Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1

Revell Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1

Psychology professor and criminal profiler Taylor Martin prides herself on being able to solve any crime, except the one she wants most desperately to solve--the disappearance of her father twenty years ago. When she finally has a lead on his whereabouts, Taylor returns home to Logan Point, Mississippi, to investigate. But as she works to uncover the truth, someone else will do almost anything to keep her from it.

Nick Sinclair pens mystery novels for a living, but the biggest mystery to him is how he can ever get over the death of his wife--a tragedy he believes he could have prevented. Now that his estranged brother is the only family he has left, Nick sets out to find him. But when he crosses paths with Taylor, all he seems to find is trouble.

Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 out of 36100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Review 1 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sensational!

Date:July 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Little Aussie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic! For all you romantic suspense fans, this one is definitely a keeper! I honestly had to keep second guessing myself as to who the bad guy was. One minute I thought I had it all sussed out, next minute something would throw a spanner in the works and I would begin to doubt my suspicions. This book certainly keeps you turning the pages as you try to solve the mystery alongside the characters! Unlike some other suspense fiction, you won’t feel like you've got a headache from a whirlwind ride in the final chapter as all the loose ends are rapidly (and often unsatisfactorily) tied up. Instead, Patricia gradually adds more and more pieces to the puzzle throughout the book, which keeps the tension high and the storyline moving smoothly at a good pace (as does the romance!).
Patricia also did a fantastic job of creating a diverse cast of characters that were realistic and had you thinking about all sorts of possibilities for future books in the series. If you love Irene Hannon’s and Colleen Coble’s work than you will most likely enjoy Patricia’s work too. Overall, Shadows of the Past is a great read that will leave you feeling both satisfied and eagerly anticipating the next one in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2014
Interesting overall story but for me it was slow moving. Main characters Taylor Martin and Nick Sinclair were developed pretty well but I found myself not really caring about them or their troubles. Decent suspense build up and solid ending make this an okay read for me.
Publisher gave me this book to read, give my opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadows of the Past is kind of a Christian version of Castle, with the handsome and successful writer and the beautiful crime fighter. However, it’s set in rural Mississippi rather than New York, Taylor Martin is a college professor, not a cop, and Nick Sinclair isn’t her muse—he’s the older brother of the guy Taylor suspects is stalking her.
Dr Taylor Martin is a psychology professor and criminal profiler, a job that means she sometimes attracts the wrong kind of attention. She journeys home to Logan Point in the hope she will escape her stalker and finds herself drawn into a family argument dating back from when her father disappeared. Nick is also in Mississippi, trying to locate his brother and restore their relationship—and show that Nick hasn’t got anything to do with Taylor’s stalker.
This was a mystery within a thriller, which added layers of suspense to the plot, and had me wondering all the way through what was what. It was obvious that several characters were hiding secrets, including Taylor, but it wasn’t until the final pages that all the ends were tied up (in a most satisfactory manner, I might add). It’s a combination of strong characters, exciting plot, and a budding romance—if only Nick can get over his past, and Taylor can rediscover hers.
It’s no secret that romantic suspense is my favourite genre. Shadows of the Past is an excellent romantic suspense debut, and I’ll certainly be looking forward to reading more from Patricia Bradley.
Thanks to Revell and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great suspenseful read!

