Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Replication: The Jason Experiment

Zondervan Replication: The Jason Experiment

Martyr---aka Jason 3:3---is one of hundreds of clones kept on a remote underground Alaskan farm. Created to save humanity, the "boy" wants to see the sky before he "expires." A chance encounter with Abby Goyer opens Martyr's eyes to the sinister realities behind his simple home. Time is running out! Which future will he choose? 304 pages, hardcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Review 1 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling Scifi

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Minneapolis, MN
The opening scene of Replication hooked my interest with a Nazi style medical human experimentation prison. The hero, a 17-year-old called Martyr, was about to be “expired,” echoing “the reaping” in the opening of The Hunger Games. Accordingly I thought I had another futuristic, dystopian tale on my hands, until the heroine, Abby, turns out to be a not so everyday contemporary, seventeen-year-old going about the business of a high school junior with a troubled dad who also happens to be a genetics scientist. The plot thickens as Abby is sucked into the vortex of solving the mysteries surrounding the small Alaskan community of Fishhook. Unexpected turns mark the story as we root more and more for Martyr’s escape, liberation of all the captives and resolution of Abby’s conflicts.
Williamson’s diversifies her characters well, even among clones. Moral All-Star, Martyr, contrasts nicely with the evil Dr. Kane, his creator, and with other clones. The heroine rises above authentic teen struggles and the romantic moments were tastefully and mostly realistically applied. The Christian world view was unflinching, the suspense riveting and the writing compelling. The unique plot forces you to consider some of the moral fallout of human cloning. I loved this book and highly recommend it for young adults and adults alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exponentially Great Book

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Goyer thought uprooting her life and moving across the country to attend high school in Alsaka was change and excitement enough. But when she finds a near-exact replica of her new friend hiding in her bedroom--and learns there are fifty-four more just like him--she realizes life just got exponentially more interesting, and dangerous. In Jill Williamson's latest YA novel, "Replication", the author explores the moral, physical, spiritual, and scientific ramifications of human cloning on the clones themselves as well as the people who come to care about them.
Williamson probes the purposes, plans, goal, and motivations of the average American teenager and how it might look if that teenager had the same DNA as dozons of others and lived in a tighly-controlled laboratory environment. Delving into the hot topices of nature vs. nurture, stem-cell research, human cloning, personality type, the sanctity of human life, and medial ethics, Williamson humanizes the struggles and answers the questions of waht could happen should researchers successfully "farm" human beings.
Williamson excels at crafting interesting, intriguing, and unique characters. From JD Kane, your average teenage jock, to science-minded Abby Goyer, to an array of clones, each one bearing an individual likeness and personality. The author does an exceptional job of bringing to life the character of Martyr and his viewpoint concerning his new experiences in the outside world after having spent nearly eighteen years inside a lab. His analytical mind and his sweet nature shine through as he labors to make connections and understand his new world.
"Replication" is a fresh look at the typical search-for-meaning story and incorporates elements of mystery, suspense, and romance. Both male an female teen readers are sure to enjoy it, as well as adult readers looking for an intriguing and interesting story with characters that come alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Replication

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
myrtia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an exceptional book.
It tackles the theme of cloning and the significance of the human soul and the human life with a vengeance.
And it is filled with action and romance in the tradition of the best of YA fiction.
Martyr is a clone, raised in a "farm" below the ground, among other clones. He has never seen the sun or the moon. He is told he will "expire" on his eighteenth birthday, but in a crazy moment he decides to make a run for it. You see, he wants to see the sky.
He doesn't get to see the sky because it is the nighttime, but he meets Abby, whose father is one of the scientists who work at the "farm". Abby also happens to be a christian who believes in God and trusts that He will find a solution to Martyr's and her family's problems.
And He does.
But first they have to go through being chased by the evil scientists and not being believed by the police and also chaced by some of the other clones and so on...
I was completely immersed in this extraordinary story, and I couldn't imagine what would happen next. I read it complulsively within two days I think. It is written in a very eloquent style, sometimes simplistis maybe, but mostly good and very reaable.
As a christian ya novel, it wasn't preachy at all, in fact I thought that the subject of the Creator and Saviour God was very discreetly and cleverly introduced. After all, a conscientous author who is a true christian couldn't possibly tackle the matter of intervention in creation of man and cloning, without bringing in the Creator Himself and His opinions on man and his soul.
Last but not least, the romance in the story fit very well and was truly heart-warming. It wasn't overly done, just described enough to be believable and cute. To tell the truth, I was absolutely charmed by it.
There was only one problem I had with this book, and unless the author really intended for this to be awful, it is quite a large problem. You see, the only person who didn't handle Martyr's situation right, I mean the only person out of the 'good guys', was the pastor. Now this is a general problem of our age with religious people who only pretend to be good but deep down inside are self-righteous and rotten to the core. The problem is, this pastor person was portrayed as a good guy in the book. Which was a problem.
Distrusting and refusing to help another person, a kid no less who needs your quidance as an adult, and thinking only of how to take care of yourself and your own family... that is not christian behaviour. That is not even ethical behaviour. And no one ever critisized his behaviour in the entire novel. His was a religion of the surface, and his behaviour was the worst specimen of humanity there is out here.
He could learn a thing or two from Martyr, even before Martyr had the chance to read the Bible.
This was an incredible book, and without the preachy, stuck to convention, self-righteous pastor, it would have deserved five stars.
Even so, it is a hundred per cent worth reading, and I would recommend it to anyone,
and especially to teens who love action in their books.
Also, top points for dealing with a hot and difficult subject like cloning.
Rating: 4/5
I received this book from the editor in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story, easy read

