Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits

Howard Books Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits

The road to spiritual maturity is paved with life-changing decisions. Travel toward wholeness, growth, and freedom by following Jesus' signposts along the way! Drawing on the Beatitudes, Baker reveals eight positive principles to guide you in making wise choices---leading to hope, healing, and happiness. Discover how to admit your needs, let go, repair relationships, and more. 277 pages, softcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
Review 1 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimmy
Location:Pueblo,CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an outstanding guidebook for a small group especially who desire to celebrate recovery. I have used it in church groups and even in prison ministry effectively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good for new Christians

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda M
Location:Frostburg, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is VERY good for new Christians and people in recovery from many types of abuse. I don't think it is geared toward mature Christians. I tried and tried, but I could not get past chapter 5. I felt like I knew the information. I didn't feel like God was speaking to me through this book like He has so many others.
I did dislike a few things about the book. One, it seems like it is based on the twelve steps of AA, just taken down to eight steps. Two, it REALLY seemed to push Saddleback Church throughout the book (the part that I was able to read). I understand that this book was written by members of the church, but it seemed like the church name was slipped in there as often as possible, and frankly, I felt like they were giving more glory to the church than to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for those who are beginning recovery from addiction. I would recommend this to any organization or individual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel Ting
Only finishing my reading on the 2nd choice but already receiving so many messages from God! Excellent book for healing! I was also able to share the messages in my small group, this book is amazing, and so is God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny West
Excellent book. Helps one understand and recognize Denial in one's life, how to deal with it and issues of the past so that you can let go of the past to enjoy the present and look forward to the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Dorrough
Wonderful book! It shows how to become a healthier person and how to have a better relationship with Jesus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loretta Cochneuer
A "How To" guide based on the Beatitudes for recovery. When you hear recovery you think Alcohol, Drugs and Sex. That and more....recovery from pain, hurts, habits, lost love a child, spouse, family and how to cope with life during and after those events. After reading and executing you feel plugged into God like never before. You don't need to worry about anything, God loves you and is on your side, that is all you need to know and it is all that matters.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life's Healing Choices: Freedom from Your Hurts, Hang-ups and Habits
This review is fromLife's Healing Choices.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jan Thomas
John Baker, founder of Celebrate Recovery, has put together a collection of stories of people who have found release and growth through the principles taught by Jesus and through his transforming grace.The book deals with a number of issues that plague the human experience, especially in today's world. Many have been hurt by those whom they have trusted and, in turn, hurt others by their reactive lifestyle. This book is a practical, theologically balanced and biblically grounded way to find Christ's method of victorious living.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.