Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1

Revell Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1

Four young women find their lives altered after each receives a letter that sets her on a path toward a changed life---and perhaps lifelong love! From a Hudson River steamboat and a lush drawing room to a carousel carver's workshop and a remote controversial hospital, this collection features historical novellas from four of your favorite storytellers. 384 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Review 1 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!!!!!

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours is written by four Christian authors(Jane Kirkpatrick, Amanda Cabot, Laurie Alice Eakes, and Ann Shorey). The book contains four novellas. The only thing linking the stories are letters the women recieve in the stories. How the women deals with what is in the letter is different in each story. But each story is filled with romance,humor and entertainment. They are also very faith based. I enjoyed all the stories and was sad when I reached the end of the book.
I recieved this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Nice Collection

Date:June 24, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours is a four story collection of novellas by authors Laurie Alice Eakes, Ann Shorey, Amanda Cabot, and Jane Kirkpatrick. Even though the stories are less than a hundred pages, each was entertaining and read like a full length novel. Each story has a central part of history where the action happens and starts off with a letter that changes each woman’s destiny. The first novella is by Laurie Alice Eakes and takes place on board a steamboat on the Erie Canal. This was a rather adventurous story of a stowaway, kidnapping, explosions, and through all that, the couple’s chance to fall in love. The second novella was Ann Shorey’s which takes place during 1858. Here our heroine is a very gifted writer in a man’s world who is innocently mistaken as a male writer due to the use of her initials. This was an entertaining read of pretend and false identities between our heroine and her piano teacher. The third novella was by Amanda Cabot and was about a gentleman carousel carver who was keeping his true identity secret and an American heiress who wanted to prove she was more useful than a decoration on her husband’s arm. The backdrop was the first type of a vacation resort. The final story by Jane Kirkpatrick had a little bit of a darker side. It was about a Sanatorium in Washington officially known as Wilderness Heights, but called Starvation Heights by the local townspeople. The clinic “doctor” would have the patients starve the illness out of them and give them her own concoction of medicines and treatments. In this novella our heroine Grace receives a letter from her dear friend’s daughter to help get her mother out of this clinic. As Grace proceeds to rescue her friend and find out information about this clinic, she meets a certain gentleman who is very mysterious and works for the clinic owners. In the notes the author gives us a brief history of this very real at one time clinic which makes this story all the more chilling. I received this book from the The Book Club Network, Inc. (TBCN) and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Romance at its Best!

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this book! I read it in a day and a half because it was so easy to read. I loved it because the stories moved so much more quickly than they would have in a full length novel. The characters and the action just moved right along to its conclusion without enduring a lengthy suspense, and they were all so interesting and entertaining. Each story was different, and yet, all held a little mystery and suspense, making its reading so inviting. Added to that was the valuable historical information that adds to a reader's knowledge of new places and events. I shall never look at a carousel the same way again!
I highly recommend this book!
I received this book through bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Four Novella Collection

Date:June 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Lebanon, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours is a delightful read. It is a collection of four
historical Christian fiction novellas. Each of the four sections
develops after the principal character in each novella receives
a letter. The letters set each young woman on a path that will
alter their lives.
The book has adventure, suspense and surprise situations. It is combined with mystery, historical descriptions, some laughable moments and romance. A smorgasbord of writing talents showing how the four young women discover how to find their way, make themselves useful and lead their lives.
The history behind the story is briefly explained at the end of each individual novella.
The novellas are as follows:
Moonlight Promise by Laurie Alice Eakes
This novella takes place on the Hudson River about 1825. Camilla Renfrew boards a merchant steamboat to ride upriver to Albany to meet the sender of a letter offering her a position. This trip will hold adventure & suspense accompanied by romance & humor.
Lessons in Love by Ann Shorey
Welcome to Chicago about 1858 to where Marigold Montgomery Bentley is living with her aunt. Although she is unmarried, she is writing marriage advice articles as Mr. M.M. Bentley. Then she receives a letter requesting Mr. M.M. to meet the editor. That’s when the adventure and shenanigans begin.
One Little Word by Amanda Cabot
Lorraine Caldwell receives a letter from her estranged brother
requesting her to visit him at Lilac Hall. The year is about 1892. When she arrives she is greeted by a man she thinks is a servant only to find out he is a carousel carver. It was neat following the building of the carousel carving and painting plus following the adventures of Lorraine as she tries to cook and wash. With God’s guidance she finds her calling and future.
A Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick
Grace Hathaway receives a letter from her God-child so she’s off to Puget Sound. The year is 1911.Grace needs to find out the status of her God-child’s mother who went to a remote clinic to recover from grief. Grace needs to rescue the mother from this clinic which is nicknamed Starvation Heights. How will she accomplish this? Who will help her? Who can she trust?
The story told is what happened in a real clinic in Washington state in the beginning of the 1900’s.
I received this book from bookfun.org. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short and Sweet

