Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover

Abingdon Press The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover

The New Interpreter's Study Bible brings the best of biblical scholarship to the service of the Church. In this new study Bible, based on The New Revised Standard Version of the Bible with Apocrypha, sixty distinguished scholars have provided background and insight on the biblical text. Features of this valuable new study Bible include extensive historical and theological annotations on the biblical text; brief introductions and outlines for each biblical book; excursuses giving further background and insight regarding particular themes and passages; and nineteen newly commissioned maps detailing the biblical world at various historical periods.

  • Double-column format
  • Canons of Scripture
  • 9 Point text
  • Secitonal headings
  • Book introductions and Outlines
  • Black letter edition
  • 19 color maps with index
  • "Guides for Interpretation
    • Reliability of Scripture
    • Authority of the Bible
    • Inspiration of Scripture
    • Guidelines for Reading and Interpretation
    • Varieties of Readings and Interpretations of the Biblical Text
    • Culture and Religion Among Ancient Israelites
  • Glossary
  • Old and New Testament Chronologies
  • Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Review 1 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marla
Location:Smithville, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In our Bible study we are studying the new testament. This Interpreters Study Bible has such good footnotes and I use them all the time. I'm so happy with this choice of a study bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent commentary

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Booksmith
Location:Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study Bible is the first one I have bought where I love the commentary! Also NRSV is my favorite version. This Bible is hard to find, but I had no problem finding it at www.christianbook.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cheap Flimsy leather

Date:August 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rev W Steele
Location:Quatz Hill, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on the leather version. The hardback would hold up better.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best NRSV Study Biblkes I have seen!

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
BobK
Location:Trenton, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best NRSV study Bibles. As a seminary student it is my constant companion and full of my own personal notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Bible is beautiful and well made.

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane
Location:Racine, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this Bible. It appears well made, leather is soft, and the name imprinting was done well.
Service from CBC was very quick and efficient.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Information in an Average Package

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hanleyes
Location:South Milwaukee, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I have to say that the content of this bible is excellent. It has great notes, the most of any NRSV study Bible. It has great commentary and the excursus notes are nice additions for a little deeper understanding. If you want a balanced study Bible that give most of the interpretations and can be critical of the text as well by referencing other translations as well with a great list of contributors this is the one for you. HOWEVER, there is a downside -- in this case the gold is plated with the sterling silver. The book is leather, but the leather is not very good quality. It is thick and VERY stiff and makes that creaky noise leather jackets make when you move it around. It isn't folded the best on the corners either and the gilding looks like spray paint. However I must say each Bible has an interesting character about it. So if you don't mind this, GET THIS BIBLE, the content is amazing!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
sis1
Location:Tillsonburg, Ontario, Can.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this Bible. It, along with my Precept Study Bible will be a great help in my studies of the Bible. I think they compliment each other.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Clark Niepert
I'm enjoying using this Bible very much in my Bible study class. It's just what I needed. It's a little heavy but there is lots of information in there and I'm really enjoying that. I was also happy at how quickly the package came. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marcy Morris
This is a very hard Bible to find. I am so glad I thought of Christianbooks. The price is very good also. I
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Rolland French
An Amazingily complete piece!!!I don't know of many better, Its not for carting around, It's large and heavy but its as heavy academically as it is on the scale!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Goodnight
An excellent study Bible. Excellent notes Excellent notes, based on sound scholarship, yet clear and meaningful. A good Bible to give to High School graduates as it can be used not only as their personal Bible but it will meet the requirements for courses in Bible or Religion offered at an accredited school.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Saunders
A scholarly study Bible written from a liberal perspective. You will not find it useful if you are looking for a translation and notes that are shaped from an inerrant and conservative standpoint. Also, please be aware that the NRSV goes out of its way to be politically correct. I do value it as a balance, e.g., with the Macarthur Study Bible.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joann Edwards
This is such a nice Study Bible. It's been a really big help with our Disciple Study Class. It's really an easy read with good insight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
Richard Burrage
I ordered this Bible, and it was missing the book of Acts, and it had the book of Luke twice. It does have some good information about the books in the Apocrypha.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
Heather Grant
I love it! I have several versions, but this one seems to have it all. What's better than a new Bible. I can't wait to mark it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2007
This is one of the best study Bibles I ever found in the market. The notes are very good and not less than the notes of the multivolume commentary set, and are concise but incredibly thorough. They are critical, honest, and sober. It is also more neutral than the New Oxford Annotated Bible (third edition) and the HarperCollins Study Bible( too liberal that does not look like a christian book!!). Those that are too "liberal" may not like it because it does have some pretty orthodox on certain topics. Those that are too "conservative" may not like it because it is still a critical Bible. But those who sit on the fence will love it.I buy it because it does give some spiritual insights into Scripture that other critical Bibles do not. I love it because I have an historically and theologically honest Bible that covers everything I want to know. Other Bibles are too narrow minded, I think, either in their so-called conservatism, or so-called liberalism. Highly recommend without reservation!!!!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The New Interpreter's Study Bible (NRSV with the Apocrypha), hardcover
This review is fromNRSV New Interpreter's Study Bible with the Apocrypha, Genuine leather, Black.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2003
For those who have enjoyed the New Interpreter's Bible, or those who cannot afford the complete set, this Study Bible provides a reasonably compact, well written commentary on the Scriptures. Like its big brother, the contributors reflect a variety of viewpoints from liberal to conservative which is both its strength and its weakness. Overall, I found it to be an excellent resource and study Bible.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.