Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2

Revell Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2

Kate Adams had no idea she was carrying counterfeit money, and she can't believe that it came from her sweet neighbor. Or that it lands her in the middle of another one of Detective Tom Parker's investigations. Determined to prove her neighbor's innocence, Kate stumbles into a pit of intrigue that is far deeper than a two-bit counterfeit operation--and strikes too close to home for comfort. As family secrets come to light, her world--and her budding romance with Tom--begin to crumble. To Kate, it's clear that she won't be safe until she uncovers all of Port Aster's secrets. But is it too late for her and Tom?
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Review 1 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Second Book in Series!

Date:July 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eva Maria Hamilton
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finished Sandra Orchard's book, Blind Trust, last night! And now I can't wait for book #3 in this series! I must get answers! And these characters need justice! Keep on writing great books Sandra Orchard!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced action read

Date:July 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
shanfromcan
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blind Trust is the second in the Port Aster Series, and although I didn't read the first one-yet, I was able to follow along and enjoy the story and the characters.
The story begins with Kate paying for groceries for Verna, her elderly neighbor, and that money turning out to be counterfeit. How could that be? Certainly that sweet little old lady had nothing to do with it, but then there is a long list of suspicious characters that keep you not only turning pages, but on edge as you try to figure out what comes next. I was quite surprised to find the identity of the supposed stalker, and also kept me wondering just how much he could be trusted.
Besides the cast of cagey characters, there is the man of Kate's dreams, Tom, a detective, and she is once again front and center in one of his investigations. Although it would be nice to know more about the case spoken of, you can read and enjoy this story without knowing all the ins and outs of what came before. There is lots of gentle touches, stolen glances, and wishing going on. This part is a nice light romantic read and a nice break from the action packed read. It is a breath of fresh air, a break from the fast pace.
The ending certainly has left me anxiously awaiting the next book in the series. This was a quick read, as I could not put it down. I would stay up late as the one more chapter, just didn't cut it. Pick it up and see for yourself. I bet you won't be able to put it down either.
I was given this book by Sandra Orchard and Revell book company in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

BLIND TRUST by Sandra Orchard

Date:June 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
BLIND TRUST by Sandra Orchard is an intriguing Christian Mystery set in Port Aster. #2 in the "Port Aster" series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Deadly Devotion". With family secrets, commercial crimes, counterfeiters, just a drop to what is to come. You don't want to miss a moment of this fast paced tale of a budding romance, danger, betrayal, and intrigue. Kate must uncover all of this small town secrets in order to be safe. But will she and her new-found romance with Detective Tom Parker survive? You must read "Blind Trust", will will not be disappointed, especially,if you enjoy small town secrets, mystery, suspense and a bit of romance. I would highly recommend. I can hardly wait for the next installment. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Coming in June from Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group*
Rating: 4.5
Heat Rating: Sweet
Reviewed by: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Counterfeiting,Chasing Suspects, More Craziness