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shai
Location:Norfolk, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours was an enjoyable series of stories. I had hoped they would connect but it did not take away from the book at all. The novellas are great for anyone who would like to sample writings from each of the authors, or prefers a good shorter story. None of the authors failed to deliver in this book. Each story tells of a women who must rely on her faith in God to carry her through the predicaments she finds herself in. It’s a delightful read.
I received this book from the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4 romances, each begins with a letter & a journey

Date:May 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't often read novellas but when I saw that Jane Kirkpatrick was one of the authors in the SINCERELY YOURS collection, I wanted to see what she'd written. Jane Kirkpatrick's historical novels are always woven around a real person or event; many are centered in America's West or Northwest. While I find many novellas too simplistic, featuring one dimensional characters and limited plots, I do understand that readers seeking a quick finish to a story will find them appealing. With the less than 100 page restrictions, all four authors did well, but I give top honors to Jane Kirkpatrick who again managed to create a story based on an actual tidbit of Washington history.
Collections of novellas often have a simple link which binds the different stories together -- For example, they could all take place at Christmas or at the beach. In SINCERELY YOURS, all four novellas are set in the late 1800s or early 1900s and all begin with a letter which sends a heroine on a journey which that takes her away from all that is familiar and safe. In Moonlight Promise by Laurie Alice Eakes, Camilla is trying to catch up with an old friend who has offered her employment.Jumping aboard a steamboat on the Erie Canal seems like a sure way to make it to her destination on time, but she learns differently.
Lessons in Love by Ann Shorey is one of those light hearted stories of mistaken identity. M. M. Bentley has been writing articles for a women's magazine but when a letter arrives from the editor suggesting a face to face meeting, M. M. has problems. While not purposely trying to hide her identity, Marigold M. Bentley just never corrected the editor when he assumed her "M. M." submissions about marriage and family life were written by a male. In One Little Word by Amanda Cabot Lorraine flees an overbearing uncle demanding that she marry and fulfill her parents' will. Traveling to the inn where her brother has quietly began a new life away from the family's money and obligations, Lorraine begins to understand the remote country inn's appeal. There, despite her society upbringing and fine manners, Lorraine finds herself quickly attracted to the handsome wood carver who is creating a fancy carousel to be the inn's featured attraction. A Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick tells the story of Grace Hathaway who, when she receives a letter from the young daughter of a dear friend, drops everything and travels to a clinic nicknamed by the locals "Starvation Heights" to rescue her friend from what appear to be criminal quacks. All four stories offer risk taking heroines, dashing love interests, and glimpses into times past. Kirkpatrick's story has the added bonus of using a real medical scandal at the backdrop. That added reality makes it my favorite of the four.
I received a copy of SINCERELY YOURS from Netgalley for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pleasantly surprised!

