenport,Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a beautifully written book. This was a time period that I don't read too many books about. This was the first time that I had ever heard of the Pelican brides. It was so nice to read a romance that was set in a different time period and place. I received this book from bookfun.org for a fair and honest opinion. I can't wait for her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Pelican Bride

Date:June 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
I have to admit, I was drawn to this book by it's cover! Inside the cover you will find a love story during a period of history not often found in Christian fiction. I enjoyed following Genevieve Gaillain's story, from her first reactions to the Louisiana colony, to her struggles adapting to life in her new surroundings, and her relationship with the reclusive Tristan Lanier. The is a story anyone with a love of history would enjoy.
I received a copy of this book from TheBookClubNetwork in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An adventure into the birth of the Deep South

Date:June 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story of the founding of the Deep South – when it was still being fought over between the Natives, the French, and the British. It begins with the drama of traveling to the “new world” onboard a ship without any amenities – not our average “cruise ship” image! The group of women, known as the “Pelican brides” arrive at a place that is far from the image they imagined or were promised, and here the story takes off. It is full of drama, romance, and historical details that make you wonder how anyone survived such hard living. I fell in love with these women and couldn’t stop reading until I learned how they each settled in to their new lives. The male characters are just as intriguing, although some are hard to like! I recommend this book to anyone that loves history. Although it is a romance, there is plenty of drama to keep anyone interested in the outcome of this brand new community in a world full of unrest and political instability. There are many lessons to learn as the characters struggle with their faith when circumstances want to push them away. The author paints a vivid picture of the environment and characters so you can capture the colors and smells prevalent in that atmosphere. I can’t wait for the next installment in the Gulf Coast Chronicles.
I received this book from Bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

rich in history and dotted with sweet romance

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beth White knows how to immerse you into the hard facts and real life or starting out in the new world. She doesn’t sugar coat the trials and realities of fort life and surrounding native people. The history in this story really grabbed my attention and I appreciated the “note to the reader” in the back with the details of what was real and what she put into the story. A ship full of women coming to a new settlement/fort to become wives of the soldiers there. Not an ideal way to get to meet men! Beth writes the awkward but sweet romance between Genevieve and Tristan very well. They struggle with growing dangers and even enemies within their own ranks. All the while Genevieve hides a secret and Tristan hides a deep loss. This is a very historically rich and intriguing story dotted with sweet romance throughout.
I received this book from bookfun.org for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beth White's The Pelican Bride

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Lebanon, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book everyone will want to put on their list to read.
The history behind the story was well researched. It was
enlightening to see how people treated each other and lived
in the settling of early Louisiana.
The beginning of the saga set in 1704 tells of the girls who
crossed the sea to become brides in the Louisiana settlement
aboard the ship named “ The Pelican “.
Upon arriving living conditions are far worse than one could
possibly imagine, so the Pelican brides must adjust their lives
drastically to survive.
The author gets inside the heads of her characters to present
Them to the reader so you understand the inner feeling of both the good and bad elements.
The author addressed many social issues : living with deceit,
betrayals, viciousness, greed, hatred, poverty, improper use of power, murder, religious persecution, abandonment,
dysfunctional family life, rejection, demoralized citizens full
of fear , loss and grieving, chaos, romance, faith issues,
friendship, trust, forgiveness and love .
The author introduces many colorful characters throughout
the tale. She is able to weave the past and present together
without difficulty.
This book is an intriguing, complex, suspenseful tale which
is fast paced and full of action.
It is combines the action with historical fiction plus some
romance added for a sensational read!!!!
Beth White ends the book with information on the history of
how her characters were created. Books on this era are also
recommended.
This is my first Beth White book that I have read but will
not be the last.
I received this book from book fun.org. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting, enjoyable read

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an interesting period of history for a novel. The Gulf Coast Chronicles promised history and it promised that of a region I am unfamiliar with historically or currently. I am a bit of a history buff yet did not know much about the area's history. I knew that a group of French Canadians emigrated to the Gulf Coast to escape persecution in Canada. It is also presumptive to assume that English and Spanish were contenders for the territory. And of course, there were the Native Americans – Indians – that were already in the area. It was a rough area just as the author depicted and the young ladies aboard the Pelican (boat they traveled on to arrive as “Pelican Brides”) did not expect it to be so rough.
The ladies soon found out that they as women were much wanted and desired by the rough, dirty, lonely men in this frontier. But even though they signed on to marry, they could have their choice of husbands. It was not quite this simple, though, as there was political unrest, dishonesty, and manipulation of the Indian tribes to suit the political and dishonest goals of the manipulators.
The characters are well developed and interesting. Genevieve Gaillain, a French Protestant and fugitive, is the lead female character who traveled with her sister as Pelican Brides. The main male lead, Tristan Lanier, is a strong interesting man. The supporting cast of men and women are woven into the story with ease creating a community of people that tend to make the reader think this is indeed a historical happening. While a novel, I found it appealing to my love of history. I especially liked the detail of the Indians and their interaction with the French and Canadian settlers. The Indian women teaching the French women how to make bread from corn which they grind themselves is interesting.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy from Revell in exchange for my review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. I received no compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Early Louisiana History