Date:June 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Comments
I had been anticipating the sequel to Deadly Devotion for awhile so I was very pleased to read more about Kate’s amateur sleuthing adventure. Even though the story didn’t grab my full attention right away, I was eager to see what happened with Kate and Tom.
The mystery and focus of the book takes off right away. Kate is shopping for her elderly neighbor when the clerk discovers the bills paid with are counterfeit ones, leading immediately to Kate getting into trouble. Tom shows up for the case and they begin their investigating.
I really wanted to find out how Verna, Kate’s neighbor, is involved this time. I knew there was no way she was guilty with the counterfeiting, but as always there’s more to the story than we initially see.
My favorite parts of the book were scenes with Verna, Verna’s sweet cat, Tom, Tom’s family, and especially Tom’s dad.
Kate now has a lab assistant that I suspected from the beginning, but even she was helpful getting Kate to work on time.
I could NOT believe how many people want to sabotage Kate! Wasn’t it enough that her best friend was killed in the first book? This woman just can’t get a break. Even though the main plot of the story was finding who was responsible for the counterfeiting money, there were many twists and turns that I didn’t see coming, whoa! It’s amusing reading how Kate tries to follow Tom’s instructions on safety, but somehow gets around those instructions. His patience and devotion to her is another reason I love this series.
Tom is such an amazing character and only wants to do the right thing. The right thing for him is asking God to help him, doing his job by the book, and of course protecting Kate…..she is able to get into trouble faster than you can say, “Indiana Jones.” (that line is from the movie Notting Hill, let me know if you remember what scene it comes from) I was surprised she didn’t listen to Tom better (he really is only out for her best interest and her protection) and I was even more surprised that it takes more than half of the book for her to really trust him. On the other hand, she has been through a lot and regardless of their chemistry, she is also just trying to do what’s right.
The movie this book slightly resembles to me is The Firm. There’s a company in the story that has caused so much death and destruction and seemingly has gotten away with it for the time being. If you get in their way or don’t follow along, your character disappears from the picture quickly. Even the police have been killed or are unable to gather enough evidence to prosecute this company. So not cool….
An overall GREAT book that I did get into and had no idea which characters were guilty, even though I had my own suspects in mind. It would be so nice if these people would just let Kate live her life without the element of danger, but at the same time Kate gets to discover who really loves her in the midst in investigating. Minor spoiler……….it was wonderful reading Tom and Kate’s first kiss. It’s obvious that he’s a goner for her and it’s a treat watching their relationship develop. They have both had a close friend die and trauma because of that, but it’s a treat seeing them rely on one another and slowly heal.
I want to thank the author and Revell for sending me a review copy. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense really kicks up!

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Author Katy Lee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Orchard really stepped up the suspense with this second book in the Port Aster series. The first in the series, "Deadly Devotion," was a great, well-developed beginning to the series that laid the foundation for the three books so well that I cracked open "Blind Trust" and jumped right into the excitement without a moment of delay.
Kate Adams, amateur sleuth is caught in the middle of a case again that has nothing to do with her…or does it? She’s about to find out. "Blind Trust" ends with a great cliffhanger leading into the third and final book. The back of the book gives the reader a taste of what’s to come, but it’s not enough, I say. Looking forward to it, Sandra!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2014
Stand-alone titles in a fiction series seem to be all the rage. I must admit I like them but I also miss the cliff-hanger endings that leave you anxiously anticipating the next book in the series. Sandra Orchard's Port Aster Secrets has revived that tradition of waiting with baited breath on the next book to come out.
Last year, Deadly Devotion debuted and gave us a thrill ride. There was a murder. There were suspects. The chase was on. The suspect was caught, jailed, tried and convicted. Everything was tied up with a nice big bow . . . well not so fast.
From the opening pages of Blind Trust we see that what we thought was tied up has come unraveled. Charges have been dropped against the murderer. Kate Adams is livid, but she's also afraid that she will become the target again. What she doesn't suspect is the other looming threats that are surrounding her. She finds out that the people she thought that she could trust were lying to her. Her life is once again in danger but from a different source (maybe).
Detective Tom Parker continues to have his hands full keeping Kate out of harms way. The biggest obstacle to Kate's safety seems to be Kate herself. When he solves one part of the mystery it seems to only open up more questions about the crime spree that is plaguing Port Aster.
Once again we are left with more questions than answers. Usually that would drive me crazy but in this instance, the anticipation for the next novel is just delicious. The bad news . . . it doesn't come out until next year. The good news . . . we do have some answers to the questions in Deadly Devotion. But I wonder if everything is as it appears?!!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A thrilling sequel to a mysterious series!
We met Kate Adams in the first book, Deadly Devotion, and now her story continues in Blind Trust. I was really impressed by this sequel! It's been awhile since I've read a series where you stay with the primary characters from the first book. That being said, Orchard's series feels fresh.
If one thing about Kate has been made crystal clear it's this: you don't mess with her friends. As we saw in the book prior to Blind Trust, Kate's dear friend's death was ruled as suicide. Refusing this verdict, Kate set out to discover the truth. In Blind Trust, her kind neighbor, Verna, is accused of counterfeiting. We can all probably guess how Kate reacts to that. This loyalty to people close to her is really admirable, yet is odd when you consider she has problems trusting others. I love how well Orchard has developed Kate this far, and I'm curious to get to know her even better in Book 3.
Detective Parker, or Tom, strives to balance his developing relationship with Kate and his job. Despite his flaws and his imperfections, Tom is a dependable guy for the most part. I loved getting to know his character better in Blind Trust.
Orchard has written a series that leaves you wanting more. There's suspense, mystery, uncertainty, and a slight amount of romance weaved in. I am ever so eager for Book 3's release! June 2015 seems so far away. I recommend this book to readers who enjoy the suspense/mystery genre ages fifteen and up for readability.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart pounding, romantic, and intriguing mystery!