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A novella of four stories-Sincerely Yours
Moonlight Promise by Laurie Alice Eakes is about Camilla, an English highborn lady fleeing from a man who made false accusations that she owed money. She manages to run aboard a steamboat to escape and is hopeful to find a job at journey's end. Might she find love instead?
Lessons in Love by Ann Shorey M.M. Bentley writes marriage advice for Kipler's Home Weekly, yet she is single. Her name has everyone thinking she is a man. Then she must present herself to the editor for a meeting, will she tell the truth? Or can she chance the job by doing that?
One Little World by Amanda Cabot Laurraine needs to marry quickly or her inheritance goes to a gambling cousin, but the man chosen for her is not in the least chosen in her heart. She finds her brother, and hopes her visit to him will help her solve her problems. She finds love instead, only his heart must go to another because of family honor. Is there an answer for her?
A Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick Grace must rescue a friend from a sanitarium that seems to be more bent on killing its patients than helping them. She places herself in danger to help. Is there anyone she can trust to help? Is there any way she can rescue her dear friend?
I believe this is the only multi author novella I've ever read. Short stories have never been my forte so I've always steered clear of them. I decided to branch out and give this one a try because two of these authors I really enjoy. I'm glad I did. Each of these stories is well worth the read. The characters are love able and the stories, though short, are very well written. Some of them did end to early, but that is the point of short stories.In typical novella fashion one doesn't have time to fully develop characters and their stories. I prefer not to give my opinion on which I liked best, just read it and decide for yourself. I did enjoy this read more than I expected I would. I definitely recommend novel readers give it a try!
I was given this book by The Book Club Network for my honest opinion which I have given
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good book! 3 1/2 stars

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I should probably start by saying that I don’t generally care for novellas that much, so you should keep that in mind while reading my review.
This is Revell’s (a division of Baker Publishing Group) first historical novella collection, featuring the well-loved authors Amanda Cabot, Laurie Alice Eakes, Jane Kirkpatrick, and Ann Shorey. I had only read 2 of the authors’ books, so I wasn’t sure what to anticipate. I’m sorry to say that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I had hoped. The stories, while well written, did not connect at all. The only similarity in each novella is that the heroines received letters that send them on an adventure.
Moonlight Promises by Laurie Alice Eakes
While this novella was quite good, I wanted a little more character development, and I struggled with the two main characters falling in love in such a short time. The romance was rather unbelievable at times, while being sweet at others. I had a hard time with Camilla’s character. I didn’t like her very much, which meant I didn’t connect with her like I normally do. She was lying by omission and when found out, both her and Captain Black’s reactions seemed a little unrealistic. On the positive side, the descriptions were excellent, the story was fast paced, and it held my attention.
Lessons in Love by Ann Shorey
This one I believe was my favorite. I loved Merrie and her quirks, and Colin was sweet. The romance was also believable, because the characters had known each other for some time and it wasn’t rushed or forced.
The spiritual aspect was also there, though it was a little underdeveloped, in my opinion. I did like that each of them struggled with the situation and that Merrie finally made it right in the end. The ending was a little rushed. I wished the story could have been a few pages longer, in order to make it seem more complete.
One Little Word by Amanda Cabot
Amanda Cabot did an excellent job with this story. The characters were well rounded, the descriptions vivid, and it didn’t lag anywhere. I liked Lorraine and Jonah, each character had their quirks, which just made them more believable. The romance wasn’t rushed and I liked their relationship and sparring.
My only complaint about the novella is that it was so predictable. I just wanted them to figure it out and get on with it.
Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick
If Ann Shorey’s gets the label of being my favorite, then this one gets least favorite. I didn’t care for it at all and wasn’t able to finish it. At first I just couldn’t get into it, then Grace was such a ninny! She kept changing her mind, her thoughts made little sense, and we never get to see Claude’s point of view. I honestly don’t know how he fell in love with her. She was loony and kept getting into trouble. This story actually ruined the whole book for me. I won’t be able to read any of them again, simply because I disliked this one so much.
Over all, this book was okay. I really wanted to love it, but I couldn’t. I recommend this book if you really enjoy historical books and are looking for a few quick reads.
I received this book through The Book Club Network for my honest review, which I have given. I was not require to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charming read, full of history and romance

Date:May 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Stacey Zink
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours is the first anthology from Revell Books, and they did an amazing job of pulling together four authors to write this set of stories. This is a collection of novellas with a common thread, each author uses a letter to motivate the characters in their standalone books. This book is well worth reading. I found the stories to be charming and often funny. It was entertaining and at times… educational. I came away from reading this book, feeling as if my time was well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great collection

Date:May 1, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours is a romance novella collection from four great writers-Jane Kirkpatrick, Amanda Cabot, Laurie Alice Eakes, and Ann Shorey. Within its pages you will find four love stories each instigated by a letter, which takes each heroine of a journey of a lifetime. Each reminds us that things are not always as they seem, and God ALWAYS has a plan. I especially loved the carousel horses.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sincerely Yours, A Novella Collection