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
hulamonkey30
Location:Ottawa, ON Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"While she's stalking the truth . . . someone is stalking her. Psychology professor and criminal profiler Taylor Martin prides herself on being able to solve any crime, except the one she wants most desperately to solve--the disappearance of her father twenty years ago. When she finally has a lead on his whereabouts, Taylor returns home to Logan Point, Mississippi, to investigate. But as she works to uncover the truth, someone else will do almost anything to keep her from it. Nick Sinclair pens mystery novels for a living, but the biggest mystery to him is how he can ever get over the death of his wife--a tragedy he believes he could have prevented. Now that his estranged brother is the only family he has left, Nick sets out to find him. But when he crosses paths with Taylor, all he seems to find is trouble. Join the chase as Taylor and Nick search the murky shadows of the past for the keys to unlocking the present--and moving into a future they never imagined." (Publisher's Description)
I am always excited to try a new author and Ms. Bradley did not disappoint. Shadows of the Past is the first book in her Logan Point series. Taylor and Nick both carry a lot of family baggage in their lives. Taylor's father disappeared and Nick is still dealing with the death of his wife and the strained relationship with his brother. When their paths cross, both are very guarded and suspicious of the others motives but must learn to work together to figure solve who is stalking Taylor. This book is filled with twists and turns and totally surprised me with the answers to the disappearance of Taylor's dad. I highly recommend this book and look forward to the next in the series!!!
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:N/A
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shadows of the Past by Patricia Bradley is a romantic suspense and the first book in the Logan Point series.
Taylor Martin, a Psychology professor and criminal profiler, experienced abandonment when her father up and left their family when she was a little girl. That event in her life left her with so many unanswered questions she sets out to find her father. Little does she realize that in doing so she would put herself and others in danger.
The book details how Taylor and her family find closure to the biggest mystery of their life. Taylor also finds love in an unlikely place, Nick Sinclair, the brother of one of the suspects in one of her murder profile cases.
Patricia Bradley really kept me on my toes. I was guessing until three quarters the way through the book. I was torn between who was behind the threats thrown at Taylor, the violence and the murders. There was only one murder mystery I figured out right away. I liked the twists and turns the plot took. As always the romance was pretty predictable, but how many different ways can you spin boy meets girl or girl meets boy and likes, then loves each other?
I really like these kinds of books not only for the mystery and intrigue but the character’s development and growth, as well as the fact there is no coarse language or raunchy sex. I believe sex is good, even great, (insert smiley face) within the boundaries of marriage, but I don’t need to read stories about sex when I have my own intimate life. Just saying, and thought I’d point out a different aspect to like about this book series and others like it.
Faith and Family Reviews received a copy of this book to review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surprised Me in a Good Way

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so excited to have found a new author to add to my favorites list! The characters in this story are well developed, real, and easy to sympathize with. The plot is intriguing and suspenseful, and the story is well written. It was easy to sit down, start reading, and get lost in the story for a few hours. The only thing I found hard to believe is that this is Patricia Bradley's first novel. She writes with the maturity of a well seasoned author.
The well developed plot interweaves several threads into a beautiful work of art. Whether reading about the death of Nick's wife, the disappearance of Taylor's father, the relationships between Taylor and her family and Nick and his family, and the relationship between Nick and Taylor, I found myself fully hooked on trying to figure out where the story would take me next. The suspense kept me guessing until close to the end. I thought I knew what may have happened earlier on, but there was just enough doubt that I had to second guess myself constantly.
I really recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good suspense novel. As for me, I am really hoping that this author is going to keep writing for a long time.
Disclosure:
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions rendered are fully my own opinions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great fast-paced fiction!

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It isn’t often we have the privilege of reading such a well written book by a new author, but Shadows of the Past by Patricia Bradley is just such a book. Shadows is a fast paced story within a story. The characters are interesting and realistic. The situations and adventure keep the reader’s interest to the last page and you wish that the book was just a little bit longer.
Taylor Martin is a criminal profiler and psychology professor. She has a deep desire to find the father who abandoned her when she was a child. She is sure that he would never have left her or her mother, but where could he be and why hasn’t he come home? Is he the reason she is having these very frightening dreams?
Nick Sinclair is a mystery writer whose wife has died and he is sure that he will never get over this loss. When his brother Scott is accused for his part in the attacks on Taylor, Nick steps in to keep him from being arrested. He is interested in Taylor, but cannot understand why she is so convinced that Scott is the one who is trying to kill her.
Shadows of the Past is a book that deserves a second read to see if you can follow all the twists and turns in the story. It will be hard to wait for the second book in Patricia Bradley’s Logan Point series. This book kept me guessing “who done it” until the satisfactory end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This should be next on your reading list!

