Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Windblown Media So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore

Windblown Media So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore

Overworked, disillusioned pastor Jake Colsen stumbles upon an angry discussion between people who hate church and an unusual stranger---the apostle John. As he and Jesus' beloved disciple become friends, John challenges Jake to open his heart to Christ's deep love. Will Jake's newfound understanding sustain him through a family crisis and transform his flagging faith? 192 pages, softcover from Windblown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.811 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Review 1 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and heart-opening book - a MUST read

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gracentruth
Location:South Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone wondering why they seem frustrated with the status quo of "church", or seeking that deeper relationship with God, this book is a must read. The depth of the love of the Father and the truth presented will set you free to be - wherever you are. Whether inside or outside the traditional brick-and-mortar building, you ARE the church. The truth that nothing I do will cause God to love me any more, or love me any less is a powerful tool for propelling us forward in our relationship with Him. Well written, the name is a bit of a curiosity, however! Loved the e-book so much, but wanted a copy to "highlight", so I ordered 3 printed books! One for me, one for the spouse and one to give away! Should have bought more of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an AMAZING book

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased several of these books after reading it and although we received the order a couple of weeks ago the copies have been passed around our Sunday School class already. Our friends have read it and passed it on and commented on what a great, easy read it is. I am also on a Christian forum and the book was recommended by people on there who I have never met and are scattered across the globe. If you haven't read it - it is a MUST.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Searching for more than church?

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diana Katkout
Location:Egypt
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has helped me come to peace with my questions, thoughts and struggles. It has helped me see the problem more clearly and has given me clues to the way out!
Although I disagree with a couple of points in the book, I'd strongly recommend it to anyone who's searching for more than traditional church hierarchy, meetings, teachings, ministries, and even Bible study groups! If you're digging deeper and are thirsty for more of God, yet church teachings make you feel as if you fall way too short of God's measures which leaves you with heavy sense of guilt, this book is going to show you how to trust His ability to accomplish His purpose in you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unexpected story line and Pleasantly Surprised!

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annette A
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Contains a wonderful challenge to each who read this book! Life lesson and wonderful words of wisdom! It an unexpected story line and I did not want the book to end! We need a sequel to Jake's adventure!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Noticer meeys Crazy Love

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Location:Smithfield, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore, Jake Colsen, an associate pastor at an everyday church, fosters a friendship with a strange and wise middle-aged man. This man named John opens up Jake to many problems in the church that have been bubbling under the surface. What ensues is a journey of faith for Jake as he abandons the hollow-hearted church in search of something more. I found this book to be convicting, challenging and inspirational. Wayne Jocabsen presents many problems that are overlooked in many churches, and shows the reader the solution: the love of Christ. The author continually expresses that the love of Christ should be our motivation in church, and explains that without it, we're dead inside. This book exceeded my expectations, and I hope that you will find it the same.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has 'freed me up'

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marchien Marshall
Location:MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book affirmed me. I have been struggling for some time. I feel 'freed up' and it has made me more thirsty for God. To seek first His kingdom. I would recommend reading at the authors website for more explanation. Every page I turn I look forward to more of Jake and John's conversations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
DianeR
Location:Highland Village TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading through this is very thought provoking and makes you look at your relationship with Jesus differently than what we have been taught growing up. Very good book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
LSAK
Location:WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book!!! Needs to be read by every believer. Pastors included.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Examines our motives for church participation

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
reformer
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The authors, through story telling, cause us to really examine our own heart motives for participating in any form of group fellowship. This book is very disturbing, in a good way. It does not promote the idea that we can each function without an organization or fellowship with other believers. It does cause us to examine our personal relationship with our Lord and Saviour. A timely topic in view of our culture and the modern day church. Would be a great book to use to promote serious discussion one on one, or in a group setting.
It has the potential to jump start those who's faith is either dead or dying.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book makes you think.

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
On a Journey
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a novel but asks questions that need to be asked. It is not doctrine but challenges your thinking about your relationship with the Lord and your motivation for the things that you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
H Horner
I loved this book! I have recommended it to many of my friends. I can not tell you how much it has helped me. I would recommend this to all Christians. I will read this book many, many times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marie Moniz
This is a heart opening book! It will help you to see life in a whole new light!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Perfect Harmony Wellness Centre
Great; in an ongoing series of books by various authors I have been reading on the same topic. The common thread among them is the message that churches need to get back to real honest relationships within the body that may or may not lead to programs, rather than the other way around. Of course, first there must be a real, honest relationship with Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hidden Treasure Ministries
The major institutional churches have dropped the relationship aspect for a "religious" experience. This book stirs the christian to reconsider the love of Jesus and the development of relationships.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Sine
If you liked The Shack, you will love this book. It gives a the reader a new look at what church is. I couldn't put the book down and when I was finished I wanted to read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary
This book is very thought provoking. It doesn't necessarily make you want to stop going to church, but explores the questions that we often have about what we are doing as the church whether in the "building" or in the "world".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Central Christian Church
Amazing book! This is a must read! I have led two studies of this book and everyone loves the biblical principles that are in it. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore by Wayne Jacobsen & Dave Coleman is a thought-provoking book creating a conversation about Jesus and the church. Jake is facing major struggles in his church that are tearing his faith apart when he meets a stranger named John. John asks questions about what Jake is looking for that over the course of a four-year period profoundly change Jake's entire life. I have to admit that I was at first disappointed when I cracked open this book. I was expecting a non-fiction title that could tackle the hard questions I was having myself about church; however, because the authors frame the book as a fictional series of conversations, I found my questions were answered more thoroughly than they could have been in a non-fiction title. John emphasizes trusting in God rather than in the institution of church. Some churches have vibrant faith and the presence of the Spirit, but far more are about cultural acceptance. The church isn't a building of a certain denomination of believers. The church, as described within the Bible, is the entire body of believers from around the world and throughout history. It's a powerful indictment of what church has become. As someone who has recently been hurt deeply by two churches, I could relate to the authors' tale, not everyone else will, but the book has some terrific points about the troubles that can be found in church. I think it's a valuable book for everyone in hopes of revolutionizing the way we view faith and church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
carol kinney
This book is an eye opener in many ways. I believe many of the principles that the authors wished to convey, especially that our relationship with God has to be our main priority. I do believe that if more Christians placed God first and foremost in their lives, there wouldn't have been a need for this book to be written and our churches would be filled with love. No church is perfect, as we are not perfect, but I feel that the answer is not that everyone should leave their churches, but rather all Christians need to remember who it is that we are serving and worshiping-once that happens everything else will fall into place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for So You Don't Want to Go to Church Anymore
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Knight
What a revelation, things I have struggled with and now have confirmation that what I've always known is experienced by others....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>