Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lukas Media LLC Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD

Lukas Media LLC Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD

No longer the reckless schoolgirl Gilbert called "Carrots," Anne is now a married woman---facing very adult challenges. After Marilla's death, Anne and Gilbert decide to begin a new life in New York City, and from there are drawn into the war in Europe. Will they ever again see the red earth of Prince Edward Island? Digitally mastered. Approx. 185 minutes.

Special Features:
  • Director's commentary
  • Missing scenes
  • Cast biographies
  • Français
  • Special Effects
  • Historical Commentary
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Review 1 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Movie

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Owosso, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I disagree with the poor reviews of this movie. However, I'm not reviewing the movie within the context of the books since I've never read them. Anne's character is COMPLETELY different though. Not bad, just different. She's more mature and has outgrown her childishness and stubborness. It is more adult than the first two. My son particularly likes this one because of the war theme. Maybe not true to the books but still a good movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenifer Fletcher
This movie and series was so wonderful that my family and I watch it again and again. My only complaint is that they have not continued. I loved Megan Follows as Anne and her true love Gilbert. I have grown up with them and have dearly loved the adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara
I am glad I saw this on TV before I bought it. I know that the screeen writers were trying to give the idea of the darkness of war but almost everything including Anne's outlook turns dark. Diana's life seems sour until the very end when things brighten a bit. Then Anne meets up with Diana's husband in England and you get the idea that he wants her to give up on Gilbert and return to Canada with him and an abandoned child she is taking care of, as a family. Ugh. Then there's another male character, Jack, that gives her the same offer later and she seems to have underlying feelings for him even though Gilbert is back in her life and she says no to Jack's offer. Ugh. Anne, wearing a nun's habit starts flasking whiskey from an acquaintance on a train. I know war is ugly but I was hoping that Anne would turn out to be a bright spot in the ugliness like she was in the other movies. The movie definitely does not follow in the same suit as the previous ones and that was disappointing to me. The only bright spot was that it did seem to end well. I don't mind the change in the story but I wish Anne's character and virtue had been kept consistent in this one. I think I could have written a better screenplay for this myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Grace
I'm sorry, but I really didn't like this movie. It, as other people have said, wasn't true to the books, but in addition it was really depressing because people die. And seeing the actors so much older was depressing too, don't ask me why. But I'm glad for the people who like it, just kinda bummed me out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2008
I have all 3 DVDs in the series and love them all. I am surprised by some of the critical reviews. When have movies ever been true to the book? I find the whole series good clean entertainment. I wish there was a fourth one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pamela Newsom
What an amazing way to see Anne Shrily grown up and finally married to Gilbert Blythe. The events of World War One, fighting though the fears of the worst for and finding Gilbert.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jeanna Casey
Rose gave an excellent review. She wrote pretty much everything I was going to. Being an Anne of Green Gables fan, this movie was a major disappointment. If it was just another movie with some other characters perhaps it could stand on it's own. As part of the Anne of Green Gables series though, it is a complete waste. Didn't they know when they made the movie that there were 8 books? Why did they bother making up their own story that is completely out of the correct time frame?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2007
I found this movie enormously disappointing. I have read the 8-book Anne of Green Gables series many, many times over and LOVE them, and the language is such that no movie can reproduce.. however, I did like the first 2 "Anne" movies because they closely followed the events of the first two books in the series. The 3rd movie was completely off! The 3rd book is about Anne going to college... she marries Gilbert in the 5th book.. and she has [her own!] children in the 6th. Although the 8th book is about WWI, it's Anne's sons that fight in it, and definitely Anne does NOT traipse all over Europe trying to search for Gilbert.. (who by the way does not become a medic!).. ????? This movie's plot was unrealistic and it was completely a calibre off from the first two... I don't recommend it.. only thing I liked was the sweet little boy and the fact that the actress playing Anne is still the same. If you liked Anne in the first two then read the books..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
K.Standish
I know this movie is not based off of the books, but even so it is my favorite of the three. Anne has a great role in this one, and I really enjoyed the suspense and intrigue, and figuring out who was who in the story. I found the scenery, & costumes to be terrific, and when ever I watch it, it makes me feel like they actually filmed it in France and England. It is a great movie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Therese
Very disappointing movie. It has nothing to do with the books. This movie is vastly different from the first two Anne movies, which were very charming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2005
Customer Avatar
Beth
The ONLY redeeming factor is seeing the actors we all loved. The story starts with Diana's failing marriage, Anne's marriage that hasn't happened (although she and Gilbert are both living in NY - separately), and then Anne's spending too much time with another man AFTER she and Gilbert FINALLY marry.I have read all 8 Anne books many times and NOTHING in this book is from ANY of them. The last book, "Rilla of Ingleside" is a charming yet realistic book set during WWI and I highly, highly recommend it over this disappointing film.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jennie
I loved this movie, granted it was not based off of any books by L.M. Montgomery, but it needed an ending. For all of those people that loved the first movies, and can take the fact that it is a movie not based off of any book, they will enjoy it. I thought it wasn't as happy as the other ones, but it was done during the War to end all wars. So that is a good reason.All in all a good story that was a good ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
Eileen
I loved the Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea but this continuing story was way too sophisticated and out of character. When I saw this segment, I was struck by the involvement of the other man in Anne's life. They should have left well enough alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.