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This debut suspense novel from Patricia Bradley was a real treat to read. It's well written, really incredible for a first book and I will definitely read more from her. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is the slight tendancy toward overwriting, which I found amusing on a couple of occasions but on the whole it's not a big distraction.
The characters are strong and the mystery is solid. If you enjoy suspense by Irene Hannon, Lynette Eason or DiAnn Mills this should be next on your list.
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2014
Taylor Martin is happy in her teaching job at the university and pursuing a lucrative career as a much sought after criminal profiler. Life seems to be going so well, until it isn't. Her fiance has dumped her and married another woman and one of her students seems to be stalking her. Before she knows it her whole carefully created life has blown apart.
She finally decides to return home to Logan Point, Mississippi to try and solve a twenty year old mystery that involves the disappearance of her father. But going home proves to be stickier than she thought it would be. There are things brewing that Taylor had not anticipated.
Nick Sinclair is a best-selling author of mystery novels. While his professional life seems to be on the rise, his personal life is filled with tragedy. His beloved wife died in his arms and he is wracked with guilt over not being capable of saving her. To make matters worse his estranged half brother has reemerged desperately needing his help.
Patricia Bradley has put together a riveting tale that takes you into the depths of the twisted psyche of the human mind. She probes the topic of how far someone would go to fulfill their own desires. I enjoyed the developing relationship between Taylor and Nick, there is some serious steam going on there! As the layers of the story are peeled back you begin to see who is behind all the terror, but until the very end you don't completely understand all the whys. Great opening to what promises to be a chilling (in a good way!) new series.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent mystery with character depth

Date:February 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shadows of the Past by debut author Patricia Bradley has it all - sharp prose, intriguing setting, well-developed characters, and a fast-moving plot that will grab and hold your attention from the beginning. As much as I love a good murder mystery, I'm not a fan of suspense, but I was drawn to Shadows of the Past because of its southern setting and interesting description. And once I started reading, it was hard to put down!
While the suspense element was strong, I enjoyed this story so much because it seemed more character-driven than other suspense novels I've read. Taylor Martin's specialty is victimology - figuring out how and why the victim was chosen, and creating a profile of the victim as well as the offender. Because of a case in which she was involved, Taylor comes back to home and family in Logan Point, Mississippi - a place with an unsolved mystery in her personal life and a place where she never felt good enough.
I was immediately drawn to Nick Sinclair, popular mystery writer who is still grieving the loss of his wife, Angie, in a senseless robbery/murder. "Grieving had become familiar, almost comfortable" to him. Yet Taylor sensed that he was a good, caring man who would never fail to stand by those he loved.
But it's Aunt Kate, with her genuine faith and willingness to open her home to whoever God might send, that is at the heart of this narrative. Kate is a potter who works out of a transformed carriage house behind her home, a true southern setting: "As Taylor drove the winding, tree-lined drive to the hundred-year-old house . . . the two-story Victorian looked like a bed and breakfast with its three-gabled roof and wraparound porch."
Patricia also created a beautiful and fascinating setting in the Martin family home place. With its tunnels connecting to caves in a nearby river bluff, Oak Grove was once used to aid slaves escaping to the North as part of the Underground Railroad. Its basement is also the source of terrifying "shadows of the past" memories for Taylor.
The romance between Nick and Taylor is believable and sparkles with good chemistry. The mystery is developed very nicely, with good clues scattered throughout - and I didn't have to skim through too many scary parts!
I also liked how spiritual elements seemed a natural part of the narrative. While Taylor believes in God, she struggles with unanswered prayers in her life, and that's something to which many Christians can relate. And I think it's Nick's honest words that speak to all of us: "I struggled with my faith when Angie died. . . . But in the end, my faith is what sustained me."
I look forward to whatever Patricia has in store for us next - hoping, of course, to see more of these characters. Shadows of the Past is a wonderful debut that I highly recommended to fans of mystery and suspense.
Thank you to Revell for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Psychology professor and criminal profiler Taylor Martin prides herself on being able to solve any crime, except the one she wants most desperately to solve--the disappearance of her father twenty years ago. When she finally has a lead on his whereabouts, Taylor returns home to Logan Point, Mississippi, to investigate. But as she is stalking the truth about the past, someone is stalking her.
Nick Sinclair pens mystery novels for a living, but the biggest mystery to him is how he can ever get over the death of his wife--a tragedy he believes he could have prevented. With his estranged brother the only family he has left, Nick sets out to find him. But when he crosses paths with Taylor, all he seems to find is trouble.
Join the chase as this determined duo search the murky shadows of the past for the keys to unlocking the present and moving into a future filled with new hope and love. Readers will be swept into the sultry South in this debut novel from a promising and already award-winning writer.
My Review:
This book absolutely lived up to the expectations I had for it. While books in this genre tend to move at a breakneck speed, I found that moving at a slower pace was so much better for enjoying the story and all of it's details. With one character searching for her father and the other seeking to resolve his wife's death, the two are bound to cross paths. But when they do, it doesn't go at all the way they expected. The stalker becomes the suspect, and Taylor realized that not everything is as it seems. Nick finds nothing but trouble around Taylor, and the shadows of the past threaten to destroy every chance of a happy future.
Bradley writes characters that are as real as life, and kept me constantly guessing where the story was going. Every time I thought I had the plot nailed, she had something else going on that I didn't see coming. Overall it was well written, well paced, entertaining to read and I thoroughly enjoyed the literary ride.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fine debut indeed