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours, a Novella Collection*****
by Jane Kirkpatrick, Amanda Cabot, Laurie Alice Eakes and Ann Shorey
Sincerely Yours is a collection of four historical romances set in the 1800's, written by four different authors. Each book is a stand-alone book but have a common thread—each young woman in the stories have received a letter that takes them on a journey beyond what they had imaged.
~Moonlight Promise by Laurie Alice Eakes
Highborn English lady Camilla Renfrew receives a letter from her girlhood friend, Joanna in New York City asking Camilla to join her and her husband to travel to the Great Lakes via the newly opening Erie Canal. Camilla would be her companion in the wilderness of the Great Lakes, but she must arrive before Joanna leaves. For Camilla, this is an answer to prayer. She has been accused of a crime that she did not commit and must flee England to disappear from the one man who is determined to make her pay. She travels to America and barely misses the steamboat leaving for the Albany where she is to meet Joanna.
However, steamboat Captain Nathaniel Black is not inclined to take her aboard his ship as they do not take passengers. She convinces him to allow her to travel with him as far as Albany. Along the way trouble follows them at every turn. Despite these troubles Camilla and Nate are drawn to each other.
Camilla starts to relax but soon learns that the very man she fled England from, Frederick Conover is on her trail. She must tell Nate everything. But before she finds the courage to tell him, Nate confronts her about a man looking for her—Frederick Conover. Crying she tells him why Conover is looking for her and returns to her room. She leaves the steamboat the next morning not knowing where to go now. Before she can figure out what to do, Conover grabs her and carts her off to a shack where he informs her of his plans for her.
Will Nate find her in time to save her from this evil man? Can Camilla trust God to keep her safe, even from Conover? Will she ever see Nate again?
~Lessons In Love by Ann Shorey
Miss Marigold (Merrie) Montgomery Bentley lives in 1850's Chicago with her Aunt Isabella.
She secretly writes marriage advice for the Kipler's Home Weekly with the initials “M. M.”.
The house keeper Mrs. Wagner and coachman Mr. Peters are the only ones who know of her writings.
All is well until she receives a post from her editor, Mr. Horatio Kepler with a bank draft for her latest
article; however, she also receives a note along with the draft asking to meet with Mr. Bentley to discuss future writings for his weekly. Now what does she do? As she ponders this request Mrs. Wagner reminds her that her music instructor, Mr. Colin Thackery has been waiting for her in the parlor for her lesson. She is so disturbed by Mr. Kepler's request she is unable to concentrate on her lesson.
Colin confronts her about her unusual lack of concentration. Does she dare confide in him? Desperate, she decides to ask for his help in meeting Mr. Kepler. At first Colin is resistant to the idea, but decides to agree to her request. How can he deny her request when he is falling in love with her? The meeting does not go as planned. Mr. Kepler does not allow Merrie, who he believes is Mr. Bently's wife, to join them to discuss her future writings. She is to wait outside the room like a “good little wife”. Fuming she has no choice and pleads with Colin to remember everything Mr. Kepler tells him. Things go from bad to worse as Colin can't remember everything and Merrie falls breaking her right arm, her writing arm! Now what does she do? How can she continue to write and meet her deadlines? Will Colin continue to help her? Will Mr. Kepler find out she is not a he but a she and thereby loose her job? How can Colin not tell her of his love, despite the differences in their stations in life? Does she return his love? Do they have a life together?
~One Little Word by Amanda Cabot
After Lorraine M. Caldwell's parents death she learns that their will states she must marry by September 14th or loose her inheritance to her cousin. Everyone expects her to marry Robert Simms, now even more so. But Lorraine doesn't want to marry him. But should she marry Robert in order to keep her inheritance so her cousin does not inherit it? She doesn't have much time to decide as she only has until September 14th, then she either marries Robert or finds another suitable suitor/husband, one with a fortune of his own. Who else can she marry?
She and her Uncle Ambrose discuss it again and he reminds her that as any well to do family, she was trained to be a wife of a wealthy man, play the piano, paint watercolor, or arrange a party.....which means she can't survive on her own her.