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Coral Springs, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Genevieve is running from her past and things we are not real sure of at first. She feels she has no choice but to become a "Pelican bride" She is strong and has ideas of her own. She not only would like to marry for a least a chance of love but feels she must also protect her sister who has also come to this new world as a pelican bride. Can she keep from having feelings for the "confirmed bachelor" and hold her faith and past a secret? Will she be the undoing of all the hard work going on at the time or does she help keep it all together?
Tristan feels he can never love another after the death of his first wife, yet he just can't keep Genevieve out of his mind and path. She seams to always need his help in getting out of trouble. Can he find love again? What secrets is she hiding and can there ever be complete trust and love between them?
I found this book a little hard to follow at times, there are a lot of different names to keep up with. This is a time period we usually do not read about, yet I found it interesting. I enjoyed this book, even though I did have trouble keeping people apart at times. I was given this book for my honest opinion from bookfun.org (The book club network).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting book

Date:May 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a great romance novel with lots and lots of history about Mobile, Alabama! Since I am not from that area I had no idea about some of the multiple difficulties the early settlers had in that area – warfare between the French, Spanish and English and the various native tribes and then the natural difficulties such as disease, insects and different weather conditions than they were used to. All of these things the author brings up, entwined in a love story with spies and death and threats of war. Good book! I received this book from TBCN in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful tale amidst a great historical setting

Date:May 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Pelican Bride by Beth White is about two sisters that board the Pelican in France to take them to a strange distant colony named Louisiana. Both have promised to marry one of the men in this new land to escape the old. Genevieve knows it won't be easy, but compared to what she faced in France surely it must be better. Surely here she can be free from the religious persecution she has endured, and she can take care of the needs of her young sister. Amazingly, she does not just need to marry...she has fallen in love. So many secrets are hidden, what will happen to her and the colony when they all are secrets no more?
This book gets four stars from me because of the amazing history that is presented here. This is a rare time in history to pick for a book, but even more than that it is a rare place in the early 1700's. The sisters characters are well written and I fell in love with Genevieve. However, a few incidents that occur seem totally out of character making one wonder if she can really be known, and putting a deeper knowledge into her character. Her younger sister is naive and annoying, but that is her job in this book. One sees her change and mature, however.
I did find myself skimming a few times through the book where the plot seems to drag a little. However, for those who love historical fiction, that can so easily be overlooked as one can enjoy the well written story as well as the many historical facts and details that are contained in this read. If you love history, I highly recommend this book. I love that the author chose a unique time and place for the setting , it is that which makes me give this book no less than four stars. It is a great and wonderful love story with danger and intrigue, but to read a book AND learn so much is a wonderful treat for fans of history like me. I find myself eagerly awaiting a sequel!
I was given this book by The Book Club Network for my honest opinion which I have given.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoy! Enjoy! Enjoy!

Date:May 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful story! I reserve the full 5 stars for only those books which "stay in your memorybank". This is one of those books! I loved it! I enjoy books that focus on some period of history, and this book did, exactly that. It caused me to think a lot about the relations that man and indian were forced to face, as each sought to live on the same land. Human nature, being what it is, we see that there is good and bad in all people, and feelings against the bad, do not preclude you from falling in love with the good. Depictions of the events were not far-fetched, but, intriguing, which lead to reading this book faster than most. I sometimes, have trouble keeping up with all the different characters of some stories, but, this book, allowed me to learn the characters' personalities before introducing me to complicated storylines. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it.
I received this book from the author through bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great historical fictional read

Date:May 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Beth White and I really enjoyed the story. It is based on real historical facts and well written fictional characters. I love historical fiction and this one did not disappoint me. Religious persecution, suspense, danger, greed, secrets, betrayal, some humor, conflicts and friendships with the Native Americans, romance and love are all woven into this adventure that keeps you on the edge of your seat with twists and turns that bring you to a great ending. Can't wait to read the next book in this series.
In 1704 Genevieve Gaillain, a French Protestant and fugitive, flees France with her sister Aimee. They cross the ocean on the frigate Pelican headed for Mobile Bay and on to the Louisiana Colony at Ft. Louis. Hoping for a new start in the New World they have agreed along with the other French women who have traveled there with them, to marry the Canadian men who have settled in the colony. They meet Tristan Lanier and his brother Marc-Antoine as soon as they exit the Pelican. Tristan who is still struggling with grief and anger does not want to get married but he and Genevieve are drawn to each other. Marc-Antoine is a soldier. Aimee is a immature and spoiled girl. I enjoyed reading how Tristan and Genevieve's relationship grew, how Aimee changed and the road Marc-Antoine's life took and who the bad guy was. So much to read about in this story.
I recommend this book.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Pelican Bride

