Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1

Revell Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1

Research scientist Kate Adams and her colleague Daisy are on the brink of a breakthrough for treating depression with herbal medicine when Daisy suddenly dies. Kate knows that if it hadn't been for Daisy's mentorship, she wouldn't have the job she loves or the faith she clings to. So when police rule Daisy's death a suicide, Kate is determined to unearth the truth.

Former FBI agent Tom Parker finds it hard to adjust to life back in his hometown of Port Aster. Though an old buddy gives him a job as a detective on the local police force, not everyone approves. Tom's just trying to keep a low profile, so when Kate Adams demands he reopen the investigation of her friend's death, he knows his job is at stake. In fact, despite his attraction to her, Tom thinks Kate looks a bit suspicious herself.

Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 out of 2596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Review 1 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Book

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Devotion is a terrific mystery novel. From the beginning to the end, this book captured my attention with mystery, romance and humor. There were some surprises in the novel and the author was great at showing this was also a Christian novel. I love the characters with their unique personalities. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Deadly Devotion and highly recommend this book. I'm looking forward to Sandra Orchard's next novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Suspense!

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Adams had become close friends with her mentor, Daisy Leacock, as they worked together in a research laboratory testing herbs as possible medicinal treatments. They were close to a breakthrough in a treatment for depression when Daisy was discovered dead. An investigation ensued, but with no evidence to indicate foul play aside from a cup of tea, the case was closed and Daisy's death was ruled a suicide. Kate knew her friend's strong spiritual beliefs and refused to believe that her mentor's death was self inflicted. Approaching Detective Tom Parker with her suspicions Kate insisted that she would find the truth surrounding Daisy's death. Several suspects had motives to want Daisy dead, and Kate insisted on investigating on her own to clear Daisy's name and prove she was murdered. Much to Detective Parker's dismay, Kate's insistence on following her instincts placed her in a number of dangerous situations. Parker's job was on the line because of the time he spent keeping Kate out of trouble. Kate's motives were also questioned as developments revealed themselves.
Sandra Orchard has written a compelling murder investigation that kept me on the edge of my seat and up into the wee hours of the morning! The suspense in this novel was ceaseless, and the questions regarding each of the suspects were endless! Characters in this fast-paced book are well defined and varied, some suspicious, others colorful, but all individuals of interest. The author creates settings that are detailed and descriptive, creating atmospheres of suspense in themselves. Underlying spiritual concerns were blended throughout this book, including faith and forgiveness. I thoroughly enjoyed this suspense-filled novel, and look forward to reading more books by this talented author.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read!

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Location:Perth
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great mystery with action on every page. Really enjoyed this book because it was an enthralling mystery with an added romance between Tom and Kate.
The Christian faith of the characters was well presented as you see Kate really rely on her faith when she goes through some difficult times.
The way Sandra shifted suspicion on various characters threw me off the real criminals trail and as a result the ending was quite a surprise to me.
Very much looking forward to the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best cozy mystery I've read in a while