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Debut author Patricia Bradley has penned a suspenseful read with her novel "Shadows of the Past", a book that contains enough twists and turns to satisfy the most voracious reader of romantic suspense novels. Her characters are well-developed and likeable, with plenty of humanness woven in them that makes them believable as they struggle with things we all do. I enjoyed the romantic tension between Nick and Taylor, and also the sub-plots involving their relationships with their various family members, particularly between Nick and his estranged brother. I did find some sections of the book to be slower than others, where there would be really exciting moments followed by some that dragged a bit. However, I thought the end fairly sizzled along and readers will certainly enjoy the ride! I also loved Taylor's role as a criminal profiler, a job that utterly fascinates me, and I thought the author did an excellent job at capturing the realities of what it would be like to do Taylor's work. Bradley also does a fine job at speaking to her character's faith, demonstrating the difference God makes in our lives without coming across as preachy.
I am intrigued to see where Bradley takes her characters next in the series. I strongly recommend this book and this debut author, and award 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Stalker, Mystery Action Adventure Thriller

Date:February 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patricia Bradley in her new book, “Shadows Of The Past” Book One in the Logan Point series published by Revell takes us into the life of Taylor Martin.
From the Back Cover: While she’s stalking the truth…someone is stalking her.
Psychology professor and criminal profiler Taylor Martin prides herself on being able to solve any crime, except the one she wants most desperately to solve–the disappearance of her father twenty years ago. When she finally has a lead on his whereabouts, Taylor returns home to Logan Point, Mississippi, to investigate. But as she is stalking the truth about the past, someone is stalking her.
Nick Sinclair pens mystery novels for a living, but the biggest mystery to him is how he can ever get over the death of his wife–a tragedy he believes he could have prevented. With his estranged brother the only family he has left, Nick sets out to find him. But when he crosses paths with Taylor, all he seems to find is trouble.
Join the chase as this determined duo search the murky shadows of the past for the keys to unlocking the present and moving into a future filled with new hope and love. Readers will be swept into the sultry South in this debut novel from a promising and already award-winning writer.
Welcome to Logan Point. Here the food is served Southern Style and life is a little bit slower. That doesn’t mean, however, that there is no danger. Far from it. ”Shadows Of The Past” is a thriller, no doubt about it. Taylor’s life is in great danger as a stalker is trying to prevent her from finding out the truth. Just when you think you might know where the story is heading Ms. Bradley tosses in another turn which you take at high-speed on two wheels. Ms. Bradley makes her characters so real and you root for them to complete their mission and you root for their romance to blossom. Ms. Bradley knows how to tell a story that keeps you flipping the pages and guessing as to who the bad guys really are. This is a wild ride read and I recommend it highly.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding--great mix of romance and suspense

