Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell That Certain Summer

Revell That Certain Summer

Karen and Val are family-yet they're anything but close. Karen has carried the burden of responsibility for her aging mother ever since her gorgeous sister left town years ago to pursue a career in theater. But Val had darker reasons for leaving town-as well as a secret to keep-and coming home has never been an option . . . until their mother suffers a stroke.

Reunited in their hometown, Karen and Val must grapple with their past mistakes, their relationship with each other, and their issues with a mother who is far from ideal. When a physical therapist raising his daughter alone and a handsome but hurting musician enter the picture, the summer takes on a whole new dimension. As their lives intersect and entwine, can each learn how to forgive, how to let go, and how to move on? And strengthened by the healing power of faith, might they also find the courage to love?

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for That Certain Summer
Review 1 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A smmer of faith, forgiveness and hope

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That Certain Summer A Novel by Irene Hannon
Two sisters as different as night and day. Karen was the responsible wife, mother and daughter who tried to please everyone. Her marriage has fallen apart, her daughter is angry and wants her parents back together and her mother is mean, criticizing and controlling. It’s no wonder she feels hurt, lonely and dowdy. Val has been MIA for years, she’s running from her past and her criticizing mother. She is the beautiful talented daughter with a secret that has brought great guilt to her life. These two sisters come together to care for their sick mother for the summer. What they find is greater than either ever imagined for themselves. After being distant since childhood they develop a closeness as never before. I fell in love with them and their guys. I enjoyed watching the characters faith grew and developed as the story unfolded. The characters are well written brining hope, forgiveness, and romance for the sisters. I have loved Irene Hannon suspense books for awhile but this is my first contemporary romance I have read by her. I give it five stars and can’t wait to read another by her. I want to give a high-five to the author and publisher for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two sisters are brought together

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two sisters who have never been close--what will a summer caring for their mother bring? I have a sister that I am very close to and so, this book was very special to me. Karen and Val connect in a way that they have never experienced before. Their mother is quite difficult and they find themselves working together to get her through rehab following a stroke. Meeting for a weekly shopping trip and coffee gives the sisters a chance to talk and resolve issues. Being a caregiver of our parents is not easy, and I think many will find moments that they can relate to in Irene Hannon's book. Throw in romance and you have the makings of an incredible read!
This was the first book I have read by Irene Hannon but it won't be the last!
I won a copy of this book in a giveaway from Revell Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ANOTHER great book from Irene Hannon!

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ms. Hannon grabs the reader at the beginning and takes you on an enjoyable trip we can all relate to, or will, in our lives as we go through the tough times with Karen and Val to get to the other side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most pleasant surprise of the year for me...

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I am a fan of Irene Hannon's mystery/suspense books. They are some of my favorites in that genre. When I saw that she was writing a women's fiction with no suspense I was worried. Worried because I was afraid that it couldn't possibly be as compelling as her other books. But I wanted to check it out anyway. Thank goodness that this book was one of my biggest surprises of the year. It was a big surprise because it was every bit as compelling as one of her mystery/suspense books, but not for the same reasons. The characters in this book are some of the most real I have read lately. Good, bad and ugly. The relationships are almost eerily true to life, sister to sister, daughter to mother, daughter to dad, new love... the conversations are engaging and the situations are real. There is forgiveness, finding new purpose in life, finding new love, following God's plan... this book is so much more than I could ever have predicted. As much as I love Irene Hannon's mystery/suspense... I am looking forward to her next women's fiction book and I'd love for her to bring these dear friends back again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable summer read