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't read a cozy mystery this good in ages. There is action on nearly every page. And there are so many suspects, people with motive and means and opportunity, well over half way through the book I still had no idea who the killer might be. And Sandra does a great job of shifting the suspicion from one character to another as the story progresses.
Kate is a research scientist studying herbal cures. When her mentoring colleague and good friend Daisy dies, Kate is heartbroken. When the police rule the death suicide, either deliberate or accidental, Kate is angry. She knows Daisy would never deliberately take her own life nor would she, an expert in herbs, mistakenly drink a toxic mixture of herbal tea.
While the local police department turns a deaf ear to Kate's demands for an investigation, one detective takes an interest in Kate. Tom is an ex-FBI agent, back in Canada. He watches over Kate as she tries to find out who killed her friend. Tom finds out his interest in Kate is serious when it looks like the killer is now after her.
This is a great mystery where people are rarely what they seem. And it is a good romance too. Kate and Tom struggle with their relationship as Tom tries to remain loyal to his police role while protecting Kate too.
The Christianity of the characters is well presented. Daisy mentored Kate in her faith so Daisy's death was a spiritual shock as well as an emotional one. Kate relies on her growing faith, however, as she pursues the truth.
Several of the characters either research or grow herbs, so we learn a great deal about them, especially in their use for teas. A great mystery and romance and you learn about herbs too.
The end left me a little frustrated but a sequel is in the works. I'll be looking for it.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher fort he purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Mystery With Humor, Friendship, Faith!!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kate refuses to believe what the headlines say about her friend and colleague, Daisy, that she committed suicide. Since the case is closed and the police have stopped investigating, Kate boldly chooses to do her own investigating. But does she know the danger lurking behind every possible suspect?
Detective Tom Parker is immediately attracted to Kate when she shows up at his desk and demands answers. He tries to pacify her and gives her his business card with cell phone number. However, he has his own suspicions of Kate and the seemingly cover up case. Will he be able to guard his heart and keep the stubborn minded Kate protected at the same time?
From the FIRST page, this book had my attention and I was very satisfied with the fast paced storytelling as well as Kate’s feisty behavior. This is the perfect light hearted mystery needed for good summer reading and even though the ending leaves points unanswered, it still delivers a great plot. Orchard does a stand up job of writing a mystery filled with humor, friendship, betrayal, corruption, loyalty, faith, and herbs that have the ability to kill or heal quickly. There were several laugh out loud moments and my favorite character in the story was easily Tom’s dad, retired officer Keith, who is recovering from his wife’s death. Kate is also the maid of honor for best friend and roommate, Julie, and their conversations were a delight added in to the mystery going on. I COULD NOT believe Kate got arrested, but I felt she handled herself nicely throughout. I highly recommend this book and I’m so glad I had the chance to read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good start to the series

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How lovely it is to settle down with a new book and a hot cup of tea . . . and within five pages discover our heroine's mentor has just been murdered with said beverage. Poisoned, naturally. It couldn't have been accidental, since she certainly knew the difference between edible calendula marigolds and poisonous tagete marigolds, so the police think it was suicide, since there was no sign of foul play. But why would an expert botanist and herbal researcher commit suicide with a plant that, while toxic, is not typically deadly, especially when there are significantly more poisonous and fast-acting herbs at her disposal?
Thus Kate embarks on a quest to find the murderer, even with the cops telling her to keep out of it. Thankfully one detective, Tom Parker, has pity and tries to keep her out of trouble, even if it takes a while before he realizes that it had to have been murder. Suspects abound, and if one is searching for a motive, it is easy to find; harder to find is the actual murderer.
Sandra Orchard does an excellent job hopping back and forth between suspects so that one never is sure who is the guiltiest. I found that Kate and, to a lesser extent, Tom, are rather quick to jump to conclusions, both in the investigation and in their developing relationship. Both have baggage to work through that is not easily fixed, and I appreciate that the story does not end with their lives perfectly wrapped up. Granted, other things left me a bit frustrated in the end, but to say what would spoil the story . . .
I enjoyed the herbalist aspect; I have long been interested in medicinal and wild plants, so the mode of murder particularly piqued my interest. Orchard does not delve heavily into plant science; there's enough to make the plot solid, but it is by no means overwhelming. It was fun to have this in a novel with a modern setting for a change!
It was an enjoyable read; maybe not spectacular, but I do look forward to the next installment, as while the mystery may have been solved, the story is not yet finished. Orchard leaves plenty room to continue Kate and Tom's story in her next novel of the "Port Astor Secrets".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2013
Kate’s mentor and friend Daisy is found dead from what the coroner deems a suicide. The police agree and quickly close the investigation. The only problem is that Kate knows beyond a shadow of a doubt that Daisy would never do that. Against the wishes of Detective Tom Parker, Kate sets out to prove that someone murdered Daisy.
Along the way we are confronted with several viable suspects but each has something that just doesn’t quite clench the case. Kate continues to get deeper and deeper enmeshed in the investigation until her very life is at stake. Someone obviously doesn’t want her to figure it out.
I wish that the characters had been better developed. In my opinion Tom and Kate came across as pretty wishy washy. I know that this is a series and the budding romance needs to develop but I just couldn’t get past the way one minute they were totally smitten and the next at complete odds.
Over all I enjoyed the story and I’m looking forward to reading book two in the series which is scheduled to release in June of 2014. The third and final book in the series is scheduled to release in June of 2015.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of suspicious characters ... hard to put down