Date:June 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rebekah M
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Beginning one month after Deadly Devotion leaves us, Kate Adams lands right in the middle of another one of Detective Tom Parker’s cases when she discovers the money her elderly neighbor gave her to buy groceries is counterfeit. Determined to prove her sweet neighbor’s innocence, Kate starts poking around...and stumbles into something far more deadly than she ever imagined. Tom is equally determined to protect Kate. But can he protect her from such powerful enemies?
Wow! Blind Trust was even better than the first book in this series. The mystery had me on the edge of my seat, the budding romance made me smile, and the story was so intriguing I read it in record time.
The mystery was extremely fascinating! I found myself questioning everything multiple times. I loved the fact that it was a continuation of the first book. Everything you think are separate occurrences are really connected and the author has you feverishly trying to put the puzzle pieces together. I love books that challenge me and this is definitely one of those! I am freaking out that I have to wait to see what happens next. I also loved watching Tom and Kate grow closer in this book. The romance is very sweet. The dialogue made me smile. There is a lot of character growth that keeps it really interesting and adds a lot of depth to the story.
Blind Trust is a heart pounding, romantic, and intriguing mystery that will have you on the edge of your seat! If you enjoy mysteries, suspense, and romance then I definitely recommend you check out the Port Aster series. I for one anxiously await the next book in this suspenseful series.
**I received this book free from Revell in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lois K
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story you don’t want to miss reading. This is book two in the Port Aster Secrets series. You’ll meet Kate Adams and Detective Tom Parker again (from Deadly Devotion, book one of this series). Kate was a murder suspect in Deadly Devotion and now she’s a suspect in a counterfeiting operation. What else can you think when she’s caught passing counterfeit money? Of course, she got it from her sweet, elderly neighbor-lady. Can she be one of the counterfeiters? Sandra Orchard has woven several different plots into this story, including a potential murderer. Of course, Kate’s in the middle of it all, sometimes interfering in Tom’s investigations—just like she did in Deadly Devotion. I was kept guessing from the beginning to the end trying to figure out who all the bad guys are. Of course, then you have the continuing attraction between Kate and Tom. Kate still has a few trust issues, but she’s getting much, much better about them. I can hardly wait for book three in this series to see what other mysteries and situations arise for Kate and Tom! I’m guessing that Kate’s going to be in the middle of some police investigation again. What will it be this time? I received a copy of this book from the publisher to read and give my honest opinion of the story. I give it a 5-star thumbs-up! If you haven’t read Deadly Devotion yet, be sure and read it, preferably first so this story doesn’t spoil your guessing who the murderer is in that book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blind Trust has twists that will keep you guessing