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
mountains
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Irene Hannon is known for her romantic suspense stories and is a prolific and well-decorated author. That Certain Summer takes a slight right, returning to a previous love as she drops the suspense and focuses solely on the romance plot. Although she has written more than thirty-five books this is the first one I have read of hers. Overall, I found the story enjoyable.
I thought Irene put a lot of attention to detail in creating her characters. Karen, the good girl and Val, the pretty and talented one are so different and yet so much alike - very typical for sisters. Their tense relationship has been created by a critical mother, pitting the girls against each other. Neither is looking forward to their summer working together taking care of their mother after her stroke. Yet, as God is so good, He uses that which we fear to teach us more about ourselves and those close to us. The women realize how much of each other they have in their own qualities. Hannon does an excellent job of portraying this in her writing.
The male counterparts, Scott and David are also well-written characters. Their personal journeys feel realistic and the affectionate feelings that develops between them and the sisters is a sweet love affair. The struggles the men face are deep; a single father and a man broken and lost after a tragic accident. Both men have to turn to God to find the true path they are to follow. All four of these characters have their own focused point of view.
There are a many supporting characters that do not have the front stage; Kristin (Karen's daughter), Michael (Karen's ex-husband), Margaret (mother to the sisters), Victoria (daughter of David), Dorothy (Scott's concerned mother), Steven (a youth in the church who lost his dream of playing football professionally after losing use of his legs), and Pastor Richards. They all help paint the picture of community surrounding and supporting the main characters.
The plot walks the sisters through self-discovery about their short-comings, their strengths and their need for each other. Val has a secret that she has shoved deep inside for almost eighteen years, causing a raging river of guilt and shame which is revealed towards the end of the story. She finds forgiveness and renewal by facing her past instead of hiding it. Karen learns self-confidence after a long marriage as a passive doormat. She finds a new voice just in time to walk her through another family tragedy. The last one hundred pages of the book were the best.
Overall, the story is compelling and persuasive; however I struggled with the layout. Due to four different points of view I found it slow and choppy. It wasn't until 3/4 of the way through the book that I felt fully invested, "have-to-finish-the-book" kind of feeling. In my perspective this is a great vacation/beach read where you have time to spend with the characters, fully immersing yourself for a large chunk of time into their worlds. Due to a busy lifestyle in my home I had to read in snippets. With constant scene and point of view changes, (often three or four each chapter) I had too many opportunities to put the book down.
I still recommend this book to readers who love a deep true to life story with flawed characters trying to mirror their Creator. A great summertime, faith-filled and inspirational read.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book from this author

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gree
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very well written. It should be of interest to anyone with family members who don't get along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Richly layered Romance with Women's Fiction Layers

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know Irene Hannon through her romantic suspense, which I love. That's why when I heard she had a new book out and it was straight romance, I hesitated before jumping on the blog tour. When I love an author for one genre, it can be hard to transition with them to another. Irene did it successfully for me. That Certain Summer is a layered book that explores how four people deal with the ghosts in their past one summer as they also fall in love.
This story is complex with sisters who are about as distant as you can get and a mother who is hyper-critical and pitted them against each other. Add in a secret that has crippled one of them and you have a rich texture for conflict and hope. Then there are two men (one for each sister, of course) equally on journeys that they don't think lead to a future. A book I was hesitant to try quickly became one that pulled me in to the family relationships and the hopes for love and restoration. While it is a large departure from her other books that I've read, I thoroughly enjoyed this romance with women's fiction overtones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Summer Read

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Irene Hannon's Suspense novels so i was excited to see she had switched it up a bit and written this book, "That Certain Summer".
"That Certain Summer" is one of those books that you will get so involved in the characters, so much so that you just want to sit down and have a "talk" with them! LOL But just as in our lives, we know that God is in control and we have to stay out of HIS way because after all, HIS way is not just the BEST way but the ONLY way!
This is a book of letting go, forgiving ourselves and others, and coming to learn that our past, however hurtful it was, can also be a gift to learning the life lessons and that our future can be sooo much more than you ever dreamed possible. New Beginnings are on the horizon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

That Certain Summer will touch your heart!

