Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue

Zondervan NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue

Grow into the young man God wants you to be Dig deep into God's Word and learn amazing new facts, discover inspiring people and stories, and uncover all kinds of stuff that you never ever imagined was in the Bible. Helpful, fun, and often downright astonishing, the NIV Boys Bible features unique and meaningful content.

Features include:
  • What's the Big Deal?—Need-to-know biblical stories and people
  • Check It Out—Interesting and funny facts about Bible times and characters
  • Grossology—Gross and gory stuff you never knew was in the Bible
  • Makin' It Real—Help for applying Bible stories to your everyday life
  • Hundreds of highlighted verses worth memorizing
  • Introductions to each book of the Bible
  • Presentation page
  • Complete NIV text
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
Review 1 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product gets it done...

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
nana
Location:Madera, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't tell you how excited I was to see the features in this boys bible. Then when my grandson opened it and said, "this is just what I wanted". It made my day. I mean the explanation sites are awesome. Great words! I would highly recommend this bible for boys ages 8 - I don't know, he will love it forever. But maybe 14. I wrote a special verse for him in there. Thank you for the opportunity to expound!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Good Book

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
ElisaSpring
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son enjoys reading and has alot of faith in God. This bible is perfect for him and explains things on his level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Miles
Location:N.E. PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my 10yr. old son and he loves how easy it is to read of course he doesn't mind how it looks either. A bible that he can grow with. Very well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for a 10-year-old boy

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’d been wanting to upgrade my son to an “older” bible, as he’s been getting too old VeggieTales one. ;-)
This one is perfect! I love that he has the full Word, the same text that I have in my bible. He feels good about having this new bible, and the cover looks “guy.” He loves the “grossology” sections, which expand on something from a passage that is truly gross. And the “What’s the Big Deal” sections that appear every four pages give further thought into passages.
He knows that it really doesn't matter what kind of bible he has, that reading God’s Word is all that truly matters, but I think this particular bible makes him smile and go looking to connect in his own 10-year-old way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Bible for Tween Boys!

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This masculine, tire-tread cover in black and gray makes this Bible appealing to young boys. The inside pages are written in navy blue with rusty orange highlights to catch their attention and make the Bible more exciting to read.
The content features are relevant to how boys think (grossology) and yet get to the heart of Biblical issues for their own lives. Headings introduce the topics discussed in each chapter, which helps them recall what they just read. I would like to have seen a section that helps boys learn how to tell the Bible story in their own words, preparing them to be effective leaders and teachers.
I especially love all the different features listed below, as they prompt a more active role on the part of the boys to grow stronger in the Lord and be a doer of His Word!
The features included are:
* Book Introductions–Who, What, When, Where. and Why?
* Words to Live By–Hundreds of highlighted verses worth memorizing
* What’s the Big Deal?–Need-to-know biblical stories and people
* Check It Out–Interesting and fun facts about Bible times and characters
* Grossology–Gross and gory stuff they never knew was in the Bible
* Makin’ It Real–Help for applying Bible stories to their everyday lives
At the end of the Bible are the following features:
Table of weights and measures
The ABCs of becoming a Christian
Through the Bible in a year Bible plan
Promises from the Bible
Perspectives from the Bible
Several pages for personal notes
The NIV Boys Bible has been written for tween boys between the ages of 9-12. As a parent, I would love a Bible like this to challenge my son(s) to grow stronger in the Lord and be a doer of His Word!
A great gift just in time for Easter!
Special thanks to Diane Morrow of The B&B Media Group for sending me a review copy. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Teen Bible

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing boys bible...able to keep them searching for more. Throughout the bible there are Check It Out...with fascinating facts and trivia. Grossologs...a boys word for sure!...If it oozes, bleeds, smells, spine tingling, its in the bible. Words To....is words to live by, verses to keep God's Word in your heart.
I have a young man in mind to give this to, I think it is ideal for a young teen. I feel that this book will captivate the young mind and make them delve in for more.
I received this book from Zonderkidz, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cool Bible for boys!