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Research scientist Kate Adams is determined from the onset to prove her herbal medicine research partner -- and dear friend -- was too knowledgable to have killed herself by adding the wrong herbs to her tea (and not prone to suicide either!) In this story Kate comes across somewhat like a young Jessica Fletcher (for those of you who remember the popular show 'Murder She Wrote'. Due to something that happened in her family's past, Kate does not trust the police to investigate the murder of her friend … so, she tackles it on her own.
Thankfully for Kate, a certain former FBI agent and his retired father are following her every move. Even though the law enforcement duo save her bacon more than once, Kate still isn't sure she can trust them. They have just as many doubts about her when they find out she's living under an assumed name.
This was a quick read that was hard to put down. As an amateur sleuth, Kate comes up with some rather inventive suspects and scenarios. Who knew one sleepy little town would have so many suspicious characters? I am already looking forward to reading book two of this new series.
*This books was sent to me by the publisher for review with no guarantee of a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Romantic Mystery

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Deadly Devotion by Sandra Orchard is a book about the lengths one will go to in an effort to prove their friend did not commit suicide. Kate Adams is determined that her friend Daisy was murdered, but the police have labeled it accidental. She knows they're wrong and embarks on a search to prove it. In the process she needs help from Tom Parker, a former FBI agent who is trying to settle back into life in Port Aster. The book is filled with suspects, clue, and bits of romance. I had suspicious about who the killer was, but the reason surprised me. A very enjoyable romantic mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Eva Maria Hamilton
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book! Can't wait for the others in this series! I just have to know how it all turns out!
I also love learning new things, and this book did not disappoint with its factoids about herbs!
This book would make an excellent read for a book club! With so many suspects and home remedies, it could entice lots of conversation!
I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story from the get go!

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to read this book and I was not disappointed. I caught up in the story right from the get go. The only drawback for me was that not everything is resolved by the end and the story will obviously be continued in the next book in the series. I prefer it when one person's story is neatly wrapped up in a single book and the next one is related, but not the same characters wrapping up problems from the first book, but I'm still glad I read it. I'm also glad I didn't know this before I started or I might not have. There is definitely enough going on to cross over to another book, and I look forward to reading it. If you like Irene Hannon or Lynette Eason you should give this book a try. This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did Daisy kill herself? Her research partner is adamant that she did not. Well then, who did?
That was what got Kate upset enough to storm into the police station and demand that Daisy’s case be reopened. That didn’t work so Kate decided to do her own investigation and find the murderer.
This is definitely dangerous and finally Detective Tom Parker decides to help her “off the record.” Tom decided to do this even though it could cost him his job. He tries to protect Kate from herself.
Eventually he realizes she’s right, and then he has to protect her from the killer. Both he and Kate are all over the place as far as suspects. It’s hard to pin someone down when you can’t figure out the motive.
As a reader, you, too, will be all over the place trying to decide who the murder is. I was near the end before I figured it out, but still hadn’t figured out the motive.
Sandra Orchard just got added to my list of favorite suspense/mystery authors.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets, Murder, Mystery Adventure Thriller With R

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Orchard in her new book, "Deadly Devotion" Book One in the Port Aster Secrets series published by Revell brings us into the lives of Kate Adams and Tom Parker.
From the Back Cover: Kate knows the truth is out there-but if she's right, that means a killer is out there too.
Research scientists Kate Adams and Daisy Leacock were on the brink of a breakthrough for treating depression with herbal medicine when Daisy was suddenly found dead. Kate knows that her mentor's death wasn't suicide or a careless accident-and she is determined to unearth the truth about what happened to the woman who changed her life.
Former FBI agent Tom Parker is finding it hard to adjust to life back in his hometown of Port Aster. Though an old buddy gives him a job as a detective on the local police force, not everyone approves. Tom's just trying to keep a low profile, so when Kate Adams demands he reopen the investigation of her friend's death, he knows his job is at stake. But despite his attraction to her, Tom thinks Kate may have something to hide.
As evidence mounts, a web of intrigue is woven around the sleepy town of Port Aster. Can Kate uncover the truth? Or will Tom stand in her way?
Post Aster is a hotbed of secrets. You would not think that what looks like a sleepy, cozy little port town would contain people with pasts that they would kill to keep secret. I also never gave a thought that scientists working with herbal medicines could ever be in danger. At least when I am wrong I am consistent. Ms. Orchard has done a marvelous job of creating Port Aster and the people who live there. Kate and Tom are just perfect, not only in their respective roles but as a romantic couple, though they do not start out that way. "Deadly Devotion" is a thriller as Kate's life is in danger, practically, from page one. You think you figured out who the killer is and then Ms. Orchard puts in a sharp turn that you did not see coming. "Deadly Devotion" is full of mystery, action and adventure. It will keep you flipping pages as you become involved in the investigation. Ms. Orchard has given us a wonderful beginning to what looks like a great series. I am so looking forward to the next book from this very talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
"Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A legitimate mystery that kept me guessing!
I always sing the praises of the books who surprise me. This is one of them! Sandra literally kept me on my toes until the last few chapters and for that, she has officially earned her place on my favorites list. Deadly Devotion opens up with a bang as Sandra introduces us to the fiery red-head Kate Adams. I love Sandra's writing style. It's easy to follow and keeps your eyes on the page.
Sandra did such a great job pointing the finger at many plausible characters. There were several times I thought I had figured it out, only to be proven wrong. It has been a long time since I've had the chance to review a mystery novel and I savored every page of this one, including the peek into Book 2!
All the characters are realistic, Port Aster easily formed in my imagination, and the whodunit mystery joined to make a wonderful read! I could tell Sandra did her research on medicinal and poisonous herbs. If you like mysteries, then this is one you'll love. I highly recommend to teens 15+.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Deadly Devotion