She continues to pray for God to show her the path He has prepared for her. She unexpectedly receives a letter from her brother Mike, whom she has not seen or heard from for two years, asking her to come to Lilac Hall for his upcoming wedding. With anticipation she leaves New York by train to visit her brother. Expecting to see Mike, she eagerly looks for him at the station. However he is not there to meet the train but sent his driver, Jonah Mann. Jonah has a cultured British accent and is wearing a paint-spattered jacket and pants, not the tailored uniform her drivers wear. Jonah takes her to Lilac Hall, a magnificent Greek Revival manor, where Mike now lives/works—works?
As she waits for Mike to return from his honeymoon, she wanders Lilac Hall and tries to figure out what to do. Time is running out. She finds herself thrust into the lives at Lilac Hall and stumbles upon a carousel maker of all things. This carousel maker crafts the most beautiful horses she has ever seen. Will he let her help paint the horses? Can she and this man become more than friends? It certainly would not solve her problem of marrying a man of wealth for this man is not wealthy. Can she forgo her inheritance for love? Does he love her and would he want to marry her? Is this part of God's plan for her life?
~A Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick
Grace Hathaway receives a letter asking for her help from her 8 year old goddaughter Caroline Holmes. It appears her mother is in trouble and needs her Aunt Grace to come quickly. Included with Caroline's letter is a letter from a lawyer explaining where her mother, Rebecca is now. Rebecca Holmes has left her daughter in the care of a friend, Jenny in Dalles, Oregon, near the Columbia River and checked herself into a facility, a sanatorium in Olalla, where she is hoping to get treatment for her despondency after her husband's death.
Grace takes a leave from her employer at the Oregon's Roaring Springs Ranch and travels three days by stage to Dalles where Caroline is staying. After speaking to Caroline she learns from Jenny that Olalla is very isolated requiring ferries and boats to reach it. The sanatorium is even more remote and harder to reach. They frown on visitors and even check to make sure visitors do not bring in food. Jenny had visited Rebecca and found her to be in so emaciated and lethargic she fears for her life.
The next morning Grace left Dalles, traveling by steamship past Portland, by train to Seattle then finally by ferry to Olalla. During her travels she reads the book by the doctor treating Rebecca,
Fasting For The Cure of Disease, by Dr. Linda Burfield Hazzard. On arriving in Olalla, she is met by William who takes her by carriage to the Olalla Hotel. She learns from William that she can only reach the sanatorium by boat. William tries to discourage her from going there, “there are strange goings on there” he informs her. She also learns from William that Dr. Hazzard's husband, Sam helps at the sanatorium. Once at the hotel a tall man reaches out to help and helps with her trunk. She learns he is Dr. Claude Millikan and works at the sanatorium. He invites her to dinner and she accepts in hopes to learn all she can about Dr. Hazzard and her treatments.
Over the course of the next days Grace is more and more concerned about Rebecca and the other patients at the sanatorium. She is convinced that something is very wrong. How can she get Rebecca out of that place without the Dr. Hazzard or her husband Sam seeing her? What role does Claude play in these treatments? Is he part of this horrible place or is involved in something else? Can she trust him to help her? Does she have any choice? As she prays for direction she makes plans to get Rebecca out of there and hope she is within God's plans.
I loved the way each author created a historical romance story that brings the past to life through their characters. We see clearly the contrast between women lives of today and how the lives of women in the 1800's was so very different as well as what the expectations were for these women. Women had a hard time if they wanted to be a writer as we see in Lessons of Love. The choice of a woman's husband was often controlled by her parents leaving her little choice in the matter as in One Little Word. In Moonlight Promise we get a glimpse of what happens when a woman is forced to flee to another country when she is falsely accused. In A Saving Grace we see in the mist of heartache, how a woman can be deceived in thinking a certain “diet” promises healing and may very well endanger their very lives. Each story takes us on a journey filled with mystery, adventure, romance, surprises, suspense, humor, deceit, love and faith. I like the way each author filled in some history about the time of their story at the end of that story.
~~I won a copy of this book from Goodreads and Revell for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light enjoyable read!