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taylor Martin is a psychologist and criminal profiler able to solve any crime except the 20 year mysterious disappearance of her father. Nick Sinclair is an author who blames himself for his wife's death and is trying to locate his estranged brother. He crosses paths with Taylor who believes his brother is stalking her and trying to kill her. They are at cross purposes in the search for his brother and in the search for truth of the past and the present.
It is unclear until the end how their relationship will be resolved. Will their past prevent them from trusting themselves and each other? Are they both too stubborn to give in? Patricia Bradley knows how to tell a story. "Shadows of the Past" is a page-turner and hooks you from the beginning. There are many clues as to who the villains are so they are somewhat easy to spot, but the real mystery is how long will it take Taylor and Nick to figure it out. I loved the characters and hope to see Taylor and Nick and their friends make an appearance in additional Logan Point novels.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
jojosutiscorner
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Wow! Wow!
I wasn’t sure what to expect from this newbie author….but wow!
Shadows of the Past is suspenseful, edgy, and mysteriously wonderful!
This story hits the ground running and doesn’t let up.
I loved the characters Taylor and Nick…they are really solid characters that just came to life on the page.
Bradley really kept me guessing through the entire story, she does a great job of casting suspicion here and there.
The second book “A Promise To Protect” releases this fall- I will be first in line to get my copy!
I’m thrilled to have found a new fave suspense author…fans of Lynette Eason, Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, Terri Blackstock- don’t miss Patricia Bradley!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Castle meet Nick....

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
SHADOWS OF THE PAST by Patricia Bradley is an exciting inspirational Romantic Suspense set in where else Logan Point,Mississippi. . #1 in "Logan Point". Fast paced tale of a criminal profiler and an author who pens mystery novels. Think the T.V. series "Castle" and "Criminal Minds". Meet, Taylor Martin, a criminal profiler and Psychology professor and Nick Sinclair, a mystery author.
Join Nick and Taylor on a chase to find a killer, can the past unlock the present? What they find is danger, a stalker, murder, and a budding romance. "Shadows of the Past" is gripping, edge of your seat mystery/suspense. I was hooked from the first page. I can hardly wait for the next installment.
Engaging characters, and an intriguing romance. A must read for any romance, suspense or mystery reader. Well done indeed, Ms. Bradley!
Received for an honest review from the publisher.
*Coming from Revell Books in February*
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great new suspense author