Date:May 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Pelican Bride is a good historical piece of fiction. I loved reading about unknown to me history of the French colonies in the Gulf Coast. I found it to be a fascinating and intriguing read. It was quite refreshing with a new location, era, and storyline than I am used to. I did find it hard to read at times with so many events going on at once and giving me moments of confusion of what was going on. But it does come together towards the end.
I give this book 4 stars.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest review which was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mail Order Brides, Louisiana, Danger & Romance

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth White in her new book, “The Pelican Bride” Book One in the Gulf Coast Chronicles series published by Revell introduces us to Geneviève Gaillain.
From the Back Cover: She’s come to the New World to escape a perilous past. But has it followed her to these far shores?
It is 1704 when Frenchwoman Geneviève Gaillain and her sister board the frigate Pélican bound for the distant Louisiana colony. Both have promised to marry one of the rough men toiling in this strange new world in order to escape suffering in the old. Geneviève knows life won’t be easy, but at least here she can establish a home and family without fear of persecution for her outlawed religious beliefs.
When she falls in love with Tristan Lanier, an expatriate cartographer-turned-farmer whose checkered past is shrouded in mystery, Geneviève realizes that even in this land of liberty one is not guaranteed peace. Trouble is brewing outside the fort between the French colonists and the native people surrounding them. And an even more sinister enemy may lurk within. Could the secret Geneviève harbors mean the undoing of the colony itself?
Gulf Coast native Beth White brings vividly to life the hot, sultry South in this luscious, layered tale.
I cannot imagine not only giving up my country for my religious beliefs but to come to The Louisiana Territory as a mail order bride to marry a complete stranger? King Louis wanted to rid France of the Huguenots and Geneviève barely escapes with her life and her sister. Where they wind up is a far cry from the land they left behind them. Ms. White has written a wonderful story full of interesting characters that we come to know and love as we read through the book. Intrigue, mystery, danger, double crosses, murder and kidnapping are all ingredients in this page turning adventure. Ms. White does a great job of making us feel that we are there and living the events rather than just reading about them. I am so glad that I found Ms. White and am really looking forward to the next book in this exciting series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspirational historical romance

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
BillieKay
Location:Falmouth, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading The Pelican Bride by Beth White, an inspirational historical romance set in 1704 in the French colony on Mobile Bay. I really enjoyed reading about Genevieve and Tristan and all the people they interact with. I had never read a novel with this setting so I learned quite a bit about the area, time and peoples. The Pelican was the ship that brought a group of young French women to the New World to marry men who had already settled there. The characters are well developed and the plot includes a bit of intrigue. By the middle of the book I could not put it down until I finished. This is volume one of the Gulf Coast Chronicles and I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series. I received this book from the publisher, Revell, by way of The Book Club Network (bookfun.org) in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Historical Novel!

Date:May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The minute I read the blurb on the back of this book, I knew it sounded like it was right up my alley. Sure, I love a good suspense novel, but I also like historical novels as well. So long as they aren't dry and you feel like you are reading a textbook:) I had no need to worry with this one! Excellent book about a group of people I didn't even know existed.
The book opens with two women disembarking off a ship. These are the Pelican Brides. There is a whole boatload of them and they have come overseas as brides for the men in the Louisiana colony. I have to admit, I had never heard of these women before. By the time I was done, I knew a lot about them. My favorite was Genevieve, the oldest Gaillian sister. I felt a connection with her and the troubles she had watching over her younger sister Aimee. In fact, a couple times I wanted to shake Aimee as she is somewhat shallow and oblivious to what is going on around her. I think she came through in the end though.
I immediately fell in love with Tristan. He is the oldest Lanier brother, very mature and kind. A man with mixed emotions and many battles to wage. His younger brother very much reminded me of Aimee but we see as they both mature and grow.
The historical detail is shown to a great extent and I really liked that. The turmoil and political factions were quite intriguing. Overall an excellent book that I will be picking up again. Way to go Beth!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Unique Slice of American History