Date:April 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 short novellas. Good to read, light, enjoyable, you can read them in the car. Entertaining. Certainly satisfying. I don't know, this is why I don't read books that have small stories from different authors. I feel as if they are trying to cram too much into something and few can pull it off.
The first one, it was ok. I did enjoy it, cute story, of course in the end boy gets girl. There was a little mystery there of who Camilla really was, was she who other people were saying?
Second story, the girl is supposed to be trying to catch a husband but instead she is writing. One of my favorites from this book! Very good!
Third one was good, the carousel part was excellent. The fourth was really good, in part because of course I love Jane, and who doesn't love when authors talk about your area, The Dalles being mentioned!! (We live in Goldendale!)
Overall, enjoyable.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved This Novella!

Date:April 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love every one of these authors individually. They write awesome books that I can read over and over. So when I heard about a novella featuring a short little story from each of them, I knew I had to try it! My only difficulty, they are too short! I wanted to get really involved in these stories but it was so hard having such a short space for the characters to grow and fall in love.
My favorite story out of them all was One Little Word by Amanda Cabot. I seriously fell in love with this one! Lorraine is so sweet and Jonah, don't get me started on him:) A little bit uppity in his own right but boy is he great. And quite the personality that Lorraine needed. My next favorite would have been Lessons in Love. Other than all the deception. I know that Merrie felt she needed to at first but then it just kept growing and she drags other people into it. Everything is cleared up in the end but I wish it hadn't gotten that far. Moonlight Promise was kinda rustic but I liked the whole riverboat aspect. Seeing how different they were from even the time of Mark Twain and Tom Sawyer:) Camilla is so funny when they ask her to cook and she doesn't know how to do something that simple. I almost wanted to slap Nathaniel when he doesn't believe her. And A Saving Grace is different as well. Each of these authors did a great job at fleshing out the characters in the short amount of space they had, I just wish they had been full length. It makes for a wonderful book to take on a trip when you only want a little bit of a book.
I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% mine. No other monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Four Stories Of History and Romance

Date:April 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amanda Cabot, Ann Shorey, Laurie Alice Eakes and Jane Kirkpatrick team up in their new book, “Sincerely Yours” published by Revell to bring us A Novella Collection.
From the Back Cover: Four unexpected letters. Four intrepid women. Four lives changed forever.
Spanning a century and a continent, these romantic novellas will lead you on a journey through the landscape of love. Four young women find their lives altered after each receives a letter that sets her on a new path. From a Hudson River steamboat to a lush drawing room, from a carousel carver’s workshop to a remote hospital, you’ll be swept into the lives of women who are making their way in the world and finding love where they least expect it.
Moonlight Promise by Laurie Alice Eakes
Camilla Renfrew is a highborn English lady fleeing false accusations when she runs smack into love on a steamboat bound for the new Erie Canal. But can this unexpected attraction survive the treacherous journey?
Lessons in Love by Ann Shorey
Marigold Montgomery Bentley writes marriage advice for Kipler’s Home Weekly even though she is single. Everyone assumes from the initials that “M. M.” is a man. When the editor asks to meet Mr. Bentley, can Merrie come up with a ruse to keep her writing job?
One Little Word by Amanda Cabot
Lorraine Caldwell will lose her family fortune to a reckless cousin if she doesn’t marry quickly. When she learns her long-lost brother is alive, she hopes she’s found the answer to her problems. What she finds instead is a mysterious carousel carver who turns her life upside down.
A Saving Grace by Jane Kirkpatrick
Grace Hathaway must rescue a dear friend from a remote and notorious clinic that promises healing but delivers only heartache. In a place laced with deceit, where lives hang in the balance, whom can she trust to help her?
History and romance, not just one story but four of them by four authors. What can be better than this? Each story is well researched and, of course, well written. Each of these ladies does an excellent job in bringing their characters to life and their stories go by all too quickly. At the end of each story there is a Dear Reader from each author that gives some of the real history behind what they have written. You cannot go wrong with reading the stories in this book. The only problem is that when you finish the fourth story there isn’t anymore. I hope that these authors can get together and bring us another round. That would be wonderful.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Collection