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Psychology professor Taylor Martin has established a reputation as a criminal profiler, something she's kept secret from her family back in Mississippi. Recently,she's begun to be haunted by recurring nightmares, similar to the ones she suffered as a child after his father's disappearance. If only she could find answers to why he suddenly deserted a family he had seemed to love so much. When it appears that a college student might be stalking her, the nightmares increase and Taylor decides it is time to leave Washington for a trip back home. Perhaps this time her extended family will answer her questions about her father. And she will have to share the truth of her career choice.
Behind Nick Sinclair's persona as a successful mystery writer is a very different man. First, he is still grieving the senseless death of his wife and the shattered life he has been left with. When his teenage step brother disappears into a world of drugs and alcohol, Nick seems powerless to intervene. Now, finally after months of searching, Nick has a lead about Scott's whereabouts -- a small college in Washington. Within hours of arriving there, Nick finds that Scott is a suspect in the campus stalking of young professor Taylor Martin and that Scott has again disappeared. Nick assures police and the beautiful young Taylor that Scott would never harm anyone, but keeps hidden a secret -- that the dark words of a poem found in the stalker's last letter are actually words that he himself penned for an unknown story he'd written a few years earlier. Could Scott have found that poem? Could he really be intent on harming the professor?
Patricia Bradley won the 2012 Daphne du Maurier award and the 2012 Touched by Love award, as well as being a finalist for the Genesis award. This is the first book in The Logan Point series. Shadows of the Past is packed with suspense and just enough romance. I never felt the plot or the action scenes were contrived or stretched out like so many recent books I've read. It was edge of the seat and I was never quite sure how the mysteries of the past and present would connect. I just knew that they would! Reading this was a great way to spend a cold, subzero afternoon. I am sure Bradley is set to take her place alongside Terri Blackstock, Dee Henderson, and Dani Pettrey. I know I will be looking for the second book, A Promise to Protect when it comes out in the fall. Thanks Revell for taking on a new author!
I received a copy of this book from Revell for a honest review. All opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Enjoyed this Debut Novel!!

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, there is another author in the suspense/mystery genre that is worth watching out for. Shadows of the Past is a debut novel that I thoroughly enjoyed. Patricia Bradley pulls the reader in and just keeps reeling you along until you are fully enveloped in the story. The plot was very good and the characters were well written. My only difficulty was in how many there were. Kind of a lot to keep up with especially when you don't know who someone is. But, this was very minor and in no way kept me from reading the book. I even had some relatives trying to steal the book while I was in the middle of it:)
I did figure out who dun it before the end but this was so well written you want to figure out the why. I seriously finished this in one day and totally enjoyed it. If you like good heroes and heroines that are strong, you will like this one. And I can't wait for the next book in Logan Point! Might we read more about Livy and Mac? Or possibly Chase? Either way, it will be on my wish list:) Way to go Patricia!!
I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thrilling!!!!!!!

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
TonyaTells
Location:Goldendale, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Psychology professor and criminal profiler Taylor Martin prides herself on being able to solve any crime, except the one she wants most desperately to solve--the disappearance of her father twenty years ago. When she finally has a lead on his whereabouts, Taylor returns home to Logan Point, Mississippi, to investigate. But as she is stalking the truth about the past, someone is stalking her.
Nick Sinclair pens mystery novels for a living, but the biggest mystery to him is how he can ever get over the death of his wife--a tragedy he believes he could have prevented. With his estranged brother the only family he has left, Nick sets out to find him. But when he crosses paths with Taylor, all he seems to find is trouble.
-- Thrilling from the very beginning, I loved each character from this book and I couldn't figure it out until about three fourths of the way through, so that is a good mystery. But there were a few twists and turns in there that every reader should love!
There is mystery, thrilling scenes, a bit of a love connection, mother/daughter/father relationships, friendships... in other words this book has everything a reader could want and more! I really wanted to get to know Taylor better though, I felt like we were always in a whirlwind.
I see potential for another book, as some things have been left a bit undone!!! And that is exciting for this reader! I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shadows of the Past, Logan Point Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great romantic suspense!

Date:February 8, 2014
As a huge fan of romantic suspense, I'm delighted to have discovered a new author! Though Shadows of the Past is Patricia Bradley's debut novel, I was hard pressed to believe it! The suspense was awesome, and the crimes (yes, plural!) were extremely well-developed. I had a hint of who was behind the main crime about midway through, but I was never completely certain until the end. It was fascinating to see how the different cases related.
The romance aspect wasn't as surprising, and there were a couple of times that I was confused by their wishy-washy feelings. I still enjoyed getting to know Nick and Taylor, and they had a sweet connection from the very beginning.
Fans of romantic suspense should definitely check out Shadows of the Past! I'll definitely be reading the next book in this series! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>