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blind Trust
Port Aster Secrets #2
By Sandra Orchard
Kate Adams is in trouble again and is once again caught up in another of Detective Tom Parker's cases when she passes counterfeit money. The only question in Kate's mind is is this an attempt by GPC or Molly Gilmore to discredit her.
But nothing links the counterfeit money to either of Kate's suspects. But Kate manages to become the talk of Port Aster yet again when the local paper runs with the story. And the only link to all the counterfeit money seems to be Kate's elderly neighbor Verna Nagy. But Verna couldn't do something like this, and this something Kate is certain of. But when Verna starts to show signs of dementia Kate fears someone is taking advantage of her neighbor's declining health.
Someone is threatening Kate and they are leaving messages for Detective Parker saying as much. The only question is is this connected to the counterfeit money, Daisy's murder, or Kate's opposition to GPC. Can Tom and Kate work together to discover the truth? Or will Kate's stalker have the final word?
Blind Trust has several unexpected twists and turns. And we also learn more about Kate's father as she probes into his death while in police custody. There is also a link that ties Kate's dad to something from Tom's past. This is one book that will keep you guessing and it could also make or break any chance Kate and Tom have at a future together.
If you liked Deadly Devotion you won't be disappointed in Blind Trust. I can honestly say I'm looking forward to whatever comes next in the Port Aster series. This is another winner from Sandra Orchard.
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher Revell in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets, Counterfeiting Mystery Thriller

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra Orchard in her new book, “Blind Trust” Book Two in the Port Aster Secrets series published by Revell gives us another adventure with Kate Adams and Tom Parker.
From the Back Cover: Kate’s not sure how deep this deception goes–but she’ll do whatever it takes to find out.
Kate Adams had no idea she was carrying counterfeit money and can’t believe that it came from her sweet elderly neighbor. Or that it has landed her in the middle of another of Detective Tom Parker’s investigations. Determined to prove her neighbor’s innocence, Kate stumbles into a pit of intrigue far deeper than a two-bit counterfeit operation–and one that strikes too close to home for comfort.
As family secrets come to light, her world–and her budding romance with Tom–begin to crumble. To Kate, it’s clear that she won’t be safe until she uncovers all of Port Aster’s secrets. But then will it be too late for her and Tom?
Kate Adams is caught circulating counterfeit $10 bills around Port Aster trying to pay for her neighbors groceries. Tom Parker is sure the elderly neighbor knows a lot about what is going on but is keeping silent or, when she does talk, gives him lies. Kate believes in her neighbor’s innocence and sets out to prove it and find out who is behind this counterfeiting ring. Kate and Tom team up once again to uncover the secrets hiding in Port Aster. Ms. Orchard has delivered us a story that is loaded with action, suspense, romance, intrigue, danger and drama. It will keep you flipping pages as you become involved in the investigation. Ms. Orchard has given us a great addition to this exciting series. I am so looking forward to the next book from this very talented author.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waiting for Book 3

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
ARGHHH I was NOT ready for this book to end. And that is the only thing wrong with this book is it ended in the middle of the story. Now I eagerly and not so patiently wait for the next book. I loved this story, and read book one and remember being frustrated too. LOL what can I say I am not a patient person. Sanda Orchard is a great writer that leaves me hanging and waiting eagerly. In my opinion this book does not stand on its on, there are lots of references to the first story, but reading that book is more than helpful to understand the dynamics of this book. This reviewer gives this story a 5 star rating and a gentle nudge to hurry up with book 3 :-)
This book was provided by Revell for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT SEQUEL!!!!

Date:June 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I'm really getting to love this series! I find I LOVE all the new things I learn about herbs and plants and that mixed with great mysteries makes this book a great read! That's right I said "mysteries"! There are three all tangled together in this next installment (maybe four depending on the way you want to count it)! Kate is out to help a friend and clear her name as new secrets surface and she and Tom try to untangle the webs. More is brought to light about her dad and counterfeiters, stalkers, murderers, and just all around desperate people abound! Suspense runs high and Sandra has a God given talent for artful cliff hangers! She definitely knows how to end a chapter as well as leave you in suspense and wanting more by the end of the book (and I LOVE IT! :D)!!!! I personally think that this is a series that needs to be read as just that; a whole series. While some may be able to read this one as a stand alone I don't recommend it, because of all the details from the first book mentioned in this one! Not to mention I just think this is a great series all the way around! They flow nicely together! As danger grows and lives are threatened how will these two get through it all and will they still have a relationship even if they both survive!? I can not WAIT for the next one and see where Sandra takes us next! From faith, to danger, to romance, to suspense, to secrets and lies, to new discoveries, I think Blind Trust is a MUST READ!
Songs that I think go with Blind Trust:"He Is With Us" by Love & The Outcome, "I Can't Do This" by Plumb, and "Consider the Lilies" by Mary Clemons
Songs etc. May be changed and/or added in the future. ~ASC
Ecclesiastes 3:1-8
~ASC
*I requested and received this book as a member or Revell Reads for the purpose of reviewing it. This in now way affected my opinion and the above are my true thoughts and feelings about Blind Trust. ~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A suspense treat!