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
GingerB
Location:Smiths Grove KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the 4 novella’s. If I had to pick my favorite, it would be One Little Word, by Amanda Cabot. Miss Lorraine went looking for her brother, found him, and found love in the least likely place. She was looking for a simpler life, but found more than that.
Each writer writes such intense stories. I felt I was right there involved in each of them. The last one, A Saving Grace had me in tears, feeling so bad for the women that were being starved. I have read novels by Ann Shorey before and this one is no disappointment either. I give 5 stars for this collection of novella’s.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2014
I really enjoy a good novella collection when I'm in a particularly busy season. The beauty of novellas is that they are short and can easily be read in an hour. Sincerely Yours is a fabulous collection from some of the best historical fiction authors in the industry. One of the benefits of this collection is that the stories are each stand alone works. So, you can read one of the stories and then put it down for a few days and then enjoy the next without feeling as if you've broken the flow of continuity.
The common threads that weave this collection together are the time frame which is the mid 1800s to the early 1900s. The second thing that each story has in common is an unexpected letter showing up and changing the course of events. I find that in these collections there is usually one story that really stands out and the others pale in comparison. I'm pleased to say that isn't true with Sincerely Yours. I thoroughly enjoyed each of the stories. They were entertaining and had interesting facts about the time period and of course there was a wonderful love story woven in. If I were hard pressed to only choose one favorite I would probably lean towards One Little Word by Amanda Cabot. No particular reason other than it just seemed to catch my fancy at the time.
If you are looking for some quick reading on these busy Spring days, I think you will find Sincerely Yours to be the answer. It is a very clean read and would also be suitable for teen girls as well as adult women.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sincerely Yours

Date:April 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
mom2boys
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sincerely Yours is a delightful collection of Novellas in which each heroine receives an unexpected letter and ultimately finds their lives impacted by change - and love. Each author takes us to a different place and time introducing us to a host of endearing, entertaining, charming characters. You will find a little bit of everything within the pages of Sincerely Yours; excitement, comedy, romance, mystery, deception and danger.
This book is an easy read with each Novella being a page turner in its own right. After reading one story I didn't think the next could possibly be as good at the previous. I was dead wrong. Each story is equally as entertaining and enjoyable as the others.
I loved it! Do you need a mini vacation? Sincerely Yours is the perfect read to take on a mini “staycation”. Stay at home and let the stories in Sincerely Yours take you away...no calgon necessary! Sincerely Yours is not to be missed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home run!!!

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I jumped at the chance to read this book because I knew and love two authors, wanted to read one, and the other is new to me! :) I was not disappointed!
First it begins with Laurie's great tale on a steamboat! :) I love her way with words, and as she always does for me Laurie grabbed me from the beginning with a GREAT start and then wouldn't let go! The characters and circumstances are great. Some secrets lie within this story as the main characters come to learn what is truly important. The spunk and strength of these characters really fleshes out the story and I love their whole relationship from start to finish. The authors note just ties it all up, going into the history behind the story. Laurie is becoming on of my favorite authors! Steamboats, danger, enemies, jewels, and love await in this first tale.
Next was Ann Shorey's Lessons in Love. This one is lovely! I love Ann's writing! The overall concept of a women journalist attempting to hide here identity is highly entertaining to me as you, as the reader, see where problems may arise, and in many cases they surely do! I love the characters in this one as well. Merrie is a smart character whose articles are fantastic! And her love interest Colin is a sweet and lovable character. I loved the end, love this author, love the pace, and love the history within the story. Excellent second novella.
Then there's Amanda Cabot's One Little Word! It is Excellent! I have wanted to read Amanda's work before, but hadn't had the pleasure. I have been missing out! Her style is wonderful and her descriptions are fantastic! She infected me with carousel fever!!! LOL! And then in the authors note I found out that was her intention all along!!! :D This is the occupation that really peaked my interest in the overall book description, and I love all that I learned about carousels and what went/goes into them! But that's not the only thing that intrigued me in this. From a beautiful and fun inn to discovering God's great provisions and plans One Little Word is great!
And Finally Jane's A Saving Grace. This was the first book from Jane I've read. What a story!!! This is a VERY high suspense thriller that I couldn't put down! I HAD to get to the end to see what would happen and how it would happen. Grace is an amazing friend that is The Lord's instrument in taking down horrible foes! I was, however, haunted to find that the villains in this novella actually lived and did the things depicted here. This is a sweet and awesome tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat! I am SO happy it wasn't any longer though! LOL! I'm not sure I could have taken the suspense for even a few more chapters! From twists to anticipation I highly enjoyed this read.
Overall I LOVE all of these stories! I really enjoy novella collections like this. But usually I have a favorite among them, one that stands out from the rest, but not so with this one! I LOVED them all and couldn't choose a favorite if I tried. Revell hit a home run with these four authors and their stories!!! The only thing that really bothered me is my personal pet peeve; He when referring to God isn't capitalized. But I digress.
*Songs: "Nocturne in E Flat Major, Op. 9, No. 2" by Chopin, "Butterfly Waltz - Piano and Cello" by Wedding Day Music, "Chopin - Preludes - Sostenuto - Db major - Rain Drop" by Chopin, "All Through the Night" by Melanie Hoffman***, "Softly And Tenderly" by Alan Jackson, "Be Thou My Vision"**, "Before the Morning" by Josh Wilson, and "Standing On The Promises" by Alan Jackson
2 Corinthians 12:9, 1 Corinthians 12:4-6, Psalm 32:8, Isaiah 49:10,
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A sweet collection of historical novellas