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danielle
Location:Missoula, MT
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Martyr (or J:3:3) is one of fifty-five clones living on Jason Farms. The clones know they will “expire” when they turn eighteen to “fulfill their purpose” and cleanse the world of toxic air. Martyr has one wish before expiring: to see the sky.
Abby Goyer has just moved to Fishhook, Alaska. Her dad isn’t telling her about his new job there but Abby knows something strange is going on at the place called Jason Farms.
When Martyr shows up at Abby’s house and tells her about the cloning facility, can the two of them stop the mad scientist and save all the clones before it’s too late?
I received Replication free as a review copy. I’d never read any of Jill Williamson’s work before and I don’t read much science fiction but I really enjoyed reading Replication. It was an interesting, easy read with questions posed throughout about God’s purpose for our lives and the morality of cloning.
The characters all seemed original and 3-D to me. I loved how Martyr was so curious about everyday things like watching TV and wearing socks. I also loved getting to know Abby, a headstrong, scientific seventeen-year-old.
The plot was captivating with a bunch of twists and unexpected things popping up. It kept me turning pages from cover to cover. There were at least two loose ends that weren’t tied up and left me wondering and a bit frustrated about some aspects of the story.
Jill Williamson did a really good job of slipping Christian themes into the story without being at all preachy.
I’d give Replication four out of five stars. Overall, I enjoyed this book and would say it’s earned a place in my favorites pile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Replication is a fun afternoon read

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chawna Schroeder
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While I enjoyed Ms. Williamson’s Blood of Kings trilogy more, I found Replication an enjoyable story. Its humor brought a smile to my lips many times throughout the story, and Martyr captured my heart by page four, like he will capture any reader with a soft spot for underdogs. The plot wasn’t as page-turning as I like, but there’s enough tension to keep you reading.
Overall, Replication is fun read, good for either teens or adults, especially if you like underdog tales.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow, what a winner of a story!

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
writerrick77
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't you just love it when you start a book and absolutely MUST keep going back to it, even when you have other things to do? If so, add Replication to your reading list! Within these pages, author Jill Williamson takes an out-of-this-world premise for a story and plants it into the life of a totally believable 17-year-old girl. The result is an incredible tale that mingles sci-fi with real life in a such a way that you can actually believe these events happening and stunning the world when they hit the headlines. Novels come and go; you'll read many that you'll forget. But I suspect you'll never forget about Jason Farms and what grows there! An adventure that's definitely worth your time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nail biting good time