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great suspense story where the mystery and adventure kept me flipping the next page in anticipation of what was going to happen next.
I have to admit that if I had read book one first, a few things might have made a little more sense but I didn't really feel like I had missed on anything more than a good story. I was able to catch onto pretty much everything just from the references to happenings in the previous book.
Complex characters and an involved storyline really kept me reading and enjoying the story. I definitely liked both of the main characters, each has strengths and weaknesses. Sandra Orchard has written all of her characters very realistically and thoughtfully.
If you are a fan of suspense books you will definitely enjoy Blind Trust, and I think, the entire series.
(I received a copy of this book from RevellReads in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceptional Thriller!

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second in the Port Aster Secrets series, "Blind Trust" contains drama and suspense that rivals even the prequel, "Deadly Devotion." Suspicious activities and an elderly neighbor's bizarre and fluctuating mental status have Kate Adams questioning even the most innocent circumstances. Detective Tom Parker once again becomes involved in Kate's life after she is accused of counterfeiting, and together they discover more than just a simple counterfeiting ring. An ongoing murder investigation and someone suspected of stalking Kate creates a foreboding element in Kate's every move. Suddenly her life takes on new anxieties and fear for her life. The past returns to haunt her.
Sandra Orchard has an amazing talent for creating a fast-paced drama of sinister activities and suspense that keeps the reader engrossed in her stories. Having read "Deadly Devotion," I couldn't wait for this sequel in the Port Aster Secrets series, and believe me, I was not disappointed! Sandra has built upon her first novel in the series, and created another suspense novel that had me holding my breath, and turning pages well into the night. There's no time for boredom in this breakneck thriller, not to mention the element of romance that seeps into the picture! If you're a fan of thrillers with an underlying theme of devotion to friends and family, this is the series you'll want to read again and again. Sandra Orchard has captured my attention, and is an author to follow! Don't miss this scintillating novel!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great series that needs to be read in order!

Date:June 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to share first off that I had no idea this was the 2nd book in a series. The Port Aster Secrets series and the first book is titled "Deadly Devotions." Typically when you read a series, each book can be read as a stand alone without much confusion, but that is not the case in this series! I found myself confused many times but even so I still loved the book and will be purchasing the 1st book in this series, and will definitely be anxiously awaiting the next one!
This is the first time I've read anything from Author Sandra Orchard and I will definitely look for other books she's written! If you like mystery, action, romance, suspense, and lots of drama, this will be a great series to begin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blind Trust (Port Aster Secrets Book 2)

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
pirategrl1014
Location:Mesquite, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Continuing from where the first book in the series Deadly Devotion left off, the author takes the book a few months into the future placing Kate in the midst of a a counterfeiting ring. Blind Trust begins with our heroine, Kate Adams, passing counterfeit ten dollar bills at the local grocery store that she received from her elderly neighbor. Luckily, it is Detective Tom Parker that comes to her rescue, who some may know from the first book as Kate's love interest.
Since I missed the first book I was a little afraid I would be missing some critical information, but the author does a good job of filling in pieces you need throughout the book without retelling the first story all over. There were a few spots I felt lost in, but not enough to really take away from the stroy.
I adored our hero and heroine and watching and watching the sweet romance build up between them.Sandra did a wonderful job of creating loveable characters that are full of mystery. The book kept my attention all the whole way through. There are so many suspects that you are constantly trying to figure out who did it.
This book is filled with action, intrigue, romance,betrayals, secrets, suspense and no shortage of drama! You will be glad you picked this book up. I am counting the days till I can get my hands on the 3rd book in the series, Identity Withheld.
*I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Revell Reads in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing & suspenseful sci-fi!