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Moonlight Promise
This was my first story by Laurie Alice Eakes and I sincerely enjoyed A Moonlight Promise. It was a sweet story with just enough danger to make it a satisfying read. Camilla and Nathaniel's reliance on faith in God in the face of difficult circumstances is worth admiring. I absolutely loved the historical steamboat details, who knew that the Mark Twain steamboats were nothing like the earlier ones at all?
Lessons In Love
A gentle love story about a shy girl with a secret – she is a writer – and the lessons she learns in honesty, in life, and in love. One of the things I liked about Lessons In Love is how Ann Shorey tells it realistically; the women in the story believe both in women's rights but also in family and happiness in the home. A truly sweet and enjoyable novella.
One Little Word
I think this is one of my favorite stories in the book, I LOVE carousels! I got my first carousel ride at age 8 and I have been in love ever since. This story is not only filled with fascinating details about the musical horses but it also a delightfully sweet romance. Amanda Cabot has a winner in One Little Word and readers will find themselves rooting for Lorraine and Jonah.
A Saving Grace
Darker than the preceding stories A Saving Grace tells the story of a woman's love for her friend. Grace will do whatever it takes including endangering her own life to save her friend and the other women under “treatment.” While the romance is muted, I think the friendship and loyalty displayed by Jane Kirkpatrick's characters was my favorite part of this story.
Overall
A nice collection of diverse stories from four talented authors. The theme of receiving a life changing letter weaves these stories together in a most interesting way. Life, love, and the power of the written word are what these stories are all about. These stories are perfect for lovers of historical fiction and will only whet the appetite for more by these lovely ladies.
(I received a copy of this book through the Revell Reads program in exchange for my honest review. I received no financial compensation for this review. All opinions are entirely my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sincerely Yours, 4 Volumes in 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sincerely Yours a 4-1 collection!!

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
SINCERELY YOURS by Jane Kirkpatrick, Amanda Cabot, Laurie Alice Eakes, and Ann Shorey is a wonderful collection of inspirational historical Romance set in 1825 -1892, from New York City to Chicago. A Novella Collection.
Revell Books' first Christian novella anthology and what a great beginning!
Four talented authors lend their talents to four incredible tales of love,faith, and romance. From a steamboat on the Hudson River, to a remote hospital, to a Carousel carver's workship, to a lush drawing room to the Erie Canal, four young women find their lives altered forever and find more than they ever expected.
SINCERELY YOURS is a must read for so many reasons, from engaging characters, to well thought out storylines, to drama, family,faith,suspense,a bit of mystery,and an adventure inward finding true love and happiness. With peace though into the mixture.
You will not be disappointed with this collection from the first page to the last page. These are talented authors, whom I enjoy reading, put together they are unbeatable, to be sure. What a collection and a true treasure to anyone's library. I would highly recommend this collection of powerful, delicious tales of love and romance. Simply delicious! Well done, ladies!! Received for a honest review.
*Available April, 2014 from Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group*
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>