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That Certain Summer
By Irene Hannon
This new offering from Irene Hannon will tug at your heartstrings and involve in the lives of 4 people who are going through struggles in their lives. This is not one of Irene's suspense novels but there is nothing lacking in That Certain Summer as far as the story or the depth of the characters is concerned.
Karen and Val are brought back together after their suffers a stroke. Karen has always been the capitulating daughter and wife. Val has lead a carefree glamorous life as a singer. Or so they've believed...
But no one's life is as it appears and this summer they are both about to discover who the other one is. Both Karen and Val made choices when they were younger that has had an affect on their lives up to the present day. But some choices have a lasting affect only because we let them and we cling to the guilt because we don't believe we have been forgiven by God and we can't or won't forgive ourselves.
But Val and Karen's summer of healing involves more than just themselves as they have dealings with two men who are going through times of upheaval in their own lives. Scott was the lone survivor of a crash that killed his future as far as he is concerned. David has just moved to Washington with his young daughter Victoria.
Can healing come from reaching out to others and not focusing on ourselves and our own troubles? Travel to Washington and discover the truth for yourself! We all have a certain summer that changes our life and this one may change yours. Be sure to have a box of tissue nearby - you will need it (in the last third of the book!).
That Certain Summer touches on the issues of divorce, remarriage, abortion, and death in non-judgmental and a loving Christ centered way. This would be a book to share with anyone dealing with any of these issues.
I was provided a copy of this book by Revell in exchange for my honest review.
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two very different sisters, a divorce, a teenage girl, a working mom, low self esteem and a heartbreaking secret.
Then there’s the manipulative mother who plays one daughter against the other. When the mother has a stroke, both daughters have to be there to help with her care.
This book is about those sisters rediscovering each other and building a relationship.
Toss in a couple hunks, a disabled teen, an adorable five-year-old and you have a story that will both break your heart and warm it. Yes, you will need that box of tissues to get through this book.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Caring For Elderly Parent, Divorce, Forgiveness

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Irene Hannon in her new book "That Certain Summer" published by Revell Books takes us into the lives of Karen Butler and Val Montgomery.
From the back cover: Two very different sisters . . . an unexpected homecoming . . . one unforgettable summer
Karen and Val are family-yet they're anything but close. Karen has carried the burden of responsibility for her aging mother ever since her sister left town years ago to pursue a career in theater. But Val had other reasons for moving away-as well as a secret to keep-and coming home has never been an option . . . until their mother suffers a stroke.
Reunited in their hometown, Karen and Val must grapple with past mistakes as they care for their ailing mother. When two handsome men enter the picture, the summer takes on a surprising new dimension. As their lives intersect, can each of them learn how to forgive, let go, and move on? And strengthened by the healing power of faith, might they also find the courage to love?
With her trademark compelling characters and heartwarming hope, award-winning author Irene Hannon pens an inspiring true-to-life tale of complex relationships, the search for forgiveness, and the life-changing process of finding love.
Just so you know, yes, Irene Hannon is famous for writing thrillers however this is not one of them. That does not mean, however, that "That Certain Summer" is not equally terrific. It most certainly is, just no killers are running around and no one's life is in danger. This is all about the relationship between two sisters and how they have to reconcile when their mother has a stroke and Karen needs help from Val. Ms. Hannon has taken on issues of how we care for our aging, and needy, parents, divorce and romance after divorce and abortion. "That Certain Summer" deals with forgiveness, reconciliation and moving forward with your life. This is not a fast read, however Ms. Hannon has given us much to think about. Ms. Hannon is an excellent writer and has given us wonderful characters that live and breathe and that we come to care about as we root for their success.
If you missed the interview for "In Harm's Way" and would like to listen to it and/or would like to hear the previous interviews where we discussed the first and second books of The Heroes of Quantico series please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Contemporary Novel That Addresses Real Issues

Date:June 7, 2013
I'm a huge fan of Irene Hannon's books. In That Certain Summer though, Irene makes a departure from the romantic suspense novels that I've enjoyed in the past. This newest book features two sisters who are reconnecting after nearly 20 years apart. They've never been close, but as they join together to care for their mother, they realize just how much they need each other. Interspersed within Karen and Val's stories, readers are also introduced to David and Scott who become special friends to Karen and Val.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading about all four of these characters. They were interesting, and each had a great back story and growth throughout the book. The friendship that developed between Karen and Val was really special, and I was reminded repeatedly of how unique relationships between siblings are! One of the downsides, though, was that there was almost too much going on. There were four complete stories, and I wished at times that I could stick with one character or the other and continue with their story for a few more pages and/or chapters.
Irene addressed some pretty heavy issues were introduced (i.e., divorce, faithfulness, abortion, lack of faith/trust in God), and I loved how she handled them with both sensitivity and realism.
Midway through, I wasn't sure how all of these stories were going conclude, and I was torn about how I wanted a few things to turn out (a great thing, in my opinion!). Irene did a wonderful job pulling everything together, but I felt that I missed out on a lot of how we got to the ending. It seemed that a second book could have been written—a sequel—to give a fuller picture of the story to readers. I was left feeling like I might have missed out on some of the best parts.
Overall, though, I did enjoy That Certain Summer. Irene is a wonderful writer and has a special talent for telling stories that feature Jesus at the center. I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy contemporary novels that address real issues. [3.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review. Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A WONDERFUL STORY