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shelley Liz
Location:Bethany, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some, including myself, would like to pretend that cloning is just an idea thought up in science fiction to show the pros and cons of man playing God. The idea of cloning a human being is no longer a matter of how it can be done, but when. Replication explores the desire of man to create a carbon copy of himself, but what develops from there is beyond his understanding. Martyr is just another clone, a Jason 3:3 living at a secret lab known only as Jason’s Farm, and he’s about to expire. Though he cowers to the abusive discipline readily given, it doesn’t stop him from knowing right and wrong and trying to protect those of the Jason’s (fellow clones) that are weaker than he. Martyr hungers for knowledge which keeps his curiosity ever reaching for the next experience, so much so that his desire to see the sky before he dies causes him to throw caution to the side and risk everything. He discovers a world that isn’t dying, but very much a live, full of color and nothing like he was told.
Martyr finds an ally in the strangest of places, a daughter of one of the scientists that works at the Farm. At first Abby Goyer doesn’t believe Martyr to be who he says he is, because he looks exactly like a hormone crazed boy from school with his own connections to the Farm. She quickly puts the pieces together and finds herself fighting for a cause--to take down the Farm and bring the scientists behind the cloning to justice. Her strength lies in her faith in God, knowing right and wrong. She feels more in control looking at life in black and white--pros and cons. Abby is surprised to meet a clone who not only has a mind of his own, but is curious to know more about the God. Can something that is synthetically made have a soul…a desire to seek God’s love and accept his salvation. Can a clone be saved?
The amazing twist to this story is that no matter how life begins, free will and a desire for something more is always possible. Martyr discovers a strength he never new existed and Abby finds her world could use a little more gray area. She starts out to save Martyr from a fate worse than death only to learn something she didn’t realize was lacking from her life…Mercy.
Replication is a great new twist on an old idea. Just when you think they get away, they are caught, and just when you think there’s no hope, something happens to tip the scale. You have no idea how it will end until it finally does. Don't cheat and read the last page either, you'll miss out on a fantastic read if you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced and surprisingly tender

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Morrill
Location:Overland Park, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had never read a book about cloning and had no idea what to expect, but I love Jill Williamson's fantasy series and was eager to read this. I expected it to be full of adventure - which it was - but I was caught off guard by the sweetness of the story. I really loved Martyr's world view. His character tugged my heart strings. Abby is a wonderful heroine, feisty and tough, but also big hearted. I loved how she cared for Martyr. I finished this book satisfied, but the characters have stuck with me and I can't help hoping for a sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Sci-Fi I've read in Ages!

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryRuth
Location:Midwest
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, I loved this book. The characters were all remarkably well-developed - even Martyr, who naturally has some peculiarities from living in an underground laboratory his whole life. The plot was straightforward and clear-cut, another plus. (I occasionally get tired of plots with so many twists and turns that by the end you can't even remember what the initial point was.) The writing was very skillful, another huge plus.
In this story, the author dealt with the highly controversial issue of cloning with skill, honesty, and grace, which I found highly refreshing. She doesn't mince words, and she calls things what they are, which I admire, but she did it all without sounding in the least 'preachy' or militant about it.
One or two things that bothered me:
First, there were several kiss scenes between teenagers. They were nothing humongous or grossly over-the-top, just straightforward kisses, but they still bothered me, since both characters were Christians.
The only other thing is a pet-peeve annoyance for me, more than anything else. The character Abby - who has studied crime for years and should know better - lets herself get pushed around very easily by a guy from her school who follows her around uninvited and even ends up forcing his way into her house. Abby isn't happy about it, but she doesn't do anything about it. There were several instances in which she should have thrown the creep out of her house at knife-point and called the cops on him, but she did nothing. It made me highly irritated at her.
Aside from those two little issues, though, I really, really enjoyed this book. I honestly couldn't put it down - and it takes a special book to captivate me that completely. I wouldn't recommend this book for younger readers, certainly. But for anyone 16 and up, this would make a fantastic read. I definitely recommend that you check it out at the first opportunity you get!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Page Turner

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Back Blurb:
MARTYR--otherwise known as Jason 3:3--is one of many clones kept in a remote facility called Jason Farms. Told that he has been created to save humanity, Martyr has just one wish before he is scheduled to "expire" in less that a month. To see the sky.
Abby Goyer may have just moved to Alaska, but she has the feeling something strange is going on at the farm where her father works. But even this smart, confident girl could never have imagined what lies beneath a simple barn. Or what would happen when a mysterious boy shows up at her door, asking about the stars.
As the reality of the Jason Experiment comes to light, Martyr is caught between two futures--the one for which he was produced, and the one Abby believes God created him to have. Time is running out, and Martyr must decide if a life with Abby is worth leaving everything he's ever known.
WHEN YOUR LIFE IS NOT YOUR OWN
My Review:
I really enjoyed (no, LOVED) Jill Williamson's book 'By Darkness Hid' so when I got the chance to review her book in my favorite genre (Science Fiction, btw) I was so happy! This book ROCKED! Follow Martyr a.k.a. Jason 3:3 and Abby Goyer as they try to thwart the evil scientists from creating (and killing) a whole race of clones made for one purpose. The Purpose? I can't tell you that. I give away to much. ;) But I will say this-you will NOT be disappointed. If you are a HUGE Sci-fi fan (like me) definitely check this book out! Jill Williamson is an AWESOME writer!!! (I hope there's a sequel...)
~B
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Christianity meets Dystopian/Sci-Fi