Date:June 15, 2013
I typically love romantic suspense and have been reading tons of it this year! I was excited to read Deadly Devotion ... and just knew I would love it. Unfortunately, after reading the first 90 pages, I'm still not into the story. I've picked it up and put it back down several times over the past couple of weeks and have decided to move on.
There were two main issues for me ... One, I just didn't connect with Kate. At all. She seemed prone to jumping to conclusions and was all over the place with her "investigation." Two, the story felt a little stilted. At times I wondered if it was supposed to be for a younger audience. It just didn't grip me the way I had hoped it would.
It seems that others have enjoyed the book, so be sure to check out other reviews if you think you might enjoy reading Deadly Devotion. [DNF]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You Think You Know....Nope

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great "who done it" story. You are sure you know who did it, and then...no not that one. Right to the very end of the book before you are sure, and then surprised.
Kate Adams loved Daisy Leacock, like a daughter. Daisy had taken her under her wing, and they were very close, and co-research scientists. Then Daisy dies, and the police rule it a suicide. Kate knows different, and challenges the police.
Tom Parker is new at his Detective job, not new at police work...he came from Canada, and is now home. He has just left his job at the FBI. He has also lost a dear friend who trusted the wrong woman, and he has decided he will never do that.
You will love the interaction between Kate and Tom's father Keith. He is fully on her side, and is there for her. Often against Tom's wishes. You have to wonder who did this crime, and are the Police involved?
My main problem is that there are a lot of unanswered questions. Ah...there is a second book, and a teaser included in this one. Enjoy this fast pace murder mystery.
I received this book through Revell's Book Blogger Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

4.5 star Whodunit that will keep you guessing!