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THAT CERTAIN SUMMER by Irene Hannon is an interesting inspirational contemporary fiction. What happens when two different sisters come home for the summer,Karen and Val are not close,but they are family and are reunited in their hometown,what they find is hope,love and so much more. Filled with hope,coming to grips with your past,a dysfunctional family,faith,healing,forgiveness, and finding love. With life's trials, turmoil,and struggles "That Certain Summer" is sure to entertain us all. A heartwarming story of hope and the complex relationship of life and family. While, "That Certain Summer" is a different venue from her usual suspense genre,it is a wonderful story. True to her other stories, this title holds true to engaging,realistic characters as well as a strong plot. I would recommend this title if you enjoy uplifting stories,that will grip your heart. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: Sweet
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reconciliation and Romance

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Irene Hannon's Heroes of Quantico, Guardians of Justice, and Private Justice series, I was convinced she knows how to craft a story that will grab you from page one and hold you to the very end. I am a huge fan of her heart-stopping suspense and page-turning intrigue.
Now I am happy to say that she can do exactly the same thing in a completely different genre. The characters in That Certain Summer engage you in their story right away. It is easy to feel with them the struggles and the joys they go through in an engaging tale of hope and inspiration. As hurts and secrets are revealed and dealt with, faith and forgiveness carry Karen, Val, and their family and friends through times of reconciliation, growth, and love.
I highly recommend That Certain Summer and rank it right up beside Irene's other books. Fans of great Christian fiction will not be disappointed!
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Thanks to Revell for providing a copy of this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Irene Hannon is known for her romantic suspense despite having written numerous contemporary romance stories for the Love Inspired line. That Certain Summer is a full length contemporary novel combining romance, family drama, and self discovery as two sisters reunite to care for their cantankerous mother in her convalescence. I enjoyed Karen and Val’s characters as they each grappled with past shame and choices in their younger years that have plagued them in adulthood and contributed to their strained relationship. Their slow reconnection is one of the joys of this story. In Scott and David, Irene has created men, while wrestling their own demons, are the perfect complement to the sister they choose to pursue. That Certain Summer is a tender story about reconciliation, forgiveness, and living free from guilt and shame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Irene Hannon’s novels have been a favorite of mine for awhile, especially those filled with suspense/mystery. The novel, That Certain Summer, takes a more relaxed story that is built on the lives of four adults, two of whom are sisters. There are some aspects of the novel that are mystery-like because they reveal something about the characters’ past or present life.
A major health issue brings Val back to the hometown she left ages ago to help Karen through the summer care for their widowed mother. Val’s reasons for her return are to handle a situation that has been dogging her steps for the past 18 years. David is a physical therapist who moves to Washington to take a new position because he felt the Lord led him and his daughter there. Scott’s life is irrevocably changed in one night, and now he has to find a new reason to live, to hope that all days will not be as dark as the present days.
Margret is the mother of Val and Karen. Her stroke has done nothing to change her demeaning attitude or tongue. However, as she recovers, she is about to give a peek about why she is that way when her daughters least expect it. This easy to read novel explores issues we all wrestle with at different times in our lives, whether they be questions of faith, wrestling with doubts or concern for the future. Other parts show how real people might respond to living through divorce, infidelity, and learning not to compare oneself to standards we aren’t meant to.
Forgiveness is one of the greatest gifts God offers to us, and it definitely isn’t something we usually seek out. One aspect of the novel talks about self-forgiveness, which isn’t a thought or teaching I agree with as I don’t see that in the Bible. There isn’t anything good in and of ourselves. Genesis tells us that our hearts are inclined to do wickedness continually. We are to believe in God’s forgiveness for He alone is the source.
Redemption of lost relationships as portrayed in the novel can be real if God is doing the redeeming. Sometimes relationships cannot be redeemed as if to picking up where it was before, though forgiveness towards others can happen. I read the book in a short amount of time and enjoyed it a lot. There is hope in this novel and the way the consequences of behavior can be dealt with in loving and secure relationships. I liked, too, how one person didn’t seem to embrace the faith that was lived out before him for years even when facing serious health issues. How true that we cannot decide for others, but we can choose how we will respond to their choices whether we agree with them or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Summer Read!