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first read about this novel , I was excited as I love novels about Genetics and Modification but then when I discovered that Zondervan were publishing it , I was intrigued as to what the novel would be about and how captivating it would turn out to be.
In Replication , we meet a series of people who have been genetically made and are called the Jasons . They have been bred and taught that they are saving Mankind from the toxic air that breathes outside in "our world" . Replication follows one of the Jasons 3:33 aka Martyr , as a Jason they are to live till their eighteenth birthday and then they expire and die . To them , it is what God has made their purpose to be. When a new doctor arrives, Mr Goyer - Martyr starts to feel a connection with the doctor and vice versa , Marytr's one wish besides hoping someone to look after Baby and Hummer when he is gone is to see the "real sky" . When Abby Goyer decides to investigate and discover what her father's job really is , she is surprised to discover genetic modification etc going on and soon Abby comes face to face with Martyr and for a Jason , Martyr and Abby really hit it off. It seems that Martyr is involved in an experiment titled "The Jason Experiment". As the reality of the Jason Experiment comes to light, Martyr is caught between two futures---the one for which he was produced and the one Abby believes God created him to have. Time is running out, and Martyr must decide if a life with Abby is worth leaving everything he's ever known.
An interesting story about two different people who have lead two very different lives both discovering that God does have a purpose for everyone of us and that sometimes in order for the individual to discover their purpose , we all need a little boost from a friend to point us in the right direction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-provoking future

Date:February 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
susanajl
Location:Springfield, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My teenage sons and I read this and all enjoyed it. (My 13-year-old did think there was too much kissing, but I did not have that same reaction from my 17-year-old.) It has spurred conversations about the worth of all human life and how just as God made twins unique, so clones could be unique beings too. A quick and compelling read, I think it could easily be used for book groups or even Bible studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome, Wonderful Story!

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie Dickerson
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replication is a great story, full of exciting and dramatic twists. If you like suspenseful, meaningful stories, you will love this one.
Abby Goyer is a high school student who is dealing with the death of her mother and also with the fact that her father has been involved in some unethical research practices at work. Now that he's moved them to Alaska, things really get weird. Especially when she discovers a kid who looks exactly like the creepy jock at her school. And then she finds out that he's a clone from a nearby lab. But this clone is way nicer than the guy at her school.
I love the brilliant way the author shows that your DNA doesn't determine how nice a person you are. Each person chooses for him or herself whether to do the right thing, to be kind and compassionate or to be cruel and selfish. It was also really fascinating the way she explored what it would be like for a person to grow up without ever seeing the outside world, never being exposed to colors or even people of the opposite sex--and never knowing about their Creator God. It's a really thought-provoking read and also very exciting and entertaining. I highly recommend it for both adults and teens.
And if you haven't seen the video trailers, search for them on YouTube. Just type in Replication: The Jason Experiment. Really great trailers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A tale that is masterfully weaved

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cryptic Midnight Shadow
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replication by Jill Williamson Review
Replication by Jill Williamson is a story about a clone nicknamed Martyr who just wants to see the sky before he “expires.” He then runs into a young woman named Abby Goyer. Soon, they unravel the mystery behind Jason Farms, the place where Martyr comes from. The story gets more intense once they are on the run from Dr. Kane, the founder of Jason Farms. Martyr will now have to choose between serving the purpose for which he was made by Dr. Kane, or to serve God`s purpose.
The characters are just like anyone else, which makes it easy to step into their shoes. Martyr`s innocence adds to the humor of the book. He is just like a four year old, curious about the world and everything in it. He is a sweet character that you will love from the moment you meet him. He is a character you will want to defend, want to save, from Jason Farms. Out of the two, he was my favorite. Abby is an average Christian high school kid.
This book is filled with suspense, action and humor. This tale grips the reader and keeps them until the end. It is fast paced so the reader will not get bored. The end leaves the reader satisfied, yet there is enough room for there to be a sequel. I would recommend this book to anyone from 15 and up. A tale that is masterfully weaved, action packed, and shares the message of Jesus, Jill Williamson is now on my list of favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Discovering Your Purpose

