Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Have a New Teenager by Friday

Revell Have a New Teenager by Friday

Wondering how to communicate with the "whatever" generation? Are you losing sleep over who they're "tweeting" and "friending"? Follow Dr. Leman's 5-day action plan and rest easy! With his signature wit and commonsense advice, he offers strategies to help you establish healthy boundaries, gain respect from your children, and turn them away from selfish behavior. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Review 1 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great and reliable advice

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
yvette
Location:Singapore
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took some advice and it worked on my 2 daughters, 13 and 15. Learnt not to nag or scream at them when they did not do what was instructed. Rather simply told them I was disappointed in their behavior etc and walked away and not agreeing to their requests until they understood their mistakes. Learn to let go on the small issues instead of harboring them, among many other valuable advice in the book. I must continue to work on them and not give up mid-way, else all the effort i'm making, will be in vain. Thank you for these advice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is the tool I need to reach my teenager

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location:Lakewood, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the help I needed to get through to my teenager as well as a tool to help myself be the instrument I wanted/needed to be.
The price was a very fair price, and knowing it to be a Godly inspired book made it just that much more worth the amount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has many great helps for training teens

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Flower
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Dr. Leman gives so many great suggestions for ways to lovingly and firmly deal with teens in order to help them become a valuable part of the family!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must Read

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eldon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must read for every parent, teacher, youth leader, everyone involved with children. Superb!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jewels
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has wonderful ideas and guidelines to follow and develop in your parenting life and life in general. I wish I would have read (or it would have been available) his have a new kid by Friday book when all my kids were young. The book is so practical and makes so much sense. I have recommended it to people already and will continue to do so. When my daughters have children of their own, I will purchase his Have A New Kid By Friday book as a resource and hopefully they will read it and benefit from it right from the start. Then perhaps some of the mistakes I've made with them will not be repeated by them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Practical and applicable advice on raising teens

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sweetie
Location:Tacoma, Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Teen girls are uniquely challenging, and we have two. This book has been a practical guide on dealing with all the ups and downs, mood swings, friends, chores, school, and technology. The author really understands adolescents (and parents), and though the book relates to all families, it is very personal. We've already been greatly impacted through applying the principles to our family. I plan to read the book several more times, as we continue growing together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
NITA
Location:Macclenny Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my son's family; however, read it and thought it was wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended read

Date:January 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of 2 boys
Location:Needville, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ideas are tough but he gives reasons that they work. I definately want responsible, independant children and this book is helping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Feed My Lambs
Location:Box Springs, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks like it is what I've been looking for to get information on how to handle my 13 year old mood swings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Earline
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book with lots of good advice. I love reading anything Dr. Kevin Lehman has written. Wish this book would have been available years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good tools.

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimmie
Location:Anderson, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I feel "armed" w/ valuable tools to allow me to be a "smart parent" but "with it" @ the same time. Especially like the 75 question section b/c I can refer to it when I "forget". Loved how he stressed the importance of loving your kid (S) no matter what. Have already recommended this book to all my friends who have teens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, solid, practical advice!

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judi
Location:Tigard, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only am I am mom of an almost 13 year-old, and 10 1/2 year old...but I'm a substitute teacher as well. You can imagine how that sometimes goes over, especially when it's the first time in a classroom. I had a fifth grader who looked at me and said, "NO" when I asked him to do something. I used advice from Dr. Leman's book and the next thing I knew the kid was back at his seat working! Neither of us lost face and the situation never elevated. He knew I meant what I said, but I treated him with respect and he never lost face. So, not only am I seeing changes at home, but at work as well!!! Thank you!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Have a New Teenager by Friday
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
wow3boys
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent resource for those teenage years. If you find yourself dreading it and not enjoying your teens, pick up this book and turn things around. Has an excellent topical reference in the back for advice on different topics relating to teens.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.