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deadly Devotion
Port Aster Secrets #1
By Sandra Orchard
Having returned home following the death of his mother, former FBI agent Tom Parker is having a hard time adjusting to the 15 years of change that have occurred in Port Aster during his absence. Adding to his stress is Kate Adams who is convinced that her friend and mentor Daisy Leacock didn't commit suicide.
Kate isn't going to just sit around and let Daisy's name and reputation be ruined by the police and their determination that Daisy killed herself with Marigolds! But Kate's personal investigation is pulling her into more danger than she can possible imagine, at least in Detective Parker's opinion. But Kate doesn't trust police and Tom Parker's continual appearances are grating on her though she is perhaps a little attracted to him, maybe.
But Port Aster is a community of secrets, but which secret pertains to Daisy's death? Kate wants to believe everyone while Tom is suspicious of everyone, how can two opposites ever hope to have something more than a cordial disagreement at best? Read Deadly Devotions and find out.
Is it possible to truly know someone so well that you can say with absolute certainty whether or not they would or would not do a certain act? How well do you know the person you are closest to? This is the premise of Deadly Devotion. Trust - can you trust someone with the truth about who you are? This is the question that confronts Kate and Tom as they re-examine Daisy's last days and the evidence that could lead them to a murderer and to each other.
This is a whodunit that would stump Jessica Fletcher if she took a trip to Canada and wound up in Port Aster. This isn't Mayberry, but I wouldn't mind visiting and having a cup of freshly brewed tea or maybe not the tea!
I can't wait to make a second visit with book 2 of which there is a sneak peek. (More secrets are about to come to light and Kate is again caught up in the middle of it all!)
I was provided a copy of this book by Revell in exchange for my honest review.
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
I’m always thrilled to discover a new author to me, particularly in my genre of choice, so Sandra Orchard and the first in her Port Aster Secrets series, Deadly Devotion was a find I couldn’t wait to dive into. The premise is intriguing, the characters likeable, and the romantic connection is nicely done but overall I did wish for more. While I admired Kate’s dedication to revealing the truth about her friend’s death, her reckless accusations and forays into dangerous situations were a bit implausible which I ultimately found distracting. While developing evidence can point to different offenders, Kate leapt to one false conclusion after the next without seeming to learn to be more circumspect as each of her accusations crumbled. Subsequent books will continue with Tom and Kate’s story, which is not my preference when it comes to series, but Sandra intrigued me enough with her characters that I’d like to see how things turn out for them. Be assured many reviewers have loved this story so don’t just take my word on this one. While this novel wasn’t all I had hoped for, it is still a decent story many readers will enjoy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Orchard has written a truly intriguing novel that begins a series called “Port Aster Secrets”. Tom, formerly with the FBI, has returned home to be with his recently widowed father. Is there more to his past than anyone knows? Edward, if he really is named Edward, is supposed to be a victim’s nephew. Daisy is a special lady who has lived her whole life in Post Aster, who takes a special interest in Kate bringing her under her wing to learn about herbs and the Lord.
Daisy is the victim who though knowing much about herbs, is supposed to have died from drinking the wrong herbal tea. The case was closed by the town’s Chief of Police who has a father with a soiled past, but Kate just can’t accept the coroner’s ruling. Kate decides she will do her own sleuthing to ferret out the killer while being maid of honor for her roommate.
These are just a few of the ingredients Sandra places to the captures reader’s imagination and interest right from the start. On top of that, Daisy’s choice of who is to inherit her estate leads the police to focus on just two people. Hank, the town Chief of Police isn’t exactly acting like he wants to dig up the truth. Tom and Hank are constantly wondering about the other’s guilt or innocence even though they grew up together.
Sometimes mysteries can seem like they follow the same formula, but here is a new series that draws questions as to how the mystery will be solved. There are a plethora of turns along with suspicions regarding the real cause of Daisy’s death plastered on the front page news in the small town where everybody knows everybody else’s life story.
It was so enjoyable to watch the chemistry between Kate and Tom grows plus the constant tension of whether to trust each other or not. The other characters in the novel add more color to the story some of whom make figuring out the real culprit interesting. I really enjoyed reading this novel as it used a different method to do away with the victim than I had ever read of before. Most people are aware of herbs around that are sold in various places in different consistencies. People appreciate flowers that are nice to look at, but some can be deadly. I couldn’t put the novel down and I await with eager anticipation the next installment in this series! Pick this novel up and enjoy it. The story was fun to read, exciting and challenging to figure out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deadly Devotion, Port Aster Secrets Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Romantic Suspense

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book to be devoured with zeal! Orchard is a welcome addition to Revell's Romantic Suspense authors. She has a distinctive style that blends mystery with suspense with punches of humour mixed in. The result? A page-turning read.
A clever and fresh plot kept me on my toes but I smugly admit to figuring out whodunit a tad before the intrepid heroine. Yes, I'm patting myself on the back because the author wove a complicated trail of clues and mis-clues that left me reeling. I rallied though, stoic armchair sleuth that I am. :-)
Kate and Tom make a good team -- when they aren't at cross purposes, that is. There's attraction and frustration and gentle humour in their developing relationship; the beginnings of a sweet love story that has its bitter moments. Orchard has rooted her characters in reality, drawing on their painful pasts to add depth and plenty of complications to their present.
An outstanding first book in the Port Aster Secrets series, Deadly Devotion wraps up one mystery while hinting at more to come. Kate and Tom's relationship solidifies but the author promises much more to their romance. We just have to be patient until the second book in the series comes out sometime next year. I can't wait.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>