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Laurie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Abby Goyer's life has been turned upside down. Her mom died a year ago, her dad is consumed with work and his grief, and her dad's new job has transferred them from Washington D.C. to Alaska. Talk about a change of scenery. But with the change in scenery comes new secrets. Dr. Goyer's job at a place called "Jason Farms" is top secret, and when Abby discovers a young man in her room named Martyr who claims he's a clone from the Jason Farms, well, things start to get alot more interesting.
All his life, Martyr had been told by doctors that he and the other clones of the Jason Farms had one purpose to fulfill: to expire on their eighteenth birthday in order to save the people on the outside from the toxic air. But when Martyr sneaks outside to fulfill his wish of seeing the stars at least once before he dies, he discovers his life at the Jason Farms has been a lie, and his purpose may be something far different than he could have imagined.
One thing I can always count on when I read a story by Jill Williamson (Christy award-winning author of the Blood of Kings trilogy) is that I'm going to fall in love with the characters. Replication is no different. Abby is a feisty yet vulnerable heroine with very human emotions and reactions to the people and circumstances around her. But it was Martyr that I wanted to wrap up and bring home with me. He was so sweet! His child-like innocence made me smile constantly, and his strength and leadership qualities reveal the man he is rapidly becoming.
Parts of the story were hard to read because of circumstances that happen mentally and physically to some of the characters. I winced more than once. But these things show how dire the situations are and how high the stakes. The heart-pumping, fast-moving plot combined with the loveable characters make Replication a fun and thought-provoking read. I want a sequel just so I can visit with Martyr and Abby some more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this but it needed to be longer! I wanted more dialogue between Abby & Martyr and more description of Alaska. (Hopefully a sequel is forthcoming) The interaction between Abby and her peers is the strongest part of this story. Abby immediately attracts the attention of JD, a rich, popular jock who is also smart. Oh no, triple threat! JD's problem is that he can't make up his mind whether to be a jerk or a likable guy. Abby doesn't want to write him off without reason, but she is determined not to be taken advantage of. It's refreshing to read about a girl who isn't just another victim. The contrast between JD and Martyr and how they treat Abby is very well done. I hope I haven't seen the last of the Jasons!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What kind of experiment hides at the Farm?

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Goyer’s scientist dad just started working at a remote Alaskan “Farm,” which she finds suspicious. While she tries to fit into her new high school, she also attempts to uncover what’s going on below the barn. Yep, the insidious experiment is hidden underground.
Dozens of Jason clones are being raised there “to save humanity,” or so they are told. But their lives are devoid of color and sensory pleasure, not to mention females. When Martyr, known as J:3:3, manages to escape he is astounded by the “real” world. Believing he will die in the poison air, he takes the risk so he can see the sky before he expires.
When Abby discovers this mysterious boy, who looks just like the popular jock chasing after her, life takes another unexpected turn as the suspense and adventure accelerate. This scifi thriller makes readers want to race through its pages to find out what will happen next.
Jill Williamson, winner of two Christy awards, is an incredible writer. I enjoyed an early version of this manuscript and am glad to see it in print, in hardback no less. Replication is entertaining, but also contains truths to ponder. Fiction is a great way to approach the issue of human cloning and the spiritual ramifications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Replication: A Great Read!

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
CherylSec
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the book, Replication, Jill Williamson has created an intriguing storyline. What if someone succeeded in the cloning of human beings? What then? How would science and society deal with these copies of a person? The author takes this topic and puts a very "human" touch to it by giving a face and soul to the character of the clone.
J:3:3 or Martyr is one of many human clones who live in a bland, underground world. He accepts his one purpose in life: "To be a sacrifice for those who live outside." His one wish is to see the sky before he expires at the age of eighteen.
Abby Goyer, still recovering from the loss of her mother, is uprooted from the busy pace of Washington D.C. and relocated to Fishhook, Alaska. Her scientist father has accepted a job at a secret facility called Jason Farms.
As Abby searches to find out more about Dr. Goyer's new position, it leads her into unbelievable discoveries. She meets Martyr and seeks to free him from this underground prison. Through meeting Abby, Martyr learns that God has a different and greater purpose for his existence.
I really enjoyed Replication. The storyline is packed with adventure, suspense, and even romance. The characters are varied and have depth. It's a well written book that kept me turning the pages. I didn't want to put it down. A great read! I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What would you do to save the same life times 55?

