Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Common Sense Press Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Review 1 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Lesson - Just questions

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JustMe
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The very first question, with no introduction what-so-ever, is "What is a short story and how does it differ from a research paper, poem, or biography?" That's what this should be teaching. Not just asking straight off the bat and then having a paragraph answer for the teacher to look up.
We're going to fight through this book this year but we won't be buying anything else in this series. The answers/lessons are in tiny bites as answers to questions, not actual teaching text. Unless you have a very accelerated learner expect use this book only as a guideline for questions to ask while you figure out how to actually teach the information.
Fails horribly as a curriculum.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid literature program (but needs reworking...)

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MommaBear5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Content - fantastic! Literature choices - fabulous! Lay-out/format - In my opinion, needs reworking. The answers are at the end of every lesson in the guidebook. (There is not a teacher manual and then another student book; it is all just one book.) How do I give my child the book to read the questions and do the assignments, but not see the answers? I REALLY love this curriculum, and it is FANTASTIC in every other way.... a definite 'thumbs up' as far as content and quality of the curriculum.... but I would really, really love if Common Sense Press would have the 'common sense' to reprint this book and separate the answers out into a separate paper booklet (similar to Wordly Wise 3000 answer keys... paper, inexpensive, but separate!)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book for High School Homeschool

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cynjo7
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this book and it meets the need for high school level American literature. The only thing I don't like is that the answers are also in the book which means I must copy the lessons. It would be so much more user friendly if a separate, small "answer key" book was provided. Answers are on the back of some of the lessons, so they cannot be easily removed from the book.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Classic, simple and effective

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
luckyleaf2
I like the classic, simple and effective style of this book. I enjoy using this book very much.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

overall very good

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
deedee
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like everything about it except I don't like that answers are in the same book as assignments.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
I like the works chosen in this book for the high school level. It does have good thought provoking questions and covers literary terms very well. The disadvantage of this as an American Literature overview is that it does not discuss the literary periods, something that a student should be familiar with if he is college bound. For that BJU's American Lit or James Stobaugh's American Literature would be useful.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Patricia Jaquish
My 15 year old daughter says that it is really advanced but that she likes it. We have always used another program so this is a bit different.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Learning Language Arts Through Literature: American Lit. Gold Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2002
Customer Avatar
Kelly Glenn
This is a really good curriculum. My daughter is in 11th grade and it is challenging for her yet she is basically doing it on her own with my oversight. Lot's of good classic stories with thought provoking questions. The only complaint I have is trying to locate all the books needed when you need them! You really have to plan ahead if you are going to use the public library. We ended up purchasing a lot of the books due to not being able to find them when needed. I plan on using this with my other kids when they reach High school.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.