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Writer Woman
Location:Chicago Area
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always enjoyed Irene Hannon’s suspense novels. When I learned she had written a
contemporary romance, I was intrigued by the plot, and knew it would be a good story because I was familiar with Irene’s writing. I wasn’t disappointed!
That Certain Summer is about two sisters who couldn’t be more opposite in personality, outlook on life, and the directions they took as adults. Karen Butler had married and never left their small Missouri hometown, while her sister, Val Montgomery, had moved to Chicago to seek a career in theatre.
The story opens with newly divorced Karen struggling to raise her teenage daughter mostly on her own since her ex seems to float in and out of their lives. Never married, Val teaches drama in a Chicago area high school and seems to have everything going right for her (in her sister’s eyes at least).
The one thing they have in common is their aging mother who has just suffered a stroke and is in the midst of rehab. Cranky before the stroke, Mom is now more crotchety than ever and testing the patience of Karen. As much as she and her sister don’t always get along, Karen cannot wait for Val to take over some of the weight of caring for their invalid mother. Val’s summer break from her teaching duties can’t come any too soon.
What Karen doesn’t know is that Val is bringing home more baggage than then kind you put in a suitcase. She has a secret from her past that she hopes to resolve by coming back to where it all happened.
What is unexpected for both women, are the two good-looking guys that enter their lives that summer or the women's admissions that their mother isn’t the only one who needs healing.
I really enjoyed this story and how Hannon deepens her characters as the story develops and the sisters start peeling back onion-like layers to get to the nub of what has caused misunderstandings between them over the years. I hope to see more multi-layered romances from Irene Hannon. She is certainly an author I’ll be looking for in this genre!
I received a complementary copy of this book from the publisher for purpose of review. The opinions expressed here are my own and no one else’s.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Struggling Sisters

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This Christian fiction novel reveals an old secret combined with love and forgiveness.
Karen, a divorced mother of a teenager, feels frustrated as she bears all of the burdens of her life as well as those of her mother's illness. Her sister, Val, a high school drama teacher, chooses to live a good distance away and until now, has not found many opportunities to visit. However, when their mother suffers a stroke, Karen calls upon Val for help.
The two sisters struggle as they learn to work together to care for their unappreciative mother. Rehab therapy sessions, meal preparation, laundry, and other necessary errands fill their lives. Somehow, the sisters discover a comfortable respect for each other.
Thank you to Donna Hausler at Baker Publishing Group for my copy. Available June, 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

That Certain Summer

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wasn’t sure how to put my finger on the pulse of this book. It’s not a romance. But it’s not strictly women’s fiction. It covers more than three characters and a depth of issues. Does it fit into one genre and readership? Hmm, probably not. I’d label it contemporary for fans of Karen Kingsbury.
Much moves through this story to propel the motion forward. Characters are largely likeable and deal with some pretty significant struggles. I felt in many cases, how these struggles were handled was done with finesse and strength of writing. The ending made me smile. Because of some of the subject matter and our characters’ past choices, I wasn’t sure if the story would truly resolve in a way I appreciated, but it did.
I read the novel over a couple days while traveling and didn’t feel as though I truly became invested in the characters as a whole. I think the main reason being is I felt pulled in too many different directions and emotions. My loyalty for one character over another was not equally divided or united.
I think it’s a sweet love story, a family saga and an emotional history upon the page, but I don’t think I would mark it among my favorites.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my ARC to review.
**Available June 2013 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for That Certain Summer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Character Development

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to try a book in a new genre by Irene Hannon – all her works that I’ve previously read were suspense. In the end? I prefer her suspense. But this book was very good and definitely kept me reading! It had an interesting story, and the character development was amazing – I certainly felt like I knew them all. Really enjoyed that a lot! Like I said, a good story…and really, a fascinating exploration into human nature. I would recommend it for all Irene Hannon fans and for people who enjoy contemporary stories that aren’t romances. Overall, I enjoyed this book and will read it again. (Most of all though, looking forward to the next book in the Private Justice series, “Trapped”!)
Available June 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
**Revell sent me a free copy of this book as part of the blog tour. I was not required to post positively, only honestly. I was not reimbursed for this review in any other way.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.