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys had a pretty cool Bible when they were younger. Being so adventurous, I thought the cover art fit them perfectly. Well, let me tell you, they are teenagers now and when I opened up this NIV Boys Bible they agreed that it is “way cooler” than their old ones were! With the steel diamond tread on the cover, to the cool looking pages inside, it appeals to all things inherent in boys. There are images of gears highlighting most of the in-text sections, but the biggest hit is the oozing slime embellishing the Grossology sections. I know. Pretty cool, huh? Boys like gross things at young ages and God didn’t leave out the gross things in life in His Word!
Sections in the back include a Table of Weights and Measures, The ABC’s of Becoming a Christian, Through the Bible in a Year, Promises from the Bible, Perspectives from the Bible, and a few pages for taking notes.
Overall, this is a great edition for young boys between 9 and 12. The only feature missing that would have been a must for my boys (as they pointed out to me) is the fact that there are no maps. No maps?! Boys love maps! Even a single good one would have been sufficient. But, don’t let that deter you from buying this Bible because you can always buy a really cool map and hang it on their wall :)
Thanks to Rick Roberson of the B&B Media Group for my review copy. I was not required to write a positive review, just my honest opinion. No compensation has been received.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible for boys (& maybe grown men too...)

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My greatest wish for my children is that they have a close, intimate relationship with God - and I am firmly convinced that the NIV Boys Bible can help my son achieve that goal! The name really says it all - this Bible is designed, from front to back, to capture the interest of pre-teen boys - and it absolutely succeeds! Not only does it have a cool cover that will have it's owner showing off this Bible to friends, but it is filled with fantastic features that will make him devour the book front to back. Even as a grown man, I have to admit I enjoyed the "grossology" sections, such as the one in Ezekiel 4:12 where it explains that God had told Ezekiel to burn human excrement to cook his food. Eeeeew! Other great features include things like the "Makin' it real sections", which help the reader apply the passage to a modern type situation and provides greater insight to the passage. I also liked the "Words to Live by" inserts that highlight key verses that make great memorization aids! Finally, the NIV translation that is paired with all of these great features makes for an easy-to-read and understandable version of the Bible that will have the readers devouring the words with delight!
I highly recommend this Bible and grant it 5 out of 5 stars. And...my son better be careful that this Bible doesn't mysteriously end up at his father's bedside!
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Zondervan, and the B&B Media group, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NIV Boys Bible (hard cover)

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it's always difficult to market a bible to little kids. It's a little like getting socks for Christmas. I mean for one... it's a book. There are not many books that elicit squeals of joy when a kid get a "book" as a gift. And second... it's the bible. But I have to say Zonerkidz have done a really excellent job with this Boys NIV bible.
My son is too young for it, but my wife and I bought for our good friend's eight year old son, and looking through the pages, he was honestly impressed with it. And I can understand part of it, you know? No longer does your bible have pictures in it, or is it "missing parts." Now your bible is just like your Dad's and it's all there for you to read whenever you want.
This bible is fun, silly at times, entertaining, filled with great extras and of course, it's God's word. Plus I think some of these kid bibles get dated with "hip verbiage." Nobody is going to buy an Xtreme Faith bible in 2012 are they? But this bible is brand new and will speak to your young man for many years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Boys Bible, Italian Duo-Tone, Slate Blue
This review is fromNIV Boys Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Bible Designed for Making the Bible Real

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zonderkidz has done it again. “The NIV Bible” is designed for pre-teen boys and is a sure front-runner for engaging them in digging into the Word. The attractive colorful page layout with a variety of formatted features immediately catches the eye, piques curiosity, and immediately grabs attention.
Highlights that especially caught my eye include: The “What’s the Big Deal,” “Makin’ It Real,” and “Words to Live By.” These unique features draw the reader into the stories and people of the Bible, provide important principles for application, and promise to claim personally.
The hundreds of highlighted verses and introductions to each of the books of the Bible encourage the development of scripture memorization and a lifelong study of the Word of God.
A contemporary Bible translation is an imperative for everyone. This Zonderkidz NIV Boys Bible is an ideal choice for every preteen boy in your family, church, or school. A perfect gift for any occasion. Highly recommended.
A complimentary copy of this Bible was provided by the B&B Media Group for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.