Date:May 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
KGD history teacher
Location:Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a history teacher and aficionado of American History, in particular, I looked forward to reading The Pelican Bride. It covered a location and time period about which I had never read in Christian Historical Fiction. I was NOT disappointed!!!
By reading the author’s notes, we learned that this book was based on a true voyage of The Pelican to bring a group of mostly convent raised young ladies to the French Louisiana colony as brides for the king’s soldiers and settlers. They lived on the edge of civilization in very close proximity to several Native American villages.
This story concerns Genevieve Gaillan, an outlawed French Protestant, who was escaping a murder charge and her naïve sister Amee. They look to the colony as an escape from their problems in France. Genevieve quickly finds love with Tristan Lanier, an outcast of the colony. Both of them become embroiled in charges of treason, a hunt for the real traitor, an unexpected inheritance, a selfish little sister who betrays confidences, a hurricane, and troubles with the Native People.
Many of the characters were based on actual historic figures from the time period. I found the research to be very accurate and interesting. I think any fan of historical fiction who enjoys some romance and adventure thrown in, would really enjoy this as is a vast departure from events usually covered in the majority of historical fiction titles.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great book, once the action started happening. The story line was familiar; it is very similar to the historical mail order bride stories. Each girl has a different story, and I'm glad the author did not try to write about all of their stories in one book! The historical time period is one that is quite new to me. I haven't read many, if any, books from the 1700s during the very beginning of American settlement. The author provided great historical detail, without going overboard. Because it was the first book in the series, I believe it took a lot longer to get into because the author had to set the background.
The author chose to jump between several different points of view: Genevieve Gaillain, Aimee Gaillain, Tristan Lanier, Nika, and Julian Dufresne. Because of this, I feel like I didn't get a good sense of the story until over half way through. You have to really pay attention to what you're reading to follow along well. However, the main characters of Genevieve and Tristan were very well written.
Overall, this is a story about love, faith, and bravery in a strange new world. I recommend it to any history buff who also loves fiction, as the author did a great job of blending the facts with the story. Also, I recommend reading the note to the reader at the end. The author provides a great amount of detail as to where her idea for the story came from, plus a whole lot more historical information.
**Thank you Revell Reads, for providing this book for free in exchange for my honest review as part of your blogging program.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Location:ATOKA, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a lot of historical fiction, and I have not yet read a story in the 1600s set in Louisiana and that location in general attracted me as well as broadening my experience through the ages. I’m not familiar with Beth White, and I believed that this is her debut book in the historical markets that I roam around in filling my imagination with stories; however, I have since discovered that she does in fact have some Love Inspired Historicals as well as many contemporary novels published as Elizabeth White. After this novel, I definitely will be looking for the rest of the Gulf Coast Chronicles series as well as other stories to come from Beth White in the future. (According to Goodreads, there is more than one author by this name, so be aware of which one you’re looking for.)
The first thing, this book, The Pelican Bride has going for it is cover beauty. The model chosen for the bride image has breathtaking eyes and the dress is so detailed with accessories that imagining it staying crisp and clean in the watery-muddy setting of the Louisiane is fascinating on it’s own. While not a fast paced story, this is an intriguing and entertaining story that can make a reader really think about their opinions on the matters that our dear Genevieve Gallian faces as well as our hero Tristan Lanier. Like most books these days I have an opinion of how I want to have things end up for our characters, but so many things in this plot kept me interested and in full desire to turn the pages on-going. For a bit I was curious about the Alabaman Indian wife Niki and her tough situation wondering how she would fit in to the rest of the characters’ world… yet I kept trekking in the novel and enjoyed it as I did so. This is a lovely story on the cover and the page.
I received this product free for the purpose of reviewing it. I received no other compensation for this review. The opinions expressed in this review are my personal, honest opinions. Your experience may vary. Please read my full disclosure policy for more details.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Pelican Bride, Gulf Coast Chronicles Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond Fascinating!!!

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Maney
Location:Gastonia, North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Never judge a book by its cover", because sometimes the books is even better than the beautiful cover suggests. Such was the case with "The Pelican Bride"; a stunning cover encapsulated an extraordinary story.
Genevieve Gaillain and Tristan Lanier meet almost immediately in the French territory of Louisiana County when she arrives from France on a ship, whose female cargo is destined to marry French soldiers and settlers in the brink-of-civilization Fort Louis. Geneviere and her sister Aimee, although both quite beautiful, harbor ugly secrets; the revelation of which could cost them and anyone associated with them; their very lives.
Tristan Lanier and his brother Marc-Antoine have a strong familial dedication, even though Tristan is no long under the command of the French Captain Bienville. Trouble brews all around them; the British navy skulks their shores, the Spanish bribe warehouse officials out of critical supplies, and relationship with local Indian tribes are fragile and fractured. In addition, religious freedom does not really exist in a French colony smothered in Catholicism.
Following Tristan and Genevieve's hasty, but sincere marriage; Tristan and a peace-making delegation are sent north to smooth out Indian-French relations. However, there are dark forces at work; Tristan's heritage is at stake; long-standing grudges exact revenge, and betrayals run rampant through-out the colony.
This is beyond a fascinating story; it's a brilliant re-enactment of our history within the bounds of fiction and I loved every page!
*** Thanks to Revell Publishing! I won a copy of this book and am more than happy to encourage others to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>