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
REPLICATION
By Jill Williamson
What would be your greatest wish if you knew your life would end in 25 days? For Martyr his wish is to see the sky. Martyr lives on Jason Farms and he is about to fulfill his life's purpose, he will extend the life of those who live on the surface in the toxic air. Martyr's official designation is J:3:3 and he is quickly approaching his experation date – his 18th birthday.
Dr. Goyer, Jason Farms newest scientist, has just moved to Fishhook, Alaska with his daughter Abby. As Dr. Goyer settles into his new job, Abby has to adjust to life as the newest junior at Fishhook High School.
At school Abby has attracted the unwanted attention of Fishhok heartthrobe J.D. Kane, but Abby is determined to focus on school and not J.D. But J.D. is persistent and Abby's partner in a science project. Abby befriends Kylee who asks for her help with Calculus and Abby is more than happy to comply. When J.D. shows up at Abby's house to work on their project she asks Kylee to come over to study so that Kylee will be protection against J.D. But when Dr. Goyer gets home he makes J.D. and Kylee leave as he doesn't want Abby have friends over when she is unchaperoned!
Abby is embarassed and angry so she storms upstairs to her room and hiding in the corner is J.D.! But when she gets a call from J.D. asking her to bring his forgotten school books out to him she is mystified. How did J.D. manage this and why does the J.D. in her room have a shaved head? When Abby questions this new J.D. he tells her his name is Martyr and he hide in her father's truck all the way from Jason Farms. When Abby hears this she is determined to find out what her father is involved in and the truth about this J.D. look-alike. Abby hides Martyr whom she calls Marty in her room so that her father doesn't discover him.
But when Jason Farms discovers Martyr's disappearance most of the staff is sent home early and Dr. Goyer discovers Martyr hiding in his house. When Abby arrives home from school minutes later she confronts her father about his work at Jason Farms. Abby convinces her father to give her time to help Marty and the other 50 plus clones, though he thinks it will be useless. Dr. Goyer then removes Martyr's tracking device and shock restraint. Abby then takes Marty to Kylee's brother - Pastor Scott.
Pastor Scott doesn't believe Abby that Martyr is not J.D. but he agrees that Martyr can spend the night. Martyr then asks Pastor Scott questions about God, questions that Abby couldn't adequently answer for him. Pastor Scott then gives him a Bible to read. As Martyr reads through the night he decides that Abby is the embodiment of love as described in First Corinthians 13:4 – 8.
The next afternoon Pastor Scott takes Martyr to Fishhook High to see if there really is a second J.D. Kane. He parks next to J.D.'s car and when J.D. sees him he attacks Martyr. Abby tells J.D. that his father is making clones and that J.D. himself is most likly a clone!
Abby has Pastor Scott take her and Marty back to her house. But as she waits for her father someone comes to her house and this someone is determined to get Marty! As guards from Jason Farms break into her home she and Marty escape into the woods behind her home and Kylee comes pick them up. As they try to decide what to do, Abby tells Kylee about Marty and that he is someones experiment and that he is going to be killed if he goes back. Kylee agrees to help Abby and Marty prove the existance of Jason Farms and the illegal practices going on there. But as the threesome get closer to finding the evidence they need Abby and Marty are taken into custody by the Fishhook police force. Dr. Kane reported that his son was a runaway who was off his medication. The police turned Marty over to Dr. Kane thinking he was J.D. No one would listen or believe Abby that Marty was a clone and he was about to be killed for his organs!
When the police let Abby go she heads towards Kylee's house as she still can't get in touch with her dad, but someone runs her off the road. Security guards from Jason Farms have captured her and are taking her to the Farm! When Abby is taken into the underground facility she see that both her father and Marty are in Dr Goyer's office with Dr Kane. Dr Kane is preparing to shut down Jason Farms due to Abby's meddling. As insurance to keep Dr. Goyer in line Dr. Kane has a sample of Abby's blood taken for possible cloning and experimentation!
But Dr. Goyer and Martyr have a plan to escape the facility and to destroy Dr. Kane's research. But will their plan work and how will they save all the Jasons and Abby before it is to late? And what of the other facilities under Dr. Kane's leadership?
Replication is a true lesson in sacrifical love and turning the other cheek. What is more important to Christ knowing Him or living as He lived? Replication also makes us ask ourselves are there lines that medicine and science should never cross and who should determine these boundaries? What gives a life its worth and how do we define life? Replication is a thought provoking book that makes us question the world we live in and the idea of life at all costs!
I received this book as an Advanced Reviewer Copy for review purposes in Digital Format from the publisher. A favorable review was not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Replication: The Jason Experiment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Replication Is Superlative Read

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reviews By Ann
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replication makes cloning sound real. Riveting characters grabbed me from the start and never let me go with romance, suspense, and exotic settings. Even the bad guys felt real. I will absolutely read another Williamson title.
The faith aspect of the story was organic and flowed naturally from the characters. Regardless of one’s religious beliefs, Replication stands on its own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>