Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough

Revell Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough

Women, a joy-filled life is within your reach---no matter what your circumstances. With inspiring insights and solid scriptural wisdom, Warren explores what true joy really is, where to find it, and how to choose it in the good times and bad. Break free from your battle against discouragement and depression! Great for personal or group use. 272 pages, softcover from Revell.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Review 1 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth every penny and the time to read

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
light
Location:Live Oak, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helped me understand real joy, a gift I had wanted but felt was lacking. I originally ordered it for a friend and she will get to read it as well. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is such a"gift" ! Kay Warren gives the message that I have been looking for for 60 years ! Why do we have so many struggles, and !, then we are supposed to be JOYFUL about them !!! How can that be ? And after 67 years in , "the pew", and lots of Bible studies, and seaching of my own....Kay tells us how it is, and how to do it,,,according to the Word !!! Oh, how I wish that I had know all of this 60 years ago. !!!! How much smoother my life could have been ! I have purchased 10 more copies to give to friends, so that they can get to know these answers too. I wish that it would come out in paper back so that I could afford to give away more ! Thank you Kay, for writing the book, and letting us know what I have wanted to know for so long.....Thanks....
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Seeker
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book on how to be joyful. Joy is different than being happy and Kay Warren explains it well..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for Christian women

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky Kleinz
Location:Kirkwood PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kay Warren has authored an excellent book. Many women (and men too) need a reminder that joy does not equal happiness, and that it is our choice to make. It's easy to be fearful today and to feel downhearted and discouraged. Choose Joy is an uplifting, encouraging and refreshing read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book for a women's small group study

Date:June 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was unfamiliar with Kay Warren and her ministry, but I had previously participated in a small group that read through her husband Rick Warren's well-known book "Purpose Driven Life". I believe this book "Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough" would also be best suited for a small group discussion environment. When I attempted to read it straight through in order to review it, I realized that this book would be much more effective if I had others to discuss the end of chapter questions with. Without that environment, some of the information seemed a little repetitive - but if it were broken up into separate readings over an extended period of time it would be more of a review, where one idea built upon another to complete the whole.
Kay is very up-front about her own struggles to be joyful even during life's difficult periods. She doesn't pretend that it isn't hard - that we can just mark 'yes, I want joy' and it will be ours and we will never face further difficulty in our lives. That would be mistaking happiness for joy ... Hardships will always come along, it's our choice how to receive them.
I would recommend this book for a women's small group - especially aiming to include Christians facing hard times, whether that be health issues, grief, financial struggles, a marriage in crisis, or any other life situation that can steal our happiness, but can be opportunities for growth and joy if we learn to see it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Resource To Help Us Choose The Best

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kay Warren in her new book, “Choose Joy” published by Revell suggests that we Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn’t Enough.
From the inside flap: Everyone knows how to be joyful in the peaks of life.
I’ve graduated!
I’m engaged!
I’ve been hired!
I’m having a baby!
I’m cancer-free!
When all your fondest hopes and wildest dreams come true, and your heart nearly explodes with happiness, it’s easy to feel joyful.
But what about the valleys? When nothing seems to go your way? When everything is falling apart? When God is silent, and you feel all alone?
Where does joy fit into those moments?
In Choose Joy, acclaimed author and Christian leader Kay Warren shares the path to experiencing soul-satisfying joy no matter what you’re going through. Joy is deeper than happiness, lasts longer than excitement, and is more satisfying than pleasure and thrills. Joy is richer. Fuller. And it’s far more accessible than you’ve thought.
Joy comes from God . . . and it can be yours! Today.
What do we do when the car is totaled? How about if a child is murdered or sent to prison? How do we handle when our daughter announces she is pregnant or we have inoperable cancer? These are the crises in our lives that have the ability to knock us down if we let them. However there is another choice we can make. Kay Warren suggests we choose joy. In four parts; Part One: Joy is my inheritance, Part Two: Joy is a conviction of my mind, Part Three: Joy is a condition of my heart, Part Four: Joy is a choice of my behavior, Ms. Warren gives us the tools we need to have the Joy of the Lord built-in to us so that the crises not only not overwhelm us but His Joy gives us strength. “Choose Joy” is a book that we will read put on a shelf then come back to it many times to read again. We need reminding what joy is and how it is available to us. This book is for everyone and should be considered as a gift for birthdays and such.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours a day non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
“Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Tool For The Journey!

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The title says it all, "Choose Joy". Joy is a choice. That is what Kay teaches us in her newest gem written with such grace and truth. I want to share a few of my favorites that seemed to stand out to me. First of all, Kay reminds us that joy is a choice. Simple as that. It doesn't matter what is going on in our life we must make a choice.
"Father, I acknowledge that it is up to me to choose joy in my life, to embrace the birthright you have given me. I pray for wisdom to know what I can and can't control. Help me to take care of myself physically, emotionally, and spiritually. I also pray for new eyes to see all that you are doing in my life. I want to be alert. I want to be grateful. And I ask that my enjoyment of life would be a part of my enjoyment of you. May I see new ways to praise you every day. In Jesus's name, amen."
Wow! What a powerful prayer. Each chapter ends with a prayer and a few questions to ponder over the chapter.
Something else that Kay hits on, is the fact that life is like a railway. Train tracks running parallel together. We have joy on one side and those circumstances that try to steal it away on the other. "Every day of your life good things happen. Beauty, pleasure, fulfillment, and perhaps even excitement occur. That's the track of joy. But every day of your life also holds disappointment, challenges, struggles, and perhaps even losses for you or those you love. that the track of sorrows. Most of us try to outsmart the sorrow track by concentrating our efforts on the joy track, as if by our positive outlook or outright denial of reality we can make the sorrow track go away. That's impossible, because joy and sorrow will always be linked."
This is one of those slow reads that you want to take your time with so you can soak up every ounce of wisdom throughout the pages. Kay shares her heart and is so real sharing her own life to give us a glimpse of her struggles as she reaches toward the choice of joy.
"One trait of a joyful person is the ability to see beyond herself and her circumstances, realizing that the eternal is more than the temporary and making choices that reflect a hope for the future. But paradoxically, focusing on eternity also means recognizing the power of this moment. this is the time to choose to be joyful. This is the time to love. And this is the time to be grateful for the goodness God has put in the moment in front of us."
This book holds such value to the Christian searching for that real joy we see in Christ's life. This is one of those valuable books that reading it more than once will give even greater insight to letting go and choosing to find joy.
This book was a gift from Revell for it's review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read For All Women

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Loretta Young
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm actually in the midst of reading the book, but have seen
the DVD, and found that Kay Warren's sharing her true, everyday life experience and how she has learned to cope with problems we all face has helped me to comfirm what I already knew: Problems fade to the background when God is preeminent in our life. I wish I had had such knowledge as
a young mother. I'm now ordering a copy of Kay's wonderful book for my granddaughter who is a mother of two young boys and has been under great strain recently. God bless Kay for sharing the secret of finding consistent Joy in The Lord which is above and beyond our times of transitory happiness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Choose Joy: Because Happiness Isn't Enough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL!!

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
blessings
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so insightful and uplifting. Everyone should read. Makes our personal struggles less burdensome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.