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Move Sandra Orchard to the top of your reading list. I had never heard of her before receiving this novel, but I love mysteries, so I agreed to give it a shot - and I'm glad I did. From the very first paragraph, Orchard keeps Kate hopping with action and emotional drama.
A bit different than many modern mysteries, this one had a sci-fi angle that was really fun. It played into our culture enough to be believable and increased the suspense factor exponentially. I really enjoyed the myriads of threads that Orchard tugged throughout this story, always throwing in new angles and dust-ups with the villians.
Kate and Tom make great sparring partners. With sparks flying but trust wavering, they're a couple you have to root for. I'm sure I would've been even more enticed by them had I read the first book. The first chapter or two felt as if I'd stumbled into the middle of the story, and in a way I had, since they met and began sparking in the first book; however, the plot for this one was entirely within the chapters of this book and Orchard catches you up quickly. I'd still recommend reading the first book first, but any author that can have you cheering on characters whom you've just met is a winning writer in my book.
I received a free copy of Blind Trust from Revell Reads in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Each chapter ups the intensity and mystery

Date:June 16, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great story. I really enjoyed this one. Sandra is an excellent writer, this is the second book I have read by her. Every chapter ramps up the intensity and mystery.
This is the second book in the series. I have not read the first and I was able to enjoy this one. There were things I wished I understood better and I think if I had read the first book I would but Sandra does a good job of getting the reader up to speed and writing a truly captivating book regardless of prior knowledge.
Our hero and heroine are very likeable characters I enjoyed getting to know. There’s a slow romance building between the two but nothing overly heated and intense, but a sweet romance none-the-less.
This book will keep you wondering whodunit? You will bounce back and forth between the different possibilities. And there seems to be two different mysteries taking place at the same time, or are they related? I kept asking myself that. You’ll have to read the book for yourself to see if they are and who really did do it?
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blind Trust, Port Aster Secrets Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Blind Trust by Sandra Orchard

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grams
Location:Elizabethtown, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blind Trust by Sandra Orchard – A Book Review
Kate Adams is the Nancy Drew of pharmaceutical researchers, finding herself in increasing numbers of dangerous situations, some of her own making, some not. Tom Parker would be the ideal person for her to develop a relationship with, a detective who is used to dealing with trouble, which seems to follow Kate everywhere she goes. However both Kate and Tom have histories that complicate the matter. Sandra Orchard has also cast a large number of supporting characters who fall in and out of suspicion. At one point in my reading, I thought I’d use an analogy of Ms Orchard and a tassel maker, someone who ties up all of the loose ends, but it wasn’t too many pages later when the ends began to unravel, and the mystery or should I say mysteries, took an unexpected turn. Blind Trust will keep the reader up at night, and grabbing minutes whenever they can be found during the day, driven by a desire to know who is behind the counterfeiting that plagues this small town, who is behind the threats directed at Kate, and what is causing the erratic behavior displayed by Kate’s elderly neighbor.
Ms Orchard has truly mastered the smooth flow of dialogue in her writing. Conversations sound natural and not contrived, and her readers can easily immerse themselves into the scene being played out with this author’s skill. There is one drawback to Blind Trust, a significant one for me. I am one of those readers who prefers book series in which the reader can enjoy getting more involved with a particular group of characters while feeling that each individual book comes to a conclusion. This book does not fit that description. If you are a reader who likes for the story to continue on throughout a series, lingering with the details of a particular storyline, then this book is for you.
Ms Orchard throws in a nice little bonus at the end of this book, a recipe for the muffins mentioned several times within the story. Our three and a half year old granddaughter helped me to bake the muffins one Saturday afternoon because in her words she, “loves, Loves, LOVES muffins.” These muffins were a big hit, but I will admit she talked me into doubling the cinnamon in the recipe so that they might taste “more like Daddy’s cinnamon rolls.”
I received Blind Trust by Sandra Orchard compliments of Revell Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. I hope many of you will also enjoy this book, book 2, from the Port Aster Secrets series. Happy Reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>